DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgments
In the reply, filed on June 24, 2026, Applicant requested the consideration of the amendment of May 26, 2026. The amendment is now considered.
Applicant amended claims 1, 8, and 12.
In the final rejection of March 26, 2026, Examiner objected to claim 8. Applicant amended claim 8. Objection is withdrawn.
Examiner rejected claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Applicant amended claims 1 and 8. Rejection is withdrawn.
Examiner rejected claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Applicant amended claim 12. Rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, line 7, “said second containment chambers chamber” should be changed to “said second containment chamber”.
In regards to claim 1, line 13, “the first lower surfaces surface” should be changed to “the first lower surface”.
In regards to claim 1, line 16, “therebetween between” should be changed to “between”.
In regards to claim 1, line 20, “the second lower surfaces surface” should be changed to “the second lower surface”.
In regards to claim 1, line 23, “therebetween between” should be changed to “between”.
In regards to claim 12, line 2, “ejecting injecting” should be changed to “injecting”.
In regards to claim 12, line 10, “said second containment chambers chamber” should be changed to “said second containment chamber”.
In regards to claim 12, line 16, “the first lower surfaces surface” should be changed to “the first lower surface”.
In regards to claim 12, lines 19-20, “therebetween between” should be changed to “between”.
In regards to claim 12, line 24, “the second lower surfaces surface” should be changed to “the second lower surface”.
In regards to claim 12, line 28, “therebetween between” should be changed to “between”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 8, line 4 recites: "as individually defined in claim 1". First, this limitation does not follow dependent claim construction referring back to "the device of claim 1". Second, it is unclear which components are "individually defined in claim 1". Claims 9-11 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 8.
In regards to claim 8, line 12 recites: "the second containment chamber according to claim 1". First, this limitation does not follow dependent claim construction referring back to "the device of claim 1". Second, claim 8, line 4 already recited back to claim 1 reciting "as individually defined in claim 1". Claims 9-11 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Genosar (US 2014/0066846).
In regards to claim 1, Genosar teaches a device (Figures 5a-6e) for injecting a reconstitutable liquid mixture, the device comprising:
a first containment chamber (57) for a first component (first substance) of the reconstitutable liquid mixture
a second containment chamber (51) for a second component (second substance) of the reconstitutable liquid mixture
first mechanical and fluidic connection means (52) between said first containment chamber and said second containment chambers chamber
second mechanical and fluidic connection means (14) between said second containment chamber and an injection needle (22)
wherein:
said first containment chamber comprises, along a mixture injection direction, a first upper surface and a first lower surface in a shape of a cone or a truncated cone, the first upper surface and the first lower surfaces surface having a same axis of symmetry and being connected along a common base circumference (Figures 5a, 6a)
said first upper surface and said first lower surface extend in opposite directions along and around said axis of symmetry and form a non-zero angle β therebetween between said first upper surface and said first lower surface at the common base circumference (Figures 5a, 6a)
said second containment chamber comprises, along said mixture injection direction, a second upper surface and a second lower surface in a shape of a cone or a truncated cone, the second upper surface and the second lower surfaces surface having said axis of symmetry and being connected along a common base circumference (Figures 5a-6b)
said second upper surface and said second lower surface extend in opposite directions along and around said axis of symmetry and form a non-zero angle α therebetween between said second upper surface and said second lower surface at the common base circumference of said second upper surface and said second lower surface (Figures 5a-6b)
wherein said first lower surface and said second lower surface are separately deformable by compression against said first upper surface and said second upper surface, respectively (Figures 6a-6c)
wherein:
said first mechanical and fluidic connection means comprise an outlet neck (proximal portion of 52) of said first containment chamber and an inlet neck (distal portion of 52) of said second containment chamber connected to form a single fluidic connection duct (52)
said single fluidic connection duct is configured to keep said first lower surface and said second lower surface at a distance configured to be larger than a section of a finger (Figures 5a-6b)
In regards to claim 4, Genosar teaches wherein said first upper surface and said first lower surface are formed in one piece (Figures 5a, 6a).
In regards to claim 5, Genosar teaches wherein said second upper surface and said second lower surface are formed in one piece (Figures 5a-6b).
In regards to claim 6, Genosar teaches wherein said first lower surface and said second lower surface are made of an inelastically deformable material (Figures 5a-6c)(paragraph [0006]).
In regards to claim 7, though Genosar does not state “wherein said inelastically deformable material allows a total crushing of said first lower surface and said second lower surface against said first upper surface and said second upper surface, respectively”, it would be understood that said inelastically deformable material (paragraph [0006]: olefin polymers), disclosed by Genosar, would be capable of total crushing of said first lower surface and said second lower surface against said first upper surface and said second upper surface, respectively, as olefin polymers are crushable materials.
