DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an insulating substrate including a first side, a second side opposite the first side, and a cavity, a magnetic core included in the cavity and including an inner periphery and an outer periphery” as recited in claim 1, the “a first isolation layer located on the first side of the insulating substrate between the first electrical winding and the second electrical winding; and a second isolation layer located on the second side of the insulating substrate between the first electrical winding and the second electrical winding” as claimed in claim 7, the “some or all of the electronic components are located between the substrate and the embedded magnetic component device” of claim 11, the “the inner vias of the first winding are arranged in first and second rows; and the inner vias of the second winding are arranged in a third row” as recited in claim 26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, it appears “the lower traces of the first electrical winding are on a different layer than the upper traces of the second electrical winding” should be --the lower traces of the first electrical winding are on a different layer than the lower traces of the second electrical winding--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 recites the limitation “the embedded magnetic component device” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should also clarify if “a substrate” is the same or different from “a substrate” as recited in claim 24.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,444,531, and claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,444,531. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,444,531 contains all the limitations of claims 1-12 of the instant application.
Also, claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/035614 (reference application); claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/035614 (reference application); and claims 24-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-25 of copending Application No. 18/035614 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 and 23-25 of copending Application No. 18/035614 contains all the limitations of claims 1-12 and 24-31 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In addition, claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/565410 (reference application); claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/565410 (reference application); and claims 24-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-15 of copending Application No. 18/565410 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-6 and 11-15 of copending Application No. 18/035614 contains all the limitations of claims 1-12 and 24-31 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otsubo et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2017/0018349 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Otsubo et al., hereinafter referred to as “Otsubo,” teaches an embedded magnetic component device 1d (FIG. 18) comprising:
an insulating substrate (substrate made by insulating layers 31, 220b, 220c, 120b and 120c, annotated FIG. 18) including a first side (upper side), a second side (lower side) opposite the first side, and a cavity (space in which magnetic core 11 is disposed);
a magnetic core 11 included in the cavity and including an inner periphery (inner side surface) and an outer periphery (outer side surface);
first and second electrical windings 12b and 12a that extend through the insulating substrate and around the magnetic core, each of the first and the second electrical windings including:
upper traces 116 and 316 located on the first side of the insulating substrate;
lower traces 16 and 216 located on the second side of the insulating substrate;
inner conductive connectors 14b and 14a extending through the insulating substrate adjacent to the inner periphery of the magnetic core, the inner conductive connectors respectively defining electrical connections between respective upper traces and respective lower traces; and
outer conductive connectors 13b and 13a extending through the insulating substrate adjacent to the outer periphery of the magnetic core, the outer conductive connectors respectively defining electrical connections between the respective upper traces and the respective lower traces,
a top covering 220a (annotated FIG. 18) on the upper traces of the second electrical winding; and
a bottom covering 120 and or 120a on the lower traces of the second electrical winding, wherein the first electrical winding is closer to the magnetic core than the second electrical winding (paras. [0156]-[0162]).
With respect to claim 3, Otsubo teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claims 1, wherein the second electrical winding includes two outer conductive connectors 13a between each of the respective upper traces and each of the respective lower traces (para. [0156]).
With respect to claim 4, Otsubo teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1, wherein the second electrical winding overlaps the first electrical winding (para. [0158]).
With respect to claim 5, Otsubo teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1, wherein
the upper traces of the first electrical winding are on a different layer of the insulating substrate than the upper traces of the second electrical winding, and
the lower traces of the first electrical winding are on a different layer than the upper traces of the second electrical winding (paras. [0160]-[0163]).
With respect to claim 7, Otsubo teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first isolation layer 220b located on the first side of the insulating substrate between the first electrical winding and the second electrical winding; and
a second isolation layer 120b located on the second side of the insulating substrate between the first electrical winding and the second electrical winding (paras. [0160]-[0163]).
With respect to claim 8, Otsubo teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 7, wherein the first isolation layer and/or the second isolation layer include a single layer (paras. [0160]-[0163]).
With respect to claim 9, Otsubo teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1, further comprising mounting members 24 on the top and/or bottom coverings (para. [0112]).
