DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asen (DE 10 2012 006101) (hereinafter “Asen ‘101”) in view of Baumgartner et al. (US 5,582,273).
Regarding claim 10, Asen discloses a brake-application device of a disk brake for a utility vehicle (see machine translation, ¶ 0001), comprising: a pivotable brake lever (7) which is supported, for one part, on an inner wall of a brake caliper (see ¶ 0038), and, for another part, indirectly on a bridge (17) (see ¶ 0038) which is arranged displaceably in the brake caliper and which bears at least one brake plunger (19a, 19b, 20a, 20b) (see ¶¶ 0059, 0069), for which purpose a roller bearing assembly (16a, 16b) which bears against the bridge so as to be secured against rotation and displacement is provided between the brake lever and the bridge (see FIG. 2), wherein the bridge and at least one roller (16a, 16b) of the roller bearing assembly are connected by at least one securing element (29).
Asen does not disclose that the roller comprises a convex cylindrical surface.
Baumgartner teaches a brake-application device of a disk brake for a utility vehicle (see Abstract, FIGS. 6, 7), comprising a bridge (7), wherein the bearing surface on the bridge can be formed concavely (see FIG. 6) or convexly (see FIG. 7), and wherein the corresponding surface of a lever (4, 4a) can be formed convexly (see FIG. 6) or concavely (see FIG. 7), respectively.
It would have been obvious to form the roller of Asen to have a convex shape and the lever to have a corresponding concave shape, as taught by Baumgartner, as a simple substitution of one known element for another that would only provide predictable results (see e.g. Baumgartner, FIGS. 6, 7; showing the convex/concave shapes can be reversed).
Regarding claim 11, Asen discloses that the securing element is held in the bridge and in the at least one roller in a positively locking and/or frictionally locking manner (see FIG. 4; see also ¶ 0043).
Regarding claim 12, Asen discloses that the securing element comprises a clamping sleeve or a dowel pin (29), said clamping sleeve or said dowel pin being pressed into a bore in the bridge and in the at least one roller (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Asen discloses two coaxially oriented rollers (16a, 16b) are provided which are arranged with a spacing to one another (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Asen discloses that each of the two rollers are pressed into an eyelet (28) of the bridge (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Asen discloses that the eyelets are formed integrally on the bridge (see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Asen discloses that the at least one roller and the bridge are preassembled as a structural unit (see FIG. 4).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asen (DE 10 2012 006101) (hereinafter “Asen ‘101”) and Baumgartner et al. (US 5,582,273), as applied to claim 10, above, and further in view of Asen (DE 10 2012 014886) (hereinafter “Asen ‘886”) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 13, Asen ‘101 does not disclose that the securing element comprises a sheet-metal part which is pressed into a respective groove of the bridge and of the at least one roller.
Asen ‘886 teaches a brake-application device of a disk brake for a utility vehicle (see machine translation, ¶ 0001) comprising a first part (7) connected to a second part (8) via a sheet metal pin (12) (see ¶ 0013; FIG. 7a) pressed into respective grooves on the first part and the second part (see ¶ 0013; FIG. 7a).
It would have been obvious to form the pin of Asen ‘101 as a sheet metal part to allow the pin to be deformed thereby creating a frictional connection between the bridge and the roller.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
May 30, 2026