DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 12/01/2025. Claims 1, 5, and 8 are currently amended. Claim 4 is canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1, however previously cited prior art has been upheld as reading on the claims and updated rejections are detailed below. As an effort to advance prosecution, new grounds of rejection are additionally added below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/04/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Previously Cited Prior Art)
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2014/0170456 A1) further in view of Ellis-Monaghan (US 2013/0084476 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/22/2023).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Kwon discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising a columnar battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) including a positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110), positive electrode active material (inner electrode active material layer, 120), a solid electrolyte layer (separation layer, 130), a negative active material (outer electrode active material layer, 140), a negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150), and a protection coating (160) which are sequentially stacked from a center of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) (Figure 1, [0020, 0037, 0061-0062]). Kwon further discloses that the protection coating (160) is an insulator which protects the columnar battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) from moisture in the air and external impacts (Figure 1, [0072]). Kwon further discloses that in an alternate embodiment, the active material (electrode active material layer, 120/140) and the electrode support (current collector, 110/150) may be alternately arranged such that the active material (electrode active material layer, 120/140) is in an innermost position compared to the electrode support (current collector, 110/150) (Figure 1, [0042]). Kwon further discloses that the columnar battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) has a first surface (“front” surface) and a second surface (“rear” surface) opposing each other in a first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) parallel to a central axis of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) (Figure 1, [0018]). Kwon further discloses a third surface (“left” surface) and a fourth surface (“right” surface) opposing each other in a second direction (left to right of page in Figure 1), different the first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) (Figure 1). Kwon further discloses a fifth surface (“upper” surface) and a sixth surface (“lower” surface) opposing each other in a third direction (up and down page in Figure 1), different from the first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) and the second direction (left to right of page in Figure 1) (Figure 1).
Kwon is deficient in disclosing 1) the all-solid-state battery comprises a battery body including a plurality of columnar battery cells; 2) a groove portion and a plurality of connection members disposed on the battery cells, wherein the groove portion is disposed on one surface of the battery cell in the third direction; and 3) a positive electrode terminal connected to one or more of the plurality of connection members and disposed on the fifth surface of the battery body; and a negative electrode terminal connected to another one or more of the plurality of connection members and disposed on the sixth surface of the battery body.
Ellis-Monaghan discloses an embodiment of an all-solid-state battery (3D-integrated all-solid-state battery) comprising a battery body including a plurality of columnar battery cells (104) (Figure 1, [0024]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that in such an embodiment, a positive electrode terminal (current collector, 106) and a negative electrode terminal (current collector, 108) may be used on opposite ends of the all-solid-state battery (3D-integrated all-solid-state battery) as a means to connect to an electronic device (Figure 1, [0024]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that in an alternate embodiment, a plurality of connection members (fuse wires, 502/504, and vias, 506) are used in addition to the electrode terminal (current collectors, 106) to connect a plurality of battery cells (sub-array, 316/318/etc.) together, wherein the connection members (fuse wires, 502/504, and vias, 506) are disposed on the battery cells (sub-array, 316/318/etc.) and are electrically connected to the electrodes (208/202) (Figures 2, 5/6, [0030, 0035]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that the battery cells (sub-array, 316/318/etc.) include a protective layer (electrically insulating material, 602) which serves to cover and protect the positive electrode terminal (current collector, 106) (Figure 6, [0036]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that the protective layer (electrically insulating material, 602) possesses grooves (506) through which the connection members (fuse wires, 502/504, and vias, 506) form an electrical connection with the positive electrode terminal (current collector, 106) (Figure 6, [0036]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to incorporate a plurality of the battery cells of Kwon into a battery body as taught by Ellis-Monaghan, as it is known in the art as a common configuration to have a plurality of battery cells electrically connected together to form a battery body in order to scale the amount of electrical output able to be provided by a battery configuration, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan.
