DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant's Response to Election/Restriction, filed 21 November, 2025. As filed, claims 1-9, 11-21 are pending. Claim 10 is canceled.
Priority
This application filed 03/21/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2022/129235 , International Filing Date: 11/02/2022
claims foreign priority to 202211028536.5, filed 08/25/2022
claims foreign priority to 202211027266.6, filed 08/25/2022
claims foreign priority to 202211027271.7, filed 08/25/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants' information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 3/11/2025 and 7/02/2025 have been considered except where lined through. Please refer to Applicants' copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-5, 11-12, drawn to compounds of formula I in the reply filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Applicant’s elect the species of the compound I-2 described on example 3 [0087] of the specification and instant claim 12 which corresponds to formula (I) wherein R is ethyl; n is 1 and X is C6-aryl substituted with iodine.
The Applicants indicated claims 1-5, 11-12 read on the elected species.
Claims 6-9, 13-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-5, 11-12 will be examined on the merits herein.
Applicants’ elected species is not allowable due to the following obviousness type rejection. In searching for the elected species, prior art was identified which reads on the broader genus of the instantly claimed compound of formula (I). Solely in an effort to expedite prosecution, the examiner has applied the prior art.
Claim Objections
1.Claims 1-5, 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation in claims: “compound having iodoaryl or iodoheteroaryl” should be revised to indicate that the iodoaryl or iodoheteroaryl are chemical groups of the compound of formula I t avoid potential indefiniteness issue. Potential amendments include “compound having iodoaryl or iodoheteroaryl groups” or simply “compound of formula I”. Appropriate correction is required.
2. In claim 1, the recitation: “C5-12 aryl-C1,4 alkylene” contains extra spaces before “aryl” and “alkylene. Similarly, for “C5-12 aryloxy-C1,4 alkylene”. Appropriate correction is required.3. Claim 1, 2, 5, 11, 12 are objected for reciting improper Markush language: the recitation in claim 1 for definition of variables X of Markush formula I “is” -or in claim 11 for definition of variable R or n in claim 2 “is equal” - should be changed to “selected from the group consisting of”. Similarly, the recitation in claims 5, 12 “selected from any one of the” or “any one of the” should be changed to “selected from the group consisting of”. See MPEP 803.02. “A Markush-type claim recites alternatives in a format such as "selected from the group consisting of A, B and C." Appropriate correction is required.4. In claim 5, the recitation “wherein the wavy line represents a linkage site of a group.” should be revised to clearly indicate that the chemical bonding is between X and the carbonyl of amide in formula I. Appropriate correction is required.5. In claim 5, the amendment to cross over the compounds appears to be incomplete in crossing the structure- although it looks that the claims end period is after “linkage site of a group” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
1. In claim 1 formula I, variable X is defined as “C5-12 aryloxy-C1,4alkylene”; “C5-
12 aryl-C1,4alkylene” which does not indicate the connectivity site to the carbonyl of the amide compound. Therefore, the connectivity to the (CO) unit of the core structure to the C5-12 aryloxy-C1,4alkylene group can be either at the alkylene site C5-12aryloxy-C1,4alkylene- or at the aryloxy site -C5-12aryloxy-C1,4alkylene, resulting in different types of compounds.
Because there are two or more plausible claim constructions, said claim and its dependents are indefinite. See, e.g., Ex Parte Miyazaki 89 U.S.P.Q.2d 1207, 2008 WL 5105055 (BPAI 2008) (holding "if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, as indefinite.").
2.In claim 1, the variable n of formula I is defined either as “n is an integer
greater than or equal to 0” rendering said claim indefinite because the upper limit is not indicated in the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1.Claim(s) 1-5, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by CN 114262279, April 01, 2022 by Zhang et al. (“the ‘279 publication”; cited by Applicants in IDS).
The ‘279 publication teaches compounds of formula I and specifically teaches the compound shown below as displayed in registry data base: Benzamide, N-(2,2-dimethoxyethyl)-2,3,5-triiodo RN 2766852-88-2:
The compound of prior art corresponds to the claimed formula I in which variables n is 0, R is methyl, X is C5-7 aryl substituted with iodine- 2,3,5-triiodophenyl and the species in claim 12 (see claims 1-2, and [0013] of the cited reference; instant claims 1-5, 11 and 12).
