DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-11, 13, 19, 20, 22, and 23 in the reply filed on 3/26/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed inventions are not properly divisible as they are linked by a common special technical feature. Applicant argues that this feature defines a contribution over the prior art and is essential to each of the claimed inventions. Applicant argues that the various groups share overlapping structural and functional limitations and examination of one group would necessarily require consideration of the other.
This is not found persuasive because the special technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art. As noted in the previous Office action, even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a fusion protein fusion protein comprising an interferon tau or a fragment thereof, and the Fc portion of a human IgG, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Presta et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0269516 A1, published November 30, 2006). Presta et al. teach a fusion protein comprising one or more interferon polypeptide fused to one or more IgG4 Fc polypeptides (See claim 1 and paragraph 0004). Presta et al. teach that the interferon is interferon tau (See paragraph 0004 and claim 2). Presta et al. teach that the Fc portion of IgG4 comprises a hinge, a CH2 domain, and CH3 domain (See paragraph 0213).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-15, 17, and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/26/26.
Claims 1-11, 13, 19, 20, 22, and 23 are under examination.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834 because it does not contain a “Sequence Listing XML” as a separate part of the disclosure. A “Sequence Listing XML” is required because sequences are disclosed that are required to be in a sequence listing, but there is no Sequence Listing XML. Additionally, the claims and specification recite sequence identifiers. Further, sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
• A “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2.; together with
o A statement that indicates the basis for the amendment, with specific references to particular parts of the application as originally filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(3);
o A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(4)
AND
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
o A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 13, 19, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure
that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
The instant claims are drawn to a fusion protein comprising interferon tau (IFNT), or a fragment thereof; and the Fc portion of a human IgG comprising a hinge region, an IgG CH2 domain and an IgG CH3 domain.
The issue with regard to the written description provision is that the genus of IFN tau fragments of the fusion protein is not adequately described. Although the claims are inclusive of the the full length IFN tau proteins set forth in SEQ ID NO:1 and SEQ ID NO:2, the claims also broadly encompass fragments of IFNT and variants of IFNT that comprise an amino acid sequence that is at least 80% homologous with SEQ ID NO:1 or SEQ ID NO: 2. This would represent a large pool of variant polypeptides that must have similar functional activity. A variance of 20%, for example, in the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 that is 171 amino acid residues in length translates into 34 amino acid residues that may be added, deleted, substituted, or otherwise mutated anywhere throughout the entire length of the 171 amino acid sequence. There is no limit in the claims, as written, that the variance be contiguous. Moreover, there is no limitation stating that the substitution, for example, be a conservative substitution. As a result, there are potentially thousands of variant permutations that could be made and still maintain a variance of 80%. Applicants have not described which domain or portions of SEQ ID NOs: 1-2 that are critical to the function of the protein. The specification provides limited guidance regarding which amino acids can be modified in the genus of polypeptides, while maintaining any given function (e.g., treat coronavirus infection). Therefore, these structures (i.e., sequence variants) are claimed only be their functional characteristics and the specification fails to provide sufficient correlation between the claimed functional characteristics and the necessary structural components (i.e., critical domains within the sequences).
Furthermore, Applicants have not shown possession of a representative number of species that have the claimed function(s). While the specification clearly sets forth a correlation between the full-length IFNT proteins set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO:2, and the claimed functions, this correlation does not appear to be clearly present in the breadth of the claims. As noted above, the claims are not limited to the disclosed IFNT protein sequences, and encompass IFNT fragments and variants. Thus, the genus has substantial variation because of the numerous alternatives and combinations permitted. There is no description of the structure common to the members of the genus such that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the members of the genus. Therefore, only two species have been described and this is not considered to be representative of the breadth of the genus. Therefore, given the lack of structure function correlation and the lack of a representative number of species, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
With the exception of the fusion proteins comprising the IFNT protein set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 2, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed fusion proteins, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481,1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 107 F.3d 1565,1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1966.
Protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. Consequently, the effects of sequence dissimilarities upon protein structure and function cannot be predicted. Punta et al. (PLoS Comput Biol 4(10): e1000160, 2008) teach that homology (both orthology and paralogy) does not guarantee conservation of function (See page 2). Punta et al. teach that relatively small difference in sequence can sometimes cause quite radical changes in functional properties, such as a change of enzymatic action, or even loss or acquisition of enzymatic activity itself (See page 2). Punta et al. teach that it is also apparent that there is no sequence similarity threshold that guarantees that two proteins share the same function (see page 2). Punta et al. teach that homology between two proteins does not guarantee that they have the same function, not even when sequence similarity is very high (including 100% sequence identity) (See page 2 and table 2). Punta et al. teach that proteins live and function in 3D, and therefore structural information is very helpful for predicating function (See page 4). However, as with sequence, two proteins having the same overall architecture, and even conserved functional residues, can have unrelated functions (See page 4). Punta et al. teach that still; structural knowledge is an extremely powerful tool for computational function prediction (See page 5).
Similarly, Whisstock et al. (Quarterly Reviews in Biophysics. 36(3):307-340, 2007) teach that the prediction of protein function from sequence and structure is a difficult problem (See abstract). Although many families of proteins contain homologues with the same function, homologous proteins often have different functions as the sequences progressively diverge (See page 309). Whisstock et al. teach that moreover, even closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function (See page 309). Further, Whisstock et al. note that in some instances, even sequences that are the same can have different functions. For example, eye lens proteins in the suck are identical in sequence to active lactate dehydrogenase and enolase in other tissues, although they do not encounter the substrates in the eye (See page 310). Whisstock et al. teach that assigning a function to an amino acid sequence based upon similarity becomes significantly more complex as the similarity between the sequence and a putative homologue fall (See page 321). Whisstock et al. teach that while it is hopeful that similar proteins will share similar functions, substitution of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site may be sufficient to alter a protein’s role fundamentally (See pages 321-323).
The sensitivity of proteins to alterations of even a single amino acid in a sequence are exemplified by Burgess et al. (J. Cell Biol. 111:2129-2138, 1990) who teach that replacement of a single lysine reside at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by glutamic acid led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein and by Song et al. (Molecular Biology of the Cell, 15:1287–1296, March 2004) who teach that substitution of alanine for aspartate in survivin results in the conversion of survivins’ apoptotic function from anti-apoptotic to proapoptotic and changes in its subcellular localization (See page 1287-1289). Moreover, Defeo-Jones et al. (Molecular and Cellular Biology, Sept. 1989, p. 4083-4086) teach that the conservative substitution of lysine for arginine at position 42 completely eliminated biological activity (See abstract and pages 4084-4085). These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of a protein.
Additionally, Bork (Genome Research, 2000; 10:398-400) clearly teaches the pitfalls associated with comparative sequence analysis for predicting protein function because of the known error margins for high-throughput computational methods. Bork specifically teaches that computational sequence analysis is far from perfect, despite the fact that sequencing itself is highly automated and accurate (p. 398, column 1). One of the reasons for the inaccuracy is that the quality of data in public sequence databases is still insufficient. This is particularly true for data on protein function. Protein function is context dependent, and both molecular and cellular aspects have to be considered (p. 398, column 2). Conclusions from the comparison analysis are often stretched with regard to protein products (p. 398, column 3). Further, although gene annotation via sequence database searches is already a routine job, even here the error rate is considerable (p. 399, column 2). Most features predicted with an accuracy of greater than 70% are of structural nature and, at best, only indirectly imply a certain functionality (see legend for table 1, page 399). As more sequences are added and as errors accumulate and propagate it becomes more difficult to infer correct function from the many possibilities revealed by database search (p. 399, paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). The reference finally cautions that although the current methods seem to capture important features and explain general trends, 30% of those features are missing or predicted wrongly. This has to be kept in mind when processing the results further (p. 400, paragraph bridging cols 1 and 2).
Given not only the teachings of Punta et al., Whisstock et al., Song et al., Burgess et al., and Defeo-Jones et al., but also the limitations and pitfalls of using computational sequence analysis and the unknown effects of alternative splicing, post translational modification and cellular context on protein function as taught by Bork, the claimed proteins having the required function(s) could not be predicted based on sequence identity. Clearly, it could not be predicted that polypeptide or a variant that shares only partial homology with a disclosed protein will function in a given manner. Therefore, the state of the art supports that even the skilled artisan requires guidance on the critical structures of the proteins per se and thereby does not provide adequate written description support for which structural features of any given polypeptide would predictably retain their functional activities.
Applicant is reminded that generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus (Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen- Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly Co., 119 F.3d 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). A patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017) at page 1358). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that is part of the invention. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chungai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
The University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 held that: ...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention.” Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc. 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an Applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2dat1966.