Upon the above modification, it would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to include in the all-solid-sate battery of modified Kwon, a plurality of connection members, a positive electrode terminal, and a negative electrode terminal, wherein the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminals are connected to the battery body via the plurality of connection members, with the connection members being located on opposing sides of the battery body in alignment with the negative electrode terminal and positive electrode terminal, as it is known in the art as a useful configuration for connecting a plurality of battery cells to an external electronic device, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Furthermore, upon the above modifications, it would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to select for the surfaces of the battery cell wherein the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal are location, the fifth surface and the sixth surface, as such a configuration is one of a finite number of possible configurations that the terminals may have where they are on opposing sides of the battery, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan (MPEP 2143 I, E). For example, the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal may only be on the first surface and second surface, the third surface and fourth surface, or the fifth surface and sixth surface, respectively.
Additionally, upon the above modifications, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a groove portion is formed on the surface of the battery in the third direction, as the fifth surface and sixth surface are formed in the third direction, and when the electrode terminals and connection members are connected to the battery body at such locations, a groove must be formed in the inner electrode and outer electrode, respectively, at the point where the connection members and the electrodes make contact, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan.
As such, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110) of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) is necessarily connected to the connection members. For example, the positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110) is physically connected to the connection member with the solid electrolyte layer (separation layer, 130), the negative active material (outer electrode active material layer, 140), the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) intervening (Figure 1). Additionally, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110) is electrically connected to at least one of the connection members in order to form the electrical connection between the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) and the positive terminal of modified Kwon.
The examiner notes that instant Claim 1 as currently written does not require that the positive electrode support is directly connected (i.e., in direct contact with) connection member. Upon all of the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Kwon further discloses that the positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110) and the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) includes a conductive metal (Figure 1, [0010, 0017]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110) of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) is necessarily disposed on a bottom surface of the groove portion, with the solid electrolyte layer (separation layer, 130), the negative active material (outer electrode active material layer, 140), the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) intervening (Figure 1).
The examiner notes that instant Claim 3 as currently written does not require that the positive electrode support is directly disposed (i.e., in direct contact with) in the groove portion. The examiner further notes that terms such as “a bottom” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the all-solid-state battery relative to one another within the all-solid-state battery. The particular orientation of the all-solid-state battery does not provide any structural limitations to the all-solid-state battery itself. As such, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1.
Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. Modified Kwon further discloses a positive electrode terminal which is connected to the battery body via the plurality of connection members. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. As the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) is a component of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100), the skilled artisan would appreciate that at least one of the connection members is disposed on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150).
The examiner notes that instant Claim 6 as currently written does not require that the connection member is directly disposed (i.e., in direct contact with) on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 6):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 6. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. As the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) is a component of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100), the skilled artisan would appreciate that at least one of the connection members is disposed on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150). Modified Kwon further discloses a positive electrode terminal which is connected to the battery body via the plurality of connection members.
The examiner notes that instant Claim 7 as currently written does not require that the connection member is directly disposed (i.e., in direct contact with) on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. As the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) is a component of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100), the skilled artisan would appreciate that at least one of the connection members is disposed on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150).
Furthermore, as the groove portion is present in the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact, and the connection members are located on the fifth and sixth surfaces in the third direction, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the connection member disposed on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150), is necessarily disposed on a side opposing the third direction of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in which the connection member, disposed in the groove portion, is disposed.
The examiner notes that instant Claim 8 as currently written does not require that the connection member is directly disposed (i.e., in direct contact with) on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 8):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 8. Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that two or more of the plurality of battery cells (104) are disposed to be stacked in the third direction (up and down page in Figure 2). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the plurality of battery cells of modified Kwon would be stacked in the third direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 8):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 8. Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that two or more of the plurality of battery cells (104) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction (front to back of page in Figure 1). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the plurality of battery cells of modified Kwon would be spaced apart from one another in the second direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that two or more of the plurality of battery cells (104) are disposed to be stacked in the third direction (up and down page in Figure 2). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that two or more of the plurality of battery cells (104) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction (front to back of page in Figure 1). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the plurality of battery cells of modified Kwon would be stacked in the third direction and would be spaced apart from one another in the second direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
Claims 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2014/0170456 A1) as modified by Ellis-Monaghan (US 2013/0084476 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDs dated 03/22/2023), as applied to Claims 1, 10, and 12 above, further in view of Kuroda et al. (US 2019/0027776 A1).
