CTNF 18/027,324 CTNF 85096 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 13, 20-23, 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanders (WO2004044477) . Regarding Claim 13, Sanders discloses an expandable pressure vessel 10 (figure 12), comprising: a braided wall assembly 295 (Figure 10) that surrounds an interior in which a positive pressure is able to be formed (figure 10), the braided wall assembly expandable in response to an increase in the positive pressure (page 17, lines 9-14), wherein the braided wall assembly has a variable coverage ratio that decreases in response to expansion of the braided wall assembly (page 17, lines 9-14’ when fiber spreads), wherein the braided wall assembly, up to a positive pressure which at most corresponds to a predetermined threshold value, has a coverage ratio of more than 1, and wherein the braided wall assembly, at a positive pressure which exceeds the predetermined threshold value, has a coverage ratio of less than 1, and at least one intermediate space not covered by the braided wall assembly (page 17, lines 9-14). Regarding Claim 20, Sanders discloses the pressure vessel is configured as a linerless pressure vessel (Figure 12). Regarding Claim 21, Sanders discloses the braided wall assembly is configured as a permeation barrier for gaseous fuel stored in the interior (page 4, lines 9-10). Regarding Claim 22, Sanders discloses the braided wall assembly is impregnated with one or a plurality of thermoplastic and/or thermosetting plastics materials 300 (Figure 12). Regarding Claim 23, Sanders discloses the thermoplastic and/or thermosetting plastics material, at a coverage ratio of less than 1, partially form a permeation barrier for gaseous fuel stored in the interior (page 4, lines 9-10). Regarding Claim 27, Sanders discloses a pressure vessel system comprising a plurality of expandable pressure vessels (figure 23). Regarding Claim 28, Sanders discloses braids of the braided wall assembly are moveable relative to one another as the coverage ratio varies (page 17, lines 9-11) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14-19 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders (WO2004044477) . Regarding Claims 14-19, Sanders teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the braided wall assembly in the absence of positive pressure has a coverage ratio of at least 1.05, a coverage ratio of at least at least 1.1, a coverage ratio of at most 1.1, a coverage ratio of at most 1.15, a coverage ratio of at most 1.2 or the predetermined threshold value is at least 1400 bar. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the above since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP2144.05(III)(C) Regarding Claim 24, Sanders teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the braided wall assembly is braided from fibers between which the at least one intermediate space is created at a coverage ratio of less than 1. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the above since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP2144.05(III)(C) Regarding Claim 25, Sanders discloses the intermediate space is covered by one or a plurality of thermoplastic and/or thermosetting plastics materials 300 (figure 12). Regarding Claim 26, Sanders discloses the at least one intermediate space is configured as at least one predetermined breaking point (page 17, lines 9-14). Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ELIZABETH J VOLZ whose telephone number is (571)270-5430. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 11am-7pm est. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NATHAN JENNESS can be reached at (571)270-5055. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ELIZABETH J VOLZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3733 Application/Control Number: 18/027,324 Page 2 Art Unit: 3733 Application/Control Number: 18/027,324 Page 3 Art Unit: 3733 Application/Control Number: 18/027,324 Page 4 Art Unit: 3733 Application/Control Number: 18/027,324 Page 5 Art Unit: 3733 Application/Control Number: 18/027,324 Page 6 Art Unit: 3733