DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0034] discloses “a first solid electrolyte layer III” and “a second electrolyte layer III.” The usage of the Roman Numeral III is a typo and should be corrected to the number, 111.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 1 item 112 is not described in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
reference characters "132,” “133” and “134" have both been used to designate a positive electrode current collector, a first connection electrode, and a second connection electrode. All appear to be the same type of component, as they are not shaded within the system.
Reference characters 111, 111’ and 112 have both been used to designate a first solid electrolyte layer, a second electrolyte layer and a fourth solid electrolyte layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a “first direction” and a “third direction, different from the first direction.” However, the claim fails to clearly define the relationship between these directions.
Specifically, the claim does not specify whether the “third direction” is orthogonal to the first direction or merely different in an undefined manner.
The specification and the drawings, figures 1 and 2, show a multi-axis coordinate system, yet the claims only reference two directions (a first and a third direction) without identifying their correspondence to the disclosed axes.
The omission of a “second direction” and the failure to correlate the claimed directions with the coordinate system shown in the drawings creates uncertainty as to the spatial orientation of the claimed elements.
Because these directions are used to define the stacking of electrode and electrolyte layers, and the spatial arrangement of the battery cells, the scope is not reasonably certain to one of ordinary skill the art.
Claims 2 and 3 recite: “an average length of the negative electrode current collector,” “an average length of the first solid electrolyte layer,” and “an average length of the positive electrode current collector,” and “an average length of the third solid electrolyte layer.”
The term, “average length” renders the scope indefinite because it is unclear how the “average” is calculated. The claims do not provide a reference or methodology to how the “average” is determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 8, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koga (US 20220077546) in view of Taniuchi (US 20220109216).
Regarding claim 1, Koga teaches an all-solid-state battery (shown in figure 1 item 100 defined in paragraph [0056] as a battery with solid-state battery cells) comprising:
a first battery cell (figure 1 item 1a [0057] solid-state battery cell. Figure 4 item 2a) in which a negative electrode current collector including a negative electrode lead portion led out in a first direction (figure 1a item 13 [0057] a negative electrode current collector. Figure 2 and paragraph [0097] discloses wherein the negative electrode current collector is connected to a negative-electrode collector lead 18), a first negative electrode layer (figure 1a item 14 [0057] a negative electrode active material layer), a first solid electrolyte layer (figure 1a item 15 [0057] a solid electrolyte layer) and a first positive electrode layer are sequentially stacked in a third direction, different from the first direction (figure 1a item 12 [0057] a positive-electrode active material layer stacked in a y direction. Paragraph [0220] teaches wherein the direction may be stacked in a plurality of x-axis or y-axis directions);
a second battery cell (figure 1a item 1b [0057] a second solid-state battery cell. Figure 4 item 2b) in which a second positive electrode layer (figure 1a item 12 [0057] a positive electrode active material layer), a second solid electrolyte layer (figure 1a item 15 [0057] a solid electrode layer) and a second negative electrode layer are sequentially stacked in the third direction (figure 1a item 14 [0057] a negative-electrode active material layer);
a third battery cell (figure 4 item 2c battery cell) in which a third negative electrode layer (figure 4 item 14 [0057] negative-electrode active material layer), a third solid electrolyte layer (figure 4 item 15 [0057] solid electrolyte layer), a third positive electrode layer (figure 4 item 12 a positive-electrode active material layer), and a positive electrode current collector including a positive electrode lead portion led out in a direction opposite to the negative lead portion led out (figure 2 and paragraph [0097] teaches wherein the positive-electrode current collector 11 is connected to a positive-electrode collector lead 17) in the first direction are sequentially stacked in the third direction (figure 4 item 21 [0113] a positive-electrode current collector stacked sequentially in a third direction. Paragraph [0220] teaches wherein the direction may be stacked in a plurality of x-axis or y-axis directions);
a first connection electrode connected to the first positive electrode layer and the second negative electrode layer (figure 1 item 16 and Figure 4 item 26 [0056], [0132] a connection layer and); and
a second connection electrode connected to the second positive electrode layer and the third negative electrode layer (figure 4 item 26a a second connection layer),
Koga does not explicitly teach wherein the first battery cell, the second battery cell and the third battery cell are spaced apart from each other in the first direction.
