DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I - drawn to a continuous sensor device (claims 1-15), and Species B - Fig. 1C, in the reply filed on 09/29/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2, 6, and 15-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, and nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/29/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-14 are hereby under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2023 and 03/04/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 9 recites “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 1, line 9 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 3, line 1 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 3, lines 1-2 recite “the electrode”, however it appears it should read --the at least one electrode-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 4, line 1 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 4, line 2 recites “that provides at least”, however it appears it should read --that provides the at least-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 4, line 2 recites “a resistance”, however it appears it should read --the resistance-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 4, lines 2-3 recite “a pressure”, however it appears it should read --the pressure-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 4, line 3 recites “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 4, line 3 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 5, line 1 recites “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 7, line 2 recites “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 8, line 2 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 8, line 2 recites “that provides at least”, however it appears it should read --that provides the at least-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 8, lines 2-3 recite “a resistance”, however it appears it should read --the resistance-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 8, line 3 recites “a pressure”, however it appears it should read --the pressure-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 8, line 3 recites “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 8, lines 3-4 recite “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 9, line 1 recites “the sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --the aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 9, line 2 recites “the electrode”, however it appears it should read --the at least one electrode-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 9, line 3 recites “the least one”, however it appears it should read --the at least one-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 9, lines 3-4 recite “the electrode”, however it appears it should read --the at least one electrode-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 9, line 4 recites “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 11, lines 1-2 recite “the sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --the aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 12, line 1 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 12, line 2 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 12, line 4 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 12, lines 4-5 recite “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 13, line 1 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 13, line 2 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 13, line 4 recites “the feature”, however it appears it should read --the at least one feature-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 13, lines 4-5 recite “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 13, lines 6-7 recite “less than <3X, <10X, …”, however it appears “less than” should be deleted.
Regarding claim 14, lines 1-2 recite “aptamer sensing monolayer”, however it appears it should read --aptamer sensing monolayer layer-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: The claim limitation “at least one feature configured to be inserted into a body … configured to provide at least one of a resistance to abrasion effect or a pressure effect” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “feature” coupled with functional language “configured to be inserted into a body … configured to provide at least one of a resistance to abrasion effect or a pressure effect” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “feature”.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“features include microneedles … single indwelling needle … a flexible circuit … a protective membrane applied to protect the sensor from abrasion or pressure effects”, or equivalents thereof, as described in para. [0024] and [0027] of the disclosure filed on 03/21/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kendall et al. (US 20210338158 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kendall.
The claims are generally directed towards a continuous sensing device for measuring at least one analyte in interstitial fluid, the device comprising: at least one feature configured to be inserted into a body, the at least one feature configured to be inserted into a skin of the body, the at least one feature at least partially coated with at least one electrode functionalized with an aptamer sensing monolayer layer, the aptamer sensing monolayer layer comprising an aptamer with attached redox couples and passivating material, wherein the at least one feature is configured to provide at least one of a resistance to abrasion effect or a pressure effect for the aptamer sensing monolayer when the feature is placed into the body.
Regarding claim 1, Kendall discloses a continuous sensing device for measuring at least one analyte in interstitial fluid (Abstract, Fig. 1, para. [0057], para. [0233], para. [0243]), the device comprising:
at least one feature (Fig. 1, element 112, “microstructure”, para. [0243], para. [0309]) configured to be inserted into a body, the at least one feature configured to be inserted into a skin of the body (Fig. 1, para. [0243], “microstructures are configured to breach the stratum corneum … entering at least the viable epidermis …”), the at least one feature at least partially coated with at least one electrode functionalized with an aptamer sensing monolayer layer, the aptamer sensing monolayer layer comprising an aptamer with attached redox couples and passivating material (para. [0309-0310], “microstructures include an electrode … one or more microstructure electrodes interact with one or more analytes …”, para. [0320], para. [0323-0326], “aptamer is a coating on the microstructure … aptamer has a first conformation in the absence of analyte binding and a second conformation upon analyte binding … change … may then be detected using, for example, a labelling moiety such as a redox moiety or fluorescent label attached to or close to the relevant portion of the aptamer …”, para. [0340-0342], “aptamer comprises … redox moiety … methylene blue …”, para. [0724], “methylene blue and the thiol group were covalently attached … aptamer … 6-mercaptohexanol … solution”),
wherein the at least one feature is configured to provide at least one of a resistance to abrasion effect or a pressure effect for the aptamer sensing monolayer when the feature is placed into the body (para. [0432-0433], “microstructures could contain a material, or include a coating, such as polyethylene glycol (PEG), which generally repels substances from the surface of the microstructure … cellulose membrane …” - the instant specification describes the feature including a membrane, which includes cellulose membranes. see para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Kendall discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the feature comprises a membrane covering the electrode (para. [0309-0310], “microstructures include an electrode … one or more microstructure electrodes interact with one or more analytes …”, para. [0432-0433], “microstructures could contain a material, or include a coating, such as polyethylene glycol (PEG), which generally repels substances from the surface of the microstructure … cellulose membrane …”).