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 10):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 10.
Kwon is deficient in disclosing an insulating member disposed between the two or more battery cells.
Kuroda discloses a battery module (module main body, 10) comprising a plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and a cell holder (20) (Figure 3, 0026]). Kuroda further discloses that the cell holder (20) comprises a plurality of holes (21) wherein the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) are accommodated (Figure 3, [0027]). Kuroda further discloses that an insulating resin film may be included between the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and the inner surface of the plurality of holes (21) to provide electrical insulation (Figure 3, [0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery body of modified Kwon to include the cell holder and insulating resin film of Kuroda in order to provide a means for securely arranging the plurality of battery cells together within the battery body as well as maintaining electrical insulation of the batteries with their surroundings, as taught by Kuroda, thus improving the safety of the battery body. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 12):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 12.
Kwon is deficient in disclosing a molding portion disposed to surround the battery cell.
Kuroda discloses a battery module (module main body, 10) comprising a plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and a cell holder (20) (Figure 3, 0026]). Kuroda further discloses that the cell holder (20) comprises a plurality of holes (21) wherein the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) are accommodated (Figure 3, [0027]). Kuroda further discloses that an insulating resin film may be included between the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and the inner surface of the plurality of holes (21) to provide electrical insulation (Figure 3, [0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery body of modified Kwon to include the cell holder and insulating resin film of Kuroda in order to provide a means for securely arranging the plurality of battery cells together within the battery body as well as maintaining electrical insulation of the batteries with their surroundings, as taught by Kuroda, thus improving the safety of the battery body. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 10):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 10.
Kwon is deficient in disclosing a molding portion disposed to surround the battery cell.
Kuroda discloses a battery module (module main body, 10) comprising a plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and a cell holder (20) (Figure 3, 0026]). Kuroda further discloses that the cell holder (20) comprises a plurality of holes (21) wherein the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) are accommodated (Figure 3, [0027]). Kuroda further discloses that an insulating resin film may be included between the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and the inner surface of the plurality of holes (21) to provide electrical insulation (Figure 3, [0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery body of modified Kwon to include the cell holder and insulating resin film of Kuroda in order to provide a means for securely arranging the plurality of battery cells together within the battery body as well as maintaining electrical insulation of the batteries with their surroundings, as taught by Kuroda, thus improving the safety of the battery body. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
In Regards to Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1.
Kwon is deficient in disclosing a molding portion disposed to surround the battery cell.
Kuroda discloses a battery module (module main body, 10) comprising a plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and a cell holder (20) (Figure 3, 0026]). Kuroda further discloses that the cell holder (20) comprises a plurality of holes (21) wherein the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) are accommodated (Figure 3, [0027]). Kuroda further discloses that an insulating resin film may be included between the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and the inner surface of the plurality of holes (21) to provide electrical insulation (Figure 3, [0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery body of modified Kwon to include the cell holder and insulating resin film of Kuroda in order to provide a means for securely arranging the plurality of battery cells together within the battery body as well as maintaining electrical insulation of the batteries with their surroundings, as taught by Kuroda, thus improving the safety of the battery body. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (New Grounds of Rejection)
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2014/0170456 A1) further in view of Ellis-Monaghan (US 2013/0084476 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/22/2023) and Kim (US 2010/0227209 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/22/2023).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Kwon discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising a columnar battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) including a positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110), positive electrode active material (inner electrode active material layer, 120), a solid electrolyte layer (separation layer, 130), a negative active material (outer electrode active material layer, 140), a negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150), and a protection coating (160) which are sequentially stacked from a center of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) (Figure 1, [0020, 0037, 0061-0062]). Kwon further discloses that in an alternate embodiment, the active material (electrode active material layer, 120/140) and the electrode support (current collector, 110/150) may be alternately arranged such that the active material (electrode active material layer, 120/140) is in an innermost position compared to the electrode support (current collector, 110/150) (Figure 1, [0042]). Kwon further discloses that the columnar battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) has a first surface (“front” surface) and a second surface (“rear” surface) opposing each other in a first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) parallel to a central axis of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) (Figure 1, [0018]). Kwon further discloses a third surface (“left” surface) and a fourth surface (“right” surface) opposing each other in a second direction (left to right of page in Figure 1), different the first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) (Figure 1). Kwon further discloses a fifth surface (“upper” surface) and a sixth surface (“lower” surface) opposing each other in a third direction (up and down page in Figure 1), different from the first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) and the second direction (left to right of page in Figure 1) (Figure 1).