With respect to claim 10, Otsubo teaches the an electrical circuit (FIG. 18) comprising:
the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1; and
electronic components 2 (see FIG. 1 for illustration) mounted on the top covering and/or the bottom covering (para. [0067]).
With respect to claim 12, Otsubo teaches a method of manufacturing an embedded magnetic component device 1d (FIG. 18), the method comprising:
forming a cavity (space in which magnetic core 11 is disposed) in an insulating substrate (substrate made by insulating layers 31, 220b, 220c, 120b and 120c, annotated FIG. 18) that includes a first side (upper side) and a second side (lower side) opposite the first side;
installing a magnetic core 11 in the cavity, the magnetic core including an inner periphery (inner side surface) and an outer periphery (outer side surface);
forming first and second electrical windings 12b and 12a that extend through the insulating substrate and around the magnetic core, each of the first and the second electrical windings including:
upper traces 116 and 316 located on the first side of the insulating substrate;
lower traces 16 and 216 located on the second side of the insulating substrate;
inner conductive connectors 14b and 14a extending through the insulating substrate adjacent to the inner periphery of the magnetic core, the inner conductive connectors respectively defining electrical connections between respective upper traces and respective lower traces; and
outer conductive connectors 13b and 13a extending through the insulating substrate adjacent to the outer periphery of the magnetic core, the outer conductive connectors respectively defining electrical connections between the respective upper traces and the respective lower conductive traces;
forming a top covering 220a (annotated FIG. 18 above) on the upper traces of the second electrical winding; and
forming a bottom covering 120 and or 120a on the lower traces of the second electrical winding, wherein
the first electrical winding is closer to the magnetic core than the second electrical winding (paras. [0156]-[0162]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shelly (U.S. Patent No. 4,536,733).
With respect to claim 2, Otsubo teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1. Otsubo does not expressly teach the upper and lower traces of the second electrical winding are wider than the upper and lower traces of the first electrical winding.
Shelly teaches a magnetic component (Fig. 4), wherein the upper and lower traces C1-16 and 26-32 of the second electrical winding 18 are wider than the upper and lower traces of the first electrical winding 16 (col. 4, lines 14-16, 35-37 and 47-51). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the wider second winding traces as taught by Shelly to the embedded magnetic component device of Otsubo to reduce the resistance of the second electrical winding.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Finnemore et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,246,311).
With respect to claim 6, Otsubo teaches the embedded magnetic component device of claim 1. Otsubo does not expressly teach the magnetic core is octagonally shaped.
Finnemore et al., hereinafter referred to as “Finnemore,” teaches a magnetic component device (FIG. 1), wherein the magnetic core 11 is octagonally shaped (col. 3, lines 4-7). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the octagonally shaped magnetic core as taught by Finnemore to the embedded magnetic component device of Otsubo to provide the required geometry for the shield to reduce demagnetization and flux leakage (col. 3, lines 14-17).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo, as applied to claim 10 above, in view of Pagaila et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,648,911 B2).
With respect to claim 11, Otsubo teaches the electrical circuit of claim 10, further comprising a substrate (circuit board, not expressly shown) on which the embedded magnetic component device is mounted (para. [0112]). Otsubo does not expressly teach
some or all of the electronic components are located between the substrate and the embedded magnetic component device.
Pagaila et al., hereinafter referred to as “Pagaila,” teaches an electric circuit 90 (Fig. 3e), wherein some or all of the electronic components 94 and or 100 are located between the substrate 92 and the embedded magnetic component device 122a-122l (col. 6, lines 11-14 and col. 8, lines 9-11). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electronic components between the substrate and the magnetic component as taught by Pagaila to the electrical circuit of Otsubo to provide the required connectivity with other electronic components to meet design requirements.
Claims 24, 25 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Shih et al. (U.S. Pg. Pub. No. 2012/0133473 A1).
With respect to claim 24, Otsubo teaches a device 1d (FIG. 18) comprising:
a substrate 31;
a magnetic core 11 in the substrate and including a hole (middle opening of toroidal magnetic core 11);
a first winding 12b extending through the hole and around the magnetic core;
a second winding 12a extending through the hole, around the magnetic core, and around a portion of the first winding;
a first covering 220a (annotated FIG. 18 above) located on a first surface (upper surface) of the substrate and over a first portion 316 of the second winding; and
a second covering 120 and or 120a located on a second surface (lower surface) of the substrate and over a second portion 216 of the second winding (paras. [0156]-[0162]). Otsubo does not expressly teach the first and the second windings only extend around a same half of the magnetic core.