Regarding claim 4, Kendall discloses the device of claim 1, wherein at least one material is added onto the feature to provide the configuration that provides at least one of a resistance to abrasion effect or a pressure effect for the aptamer sensing monolayer when the feature is placed into the body (para. [0432-0433], “microstructures could contain a material, or include a coating, such as polyethylene glycol (PEG), which generally repels substances from the surface of the microstructure … cellulose membrane …” - the instant specification describes the feature including a membrane, which includes cellulose membranes. see para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Kendall discloses the device of claim 1, further comprising at least one biocompatible dissolvable material applied to the aptamer sensing monolayer (para. [0424-0428], “outer coating … dissolves once in-situ, allowing an underlying functional coating to be exposed, for example to allow analytes to be detected …”).
Regarding claim 8, Kendall discloses the device of claim 4, wherein a biocompatible dissolvable material is the at least one material added onto the feature to provide the configuration that provides at least one of a resistance to abrasion effect or a pressure effect for the aptamer sensing monolayer when the feature is placed into the body (para. [0427], “selectively dissolvable coating … exposing … functional feature, so that analytes are only detected once the coating has dissolved …”, para. [0430], “coating can also be used to … repel … at least one substance …”, para. [0433], “cellulose membrane”, para. [0661], “methyl cellulose/sucrose formulation … coating was dissolving off the electrode …”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall et al. (US 20210338158 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kendall as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Gottlieb et al. (US 20100030045 A1), hereinafter referred to as Gottlieb.
Regarding claim 5, Kendall discloses the device of claim 3.
However, Kendall does not explicitly disclose wherein the membrane and the aptamer sensing monolayer are physically separated.
Gottlieb teaches an analogous continuous sensing device for measuring at least one analyte in interstitial fluid (Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, para. [0008-0009]) comprising at least one feature coated with at least one electrode functionalized with a sensing monolayer (Fig. 2, element 100, para. [0061-0066], para. [0081]) and a membrane covering the electrode (Fig. 2, para. [0061-0066]). Gottlieb further teaches the membrane and the sensing monolayer are physically separated (para. [0065], “sensing layer is coated and or disposed next to one or more additional layers … adhesion promoting layer …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kendall to additionally have the membrane and the aptamer sensing monolayer are physically separated, as taught by Gottlieb. This is because Gottlieb teaches multiple layers can be disposed over the analyte sensing layer, such as an adhesion promoting layer, which facilitates the adhesion of the one or more membrane and the sensing layer (para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Kendall discloses the device of claim 1, wherein exposed portions of the electrode are coated with at least one material different from the aptamer sensing monolayer (para. [0724], “aptamers were immobilized to the gold electrode … electrode was washed … process was repeated with … 6-mercaptohexanol …”).
However, Kendall does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing monolayer is not exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body, and the electrode coats both exposed and non-exposed portions of the at least one feature inserted into the skin.
Gottlieb teaches an analogous continuous sensing device for measuring at least one analyte in interstitial fluid (Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, para. [0008-0009]) comprising at least one feature coated with at least one electrode functionalized with a sensing monolayer (Fig. 2, element 100, para. [0061-0066], para. [0081]). Gottlieb further teaches the sensing monolayer is not exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body (para. [0062], “insulating cover layer … disposed on portions of the sensor …”), and the electrode coats both exposed and non-exposed portions of the at least one feature inserted into the skin (Fig. 2, element 102, 104, 110, para. [0061-0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kendall to additionally have the sensing monolayer not exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body, and the electrode coat both exposed and non-exposed portions of the at least one feature inserted into the skin, as taught by Gottlieb. This is because Gottlieb teaches an insulating material coating the device allows for one or more exposed regions to be created to allow a target analyte to reach the electrode at certain locations, while also providing protection (para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kendall discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the exposed portions of the at least one feature inserted into the skin are configured to absorb at least one endogenous solute found in the body (para. [0335], “suitable aptamer …”, para. [0386], “the analyte is a protein …”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kendall discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the at least one material different from the sensing monolayer comprises an exogeneous passivating material (para. [0724], “aptamers were immobilized to the gold electrode … electrode was washed … process was repeated with … 6-mercaptohexanol …” - see para. [0031] of the instant specification).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall et al. (US 20210338158 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kendall as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gottlieb et al. (US 20100030045 A1), hereinafter referred to as Gottlieb, in view of Negi et al. (US 20170007813 A1), hereinafter referred to as Negi.
