DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that a person with ordinary skill in the art would not modify Otsubo’s embedded arrangement with Shih’s non-embedded arrangement because doing so would require a complete re-design of Otsubo’s device, increasing cost and complexity without any apparent benefit. Applicant asserts that the examiner fails to provide any explanation or evidence that modifying Otsubo’s device to have Shih’s non-embedded arrangement could achieve any input/output voltage that is not already achievable by Otsubo’s device.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is found not persuasive, respectfully. Shih’s inductive device is applied for the teaching of a magnetic component device with windings only provided around a same half of the magnetic core. This teaching could be applied to the embedded magnetic component of Otsubo without redesigning the embedded arrangement. Therefore, a person with ordinary skill in the art would apply this teaching to Otsubo’s device so that the desired input/output voltage could be obtained to meet design requirements. Therefore, the examiner maintains the winding structure combination of Shih to the embedded magnetic component of Otsubo is proper with the motivation as set forth in the Office action dated 03/12/2026.
The rest of the arguments with the cited arts are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The drawings objection made in the Office action mailed on 03/12/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the explanation made in the reply dated 06/05/2026.
The claim objections made in the Office action dated 03/12/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the amendment filed on 06/05/2026.
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection made in the Office action mailed on 03/12/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the amendment filed on 06/05/2026.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection made in the Office action dated 03/12/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the terminal disclaimer filed on 06/05/2026.
Drawings
The drawings received on 03/20/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0018349 A1, hereinafter “Otsubo”) in view of Altman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,055,816, hereinafter “Altman”).
With respect to claim 1, Otsubo teaches an embedded magnetic component device 1d (FIG. 18) comprising:
an insulating substrate (substrate made by insulating layers 31, 220b, 220c, 120b and 120c, annotated FIG. 18) including a first side (upper side), a second side (lower side) opposite the first side, and a cavity (space in which magnetic core 11 is disposed);
a magnetic core 11 included in the cavity and including an inner periphery (inner side surface) and an outer periphery (outer side surface);
first and second electrical windings 12b and 12a that extend through the insulating substrate and around the magnetic core, each of the first and the second electrical windings including:
upper traces 116 and 316 located on the first side of the insulating substrate;
lower traces 16 and 216 located on the second side of the insulating substrate;
inner conductive connectors 14b and 14a extending through the insulating substrate adjacent to the inner periphery of the magnetic core, the inner conductive connectors respectively defining electrical connections between respective upper traces and respective lower traces; and
outer conductive connectors 13b and 13a extending through the insulating substrate adjacent to the outer periphery of the magnetic core, the outer conductive connectors respectively defining electrical connections between the respective upper traces and the respective lower traces,
a top covering 220a (annotated FIG. 18) on the upper traces of the second electrical winding; and
a bottom covering 120 and or 120a on the lower traces of the second electrical winding, wherein the first electrical winding is closer to the magnetic core than the second electrical winding (paras. [0156]-[0162]).
Otsubo does not expressly teach
a width of each of the upper and lower traces of the second electrical winding increases in a direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core, and
each of the upper traces of the second electrical winding is connected to a corresponding one of the lower traces of the second electrical winding at one end in the direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core via two of the outer conductive connectors.
Altman teaches an embedded magnetic component (FIGs. 5a and 5b) comprising:
a width (width of traces 162 and 152) of each of the upper and lower traces 162 and 152 of the second electrical winding (one of “coupled inductors” col. 4, lines 10 and 11) increases in a direction toward the outer periphery (outer end area) of the magnetic core (not expressly shown), and
each of the upper traces of the second electrical winding is connected to a corresponding one of the lower traces of the second electrical winding at one end in the direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core via two of the outer conductive connectors 164 and 166 (col. 4, lines 21-45). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the trace width and the conductive connectors as taught by Altman to the embedded magnetic component of Otsubo to provide the desired current density and improve connection strength between the upper and lower traces.
With respect to claim 4, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1, wherein the second electrical winding overlaps the first electrical winding (Otsubo, para. [0158]).
With respect to claim 5, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1, wherein
the upper traces of the first electrical winding are on a different layer of the insulating substrate than the upper traces of the second electrical winding, and
the lower traces of the first electrical winding are on a different layer than the lower traces of the second electrical winding (Otsubo, paras. [0160]-[0163]).
With respect to claim 7, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first isolation layer 220b located on the first side of the insulating substrate between the first electrical winding and the second electrical winding; and
a second isolation layer 120b located on the second side of the insulating substrate between the first electrical winding and the second electrical winding (Otsubo, paras. [0160]-[0163]).
With respect to claim 8, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 7, wherein the first isolation layer and/or the second isolation layer include a single layer (Otsubo, paras. [0160]-[0163]).
