DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the position unit vector P’" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As claims 2-12 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reason.
In claim 1, lines 20-21, is “position unit vector P’” the same as or different from “the position unit vector P’” in line 18? For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be treating them as the same. As claims 2-12 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reason.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/280564 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application anticipate the claims of the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiratsuka (US 2020/0343549).
Regarding claim 1, Hiratsuka teaches a positive electrode active material (see [0021]-[0027] – the composition discussed in [0027] either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the claimed ranges of the Applicant’s material (see [0030]-[0034] of filed Specification), that a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP §2144.05) having a crystalline C having a crystalline major-axis (as Hiratsuka teaches a material that either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the composition of the Applicant’s material (see [0030]-[0034] of filed Specification), it must follow that the material of Hiratsuka also has a crystalline major-axis) and a crystalline c-axis (as Hiratsuka teaches a material that either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the composition of the Applicant’s material (see [0030]-[0034] of filed Specification), it must follow that the material of Hiratsuka also has a crystalline c-axis), wherein among total crystallines in a cross section of a positive electrode active material particle, a ratio of the crystalline C is in a range of 25% to 75% (as Hiratsuka teaches a material that either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the composition of the Applicant’s material (see [0030]-[0034] of filed Specification), it must follow that the material of Hiratsuka also has a cross section of a positive electrode active material particle, a ratio of the crystalline C is in a range of 25% to 75%).
Applicant is reminded that the process of determining measurements of a product fails to further limit the structure of the product itself.
Regarding claims 2-5, Applicant is reminded that the process of determining measurements of a product fails to further limit the structure of the product itself. Furthermore, as Hiratsuka teaches a material that either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the composition of the Applicant’s material (see [0030]-[0034] of filed Specification), it must follow that the material of Hiratsuka also has the claimed material properties of the instant invention.
Regarding claim 6, Hiratsuka teaches wherein the positive electrode active material has a crystalline size of 70 nm to 200 nm (100 to 200 nm, see [0017]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, Hiratsuka teaches wherein the positive electrode active material has an average particle diameter of a primary particle of 0.05 μm to 8 μm (not less than 0.5 μm; see [0017]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, Hiratsuka teaches wherein the positive electrode active material has an average particle diameter of a secondary particle of 2 μm to 25 μm (not less than 8 μm; see [0017]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 10, Hiratsuka teaches wherein the positive electrode active material is a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 1:
[Formula 1]
Lix[NiaCobM1cM2d]O2-yAy
wherein,
M1 is at least one element selected from the group consisting of manganese (Mn) and aluminum (Al),
M2 is at least one element selected from the group consisting of tungsten (W), copper (Cu), iron (Fe), vanadium (V), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), zinc (Zn), aluminum (Al), tantalum (Ta), yttrium (Y), indium (In), lanthanum (La), strontium (Sr), gallium (Ga), scandium (Sc), gadolinium (Gd), samarium (Sm), calcium (Ca), cerium (Ce), niobium (Nb), magnesium (Mg), boron (B), and molybdenum (Mo),
A is at least one element selected from the group consisting of fluorine (F), chlorine (Cl), bromine (Br), iodine (I), astatine (At), and sulfur (S), and
0.98≤x≤1.20, 0<a<1, 0<b<1, 0<c<1, 0≤d≤0.2, and 0≤y≤0.2 (see [0027] – LiaNixCoyM(1-x-y)O2, wherein 1.00 ≤ a ≤ 1.15, 0.8 ≤ x < 1.0, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.2, and where M includes at least one element selected from manganese (Mn), magnesium (Mg), zirconium (Zr), molybdenum (Mo), tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), cerium (Ce), titanium (Ti), iron (Fe), gallium (Ga), and indium (In).)
The composition of the positive electrode active material of Hiratsuka either falls within, overlaps, or is close enough to the claimed ranges in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 11 Hiratsuka teaches a positive electrode (see [0021]-[0027]) comprising the positive electrode active material of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Hiratsuka teaches a lithium secondary battery (see [0064]) comprising the positive electrode of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11 above).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiratsuka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YURA et al. (US 2010/0330429; hereinafter “Yura”).
Regarding claim 7, Hiratsuka is silent to wherein the positive electrode active material has a micro strain of 0.04% to 0.25%.
Yura teaches a positive electrode active material with a lattice strain of 0.05x10-3 to 0.9x10-3 (equivalent to 0.005% to 0.09%; see abstract and [0048]). Yura teaches that when the lattice strain is not within this range, the rate property or the high-temperature cycle property may be deteriorated (see [0048]).
In view of Yura’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the active material of Hiratsuka to include, wherein the positive electrode active material has a lattice strain of 0.005% to 0.09%, as taught by Yura, because when the lattice strain is not within this range, the rate property or the high-temperature cycle property may be deteriorated (see [0048]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 17 December 2025
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735