Taniuchi teaches wherein the first battery cell, the second battery cell and the third battery cell are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (figure 1 shows first, second and third battery cells items 2, or a plurality of cells spaced apart from each other in a first direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga reference with the battery system of the Taniuchi reference so as to ensure a wide cooling area for the battery cells.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Taniuchi reference in paragraph [0011] wherein spacing of cells is taught.
Koga figure 4 shows a solid-state battery with a plurality of cells stacked in a direction.
Taniuchi figure 1 teaches a spacing of battery cells 2
Regarding claim 2, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein an average length of the negative electrode current collector is greater than an average length of the first solid electrolyte layer (figure 2 item 13, figure 4 item 23 [0057] and [0113] shows a negative-electrode current collector 13 with a greater than average length of the solid electrolyte layer item 15).
Regarding claim 3, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein an average length of the positive electrode current collector is greater than an average length of the third solid electrolyte layer (figure 2 item 11, figure 4 item 21 [0057], [0113] shows a positive-electrode current collector 11 with a greater than average length of the solid electrolyte layer item 15).
Regarding claim 4, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first connection electrode is disposed to cover at least portions of one surfaces of the first positive electrode layer and the second negative electrode layer in the third direction.
Taniuchi teaches wherein the first connection electrode is disposed to cover at least portions of one surfaces of the first positive electrode layer and the second negative electrode layer in the third direction (shown in figure 1 wherein a connection electrode, interpreted as a bus bar item 3 is connected to portions of the surfaces of a first positive electrode layer item 23a and a second negative electrode item 23b in a third direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga reference with the battery system of the Taniuchi reference so as to ensure a wide cooling area for the battery cells.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Taniuchi reference in paragraph [0011] wherein spacing of cells is taught.
Regarding claim 5, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the second connection electrode is disposed to cover at least portions of one surfaces of the second positive electrode layer and the third negative electrode layer in the third direction.
Taniuchi teaches wherein the second connection electrode is disposed to cover at least portions of one surfaces of the second positive electrode layer and the third negative electrode layer in the third direction (shown in figure 1 wherein a connection electrode, interpreted as a bus bar item 3 is connected to portions of the surfaces of a first positive electrode layer item 23a and a second negative electrode item 23b in a third direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga reference with the battery system of the Taniuchi reference so as to ensure a wide cooling area for the battery cells.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Taniuchi reference in paragraph [0011] wherein spacing of cells is taught.
Regarding claim 6, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a connection solid electrolyte layer disposed in a direction opposite to the third direction to be connected to the negative electrode current collector and the second connection electrode.
Taniuchi teaches further comprising a connection solid electrolyte layer disposed in a direction opposite to the third direction to be connected to the negative electrode current collector and the second connection electrode (shown in figure 1 wherein a connection electrode, interpreted as a bus bar item 3 is connected to portions of the surfaces of a first positive electrode layer item 23a and a second negative electrode item 23b in a third direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga reference with the battery system of the Taniuchi reference so as to ensure a wide cooling area for the battery cells.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Taniuchi reference in paragraph [0011] wherein spacing of cells is taught.
Regarding claim 7, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein the connection solid electrolyte layer is disposed to cover at least portions of one surfaces of the negative electrode current collector and the second connection electrode in the third direction.
Taniuchi teaches wherein the connection solid electrolyte layer is disposed to cover at least portions of one surfaces of the negative electrode current collector and the second connection electrode in the third direction (shown in figure 1 wherein a connection electrode, interpreted as a bus bar item 3 is connected to portions of the surfaces of a first positive electrode layer item 23a and a second negative electrode item 23b in a third direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga reference with the battery system of the Taniuchi reference so as to ensure a wide cooling area for the battery cells.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Taniuchi reference in paragraph [0011] wherein spacing of cells is taught.