Kwon is deficient in disclosing 1) the all-solid-state battery comprises a battery body including a plurality of columnar battery cells; 2) a positive electrode terminal connected to one or more of the plurality of connection members and disposed on the fifth surface of the battery body; and a negative electrode terminal connected to another one or more of the plurality of connection members and disposed on the sixth surface of the battery body; 3) a groove portion and a plurality of connection members disposed on the battery cells, wherein the groove portion is disposed on one surface of the battery cell in the third direction; and 4) that at least one of the connection members is disposed in the groove portion and is connected to the positive electrode support.
Regarding 1)-2), Ellis-Monaghan discloses an embodiment of an all-solid-state battery (3D-integrated all-solid-state battery) comprising a battery body including a plurality of columnar battery cells (104) (Figure 1, [0024]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that in such an embodiment, a positive electrode terminal (current collector, 106) and a negative electrode terminal (current collector, 108) may be used on opposite ends of the all-solid-state battery (3D-integrated all-solid-state battery) as a means to connect to an electronic device (Figure 1, [0024]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that in an alternate embodiment, a plurality of connection members (fuse wires, 502/504) are used in addition to the electrode terminal (current collectors, 106) to connect a plurality of battery cells (sub-array, 316/318/etc.) together, wherein the connection members (fuse wires, 502/504) are disposed on the battery cells (sub-array, 316/318/etc.) and are electrically connected to the electrodes (208/202) (Figures 2, 5/6, [0030, 0035]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to incorporate a plurality of the battery cells of Kwon into a battery body as taught by Ellis-Monaghan, as it is known in the art as a common configuration to have a plurality of battery cells electrically connected together to form a battery body in order to scale the amount of electrical output able to be provided by a battery configuration, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan. By doing so, the limitation of Claim 1 requiring that the all-solid-state battery comprises a battery body including a plurality of columnar battery cells, is met.
Upon the above modification, it would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to include in the all-solid-sate battery of modified Kwon, a plurality of connection members, a positive electrode terminal, and a negative electrode terminal, wherein the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminals are connected to the battery body via the plurality of connection members, with the connection members being located on opposing sides of the battery body in alignment with the negative electrode terminal and positive electrode terminal, as it is known in the art as a useful configuration for connecting a plurality of battery cells to an external electronic device, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Furthermore, upon the above modifications, it would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to select for the surfaces of the battery cell wherein the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal are located, the fifth surface and the sixth surface, as such a configuration is one of a finite number of possible configurations that the terminals may have where they are on opposing sides of the battery, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan (MPEP 2143 I, E). For example, the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal may only be on the first surface and second surface, the third surface and fourth surface, or the fifth surface and sixth surface, respectively. Upon the above modification, the limitations of Claim 1 requiring a positive electrode terminal connected to one or more of the plurality of connection members and disposed on the fifth surface of the battery body; and a negative electrode terminal connected to another one or more of the plurality of connection members and disposed on the sixth surface of the battery body, are met.
Regarding 3)-4), Kim discloses a columnar battery cell (electrochemical assembly) comprising a case (160), an electrode assembly (170) accommodated within the case (160), and a cover (150) (Figures 13 and 14, [0127-0128]). Kim further discloses that grooves (172) may be formed in the cover (150) to allow electrical connection to be formed between current collectors of the electrode assembly (170) and electrical connection members (terminals) within the grooves (172) (Figure 14, [0135]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify the all-solid-state battery of modified Kwon to include a groove on the battery cell at the locations wherein the terminals connect with the connection members such that an electrical connection is made between the terminals and the connection members within the grooves, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for forming an electrical connection for a columnar battery, as taught by Kim. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon all of the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Kwon further discloses that the positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110) and the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) includes a conductive metal (Figure 1, [0010, 0017]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the positive electrode support (inner current collector, 110) of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) is necessarily disposed on a bottom surface of the groove portion, with the solid electrolyte layer (separation layer, 130), the negative active material (outer electrode active material layer, 140), the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) intervening (Figure 1).
