DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 9/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12, 14-17 and 19-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument (page 3 of the applicant’s remark) that the combination of device Malone in view of Yang would not yield the solution as claimed, has been carefully considered but is not found to be persuasive. Reference to Malone discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention except for an air distributor that is disposed between the first and second fins. Reference to Yang teach to have an air distributor (70,80) as claimed to be placed between the first (22) and second portions (24), which are portions needed to be cooled for a purpose of enhancing the cooling of the first and second portions since each portion is cooled by fresh air that is not preheated by any upstream portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Yang’s teaching in Malone’s device for a purpose of enhancing the cooling of the first and second fins since each fin is cooled by fresh air that is not preheated by any upstream portion.
Applicant’s further argument (pages 3-4, applicant’s remark) that the combination of device, would have been a first compartment of the wind tunnel surrounding the first plurality of fins, a second compartment of the wind tunnel surrounding the second plurality of fins, two separated inlets of the wind tunnels which separate the flow from the outset and connecting neck connecting the first and second compartments, the solution is different from the claimed solution, has been carefully considered but is not found to be persuasive. It is not clear whether applicant argues that because the distributor has two ducts, a distributor (connecting neck) and separate inlets, which make the combination different what claimed. Applicant is reminded that, the additional features such as two ducts does not prevent the combination from anticipating the claimed invention. The combination of device Malone in view of Yang, discloses all of applicant’s limitations. Therefore, the claims are not patentable over the combination of Malone in view of Yang regardless of the combination having more additional features than the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 12, 16-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malone et al. (US 6,935,419B2) in view of Yang et al. (US 10,285,305). .Malone et al. discloses (figures 2A and 5C) a turbomachine (a machine system that includes a fan 90 + a heat exchanger) comprises a heat exchanger comprising a support wall (100) extending in a longitudinal direction and a first plurality of fins (102U) that each rise from an external surface of the support wall and intended to be swept by a first air flow (51), characterized in that the heat exchanger comprises, downstream of the first plurality of fins (38) in the longitudinal direction a second plurality of fins (102D) that each rise from the external surface of the support wall (100), the first and the second plurality of fins being distinct to each other separated by a space. Regarding claim 1, Malone does not disclose that the first fin and the second fin are separated by at least a distributor, in the longitudinal direction, which are configured such that the first air flow circulates outside the second plurality of fins and along the longitudinal direction and a second air flow circulates in one hand outside the first plurality of fins and along the longitudinal direction, and n the other hand through the second plurality of fins along the longitudinal direction via the distributor, wherein the distributor comprises internal paths through which the distributor crossed by the first air flow and the second airflow.
Yang discloses (figures 1-5) a heat exchanger for cooling first and second portions, wherein the first portion (21) and the second portion (23) is separated by a distributor (70,80) in a longitudinal direction, which are configured such that the first air flow circulates outside the second portion and along the longitudinal direction and a second air flow circulates in one hand outside the first portion and along the longitudinal direction, and in the other hand through the second portion along the longitudinal direction via the distributor (70,80), wherein the distributor comprises internal paths (flow paths within necks 70,80) through which the distributor crossed by the first air flow and the second airflow (column 2, lines 33-59) for a purpose of enhancing the cooling of the first and second portions since each portion is cooled by fresh air that is not preheated by any upstream portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Yang’s teaching in Malone’s device for a purpose of enhancing the cooling of the first and second portions since each portion is cooled by fresh air that is not preheated by any upstream portion.
Regarding the limitation of “ for a turbomachine” in claim 1, it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding claim 4, the combination device of Malone and Yang et al. would discloses (figures 1, 3 and 5 of Yang) that the distributor (70,80) comprises a first ramp (70) arranged downstream of the first portion (21) and which rises from the external surface of the support wall ( the distributor is placed on top of the support wall 20, see figure 1), being inclined, so that the first air flow exiting from the first portion is directed toward an outside of the heat exchanger. (column 2, lines 42-48, first air enters at inlet 42 and exit at 52).
Regarding claim 12, Malone et al. discloses (figure 5c) that each fin of the first and second plurality of fins (102U and 102D) are distinctively continuous and rectilinear each along a longitudinal direction. (figure 5C and 5E)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Malone in view of Yang et al. further discloses that the first air flow circulating outside the second plurality of fins circulates outside of the heat exchanger and the second air flow circulating outside the first plurality of fins circulates outside the heat exchanger. (the flows in upper channels 42 and 52 circulate outside with the first and second plurality of fins and outside of the heat exchanger, in which the heat exchangers comprises fins, support wall, partitions 36,66 and deflector 70,80, everywhere else is considered outside of the heat exchanger).
Regarding claim 17, the combination device of Malone in view of Yang et al. further discloses (figure 4 of Yang) that the heat exchanger comprising a first profiled panel (36) and a second profiled panel (66) extending in a direction parallel to the support wall, the first portion extending between the support wall and the first profiled panel and the second portion extend between the support wall and the second profiled panel to form flow channels for the first air flow and second air flow respectively. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Yang’s teaching in Malone’s device for a purpose of forming flow channels for the first air flow and the second air flow. Regarding claim 22, Yang et al. discloses that the distributor (70,80) includes ducts (40,50) disposed over the first and second fain, placed over (linked to) a support board (20) that also support the first and second fins. Therefore, the combination device of Malone in view of Yang would yield the distributor (70,80) as taught by Yang would link to the support wall (100) that also supports the first and second fins (102U and 102D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 19 and 21 are allowed.
Claims 2-3, 5-11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the claims are allowed and indicated to be allowable is as the same reason as cited in the previous office action. Furthermore, claim 19 is allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose the first profiled wall being arranged at an entrance of the heat exchanger and the second profiled wall being arranged at an outlet of the heat exchanger. .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763