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, ‘does the description clearly allow person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed’”. The courts have decided: the purpose of the “written description" requirement is broader than to merely explain how to "make and use"; the Applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art, that as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cath, Inc v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991).
Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC §112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993). And Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. Moreover, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has the Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. Therefore, for all these reasons the specification lacks adequate written description, and one of skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-10 are indefinite because the claims set forth sequence identifiers that do not correspond to a sequence. The application does not provide a sequence listing, and therefore, it is unknown what sequences are encompassed by the recited sequence identifiers. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 13, 19, 20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1a) and 102(a)(2a) as being anticipated by Presta et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0269516 A1, published November 30, 2006).
The instant claims are drawn to a fusion protein comprising interferon tau (IFNT), or a fragment thereof; and the Fc portion of a human IgG comprising a hinge region, an IgG CH2 domain and an IgG CH3 domain.
Presta et al. teach a fusion protein comprising one or more interferon polypeptide fused to one or more IgG4 Fc polypeptides (See claim 1 and paragraph 0004). Presta et al. teach that the interferon is interferon tau (See paragraph 0004 and claim 2). Presta et al. teach that the Fc portion of IgG4 comprises a hinge, CH2 domain, and CH3 domain (See paragraph 0213). Presta et al. teach that the Fc protein of the human IgG is at the C terminal of IFNT or the N terminal of IFNT (See paragraph 0047). Presta et al. teach that the IFNT is human IFNT (See paragraph 0009). Presta et al. teach that the IFNT is produced recombinantly (See paragraph 0035. Presta et al. teach that the recombinant fusion proteins were purified (See paragraphs 0213 and 0219). Presta et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the fusion protein (See claims 25 and paragraphs 0127, 0134, and 0143). Presta et al. teach a unit dose form comprising the fusion protein (See paragraph 0141). Presta et al. teach administering the fusion protein in combination with an antiviral agent (See paragraph 0147). Thus, Presta et al. anticipate the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13, 19, 20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Presta et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0269516 A1, published November 30, 2006) in view of Jones et al. (“The development of a modified human IFN-alpha2b linked to the Fc portion of human IgG1 as a novel potential therapeutic for the treatment of hepatitis C virus infection" 560-572. J. Interferon Cytokine Res. September 2004).
The instant claims are drawn to a fusion protein comprising interferon tau (IFNT), or a fragment thereof; and the Fc portion of a human IgG comprising a hinge region, an IgG CH2 domain and an IgG CH3 domain.
Presta et al. teach a fusion protein comprising one or more interferon polypeptide fused to one or more IgG4 Fc polypeptides (See claim 1 and paragraph 0004). Presta et al. teach that the interferon is interferon tau (See paragraph 0004 and claim 2). Presta et al. teach that the Fc portion of IgG4 comprises a hinge, CH2 domain, and CH3 domain (See paragraph 0213). Presta et al. teach that the Fc protein of the human IgG is at the C terminal of IFNT or the N terminal of IFNT (See paragraph 0047). Presta et al. teach that the IFNT is human IFNT (See paragraph 0009). Presta et al. teach that the IFNT is produced recombinantly (See paragraph 0035. Presta et al. teach that the recombinant fusion proteins were purified (See paragraphs 0213 and 0219). Presta et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the fusion protein (See claims 25 and paragraphs 0127, 0134, and 0143). Presta et al. teach a unit dose form comprising the fusion protein (See paragraph 0141). Presta et al. teach administering the fusion protein in combination with an antiviral agent (See paragraph 0147).
Presta et al. do not teach wherein the human IgG is IgG1.
Jones et al. teach an IFN-alpha linked to the Fc region of human IgG1 for improved half-life and less frequent dosing (See abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the IFNT fusion protein of Presta et al. by substituting the IgG4 for the IgG1, as taught by Jones et al. because Jones et al. teach that the IgG1 Fc portion improves half-life and requires less frequence dosing. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prepare a fusion protein comprising IFNT and the Fc portion of an IgG1 because doing so would improve the half-life of the fusion protein, and reduce the dosing frequency when administered to a patient for treating coronavirius.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that if a technique has been used to improve one product, and a person of ordinary skill would recognize that it would be used in similar products in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its application is beyond that person’s skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that “The combination of familiar element according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results”.
Thus, the combination of prior art references to arrive at the claimed invention provided a prima facie case of obviousness, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Status
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
/SANDRA CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674