The examiner notes that terms such as “a bottom” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the all-solid-state battery relative to one another within the all-solid-state battery. The particular orientation of the all-solid-state battery does not provide any structural limitations to the all-solid-state battery itself. As such, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1.
Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. Modified Kwon further discloses a positive electrode terminal which is connected to the battery body via the plurality of connection members. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. As the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) is a component of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100), the skilled artisan would appreciate that at least one of the connection members is disposed on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150).
The examiner notes that instant Claim 6 as currently written does not require that the connection member is directly disposed (i.e., in direct contact with) on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 6):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 6. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. As the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) is a component of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100), the skilled artisan would appreciate that at least one of the connection members is disposed on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150). Modified Kwon further discloses a positive electrode terminal which is connected to the battery body via the plurality of connection members.
The examiner notes that instant Claim 7 as currently written does not require that the connection member is directly disposed (i.e., in direct contact with) on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Kwon discloses that a groove portion is included on the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact. As the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150) is a component of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100), the skilled artisan would appreciate that at least one of the connection members is disposed on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150).
Furthermore, as the groove portion is present in the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in a location where the connection members and the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) make contact, and the connection members are located on the fifth and sixth surfaces in the third direction, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the connection member disposed on the negative electrode support (outer current collector, 150), is necessarily disposed on a side opposing the third direction of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) in which the connection member, disposed in the groove portion, is disposed. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 8):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 8. Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that two or more of the plurality of battery cells (104) are disposed to be stacked in the third direction (up and down page in Figure 2). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the plurality of battery cells of modified Kwon would be stacked in the third direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 8):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 8. Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that two or more of the plurality of battery cells (104) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction (front to back of page in Figure 1). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the plurality of battery cells of modified Kwon would be spaced apart from one another in the second direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1. Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that two or more of the plurality of battery cells (104) are disposed to be stacked in the third direction (up and down page in Figure 2). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that two or more of the plurality of battery cells (104) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction (front to back of page in Figure 1). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, the plurality of battery cells of modified Kwon would be stacked in the third direction and would be spaced apart from one another in the second direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
Claims 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2014/0170456 A1) as modified by Ellis-Monaghan (US 2013/0084476 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDs dated 03/22/2023) and Kim (US 2010/0227209 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 03/22/2023), as applied to Claims 1, 10, and 12 above, further in view of Kuroda et al. (US 2019/0027776 A1).
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 10):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 10.
Kwon is deficient in disclosing an insulating member disposed between the two or more battery cells.
Kuroda discloses a battery module (module main body, 10) comprising a plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and a cell holder (20) (Figure 3, 0026]). Kuroda further discloses that the cell holder (20) comprises a plurality of holes (21) wherein the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) are accommodated (Figure 3, [0027]). Kuroda further discloses that an insulating resin film may be included between the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and the inner surface of the plurality of holes (21) to provide electrical insulation (Figure 3, [0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery body of modified Kwon to include the cell holder and insulating resin film of Kuroda in order to provide a means for securely arranging the plurality of battery cells together within the battery body as well as maintaining electrical insulation of the batteries with their surroundings, as taught by Kuroda, thus improving the safety of the battery body. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 12):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 12.
Kwon is deficient in disclosing a molding portion disposed to surround the battery cell.
Kuroda discloses a battery module (module main body, 10) comprising a plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and a cell holder (20) (Figure 3, 0026]). Kuroda further discloses that the cell holder (20) comprises a plurality of holes (21) wherein the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) are accommodated (Figure 3, [0027]). Kuroda further discloses that an insulating resin film may be included between the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and the inner surface of the plurality of holes (21) to provide electrical insulation (Figure 3, [0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery body of modified Kwon to include the cell holder and insulating resin film of Kuroda in order to provide a means for securely arranging the plurality of battery cells together within the battery body as well as maintaining electrical insulation of the batteries with their surroundings, as taught by Kuroda, thus improving the safety of the battery body. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 10):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 10.
