DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In view of claim amendments, the election of species set forth in the Restriction/Election filed 07/30/2025 is withdrawn. Therefore, the full scope of claims 1-2, 4-6, and 17-19 is under examination herein. Claims 7, 13-16, and 21 stand withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable linking claim.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 13-19, and 21 are pending in this application. Claims 3, 8-12, and 20 have been cancelled by applicant. Claims 7, 13-16, and 21 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 17-19 are under examination herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities resulting from claim amendments:
In claims 1-2, “cycloexyl” should read “cyclohexyl” in definition of R5.
In claim 5, “alcoky” should be “alkoxy”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner Notes
The compounds of claim 6 are free of the prior art, however, claim 6 stands rejected over formal matters.
While claims 13 and 16 are not under consideration herein, for the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner would like to point out that language like “preferably” and “such as”, renders the claims indefinite. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 is rejected for failing to further limit claim 1 from which it depends. Claim 1 limits R5 to “straight or branched (C1-C6) alkyl optionally substituted by phenyl…”; however, claim 4 expands this limitation to encompass “optionally substituted straight or branched (C1-C6) alkyl”, which may be substituted with anything, not just phenyl.
Also, in claim 4, amended claim 1 says “…or taken together with R6 may form an optionally substituted cyclohexyl”; however, claim 4 broadens this limitation by stating: “…or taken together with R6 may form an optionally substituted 4- to 7-membered cycloalkyl”.
Claim 5 is rejected for depending upon the limitations of claim 4, and also because it is broader that claim 1, which defines R1 as phenyl, tetrahydropyran, pyrazole, and pyridyl; however, claim 5 states R1 may be phenyl or indolyl.
Claim 6 is rejected for failing to further limit claim 1 from which it depends. Claim 1 has been amended to limit R1 to phenyl, tetrahydropyran, pyrazole, and pyridyl; however, claim 6 claims compounds 59 and 93, wherein the group corresponding to R1 is indole.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatesan et al. (US 10,471,051 B2 – Pub. Date: Nov. 12, 2019) (“Venkatesan”).
Regarding claim 1-2 and 4-5, Venkatesan discloses their compounds of Formula I below as ERK1/2 inhibitors for the treatment of cancers (abstract and col. 3-4) – which is the same intended use as the compounds of the instant invention. Venkatesan’s compounds render the instant compounds obvious when: M is a bond; Z is N; X and Y are N or C; R5 is H; R4 (corresponding to instant R1) is phenyl or tetrahydropyran (see preferred embodiments in col. 4); R6 (corresponding to instant R2) is H; R3 (corresponding to instant R3) is H; and…
Venkatesan discloses the preferred embodiments 225, 248, 279, 328, and 254 below (col. 245, 255, 289, and 257). Embodiments 225, 248, and 254 render the instant compounds obvious when instant X is N, R7-8 are H, R1 is tetrahydropyranyl or phenyl, and R5 is phenyl. The preferred embodiments 279 and 328 below read on the instant compounds when R1 is tetrahydropyranyl; R3 is H; and R4 is alkyl substituted with a heteroaryl.
(225)
(248)
(254)
(279)
(328)
While these embodiments show a methyl group in the position corresponding to Venkatesan’s R5, Venkatesan teaches this group can be H, as in the instant compounds. Applicant is also advised that H vs. Me is considered an obvious modification in the absence of superior, unexpected results. Note In re Wood 199 USPQ 137; In re Lohr 187 USPQ 548 and In re Bowers 149 USPQ 573. Note also In re Fauque 121 USPQ 425 in which differences were 2H’s vs 2 methyl groups. Also see MPEP 2144.09.
Furthermore, while the preferred embodiments above do not show pyrazole as the 5-membered heteroaryl group in the core of the compounds, Venkatesan teaches their X can be N and Y can be C, resulting in a pyrazole. While the connectivity of these pyrazoles would be different, Applicant is advised that the courts have found that a novel useful compound that is isomeric with the prior art compound is unpatentable unless it possesses some unobvious or unexpected beneficial property not possessed by the prior art compound. In re Norris, 179 F.2d. 970, 84 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1970). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to expect similar properties of structurally similar compounds since they are suggestive of one another. It has been held that a compound, which is structurally isomeric with a compound of the prior art, is prima facie obvious absent unexpected results. In re Finely, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949); 84 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1950).
Thus, Venkatesan discloses a relatively broad genus, which encompasses the instant subgenus.
Therefore, regarding claims 1-2 and 4-5, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed compounds prima facie obvious, since they are generically embraced by Venkatesan’s disclosed formula; In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2144.08. The requisite motivation for arriving at the claimed compounds stems from the fact that they fall within the generic class of anticancer compounds disclosed by Venkatesan. Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare any of the compounds embraced by the disclosed generic formula, including those encompassed by the claims.
Further regarding claim 5, Venkatesan teaches their compound 254 above, which corresponds to R1 being phenyl substituted with alkoxy.
Regarding claim 17, Venkatesan discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising their compounds of Formula I with other pharmaceutically inactive ingredients (such as carriers – see col. 45-46).
Regarding claim 18, Venkatesan discloses their pharmaceutical compositions may contain other medications or therapeutic agents (col.48, lines 10-16).
Regarding claim 19, Venkatesan discloses kits comprising their compounds in single formulations or in combination formulations (reading on sequential or simultaneous administration when formulations contain single ingredient or combination therapies, respectively) (col. 48, lines 17-21).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,284,298 B2 (US ‘298). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-5, and 17-19, US ‘298 claims the compounds of Formula I below, which render the instant compounds obvious when: X is N-H; R1 is aryl or heterocycle; R4 is H; R2 is H or alkyl; and R3 is -CONR’’R’’’, wherein R’’ and R’’’ (corresponding to instant R3 and R4) can be H, optionally substituted alkyl, etc. (US ‘298 claims 1-2). Thus, US ‘298 claims a broad genus, which encompasses the instant subgenus of compounds.
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed compounds prima facie obvious, since they are generically embraced by US ‘298’s disclosed formula I. The requisite motivation for arriving at the claimed compounds stems from the fact that they fall within the generic class of compounds disclosed by US ‘298. Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare any of the compounds embraced by the disclosed generic formula, including those encompassed by the claims.
Applicant is reminded that a novel useful compound that is isomeric with the prior art compound is unpatentable unless it possesses some unobvious or unexpected beneficial property not possessed by the prior art compound. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to expect similar properties of structurally similar compounds since they are suggestive of one another. It has been held that a compound, which is structurally isomeric with a compound of the prior art, is prima facie obvious absent unexpected results.
Further regarding instant claims 17-19, US ‘298 claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising their compounds of Formula I and an acceptable carrier or an additional therapeutic agent (US ‘298’s claims 8-9).
Response to Arguments
Claims
Claim amendments are acknowledged. No new matter has been introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see page 21, filed 02/06/2026, with respect to 35 USC § 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 112(b) rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see page 21-24, filed 02/06/2026, with respect to 35 USC § 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 103 rejection of the claims has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration in light of claim amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Venkatesan.
Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim amendments obviate the double patenting rejection over US ‘298. However, this is not the case. As outlined in this office action, compounds claimed are still obvious in view of US ‘298.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKSON J HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627