With respect to claim 9, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1, further comprising mounting members 24 on the top and/or bottom coverings (Otsubo, para. [0112]).
With respect to claim 10, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the an electrical circuit (FIG. 18) comprising:
the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1; and
electronic components 2 (see FIG. 1 for illustration) mounted on the top covering and/or the bottom covering (Otsubo, para. [0067]).
With respect to claim 12, Otsubo teaches a method of manufacturing an embedded magnetic component device 1d (FIG. 18), the method comprising:
forming a cavity (space in which magnetic core 11 is disposed) in an insulating substrate (substrate made by insulating layers 31, 220b, 220c, 120b and 120c, annotated FIG. 18) that includes a first side (upper side) and a second side (lower side) opposite the first side;
installing a magnetic core 11 in the cavity, the magnetic core including an inner periphery (inner side surface) and an outer periphery (outer side surface);
forming first and second electrical windings 12b and 12a that extend through the insulating substrate and around the magnetic core, each of the first and the second electrical windings including:
upper traces 116 and 316 located on the first side of the insulating substrate;
lower traces 16 and 216 located on the second side of the insulating substrate;
inner conductive connectors 14b and 14a extending through the insulating substrate adjacent to the inner periphery of the magnetic core, the inner conductive connectors respectively defining electrical connections between respective upper traces and respective lower traces; and
outer conductive connectors 13b and 13a extending through the insulating substrate adjacent to the outer periphery of the magnetic core, the outer conductive connectors respectively defining electrical connections between the respective upper traces and the respective lower conductive traces;
forming a top covering 220a (annotated FIG. 18 above) on the upper traces of the second electrical winding; and
forming a bottom covering 120 and or 120a on the lower traces of the second electrical winding, wherein
the first electrical winding is closer to the magnetic core than the second electrical winding (paras. [0156]-[0162]).
Otsubo does not expressly teach
a width of each of the upper and lower traces of the second electrical winding increases in a direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core, and
each of the upper traces of the second electrical winding is connected to a corresponding one of the lower traces of the second electrical winding at one end in the direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core via two of the outer conductive connectors.
Altman teaches an embedded magnetic component (FIGs. 5a and 5b) comprising:
a width (width of traces 162 and 152) of each of the upper and lower traces 162 and 152 of the second electrical winding (one of “coupled inductors” col. 4, lines 10 and 11) increases in a direction toward the outer periphery (outer end area) of the magnetic core (not expressly shown), and
each of the upper traces of the second electrical winding is connected to a corresponding one of the lower traces of the second electrical winding at one end in the direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core via two of the outer conductive connectors 164 and 166 (col. 4, lines 21-45). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the trace width and the conductive connectors as taught by Altman to the embedded magnetic component of Otsubo to provide the desired current density and improve connection strength between the upper and lower traces.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Altman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shelly (U.S. Patent No. 4,536,733).
With respect to claim 2, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1. Otsubo in view of Altman does not expressly teach the upper and lower traces of the second electrical winding are wider than the upper and lower traces of the first electrical winding.
Shelly teaches a magnetic component (Fig. 4), wherein the upper and lower traces C1-16 and 26-32 of the second electrical winding 18 are wider than the upper and lower traces of the first electrical winding 16 (col. 4, lines 14-16, 35-37 and 47-51). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the wider second winding traces as taught by Shelly to the embedded magnetic component device of Otsubo in view of Altman to reduce the resistance of the second electrical winding.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Altman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Finnemore et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,246,311, hereinafter “Finnemore”).
With respect to claim 6, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1. Otsubo in view of Altman does not expressly teach the magnetic core is octagonally shaped.
Finnemore teaches a magnetic component device (FIG. 1), wherein the magnetic core 11 is octagonally shaped (col. 3, lines 4-7). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the octagonally shaped magnetic core as taught by Finnemore to the embedded magnetic component device of Otsubo in view of Altman to provide the required geometry for the shield to reduce demagnetization and flux leakage (col. 3, lines 14-17).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Altman, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Pagaila et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,648,911 B2, hereinafter “Pagaila”).
With respect to claim 11, Otsubo in view of Altman teaches the electrical circuit of claim 10, further comprising a substrate (circuit board, not expressly shown) on which the embedded magnetic component device is mounted (Otsubo, para. [0112]). Otsubo in view of Altman does not expressly teach
some or all of the electronic components are located between the substrate and the embedded magnetic component device.