Regarding claim 12, Kendall discloses the device of claim 1.
However, Kendall does not explicitly disclose wherein the feature comprises an exposed area configured to be exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and an unexposed area that is configured to be unexposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and which carriers the aptamer sensing monolayer.
Gottlieb teaches an analogous continuous sensing device for measuring at least one analyte in interstitial fluid (Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, para. [0008-0009]) comprising at least one feature coated with at least one electrode functionalized with a sensing monolayer (Fig. 2, element 100, para. [0061-0066], para. [0081]). Gottlieb further teaches the feature comprises an exposed area configured to be exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body (Fig. 2, element 108, para. [0062], “one or more exposed regions or apertures … allow an analyte such as glucose to permeate the layers of the sensor and be sensed by the sensing elements …”), and an unexposed area that is configured to be unexposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and which carriers the sensing monolayer (Fig. 2, element 106, para. [0062], “insulating cover layer … disposed on portions of the sensor …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kendall to additionally include an exposed area configured to be exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and an unexposed area that is configured to be unexposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and which carriers the aptamer sensing monolayer, as taught by Gottlieb. This is because Gottlieb teaches an insulating material coating the device allows for one or more exposed regions to be created to allow a target analyte to reach the electrode at certain locations, while also providing protection (para. [0062]).
However, modified Kendall does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of the unexposed to the exposed area is configured to be at least one of >1.3X, >3X, >10X, >30X, >100X.
Negi teaches an analogous continuous sensing device for measuring at least one analyte in interstitial fluid (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, para. [0006]). Negi further teaches the feature includes exposed and unexposed areas (Fig. 2, para. [0044]) and the number of exposed areas and the distance between the areas can vary (para. [0056-0058]). Because Negi clearly teaches that variability of the dimensions and dimensional relationships of the components, it suggests that the dimensions can be optimized based on manufacturing, design, and use applications. As such, the dimensions and dimensional relationships of the components are results-effective variables that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the manufacturing, design, and use applications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the dimensions and dimensional relationships of the components, using the teachings of Negi as a starting point, so as to obtain the desired manufacturing, design, and use applications.
Regarding claim 13, Kendall discloses the device of claim 1.
However, Kendall does not explicitly disclose wherein the feature comprises an exposed area configured to be exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and an unexposed area that is configured to be unexposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and which carriers the aptamer sensing monolayer.
Gottlieb teaches an analogous continuous sensing device for measuring at least one analyte in interstitial fluid (Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, para. [0008-0009]) comprising at least one feature coated with at least one electrode functionalized with a sensing monolayer (Fig. 2, element 100, para. [0061-0066], para. [0081]). Gottlieb further teaches the feature comprises an exposed area configured to be exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body (Fig. 2, element 108, para. [0062], “one or more exposed regions or apertures … allow an analyte such as glucose to permeate the layers of the sensor and be sensed by the sensing elements …”), and an unexposed area that is configured to be unexposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and which carriers the aptamer sensing monolayer (Fig. 2, element 106, para. [0062], “insulating cover layer … disposed on portions of the sensor …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kendall to additionally include an exposed area configured to be exposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and an unexposed area that is configured to be unexposed to tissue or cellular content in the body after the feature is inserted into the body, and which carriers the aptamer sensing monolayer, as taught by Gottlieb. This is because Gottlieb teaches an insulating material coating the device allows for one or more exposed regions to be created to allow a target analyte to reach the electrode at certain locations, while also providing protection (para. [0062]).
However, modified Kendall does not explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of the unexposed to the exposed area is at least one of less than <3X, <10X, <30X, <100X, <300X.
Negi teaches an analogous continuous sensing device for measuring at least one analyte in interstitial fluid (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, para. [0006]). Negi further teaches the feature includes exposed and unexposed areas (Fig. 2, para. [0044]) and the number of exposed areas and the distance between the areas can vary (para. [0056-0058]). Because Negi clearly teaches that variability of the dimensions and dimensional relationships of the components, it suggests that the dimensions can be optimized based on manufacturing, design, and use applications. As such, the dimensions and dimensional relationships of the components are results-effective variables that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the manufacturing, design, and use applications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the dimensions and dimensional relationships of the components, using the teachings of Negi as a starting point, so as to obtain the desired manufacturing, design, and use applications.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kendall discloses the device of claim 13, wherein a coverage density of aptamer across the aptamer sensing monolayer will vary by at least one of <30%, <100%, <300%, <1000% (para. [0354], “number of aptamers and/or aptamer density in the coating will depend on the analyte … aptamer density in the coating should be a density which results in a measurable response upon analyte binding … density in the coating is in the range of from …”).
Conclusion
/K.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791