DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heirman et al. (2022/0233363).
With respect to claim 1, Heirman discloses an arrangement for detecting fluid in a single-use hygiene article, as shown in figure 5, comprising a backsheet film with a conductive print thereon, as disclosed in paragraph [0187].
With respect to claim 14, the conductive print is disposed directly on the backsheet film, as disclosed in paragraph [0184].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heirman et al. (2022/0233363).
With respect to claim 2, Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the conductive print having an area-specific resistance of less than 10 kΩ. Heirman discloses in paragraph [0134] that the resistance is affected by the amount of conductive material by thickness or weight, and therefore the area-specific resistance is a result-effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the area-specific resistance of the conductive print of Heirman less than 10 kΩ, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claimed invention are disclose in art, finding the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 3, Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the surface weight of the conductive print being less than 3 gsm. Heirman discloses in paragraph [0134] that the resistance is affected by the amount of conductive material by thickness or weight, and therefore the weight is a result-effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the specific weight of the conductive print of Heirman less than 3 gsm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claimed invention are disclose in art, finding the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 4, Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the conductive print exhibiting no abrasion by a rub-off test. It is well-known in the art to optimize durability of conductive print so that the ink remains in place and allows for detection of wetness during use of the article. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the conductive print of Heirman to exhibit no abrasion by a rub-off test to achieve the predictable result of durable ink that allows for detection of wetness during use.
With respect to claims 5-6, Heirman further discloses the backsheet film is laminated to a nonwoven ply, as disclosed in paragraph [0066]. Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of joining regions configured as a composite material of the nonwoven ply and solidified material of the backsheet film. Using thermal bonding and fusing is well-known in the art to bond a laminate of a nonwoven ply and a film for the backsheet of a hygiene article. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the backsheet laminate of Heirman to have joining regions configured as a composite material of the nonwoven ply and solidified material of the backsheet film to achieve the predictable result of securely bonding the nonwoven and film layers of the laminate.
With respect to claim 7, Heirman further discloses a nonwoven ply between the absorbent core and the backsheet film, as disclosed in paragraph [0162]. The conductive print 101 is positioned on the inner surface of the backsheet film 1, as shown in figure 2B, and therefore is disposed between the nonwoven ply and the backsheet film.
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heirman et al. (2022/0233363) in view of Bianchi (11,224,547).
With respect to claim 8, Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the backsheet film having a WVTR of less than 500 g/m2 in 24 h and a surface weight of the backsheet film being less than 10 gsm. Bianchi teaches that a backsheet film below 20 gsm saves material cost, as disclosed in column 16, lines 41-43, and further teaches a WVTR of 300 g/m2 in 24 h. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the backsheet film of Heirman with a WVTR of 300 g/m2 in 24 h and a surface weight of less than 10 gsm, as taught by Bianchi, to reduce material costs.
With respect to claim 9, modified Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the specific dart drop of the arrangement is more than 6 g/g or polymer/m2 or a specific water column of the arrangement is more than 270 mm/g of polymer/m2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the specific dart drop of the arrangement more than 6 g/g or polymer/m2 to achieve the predictable result of backsheet film with a suitably resistant to impact.
With respect to claim 10, modified Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the arrangement having a force of at least 0.3 N/in/g of polymer/m2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the arrangement of Heirman with a force of at least 0.3 N/in/g of polymer/m2 to achieve the predictable result of a film that is strong enough to withstand the strain of movement of the wearer.
With respect to claim 11, Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the backsheet film having a WVTR of more than 500 g/m2 in 24 h and a surface weight of the backsheet film being less than 20 gsm. Bianchi teaches that a backsheet film below 20 gsm saves material cost, as disclosed in column 16, lines 41-43, and further teaches a WVTR of at least 300 g/m2 in 24 h, which encompasses the range of 500 g/m2 in 24 h and therefore creates a prima facie case of obviousness with the claimed range. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the backsheet film of Heirman with a WVTR of more than 500 g/m2 in 24 h and a surface weight of less than 20 gsm, as taught by Bianchi, to reduce material costs.
With respect to claim 12, modified Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the specific dart drop of the arrangement is more than 26 g/g or polymer/m2 or a specific water column of the arrangement is more than 270 mm/g of polymer/m2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the specific dart drop of the arrangement more than 26 g/g or polymer/m2 to achieve the predictable result of backsheet film with a suitably resistant to impact.
With respect to claim 13, modified Heirman discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the arrangement having a force of at least 0.5 N/in/g of polymer/m2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the arrangement of Heirman with a force of at least 0.5 N/in/g of polymer/m2 to achieve the predictable result of a film that is strong enough to withstand the strain of movement of the wearer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patents and Publications 9,895,273; 10,159,607; 11,938,005; 12,201,450; and 2023/0143877 disclose backsheet films for hygiene articles having conductive print thereon.
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781