DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Rejections
All previous rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claims 14-18 and 20-27 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-18, 20-21 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tao et al. (WO 2017129994 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Tao discloses a reactor for electrochemical synthesis (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 9c-9d, electrolytic cell 200 as electrolyser in which chemical compound breaks down; Page 8, lines 28-30, and Page 29, lines 26-28), comprising
a vessel configured to receive a reaction mixture comprising an electrolytic medium and at least one reactant (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 9c-9d, chamber 240 containing liquid electrolyte 202 and reactant such as carbon dioxide; Page 8, lines 28-30, Page 13, lines 29-30, and Page 29, lines 30-32),
a first electrode (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 9c-9d, cathode comprising elongate projections/pipes 206; Page 3, lines 31-32, and Page 9, lines 7-10), and
a second electrode (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 9c-9d, anode comprising elongate projections/pipes 204; Page 3, lines 33-34, and Page 18, lines 15-16),
the first electrode and the second electrode being arranged within the vessel and interpenetrating one another without electrical contact (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 9c-9d, cathode pipes 206 interleaved with anode projections 204 within chamber 240 and not in electrical contact; Page 5, lines 31-32, Page 18, lines 11-13, and Page 20, lines 33-34), wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are three dimensionally grid-shaped (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 9c-9d, anode projections 204 and cathode pipes 206 each arranged in 3D grids; Page 20, lines 25-27), wherein the first electrode and the second electrode each comprise a plurality of electrode portions being angled with respect to one another, the electrode portions extending within planes different from one another (see e.g. Figs. 9c-9d, anode projections 204 and cathode pipes 206 arranged at an angle to each other and passing through different faces of chamber 240, therefore extending in different planes; Page 21, lines 11-15), the first electrode and the second electrode being arranged so as to allow a flow of the reaction mixture therebetween, within and through a space formed between the interpenetrating electrodes (see e.g. Figs. 3, 6 and 9c-9d, electrode projections/pipes 204 and 206 spaced apart and positioned within and covered by electrolyte 202, thereby allowing flow throughout the spacing therebetween, with gaseous reactants also flowing into the electrolyte via pores; Page 8, lines 32-35, Page 11, lines 18-21, and Page 21, lines 22-27).
Regarding claim 15, Tao discloses the first electrode and the second electrode having an identical or different shape (see e.g. Page 19, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 16, Tao discloses the first electrode and the second electrode being shaped in a regular pattern (see e.g. Figs 4 and 9c-9d, anode projections 204 and cathode projections 206 arranged in regular grid; Page 20, lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 17, Tao discloses the first electrode and the second electrode being honeycomb-shaped (see e.g. Page 9, lines 30-32, and Page 20, lines 32-35, electrode pipes/projections may have a hexagonal shape and be arranged in a hexagonal pattern, thereby being honeycomb-shaped).
Regarding claim 18, Tao discloses the first electrode and the second electrode being comb-shaped (see e.g. Figs. 9c-9d, electrodes conductive projections/pipes 206 and 204 welded to flat faces of the chamber 240 as current collectors, thereby forming a comb shape, as viewed from the side; Page 15, lines 16-23).
Regarding claim 20, Tao discloses the first electrode and the second electrode being made of a material comprising metal (see e.g. Page 9, lines 1-2), or the first electrode and the second electrode being made partially of a material comprising plastics or polymer (see e.g. Page 12, lines 16-22, Page 13, lines 4-8, and Page 19, lines 22-23, anti-wetting coating comprising plastics or polymer provided in pores of the cathode and anode pipes).
Regarding claim 21, Tao discloses at least an outer surface layer of the first electrode and the second electrode comprising a material comprising at least one of Ni, Ag, Fe, Cr, Al, Sn and alloys thereof (see e.g. Page 6, lines 2-9, and Page 30, lines 14-18) and oxides of Ti, Ni, Cr, Fe, Ni, and/or Zn (see e.g. Page 30, lines 20-33).