Pagaila teaches an electric circuit 90 (Fig. 3e), wherein some or all of the electronic components 94 and or 100 are located between the substrate 92 and the embedded magnetic component device 122a-122l (col. 6, lines 11-14 and col. 8, lines 9-11). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electronic components between the substrate and the magnetic component as taught by Pagaila to the electrical circuit of Otsubo in view of Altman to provide the required connectivity with other electronic components to meet design requirements.
Claims 24, 25 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Shih et al. (U.S. Pg. Pub. No. 2012/0133473 A1, hereinafter “Shih”) and Altman.
With respect to claim 24, Otsubo teaches a device 1d (FIG. 18) comprising:
a substrate 31;
a magnetic core 11 in the substrate and including a hole (middle opening of toroidal magnetic core 11);
a first winding 12b extending through the hole and around the magnetic core;
a second winding 12a extending through the hole, around the magnetic core, and around a portion of the first winding;
a first covering 220a (annotated FIG. 18 above) located on a first surface (upper surface) of the substrate and over a first portion 316 of the second winding; and
a second covering 120 and or 120a located on a second surface (lower surface) of the substrate and over a second portion 216 of the second winding
each of the first and the second windings includes top and bottom traces (upper traces 116 and 316, lower traces 16 and 216) connected by inner and outer traces (inner traces 14b and 14a and outer traces 13b and 13a (paras. [0156]-[0162]). Otsubo does not expressly teach the first and the second windings only extend around a same half of the magnetic core.
Shih teaches a device 400 (FIGs. 7 and 8)
wherein the first and the second windings (windings formed by the conductive trances) only extend around a same half of the magnetic core (para. [0034]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the windings wound on the same half of the magnetic core as taught by Shih to the device of Otsubo to obtain the desired input/output voltage to meet design requirements.
Otsubo does not also expressly teach
a width of each of the upper and lower traces of the second electrical winding increases in a direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core, and
each of the upper traces of the second electrical winding is connected to a corresponding one of the lower traces of the second electrical winding at one end in the direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core via two of the outer conductive connectors.
Altman teaches an embedded magnetic component (FIGs. 5a and 5b) comprising:
a width (width of traces 162 and 152) of each of the upper and lower traces 162 and 152 of the second electrical winding (one of “coupled inductors” col. 4, lines 10 and 11) increases in a direction toward the outer periphery (outer end area) of the magnetic core (not expressly shown), and
each of the upper traces of the second electrical winding is connected to a corresponding one of the lower traces of the second electrical winding at one end in the direction toward the outer periphery of the magnetic core via two of the outer conductive connectors 164 and 166 (col. 4, lines 21-45). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the trace width and the conductive connectors as taught by Altman to the embedded magnetic component of Otsubo to provide the desired current density and improve connection strength between the upper and lower traces.
With respect to claim 25, Otsubo in view of Shih and Altman teaches the device of claim 24, wherein
each of the first and the second windings includes top and bottom traces 116, 316, 16 and 216 connected by inner and outer traces 14b, 14a, 13b and 13a;
the top traces 116 of the first winding and the top traces 316 of the second winding are on different layers of the substrate;
the bottom traces 16 of the first winding and the bottom traces 216 of the second winding are on different layers of the substrate;
inner vias 14b of the first and the second windings are located within the hole; and
outer vias 14a of the first and the second windings are located on an exterior of the magnetic core (Otsubo, paras. [0156]-[0162]).
With respect to claim 28, Otsubo in view of Shih and Altman teaches the device of claim 25, further comprising an insulation layer 220b between the top traces of the first winding and the top traces of the second winding (Otsubo, para. [0160]).
With respect to claim 29, Otsubo in view of Shih and Altman teaches the module (FIG. 18) comprising:
the device of claim 24; and
electronic components 2 (see FIG. 1) mounted on the first covering and/or the second covering (para. [0067]).
With respect to claim 30, Otsubo in view of Shih and Altman teaches the module of claim 29, wherein the module is a resonant converter with a resonant frequency determined by an overlap of the first and the second windings (Otsubo, para. [0158]).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Shih and Altman, as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Pagaila.
With respect to claim 31, Otsubo in view of Shih and Altman teaches the module of claim 29, further comprising an additional substrate (circuit board, not expressly shown) on which the device is mounted (para. [0112]). Otsubo in view of Shih and Altman does not expressly teach
some or all of the electronic components are located between the additional substrate and the device.
Pagaila teaches a module 90 (Fig. 3e), wherein
some or all of the electronic components 94 and or 100 are located between the additional substrate 92 and the embedded magnetic component device 122a-122l (col. 6, lines 11-14 and col. 8, lines 9-11). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electronic components between the additional substrate and the magnetic component as taught by Pagaila to the electrical circuit of Otsubo in view of Shih and Altman to provide the required connectivity with other electronic components to meet design requirements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837