DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument in the Remarks, Hanse in Fig.9, [65] teaches display D is configured to provide at least an information/instrumentation region IR that means display device at least covers or covers over information region, and in Fig.4A, [67]-[68], teaches surface T has display D being illuminated by a light source that indicates the display overlaps with illuminated region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200369223 A1 Hansen; Scott Allen et al. (hereafter Hansen), in view of US 20150283939 A1 Parkes; Frederick Hayle et al. (hereafter Parkes), and further in view of US 20230001845 A1 TAKAGI; Noriaki et al. (hereafter Takagi).
Regarding claim 9, Hansen discloses A vehicle (Fig.1) comprising: a combined display-lighting unit (Figs.15A-15C, [75]), wherein the combined display-lighting unit has, integrated in one component part ([71], component C comprising of user interface UI/display panel D and light source LED, wherein the light source shown as LED array L and as module M (e.g. which may comprise an integrated light source/display panel and sensor/touch screen interface) ), a display device forming an information region and a lighting unit forming an illumination region (Fig.11, [71], DR is the illuminated region generated by light L, IR is the information region), wherein the e-paper display device extends over the information region and the illumination region (Fig.4A, Fig.9, [65], [67]-[68], display D is configured to provide at least an information/instrumentation region IR that means display device at least covers or covers over information region, and surface T has display D being illuminated by a light source that indicates the display overlaps with illuminated region).
Hansen fails to disclose e-paper display device, wherein the display-lighting unit is arranged on an outside of the vehicle body, and wherein the lighting unit is a headlight of the vehicle or a rear braking light of the vehicle.
However, Parkes teaches e-paper display device ([14], e ink display is e paper displayer), wherein the display-lighting unit is arranged on an outside of the vehicle body ([15], [18], a display including light source means the display integrated with light unit, and the display is placed outside of a vehicle), and Takagi teaches wherein the lighting unit is a headlight of the vehicle or a rear braking light of the vehicle (Figs.3, 6; [136], [160]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Hansen, Parkes and DELLA VECCHIA before him/her, to modify the vehicle disclosed by Hansen to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Parkes and Takagi, in order to create a new and useful vehicle identification and registration information display, as identified by Parkes, and provide a simple, intuitive, and improve designability while avoiding deterioration of safety and functionality of a vehicle, as identified by Takagi.
Regarding claim 11, Hansen discloses The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the display-lighting unit has a cover layer that is arranged on a surface of the display-lighting unit facing a viewer of the display-lighting unit and extends over the information region and the illumination region (Fig.10A, [75]).
Regarding claim 12, Hansen discloses The vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the cover layer is transparent, and/or is configured as a bistable layer and is transparent in a first of at least two states and opaque in a second of the at least two states ([80]).
Regarding claim 14, Parkes teaches The vehicle according to claim 9, further comprising: a sensor arranged behind the display-lighting unit, wherein the e-paper display device has a recess for the sensor ([10]).
Regarding claim 15, Parkes teaches The vehicle according to claim 14, wherein the sensor is a radar sensor ([24]).
Regarding claim 18, Hansen discloses The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the vehicle is a motor vehicle (Fig.1A).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen, in view of Parkes and Takagi , and further in view of US 20190220179 A1 DELLA VECCHIA; Silvio et al. (hereafter DELLA VECCHIA).
Regarding claim 13, DELLA VECCHIA teaches The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the display-lighting unit has a foreground illumination device for illuminating the information region and/or the illumination region ([04], [41]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Hansen, Parkes, Takagi and DELLA VECCHIA before him/her, to modify the vehicle disclosed by Hansen to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Parkes, Takagi and DELLA VECCHIA, in order to create a new and useful vehicle identification and registration information display, as identified by Parkes, and provide a simple, intuitive, and improve designability while avoiding deterioration of safety and functionality of a vehicle, as identified by Takagi, and provide a simple, intuitive, and economic technology, which allows automotive interiors to be customized in any moment, as identified by DELLA VECCHIA.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen, in view of Parkes and Takagi, and further in view of US 11230225 B1 Stefanov-Wagner; Thaddeus et al. (hereafter Stefanov-Wagner).
Regarding claim 16, Stefanov-Wagner teaches The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein: the lighting unit has an element or a plurality of elements arranged one above the other, each having a light source arranged behind a bistable layer, and the bistable layer is transparent in a first of at least two states and is opaque in a second of the at least two states (Fig.9, col.10 line 66-col.11 line 20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Hansen, Parkes, Takagi and Stefanov-Wagner before him/her, to modify the vehicle disclosed by Hansen to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Parkes, Takagi and Stefanov-Wagner, in order to create a new and useful vehicle identification and registration information display, as identified by Parkes, and provide a simple, intuitive, and improve designability while avoiding deterioration of safety and functionality of a vehicle, as identified by Takagi and provide vehicle with light-based devices that emit light, as identified by Stefanov-Wagner.
Conclusion
/TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487