Regarding claim 24, Tao discloses the vessel comprising at least one inlet for supplying the reaction mixture and at least one outlet for discharging the reaction mixture and its reaction products (see e.g. Page 9, lines 15-23, and Page 15, lines 26-33, reactants and products passing into and out of open ends of electrode pipes, and electrolyte also being replaceable via detachable lid).
Regarding claim 25, Tao discloses a power source configured to apply a voltage or current to the first and second electrodes, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode each comprise at least one connection point connected to the power source (see e.g. Page 28, lines 25-28, and Page 29, lines 26-32, electrical interconnections to each electrode via which power and electrical energy, i.e. current and/or voltage, are supplied to the electrolyser system).
Regarding claim 26, Tao discloses a method for carrying out an electrochemical synthesis (see e.g. Page 29, lines 26-32, use of electrolyser system to break sown a chemical compound, e.g. to synthesize carbon/CO and oxygen), comprising providing a reactor according to claim 14 (see e.g. Page 25, line 26, electrolytic cell used in electrolyser), supplying a reaction mixture comprising an electrolytic medium and at least one reactant to the vessel (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 9c-9d, liquid electrolyte 202 and reactant such as carbon dioxide supplied to chamber 240; Page 8, lines 28-30, Page 13, lines 29-30, and Page 29, lines 30-32), and applying a predetermined voltage or current to the first electrode and second electrode (see e.g. Page 28, lines 25-28, and Page 29, lines 26-32, power and corresponding electrical energy, i.e. current and/or voltage, supplied to the electrolyser system via electrical interconnections to each electrode).
Regarding claim 27, Tao discloses at least an outer surface layer of at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode comprising nickel plating (see e.g. Page 17, lines 31-33, Page 26, lines 25-28, and Page 31, lines 28-31, thin layer, i.e. plating, of nickel coated on outer surface of anode pipe/projection, and catalytic coating of metal such as nickel also on cathode pipes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao in view of Loftfield et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,893,902).
Regarding claims 22-23, Tao teaches all the elements of the reactor of claim 14 as stated above. Tao further teaches the vessel comprising a predetermined length and a predetermined width (see e.g. Figs. 6 and 9c-9d, length and width dimensions of cubic chamber 240; Page 14, lines 8-10). Tao does not explicitly teach the first electrode and the second electrode each comprising a length being in a range of 50% to 99% of the vessel and a width being in a range of 50% to 99% of the width of the vessel, but does exemplify the first and second electrodes spanning less than the entirety, i.e. less than 100%, of the length and width of the vessel (see e.g. Figs. 6 and 9c-9d, space between the edges of the faces of chamber 240 and the sides and above and below the tops of rows of electrode pipes 204/206 which pass therethrough; Page 15, lines 16-18), encompassing the claimed ranges of the present invention.
Loftfield teaches a cell for electrolyzing sea water (see e.g. Abstract) comprising an enclosure (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, enclosure defined by walls 1/1’/3/3’, cover 9 and bottom 11; Col. 4, lines 15-21) and an alternating array of anodes and cathodes with widths and lengths that take up the majority, i.e. greater than 50%, but not all, i.e. less than 100%, of the width and length of the enclosure (see e.g. Figs. 1-3, anodes and cathodes 17 and 19 shown spanning the majority of enclosure in each direction; Col. 4, lines 48-51), closely overlapping the claimed range of the present invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second electrodes of Tao to each have a length and a width spanning the majority, but not all, i.e. greater than 50% but less than 100%, of the respective length and width of the vessel as taught by Loftfield as suitable relative dimensions for the electrodes and vessel of an electrolysis cell. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14 under 35 USC 102 over Weninger, particularly regarding the first and second electrode being grid-shaped and comprising electrode portions angled with respect to on another that extend within different planes, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tao.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Werner et al. (“Block copolymer derived 3-D interpenetrating multifunctional gyroidal nanohybrids for electrical energy storage”, Energy Environ. Sci., 2018) discloses an electrochemical storage battery comprising 3-D interpenetrating anode and cathode networks with portions that extend in angles and planes different from one another.
/MOFOLUWASO S JEBUTU/Examiner, Art Unit 1795