Shih et al., hereinafter referred to as “Shih,” teaches a device 400 (FIGs. 7 and 8)
wherein the first and the second windings (windings formed by the conductive trances) only extend around a same half of the magnetic core (para. [0034]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the windings wound on the same half of the magnetic core as taught by Shih to the device of Otsubo to obtain the desired input/output voltage to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 25, Otsubo in view of Shih teaches the device of claim 24, wherein
each of the first and the second windings includes top and bottom traces 116, 316, 16 and 216 connected by inner and outer traces 14b, 14a, 13b and 13a;
the top traces 116 of the first winding and the top traces 316 of the second winding are on different layers of the substrate;
the bottom traces 16 of the first winding and the bottom traces 216 of the second winding are on different layers of the substrate;
inner vias 14b of the first and the second windings are located within the hole; and
outer vias 14a of the first and the second windings are located on an exterior of the magnetic core (Otsubo, paras. [0156]-[0162]).
With respect to claim 28, Otsubo in view of Shih teaches the device of claim 25, further comprising an insulation layer 220b between the top traces of the first winding and the top traces of the second winding (Otsubo, para. [0160]).
With respect to claim 29, Otsubo in view of Shih teaches the module (FIG. 18) comprising:
the device of claim 24; and
electronic components 2 (see FIG. 1) mounted on the first covering and/or the second covering (para. [0067]).
With respect to claim 30, Otsubo in view of Shih teaches the module of claim 29, wherein the module is a resonant converter with a resonant frequency determined by an overlap of the first and the second windings (Otsubo, para. [0158]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Shih, as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Dalmia et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2011/0291789 A1).
With respect to claim 26, Otsubo in view of Shih teaches the device of claim 25. Otsubo in view of Shih does not expressly teach
the inner vias of the first winding are arranged in first and second rows; and
the inner vias of the second winding are arranged in a third row.
Dalmia et al., hereinafter referred to as “Dalmia,” teaches a device 1500 (FIG. 13), wherein
the inner vias 1606 of the first winding 1600 are arranged in first and second rows 1606a and 1606b (annotated FIG. 13); and
the inner vias 1512A of the second winding 1500 are arranged in a third row 1512a1 (para. [0109] and [0113]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the vias rows as taught by Dalmia to the device of Otsubo in view of Shih to provide the required spacing between the inner vias to ensure the isolation between the vias.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Shih, as applied to claim 25 above, in view of Finnemore.
With respect to claim 27, Otsubo in view of Shih teaches the device of claim 25. Otsubo in view of Shih does not expressly teach
the magnetic core has an octagonal shape; and
the outer vias of the primary windings and the secondary windings are arranged along three sides of the magnetic core.
Finnemore teaches a device (FIG. 1), wherein
the magnetic core 11 has an octagonal shape; and
the outer vias of the primary windings 16a 19a and 19b and the secondary windings 16b, 19c and 19d are arranged along three sides of the magnetic core (col. 3, lines 4-7 and 18-26). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the octagonally shaped magnetic core as taught by Finnemore to the embedded magnetic component device of Otsubo to provide the required geometry for the shield to reduce demagnetization and flux leakage (col. 3, lines 14-17).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of Shih, as applied to claim 29 above, in view of Pagaila.
With respect to claim 31, Otsubo in view of Shih teaches the module of claim 29, further comprising a substrate (circuit board, not expressly shown) on which the embedded magnetic component device is mounted (para. [0112]). Otsubo in view of Shih does not expressly teach
some or all of the electronic components are located between the substrate and the device.
Pagaila teaches a module 90 (Fig. 3e), wherein
some or all of the electronic components 94 and or 100 are located between the substrate 92 and the embedded magnetic component device 122a-122l (col. 6, lines 11-14 and col. 8, lines 9-11). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electronic components between the substrate and the magnetic component as taught by Pagaila to the electrical circuit of Otsubo in view of Shih to provide the required connectivity with other electronic components to meet design requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837