DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species c) claims 11 and 12 in the reply filed on January 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-5 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 27, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18 of copending Application No. 17/042,770 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims are substantially similar to the instantly claimed invention. While the copending claims fail to expressly teach the presence of a conductive additive material, use of such conductive additive materials in anode active material is conventionally known and thus would have been obvious to employ. It is noted that the examples (e.g. Example 5) of the copending application utilize a carbon black conductive assistant when the porous amorphous silicon is utilized in a lithium ion battery (par. 60). Not only would it have been obvious to utilize such a conductive additive, but clearly Applicant has envisaged such a configuration and one or ordinary skill would have expected such a combination to yield predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented; however, it is noted that the claims have already been allowed and the issue fees have been paid February 25, 2026. Once the reference application is patented, the instant double patenting rejection would no longer be “provisional.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al (WO 2020/194794; references made herein are with respect to EP 3950587, which is considered to be an English language equivalent of the international publication).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 11, and 12, Okada teaches a porous amorphous silicon (title) having a mean lamellar diameter and a mean column diameter of about 10 nm (par. 48). Regarding claims 7, 9, and 14, and further regarding claim 1, Okada teaches a lithium ion battery using the porous amorphous silicon, wherein a carbon black conductive assistant is added with the porous amorphous silicon particles (par. 62), thus constituting the instantly claimed “conductive additive.”
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Okada teaches that the porous amorphous silicon has a mean porosity of 50-99% (par. 39).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (“Layered amorphous silicon as negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries,” of record in the IDS filed June 5, 2025).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 9, 11, and 12, Zhao teaches amorphous silicon powder for use as negative electrode in lithium-ion batteries (title and abstract). As can be seen in Figures 2a-c and 8b, the silicon particles contain lamellar protrusions that are less than 100 nm in diameter. Figure 2a further appears to show columnar protrusions having diameters less than 100 nm. Regarding claims 7 and 14 and further regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches that the silicon particles are mixed with graphite (page 295, second col.), thus constituting a conductive additive.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Zhao teaches a void space (porosity) of 70% (page. 296).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al (WO 2020/194794; references made herein are with respect to EP 3950587, which is considered to be an English language equivalent of the international publication) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Sakabe et al (“Porous amorphous silicon film anodes for high-capacity and stable all-solid-state lithium batteries,” of record in the IDS filed March 21, 2023).
Okada teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery anode material according to instant claims 1 and 2, as shown above.
Okada does not expressly teach that the anode active material is used with a solid electrolyte.
Sakabe, in a similar invention directed toward porous amorphous silicon anodes (title), teaches that use of silicon as an anode material exhibits better cycling performance in solid electrolytes than liquids. Specifically, silicon nanostructures can relieve deformation-induced stress and enhance cycling performance (abstract).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the porous amorphous silicon particles of Okada in a battery having a solid electrolyte in order to take advantage of the benefits of using silicon nanostructures, as taught by Sakabe.
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (“Layered amorphous silicon as negative electrodes in lithium-ion batteries,” of record in the IDS filed June 5, 2025) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Sakabe et al (“Porous amorphous silicon film anodes for high-capacity and stable all-solid-state lithium batteries,” of record in the IDS filed March 21, 2023).
Zhao teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery anode material according to instant claims 1 and 2, as shown above.
Zhao does not expressly teach that the anode active material is used with a solid electrolyte.
Sakabe, in a similar invention directed toward porous amorphous silicon anodes (title), teaches that use of silicon as an anode material exhibits better cycling performance in solid electrolytes than liquids. Specifically, silicon nanostructures can relieve deformation-induced stress and enhance cycling performance (abstract).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the porous amorphous silicon particles of Zhao in a battery having a solid electrolyte in order to take advantage of the benefits of using silicon nanostructures, as taught by Sakabe.
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732