Regarding claim 8, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 6, further comprising:
a fourth battery cell (paragraph [0138] teaches wherein the number of solid-state battery cells laminated in a battery may be two as in the battery 200, three as in the battery 201, or four or more. Thus, there may be a fourth battery cell, which mirrors the same structure as identified with 1a and 2a) in which another negative electrode current collector including another negative electrode lead portion led out in the first direction (figure 1a item 13 [0057] a negative electrode current collector. Figure 2 and paragraph [0097] discloses wherein the negative electrode current collector is connected to a negative-electrode collector lead 18), a fourth negative electrode layer (figure 1a item 14 [0057] a negative electrode active material layer), a fourth solid electrolyte layer (figure 1a item 15 [0057] a solid electrolyte layer) and a fourth positive electrode layer are sequentially stacked in the third direction (figure 1a item 12 [0057] a positive-electrode active material layer stacked in a y direction. Paragraph [0220] teaches wherein the direction may be stacked in a plurality of x-axis or y-axis directions);
a fifth battery cell (paragraph [0138] teaches wherein the number of solid-state battery cells laminated in a battery may be two as in the battery 200, three as in the battery 201, or four or more. Thus, there may be a fifth battery cell, which mirrors the same structure as identified with 1b and 2b) in which a fifth positive electrode layer, a fifth solid electrolyte layer and a fifth negative electrode layer are sequentially stacked in the third direction;
a sixth battery cell (paragraph [0138] teaches wherein the number of solid-state battery cells laminated in a battery may be two as in the battery 200, three as in the battery 201, or four or more. Thus, there may be a sixth battery cell, which mirrors the same structure as identified with 2c) in which a sixth negative electrode layer (figure 1a item 12 [0057] a positive electrode active material layer), a sixth solid electrolyte layer (figure 1a item 15 [0057] a solid electrode layer), a sixth positive electrode layer (figure 1a item 12 [0057] a positive electrode active material layer), and another positive electrode current collector including another positive electrode lead portion led out in a direction opposite to the another negative lead portion led out (figure 2 and paragraph [0097] teaches wherein the positive-electrode current collector 11 is connected to a positive-electrode collector lead 17) in the first direction are sequentially stacked in the third direction (figure 4 item 21 [0113] a positive-electrode current collector stacked sequentially in a third direction. Paragraph [0220] teaches wherein the direction may be stacked in a plurality of x-axis or y-axis directions)
a third connection electrode connected to the fourth positive electrode layer and the fifth negative electrode layer (figure 1 item 16 and Figure 4 item 26 [0056], [0132] a connection layer and); and
a fourth connection electrode connected to the fifth positive electrode layer and the sixth negative electrode layer (figure 4 item 26a a second connection layer),
Koga teaches wherein the third connection electrode and the another positive electrode current collector are connected to the connection solid electrolyte layer.
Taniuchi teaches wherein the third connection electrode and the another positive electrode current collector are connected to the connection solid electrolyte layer (figure 1 shows first, second and third battery cells items 2, or a plurality of cells spaced apart from each other in a first direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga reference with the battery system of the Taniuchi reference so as to ensure a wide cooling area for the battery cells.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Taniuchi reference in paragraph [0011] wherein spacing of cells is taught.
Regarding claim 14, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first battery cell, the second battery cell, and the third battery cell are connected in series.
Taniuchi teaches wherein the first battery cell, the second battery cell, and the third battery cell are connected in series (figure 1 items 2 and [0045] show wherein the first, second and third battery cells are connected in series).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga reference with the battery system of the Taniuchi reference so as to ensure a wide cooling area for the battery cells.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Taniuchi reference in paragraph [0011] wherein spacing of cells is taught.
Regarding claim 15, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a first insulating film disposed between the first battery cell and the second battery cell, and a second insulating film disposed between the second battery cell and the third battery cell.
Taniuchi teaches a first insulating film disposed between the first battery cell and the second battery cell, and a second insulating film disposed between the second battery cell and the third battery cell (paragraph [0062] teaches wherein the first, second and third battery cells are accommodated with an insulating film or a resin film).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga reference with the battery system of the Taniuchi reference so as to ensure a wide cooling area for the battery cells.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Taniuchi reference in paragraph [0011] wherein spacing of cells is taught.
Claims 9 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koga (US 20220077546) in view of Taniuchi (US 20220109216) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Sasaki (US 20220085444).
Regarding claim 9, Koga and Taniuchi teach the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, but do not teach further comprising a molding portion disposed to surround the first battery cell, the second battery cell and the third battery cell.
