DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Piggott (US 20150357692).
Regarding claim 1, Piggott teaches a battery rack (shown in figure 12 item 12 a battery pack)
comprising: a plurality of battery modules that are arranged in a layered structure (shown in figure 12 a plurality of battery modules in a layered structure. Paragraph [0065] teaches wherein a plurality of battery modules may be cooled);
a rack case configured to accommodate the plurality of battery modules (shown in figure 12 in a rack, interpreted as a housing or a case); and
a fire extinguishing agent supply member comprising a supply pipe configured to transport a fire extinguishing agent and extending along the plurality of battery modules, and a plurality of valves, each valve of the plurality of valves configured to have a first end connected to the supply pipe and a second end connected to a respective one of the plurality of battery modules from the supply pipe (figure 7 shows a fire extinguishing agent supply member, interpreted as a blower item 8. The blower 8 is attached to pipes interpreted as a duct system item 10 and valves items 88 and 74. Figure 12 shows the duct system connected to the batteries connected to a respective one battery module from the supply pipes. Figure 13 shows where a fire extinguishing agent, cooling air, is blown to each battery through each valve).
Figure 1 shows a fire extinguishing device, a thermoelectric management system items 8 and 10 attached to a battery pack item 12
Piggott Figure 7 shows the thermoelectric management system item 8 and 10 with protrusions item 74
Regarding claim 2, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 1, wherein the fire extinguishing agent supply member comprises at least one positioning pin protruding from the supply pipe toward the plurality of battery modules and configured such that a protruding end portion is inserted into a battery module of the plurality of battery modules (shown in figure 7 wherein positioning pins are the ends of outlets item 74 protrudes outward and into a plurality of battery modules)
Regarding claim 3, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 2, wherein the at least one positioning pin comprises a locking protrusion protruding in a radial direction of the positioning pin (figure 5 shows a locking protrusion item 34 defined in paragraph [0079] as an engagement feature).
Regarding claim 4, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 2, wherein the at least one positioning pin is at least two positioning pins, and the at least two positioning pins are configured to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (figure 7 shows a plurality of protrusions).
Regarding claim 5, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 1, wherein the valve is a passive valve configured to be opened when an internal temperature of the respective battery module rises above a predetermined temperature (paragraph [0077] teaches wherein when the temperature rises above a predetermined temperature, the cooling function is performed).
Regarding claim 6, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 1, wherein the fire extinguishing agent supply member further comprises a fixing frame comprising a connection portion configured to be fixedly coupled to one side surface of the supply pipe, and a coupling portion bent and extending from the connection portion and configured to be coupled to the rack case (figure 6 item 40 wherein the supply pipe, interpreted as the blower and duct system attached are fixed to a frame, item 40, and coupled to the battery pack item 12).
Regarding claim 7, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 6, wherein the supply pipe comprises an extension portion provided on a side opposite to a side to which the plurality of valves is coupled, and protruding in a shape of a rib rearward from a body (figure 12 shows an extension portion to the side which the plurality of valves or outlets are coupled).
Regarding claim 8, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 7, wherein the fixing frame further comprises a bending portion formed integrally with the connection portion and bent in a U shape to surround the extension portion (figure 12 shows a u shaped portion).
Regarding claim 10, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 9, wherein the fire extinguishing agent supply member further comprises: an injection nozzle connected to a first end of the pair of supply pipes so that the fire extinguishing agent is injected into the pair of supply pipes from an outside; and a discharge nozzle connected to a second end of the pair of supply pipes so that the fire extinguishing agent is discharged from the pair of supply pipes to the outside (paragraph [0038] teaches wherein the cooling air is injected or pushed from the valves to the batteries so that the fire extinguishing agent, air is discharged from a pair or pipes to the outside).
Regarding claim 11, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 10, wherein the fixing frame further comprises a cover member configured to cover each of the injection nozzle and the discharge nozzle (defined in paragraphs [0106] – [ 0107] wherein a plurality of enclosures and windows to control the opening and closing of an outlet).
Regarding claim 12, Piggott teaches a energy storage system comprising at least one battery rack according to claim1 (shown in figure 1 a battery item 12).
Regarding claim 13, Piggott teaches a power generation system comprising at least one battery rack according to claim 1 (shown in figure 1 a battery item 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piggott (US 20150357692) in view of Oh (US 20140069113).
Regarding claim 9, Piggott teaches the battery rack of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein the supply pipe is a pair of two supply pipes, and wherein the fixing frame is configured to be positioned between the pair of supply pipes.
Oh teaches wherein the supply pipe is a pair of two supply pipes, and wherein the fixing frame is configured to be positioned between the pair of supply pipes (shown in figure 2 items 241 and 242 defined in paragraph [0031] as divided duct which provide air from two blowers items 320).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Piggott reference with the cooling system of the Oh reference so that cooling efficiency may be achieved.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Oh reference in paragraph [0007] wherein cooling efficiency is taught.
Oh Figure 3 shows a pair of supply pipes, interpreted as dual ducts items 241 and 242.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20060090492 A1 Cooling System For Battery Pack Ahn; Jaesung Et Al.
Us 7045236 B1 Heat And Gas Exchange System Andrew; Michael G. Et Al.
Us 20190288359 A1 Thermally Robust Energy System Bass; Edward Et Al.
Us 20220131210 A1 Battery Pack With Thermal Management Botadra; Mehul
Us 20130266840 A1 Battery Cooling Structure Fujii; Ryo Et Al.
Us 20210057791 A1 Vehicle Battery Pack Harugaichi; Shintaro Et Al.
Us 20130280574 A1 Battery Pack Kim; Dukjung
Us 20150140375 A1 Battery Pack Lee; Ji Seok Et Al.
Us 20160211561 A1 Onboard Battery For Vehicle Nakagawa; Isao Et Al.
Us 20140069113 A1 Battery System Oh; Man Ju Et Al.
Us 20140072846 A1 Battery System Oh; Man Ju Et Al.
Us 20070072061 A1 Power Supply Unit Shimizu; Hideo
Us 6613472 B1 Battery Cooling Structure Watanabe; Osamu
Us 20120216999 A1 Cooling System Yamamoto; Akira
Us 20110189511 A1 Battery System Yoon; Jihyoung
Us 11850970 B2 J-Type Air-Cooled Battery Zhang; Jie Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859