In regards to claim 8, Genosar teaches an injection kit (Figures 5a-6e) for injecting a reconstitutable liquid mixture, comprising:
a first containment chamber (57) and a second containment chamber (51), separate from the first containment chamber, as individually defined in claim 1 wherein each of said first containment chamber and said second containment chamber respectively comprises an upper surface and a lower surface in a shape of a cone or a truncated cone connected along a common base circumference (Figures 5a, 6a), said lower surface of each of said first containment chamber and said second containment chamber being deformable by compression against said upper surface of each of said first containment chamber and said second containment chamber, respectively (Figures 6a-6c)
first mechanical and fluidic connection means (52) between the first containment chamber and the second containment chamber according to claim 1, wherein an outlet neck (proximal portion of 52) of said first containment chamber and an inlet neck (distal portion of 52) of said second containment chamber, which are configured to connect and form a single fluidic connection duct (52)
second mechanical and fluidic connection means (14) between said second containment chamber and an injection needle (22)
said injection needle being connectable to said second containment chamber by said second mechanical and fluidic connection means (Figures 5a-6c)
In regards to claim 9, Genosar teaches wherein said outlet neck of said first containment chamber and the inlet neck of said second containment chamber each comprise a removable or breakable or openable watertight closing element (52) (Figures 5a-6c)(paragraph [0051]: a high barrier to… moisture).
In regards to claim 10, Genosar teaches wherein the removable or breakable or openable watertight closing element is a peelable partition (52) (Figures 5a-6c).
In regards to claim 11, Genosar teaches wherein said second mechanical and fluidic connection means comprise a removable watertight closing element (14) (Figures 5a-6d)(paragraph [0051]: a high barrier to… moisture).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genosar, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steiner (US 3,892,237).
In regards to claim 2, Genosar is silent about wherein said first mechanical and fluidic connection means comprise a filter and/or a valve. Steiner teaches a device (Figures 1-4) wherein a first mechanical and fluidic connection means comprise a filter (33). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify said first mechanical and fluidic connection means, of the device of Genosar, to comprise a filter, as taught by Steiner, as such will prevent splits of the first containment chamber from being carried on into the second containment chamber (column 1, line 68, to column 2, lines 1-5).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genosar, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsukada (WO 2012/056524).
In regards to claim 3, Genosar is silent about wherein said first mechanical and fluidic connection means comprise a valve adapted to allow a one-way flow of said first component of the reconstitutable liquid mixture. Tsukada teaches a device (Figure 1) wherein a first mechanical and fluidic connection means comprise a valve (check valve) adapted to allow a one-way flow of a first component of a reconstitutable liquid mixture (paragraphs [Separation part]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify said first mechanical and fluidic connection means, of the device of Genosar, to comprise a valve, as taught by Tsukada, as such will allow only the flow of a soft substance from the first containment chamber to the second containment chamber (paragraphs [Separation part]) in order to prevent unnecessary backward flow of liquid.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genosar, and further in view of Kwiatkowski et al (US 5,609,580).
In regards to claim 12, Genosar teaches a method (Figures 6a-6e) for reconstituting a reconstitutable liquid mixture and ejecting injecting the reconstitutable liquid mixture from an injection needle (22), the method comprising:
providing a device (Figures 5a-6e) for injecting the reconstitutable liquid mixture, the device comprising:
a first containment chamber (57) for a first component (first substance) of the reconstitutable liquid mixture
a second containment chamber (51) for a second component (second substance) of the reconstitutable liquid mixture
first mechanical and fluidic connection means (52) between said first containment chamber and said second containment chambers chamber
second mechanical and fluidic connection means (14) between said second containment chamber and the injection needle
wherein:
said first containment chamber comprises, along a mixture injection direction, a first upper surface and a first lower surface in a shape of a cone or a truncated cone, the first upper surface and the first lower surfaces surface having a same axis of symmetry and being connected along a common base circumference (Figures 5a, 6a)
said first upper surface and said first lower surface extend in opposite directions along and around said axis of symmetry and form a non-zero angle β therebetween between said first upper surface and said first lower surface at the common base circumference (Figures 5a, 6a)
said second containment chamber comprises, along said mixture injection direction, a second upper surface and a second lower surface in a shape of a cone or a truncated cone, the second upper surface and the second lower surfaces surface having said axis of symmetry and being connected along a common base circumference (Figures 5a-6b)
said second upper surface and said second lower surface extend in opposite directions along and around said axis of symmetry and form a non-zero angle α therebetween between said second upper surface and said second lower surface at the common base circumference of said second upper surface and said second lower surface (Figures 5a-6b)
said first lower surface and said second lower surface are separately deformable by compression (Figures 6a-6c)
wherein:
said first mechanical and fluidic connection means comprise an outlet neck (proximal portion of 52) of said first containment chamber and an inlet neck (distal portion of 52) of said second containment chamber connected to form a single fluidic connection duct (52)
