DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and response filed on February 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18, 21, and 22 are pending. Claims 1-5, 21, and 22 are directed to the elected invention. Claims 6-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
It is not clear how claim 21 further limits independent claim 1. Specifically, claim 1, as amended, requires that the anti-reflective coating comprising a plurality of inorganic layers having differing refractive indices relative to other another. Since the term “plurality” means more than 1, it is not clear how claim 21, which appears to simply define a first and second inorganic layer, further limits claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US Pub. 2016/0363698) in view of WO2018/237242 and Liou et al. (Thin Solids Films).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Fan discloses an article comprising a glass or ceramic substrate ([0024], Fig. 1 #110); an anti-reflective coating (Fig. 1 #120) disposed over the substrate; and an ETC coating comprising fluorinated material disposed on the anti-reflective coating ([0074] , Fig. 1 #140). The anti-reflective coating can be a bi-layer or multi-layer coating [0030] and include a silsesquioxane or polysilazane [0032], which corresponds to the presently claimed intermediate layer.
With respect to the newly added limitation that the anti-reflective coating comprises a plurality of inorganic layers having differing refractive indices relative to one another, Fan does not disclose this, but does suggest that the anti-reflective coating can be a multi-layer coating [0030] and can be made from inorganic materials. WO ‘242 discloses a similar article comprising an easy-to-clean coating and an anti-reflective optical stack (claim 1, [0023]). WO ‘242 discloses that the optical stack includes sub-layers that may be formed from different materials [0023] that have different refractive indices [0041]. Suitable materials for the optical stack of WO ‘242 include inorganic layers [0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the article of Fan, wherein the anti-reflective layer includes an intermediate silsesquioxane or polysilazane layer, as taught in Fan, and additional optical sub-layers made from inorganic layers, as taught by WO ‘242, motivated by the desire to obtain a laminate having enhanced optical characteristics, as disclosed in WO ‘242 [0039].
Fan does not disclose the elastic modulus of the intermediate coating being from about 9 GPa to about 40 GPa. However, as noted above, Fan uses the same materials as the present invention for the intermediate coating. Additionally, Fan discloses curing the coating at a temperature up to 500C. Liou discloses that elastic modulus properties of silsesquioxane coatings are affected by the curing temperature and a curing temperature of 500C would result in a GPa within the presently claimed range (Fig 6). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a curing temperature of up to 500C, as taught in Fan, in order to achieve a coating having elastic modulus properties within the claimed range, as taught in Liou.
Regarding claim 2, Fan discloses an article having an ETC coating having a water contact angle of 116 degrees (Example 7).
Regarding claim 3, Fan is silent as to the water contact angle of the ETC using the Cheesecloth Abrasion Test. However, it is reasonable to conclude that the ETC coating of Fan would inherently have the same water contact angle as the present invention since Fan uses the same materials and has the same water contact angle using the Steel Wool Abrasion Test. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 5, Fan discloses the claimed silsesquioxane [0106].
Regarding claim 22, WO ‘242 discloses that the inorganic layers of the optical stack have refractive indices ranging from about 1.3 to about 2.5 [0041].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US Pub. 2016/0363698) in view of WO2018/237242 and Liou et al. (Thin Solids Films), in further view of one of Dierdorf et al. (US Pub. 2007/0116968) or Yamane et al. (US Pub. 2020/0254482).
Modified Fan does not disclose the specific polysilazane coatings of claim 4. Dierdorf ([0014], [0017]) and Yamane ([0035], [0112]) both disclose that the use of perhydropolysilazane coatings are well known coatings for glass substrates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the perhydropolysilazane coatings of Dierdorf or Yamane as the intermediate coating in the article of modified Fan, motivated by the desire to obtain a laminated glass article having desired hydrophilic and anti-fingerprint properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to newly added claim limitations that are addressed above in paragraphs 9 and 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781