DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendments and remarks, filed 7/17/26, are fully acknowledged by the Examiner. Currently, claims 1, 12, 14, and 15 are pending with claims 1, 12, 14, and 15 amended. Applicant's amendment to claim 1 has overcome the previously filed 35 USC 112(b) rejection. The following is a complete response to the 7/17/26 communication.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sara (US 2017/0135740) in view of Kunis (US 2007/0083194).
Regarding claim 1, Sara teaches a cardiac ablation system for treating cardiac tissue comprising a catheter (catheter 12) and a head, the head being an ablation end of the cardiac ablation system for cardiac tissue (head 18), and the catheter being a flexible tubular connector used by the cardiac ablation system to couple to the head (28 to connect to 18 as in par. [0026]), wherein:
the head comprises a plurality of elongate ablation elements (18 as multiple lobes 20); each ablation element is provided with a contact surface for contacting cardiac tissue and a flexible support body for supporting the contact surface (54), wherein an energy acting part is arranged on the contact surface (54 as the energy acting part);
at least some of the ablation elements are arranged for resilient engagement with the tissue (54 of lobes 20 to contact tissue as in par. [0029]);
the ablation elements are individually movable (20 inflates and deflates), the resilient engagement comprising resilient displacement (20 inflates and deflates to place the lobe accordingly and par. [0040]), the ablation element has two operating states of contraction and extension at the head position of the cardiac ablation system (lobes may be inflated and deflated); in the contraction state, a plurality of individual ablation elements aggregate with each other and present a minimum volume (lobes deflated as in Fig. 8); in the extension state, one or more mutually individual ablation elements open and adapt to various shape changes at the point where the cardiac tissue is contacted through the contact surfaces on each ablation element (Fig. 7, lobes inflated to contact cardiac wall as in par. [0037]), the head includes at least one inflatable balloon (18), the balloon coupled to the head and the ablation elements are arranged around a peripheral edge of the balloon (20 around 18), wherein on inflation, the balloon is arranged to bias the elongate ablation elements to be displaced so as to project radially outwards from a center of the head (as in at least Figs. 4-5).
Sara is not explicit regarding the balloon being a separate element from the ablation elements and being central to the ablation elements relative to a center of the head, the balloon individually movable relative to the ablation elements.
However, Kunis teaches ablation elements made of metal as a separate element from a balloon, the balloon being centered relative to the ablation elements and moving relative to the ablation elements. (par. [0133] and electrodes 172 as in Fig. 10 on a central balloon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sara with the electrodes as the ablation element as in Kunis, such that the device does RF . Sara suggests other energy modalities may be used such as RF energy, using electrodes (par. [0034]). Using the electrodes of Kunis as the energy modality would allow for such electrosurgical treatment of tissue on a balloon interface that can be adjusted.
Regarding claim 12, Sara teaches wherein the head includes a selectively movable housing, the housing arranged to selectively move the ablation elements from a distal or proximal position to a position opposite the distal or proximal position, such that the ablation elements are arranged to resiliently project radially from the center of the head (lobes 20 project from the head as in at least Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Sara teaches wherein there are a plurality of balloons coupled to the head, the balloons selectively inflatable, the balloons arranged to be of a different inflation, the elements arranged to be displaced differently (Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sara in view of Kunis, in further view of Tilson (US 2015/0141917).
Regarding claim 15, Sara is silent wherein the balloons are annular.
However, Tilson teaches balloons for a similar ablation use as annular (par. [0214]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sara with the annular balloons of Tilson, allowing for blood flow through the balloons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Kunis teaches ablation elements separate from the balloon for a different treatment modality, as desired by Sara.
Conclusion
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794