Therefore, the prior art teaches the limitations of instant claims.
2.Claim(s) 1-5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Bacalhau et al. Bioorganic Chemistry (2016), 67, 1-8 (cited by Applicants in IDS).
The article by Bacalhau teaches on Scheme 1 page 2 and scheme 2on page 3 compounds falling within the scope of claimed formula I.
Shown below as displayed in registry data base:
RN 1251224-85-7 CAPLUS
CN Benzamide, N-(2,2-dimethoxyethyl)-2-iodo- (CA INDEX NAME)
RN 1801971-30-1 CAPLUS
CN Benzamide, N-(3,3-diethoxypropyl)-2-iodo- (CA INDEX NAME)
The compounds of prior art correspond to the claimed formula I in which variables n is 0 or 1, R is methyl, or ethyl X is C5-7 aryl substituted with iodine; instant claims 1-5, 11).
Therefore, the prior art teaches the limitations of instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114262279, April 01, 2022 by Zhang et al. (“the ‘279 publication”; cited by Applicants in IDS).
The ‘279 publication teaches amide compound having iodoaryl groups of formula I in which R1 is iodo-substituted phenyl and R2 is acetal from which overlap in scope with compounds of formula I as claimed with the same utility -used to prepare an X-ray imaging embolic material for imaging (abstract; see claims 1-5 of the ‘279 publication).
n 1 is 0-3; R3 is C1-2 alkylene.
Regarding the elected species, the amide compound having iodoaryl groups of formula I in which R1 is iodo-substituted phenyl and R2 is acetal group in
in which n 1 is 0; R3 is C2 alkylene – encompasses the elected species. Although the prior art does not teach preparative example of compound corresponding to the elected species, the prior art relied upon, and the knowledge generally available in the art before the effective filing date provide the suggestion that would have motivated the skilled artisan to make the structural modification and have reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention.
Moreover, the prior art specifically teaches the compound shown below as displayed in registry data base: benzamide, N-(2,2-dimethoxyethyl)-2,3,5-triiodo RN 2766852-88-2:
The compound of prior art corresponds to the claimed formula I in which variables n is 0, R is methyl, X is C5-7 aryl substituted with iodine- 2,3,5-triiodophenyl and is structurally similar to the claimed elected species (see claims 1-2, and [0013] of the cited reference; instant claims 1-5, 11 and 12).
As shown below in the table for facile comparison, the compound of the prior art by the ‘279 publication share the same core structure with instantly claimed compounds, and can be used as therapeutic agents.
Prior art RN 2766852-88-2:
Elected species RN 2944105-11-5
The amide compound explicitly taught by the cited prior art differs from the instant claimed elected species by a methylene unit at the same loci of the molecule: for instant claimed species variable R of formula I is ethyl group while for the compound of prior art is methyl; n is 0 for the for the compound of the prior art instead of 1 ( i.e. methylene unit difference).
"Structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. For example, a prior art compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar
properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved properties."
The motivation to make a substitution of an ethyl group for methyl stems from the fact that a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect that the compounds could be prepared by the same method as taught by the prior art and have the same utility as the compounds taught by the prior art. In the interest of generating additional compounds, a person having ordinary skill in the art would seek to make additional compounds that are most closely related to compounds specifically taught by the prior art that have already been demonstrated to have applicability as X-ray imaging materials. As discussed supra, the well-established doctrine of homology, which assumes that homologous compounds are likely to have similar properties.
Therefore, the instantly claimed elected species compound, which is suggested by the prior art and differ by ethyl instead of methyl at same loci of the structure over compound of prior art is unpatentable absent a showing of unexpected results. MPEP 2144.09 (VII) states "A prima facie case of obviousness based on structural similarity is rebuttable by proof that the claimed compounds possess unexpectedly advantageous or superior properties. In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963)." In the instant case, Applicant has not established unexpected properties between the instantly claimed compounds and the closest prior art compounds.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5, 11-12 are rejected. Claims 6-9, 13-21 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Telephone Inquiry
examiner should be directed to:
Ana Muresan
(571) 270-7587 (phone)
(571)270-8587 (fax)
Ana.Muresan@uspto.gov
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday (9:00AM - 5:30PM).
/ANA Z MURESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692