said single fluidic connection duct is configured to keep said first lower surface and said second lower surface at a distance configured to be larger than a section of a finger (Figures 5a-6b)
positioning two fingers on said first upper surface and a thumb against said first lower surface (paragraph [0057])
positioning the two fingers on said second upper surface and the thumb against said first lower surface (paragraph [0057])
Genosar does not teach crushing said first lower surface against said first upper surface bringing the thumb closer to the two fingers on said first upper surface, as Genosar instead teaches pushing a plunger 25 through a proximal pinched section 15, defining the first lower surface, causing a seal to rupture and for the pinched section to restore its tubular shape bringing the thumb closer to the two fingers on said first upper surface (Figures 6a-6b)(paragraphs [0057][0059]). And Genosar does not teach crushing said second upper surface against said second lower surface bringing the thumb closer to the two fingers on said second upper surface, as Genosar instead teaches further advancing the plunger 25 such that the pressure of the first component increases causing a seal at the first mechanical and fluid connection means to rupture and for the first mechanical and fluid connection means to restore its tubular shape bringing the thumb closer to said two fingers on said second upper surface (Figures 6b-6c)(paragraphs [0057][0060]). Kwiatkowski et al teaches a method (Figures 14-17) comprising positioning two fingers on a first upper surface (of 26A) and a thumb against a first lower surface (of 26A), crushing said first lower surface against said first upper surface bringing the thumb closer to the two fingers on said first upper surface (Figures 14-15)(column 6, lines 65-67, to column 7, lines 1-4)(column 4, lines 46-54), positioning the two fingers on a second upper surface (of 28A) and the thumb against said first lower surface, and crushing said second upper surface against a second lower surface (of 28A) bringing the thumb closer to the two fingers on said second upper surface (Figure 16-17)(column 7, lines 8-12)(column 4, lines 46-54). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, of Genosar, with crushing said first lower surface against said first upper surface bringing the thumb closer to the two fingers on said first upper surface, and crushing said second upper surface against said second lower surface bringing the thumb closer to the two fingers on said second upper surface, as taught by Kwiatkowski et al, as such will provide for a plungerless syringe providing for two stages of collapse, an initial or purge stage where air contained in the device to which the syringe is attached is purged, and a second flush stage where the remaining fluid in the syringe is expelled (column 2, lines 1-5) in order to expel or inject the fluid in a substantially bubbleless manner thereby substantially eliminating the threat of an air-embolism (column 1, lines 19-23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In regards to the claims, Applicant argued: If a skilled artisan were to remove the internal rigid plunger (25) from Genosar and apply the manual axial force of Kwiatkowski to the ends of Genosar's "thin collapsible wall", the device of Genosar would catastrophically fail. Lacking both the structural corrugations of Kwiatkowski's bellows and the internal support of its own plunger, Genosar's thin tube would suffer from severe lateral buckling. It would fold upon itself rather than generating the isolated, uniform hydraulic pressure necessary to burst the crimped seals. Consequently, applying the teaching of Kwiatkowski to Genosar would destroy Genosar's operability. As such, the proposed combination is not prima facie obvious (Remarks, page 8). Examiner disagrees. First, in regards to claims 1 and 8, based on the deletion of “without aid of a plunger”, said claims are no longer rejected under Genosar and Kwiatkowski et al. Claims 1 and 8 are now anticipated under Genosar alone. Second, in regards to claim 12, which is still rejected under Genosar and Kwiatkowski et al, Genosar shows the first containment chamber (57) and the second containment chamber (51) without internal support of the plunger 25 in Figures 5A-5B, thus being able to be modified by the crushing step teachings of Kwiatowski et al. Both Genosar and Kwiatkowski et al result in the same intended purpose of dispensing beneficial agents, such as medication, thus being reasonably combinable before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In regards to the claims, Applicant argued: Even assuming, arguendo, that the combination were mechanically viable, the cited references still fail to disclose or suggest at least the distinguishing features of the claimed invention: "said single fluidic connection duct is configured to keep said first lower surface and said second lower surface at a distance configured to be larger than a section of a finger ". The Office maps this feature to the crimped section (52) of Genosar. However, Genosar defines this crimp (52) simply in paragraph [0057] as an "intermediate crimp 52 defining a proximal compartment 57 holding a first substance and a distal compartment 51". Because Genosar is operated by "advancing a plunger in an axial direction" (paragraph [0007]), the crimp (52) is merely a flat, pinched seal, not a defined dimensional spacer sized to accommodate a human finger… The claimed single fluidic connection duct acts as a specifically dimensioned geometric spacer. This unique structural configuration-missing entirely in Genosar and Kwiatkowski-is what physically separates the two distinct conical chambers, ensuring the user's fingers do not span both chambers simultaneously. This dimensional separation is precisely what enables the user to isolate the crushing force to each chamber independently. It is this specific geometry that successfully solves the problem of allowing a safe, two-stage manual dispensing process without buckling the entire device (Remarks, page 9). Examiner disagrees. Genosar teaches said single fluidic connection duct (52) is configured to keep said first lower surface (of 57) and said second lower surface (of 51) at a distance configured to be larger than a section of a finger (Figures 5a-6b). Finger size is variable and thus it is understood that said single fluidic connection duct (52) would be capable of accommodating a section of said variable finger size.
Conclusion
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783