Kwon is deficient in disclosing a molding portion disposed to surround the battery cell.
Kuroda discloses a battery module (module main body, 10) comprising a plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and a cell holder (20) (Figure 3, 0026]). Kuroda further discloses that the cell holder (20) comprises a plurality of holes (21) wherein the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) are accommodated (Figure 3, [0027]). Kuroda further discloses that an insulating resin film may be included between the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and the inner surface of the plurality of holes (21) to provide electrical insulation (Figure 3, [0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery body of modified Kwon to include the cell holder and insulating resin film of Kuroda in order to provide a means for securely arranging the plurality of battery cells together within the battery body as well as maintaining electrical insulation of the batteries with their surroundings, as taught by Kuroda, thus improving the safety of the battery body. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
In Regards to Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Kwon as modified by Ellis-Monaghan and Kim discloses the all-solid-state battery of Claim 1.
Kwon is deficient in disclosing a molding portion disposed to surround the battery cell.
Kuroda discloses a battery module (module main body, 10) comprising a plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and a cell holder (20) (Figure 3, 0026]). Kuroda further discloses that the cell holder (20) comprises a plurality of holes (21) wherein the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) are accommodated (Figure 3, [0027]). Kuroda further discloses that an insulating resin film may be included between the plurality of columnar battery cells (cylindrical cells, 11) and the inner surface of the plurality of holes (21) to provide electrical insulation (Figure 3, [0027]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery body of modified Kwon to include the cell holder and insulating resin film of Kuroda in order to provide a means for securely arranging the plurality of battery cells together within the battery body as well as maintaining electrical insulation of the batteries with their surroundings, as taught by Kuroda, thus improving the safety of the battery body. Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the previously cited prior art references Kwon et al. (US 2014/0170456 A1) and Ellis-Monaghan (US 2013/0084476 A1) combined fail to teach a groove portion disposed on one surface of the battery cell in the third direction.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, Kwon discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising a columnar battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) (Figure 1, [0020, 0037, 0061-0062]). Kwon further discloses that the columnar battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) has a first surface (“front” surface) and a second surface (“rear” surface) opposing each other in a first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) parallel to a central axis of the battery cell (cable-type secondary battery, 100) (Figure 1, [0018]). Kwon further discloses a third surface (“left” surface) and a fourth surface (“right” surface) opposing each other in a second direction (left to right of page in Figure 1), different the first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) (Figure 1). Kwon further discloses a fifth surface (“upper” surface) and a sixth surface (“lower” surface) opposing each other in a third direction (up and down page in Figure 1), different from the first direction (in and out of page in Figure 1) and the second direction (left to right of page in Figure 1) (Figure 1).
Kwon is deficient in disclosing 1) the all-solid-state battery comprises a battery body including a plurality of columnar battery cells; 2) a groove portion and a plurality of connection members disposed on the battery cells, wherein the groove portion is disposed on one surface of the battery cell in the third direction; and 3) a positive electrode terminal connected to one or more of the plurality of connection members and disposed on the fifth surface of the battery body; and a negative electrode terminal connected to another one or more of the plurality of connection members and disposed on the sixth surface of the battery body.