Sasaki teaches a molding portion disposed to surround the first battery cell, the second battery cell and the third battery cell (Figure 1 [0031] shows a battery cell housed in a molded portion, molded part M. The battery may include a plurality of battery cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga and Taniuchi references with the battery system of the Sasaki reference so as prevent the deterioration of the battery.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sasaki reference in paragraph [0012] preventing the deterioration of the battery is taught.
Sasaki figure 1 shows a battery cell in a molded material
Regarding claim 10, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 9, wherein the first connection electrode (paragraph [0156] teaches wherein the connection layer may be led out from surface or laminate) but does not explicitly teach wherein the positive electrode current collector are disposed to be led out to one surface of the molding portion in the third direction.
Sasaki teaches wherein the first connection electrode and the positive electrode current collector are disposed to be led out to one surface of the molding portion in the third direction (figures 1 and 2 show terminal 60, which is connected to a positive electrode layer extending outside the surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga and Taniuchi references with the battery system of the Sasaki reference so as prevent the deterioration of the battery.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sasaki reference in paragraph [0012] preventing the deterioration of the battery is taught.
Regarding claim 11, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein the negative electrode current collector is led out to one surface of the molding portion in the first direction, and the positive electrode current collector is led out to the other surface of the molding portion in the first direction.
Sasaki teaches wherein the negative electrode current collector is led out to one surface of the molding portion in the first direction, and the positive electrode current collector is led out to the other surface of the molding portion in the first direction (shown in figures 1 and 2 [0031] wherein the negative electrode current collector and the positive electrode current collector is bonded to terminal 60 and exposed to the outside environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga and Taniuchi references with the battery system of the Sasaki reference so as prevent the deterioration of the battery.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sasaki reference in paragraph [0012] preventing the deterioration of the battery is taught.
Regarding claim 12, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein the molding portion comprises an oxide or a nitride of a metal and/or non-metal compound, or a compound thereof.
Sasaki teaches wherein the molding portion comprises an oxide or a nitride of a metal and/or non-metal compound, or a compound thereof (defined in paragraph [0174] wherein the molding portion, external item 10 may be comprised of an oxide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga and Taniuchi references with the battery system of the Sasaki reference so as prevent the deterioration of the battery.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sasaki reference in paragraph [0012] preventing the deterioration of the battery is taught.
Regarding claim 13, Koga teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein the molding portion comprises an insulating resin.
Sasaki teaches wherein the molding portion comprises an insulating resin (defined in paragraph [0174] wherein the molding portion, external item 10 may be comprised of a resin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of the Koga and Taniuchi references with the battery system of the Sasaki reference so as prevent the deterioration of the battery.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sasaki reference in paragraph [0012] preventing the deterioration of the battery is taught.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210296630 A1 Secondary Battery Akutsu; Shigemitsu Et Al.
US 20100003592 A1 All Solid State Secondary Battery Baba; Mamoru Et Al.
US 20170358824 A1 Secondary Battery Harada; Yasuhiro Et Al.
US 20170110760 A1 Battery Hatta; Kazuhito Et Al.
US 20210391599 A1 Laminated Battery Honda; Kazuyoshi Et Al.
US 20210265641 A1 Energy Storage Device Howard; Joseph Daniel
US 20060073388 A1 Rechargeable Battery Harada; Koichi Et Al.
US 20220166060 A1 All-Solid-State Battery Koyama; Masaki
US 20210013502 A1 All-Solid-State Battery Lim; Jae Min Et Al.
US 20200350614 A1 Solid Battery Nakano; Koichi Et Al.
US 20200343591 A1 Solid State Battery Ohta; Masahiro Et Al.
US 20190115627 A1 Fabricating An Energy Storage Device Rendall; Michael Edward
US 20220059889 A1 Sheathing Material For All Solid State Battery Sasaki; Miho Et Al.
US 20190173128 A1 Battery Cells Visco; Steven J. Et Al.
US 20180026308 A1 Layered Cell Yamada; Keigo Et Al.
US 20220149429 A1 Solid-State Secondary Battery Yamazaki; Shunpei Et Al.
US 20210226256 A1 All-Solid Lithium Battery Zhou; Quanguo Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859