Ellis-Monaghan discloses an embodiment of an all-solid-state battery (3D-integrated all-solid-state battery) comprising a battery body including a plurality of columnar battery cells (104) (Figure 1, [0024]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that in such an embodiment, a positive electrode terminal (current collector, 106) and a negative electrode terminal (current collector, 108) may be used on opposite ends of the all-solid-state battery (3D-integrated all-solid-state battery) as a means to connect to an electronic device (Figure 1, [0024]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that in an alternate embodiment, a plurality of connection members (fuse wires, 502/504, and vias, 506) are used in addition to the electrode terminal (current collectors, 106) to connect a plurality of battery cells (sub-array, 316/318/etc.) together, wherein the connection members (fuse wires, 502/504, and vias, 506) are disposed on the battery cells (sub-array, 316/318/etc.) and are electrically connected to the electrodes (208/202) (Figures 2, 5/6, [0030, 0035]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that the battery cells (sub-array, 316/318/etc.) include a protective layer (electrically insulating material, 602) which serves to cover and protect the positive electrode terminal (current collector, 106) (Figure 6, [0036]). Ellis-Monaghan further discloses that the protective layer (electrically insulating material, 602) possesses grooves (506) through which the connection members (fuse wires, 502/504, and vias, 506) form an electrical connection with the positive electrode terminal (current collector, 106) (Figure 6, [0036]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to incorporate a plurality of the battery cells of Kwon into a battery body as taught by Ellis-Monaghan, as it is known in the art as a common configuration to have a plurality of battery cells electrically connected together to form a battery body in order to scale the amount of electrical output able to be provided by a battery configuration, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan.
Upon the above modification, it would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to include in the all-solid-sate battery of modified Kwon, a plurality of connection members, a positive electrode terminal, and a negative electrode terminal, wherein the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminals are connected to the battery body via the plurality of connection members, with the connection members being located on opposing sides of the battery body in alignment with the negative electrode terminal and positive electrode terminal, as it is known in the art as a useful configuration for connecting a plurality of battery cells to an external electronic device, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Furthermore, upon the above modifications, it would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to select for the surfaces of the battery cell wherein the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal are location, the fifth surface and the sixth surface, as such a configuration is one of a finite number of possible configurations that the terminals may have where they are on opposing sides of the battery, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan (MPEP 2143 I, E). For example, the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal may only be on the first surface and second surface, the third surface and fourth surface, or the fifth surface and sixth surface, respectively.
In other words, Ellis-Monaghan is relied upon to teach 1) a scaling process to utilize a plurality of columnar battery cells within an all-solid-state battery, 2) a means of electrically connecting a plurality of cells together (in Ellis-Monaghan’s case, each “cell” being the sub-array, 316/318/etc.) via use of connecting members.
As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a groove portion is formed on the surface of the battery in the third direction, as the fifth surface and sixth surface are formed in the third direction, and when the electrode terminals and connection members are connected to the battery body at such locations, a groove must be formed in the inner electrode and outer electrode, respectively, at the point where the connection members and the electrodes make contact, as taught by Ellis-Monaghan..
While the examiner appreciates that the structure of the instant invention and the structure resulting from the modification of Kwon in view of Ellis-Monaghan are different, however the examiner maintains that the prior art meets the limitations of the instant claim as currently written. The examiner further notes that instant Claim 1 as currently written does not require that the positive electrode support is directly connected (i.e., in direct contact with) connection member.
The examiner further notes that amending the claim to further define the structure of the groove according to the instant figures could suitably overcome the prior art on record.
The Applicant further argues that the instant application was utilized as a blueprint to reconstruct the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention, as the prior art is silent to a groove portion.
In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The Applicant further argues that applying the electrical configuration of Ellis-Monaghan to the battery of Kwon would render the intended purpose of Ellis-Monaghan unsatisfactory.
As detailed above, Ellis-Monaghan is simply relied upon to teach 1) a scaling process to utilize a plurality of columnar battery cells within an all-solid-state battery, 2) a means of electrically connecting a plurality of cells together (in Ellis-Monaghan’s case, each “cell” being the sub-array, 316/318/etc.) via use of connecting members. Even in the case that applying the scaling and electrical connection taught by Ellis-Monaghan to the battery of Kwon would not directly serve the intended purpose of Ellis-Monaghan does not render the instant claim not met by the prior art.
In addition to addressing the Applicant’s arguments above, in order to expedite prosecution of the application, the examiner has additionally included a new grounds of rejection in view of Kwon et al. (US 2014/0170456 A1), Ellis-Monaghan (US 2013/0084476 A1), Kim (US 2010/0227209 A1), and Kuroda et al. (US 2019/0027776 A1), detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724