Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 line 22 recites “communication with one another .” It should be “communication with one another.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 15, 17, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beiermann et al (US 20200179903; hereinafter Beiermann) in view of Doyen et al (US 20150027948; hereinafter Doyen).
As regarding claim 1, Beiermann discloses the claimed invention for an inherently stable, throughflow-porous filter element for filtering foreign substances from a gas stream, comprising: a filter body (fig. 5) made of plastic ([0021]) and having an inflow side and an opposite outflow side, with a surface filtration layer being formed on the inflow side, wherein the filter body comprises a three-dimensional support structure and having cavities (annotated fig. 4) through which gas can flow from the inflow side to the outflow side, and wherein the surface filtration layer at least partially fills the cavities of the three-dimensional support structure (figs. 2-3 and 5).
Beiermann does not disclose the three-dimensional support structure manufactured in an additive manufacturing process. Doyen teaches the three-dimensional support structure manufactured in an additive manufacturing process ([0056]). Both Beiermann and Doyen are directed to filtration element. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the three-dimensional support structure manufactured in an additive manufacturing process as taught by Doyen in order to enable the porous filter elements with optimized airflow, higher filtration efficiency, customizable designs, and reduced weight, all while minimizing material waste and simplifying production.
Beiermann as modified discloses wherein the three-dimensional support structure has a cage structure that is open towards the inflow side; wherein the three-dimensional support structure forms cavities, each having a bottom side and an opposite open side, the open side facing the inflow side; wherein the cavities each have a lateral boundary which connects the bottom side to the open side and has openings through which adjacent cavities are in communication with one another (annotated fig. 4).
Beiermann as modified does not disclose wherein the three-dimensional support structure has a cage structure that is open towards the inflow side; wherein the three-dimensional support structure forms basket, cup or funnel cavities.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the three-dimensional support structure has a cage structure that is open towards the inflow side; wherein the three-dimensional support structure forms basket, cup or funnel cavities in order to enhance porous filter element performance, since it has been held that the shape of a structural feature is considered a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious absent persuasive evidence that particular configuration is significant, see In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen shapes or upon another variable recited in the claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen shapes are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 5, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the open side of a respective cavity has front openings and the bottom side and/or the lateral boundary has rear openings (fig. 2; no number), wherein in an orthogonal projection (fig. 3) from the open side to the bottom side, a plurality of rear openings of the bottom side and/or the lateral boundary is located within an area defined by a front opening of the open side.
As regarding claim 6, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the open side of a respective cavity has only one opening (figs. 2-3).
As regarding claim 7, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the filter body defines a thickness direction extending between its inflow side and its outflow side, and the surface filtration layer fills cavities of the three-dimensional support structure over at least 10% of the thickness of the surface filtration layer, wherein the filter body defines a thickness direction extending between its inflow side and its outflow side, and the surface filtration layer fills cavities of the three-dimensional support structure over at least 10% of the thickness of the three-dimensional support structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the filter body defines a thickness direction extending between its inflow side and its outflow side, and the surface filtration layer fills cavities of the three-dimensional support structure over at least 10% of the thickness of the surface filtration layer, wherein the filter body defines a thickness direction extending between its inflow side and its outflow side, and the surface filtration layer fills cavities of the three-dimensional support structure over at least 10% of the thickness of the three-dimensional support structure in order to enhance porous filter element performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 15, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the three-dimensional support structure has a truss-like configuration with rods (Doyen – 113 of figs. 1-2) which are connected to each other at nodes (annotated fig. 4); and/or wherein the three-dimensional support structure comprises a grid-like structure forming at least two grid layers (10, 21, 28 of fig. 4) of which one grid layer faces the inflow side, and the other grid layer faces the outflow side, the grid layers being connected to each other by rods or webs (fig. 4 and [0032]).
As regarding claim 17, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the one and/or the other grid layer (10, 21, 28 of fig. 4) has a configuration with rods (Doyen – 113 of figs. 1-2) interconnected at nodes (annotated fig. 4) and defining openings; wherein the one and/or the other grid layer comprises a regular grid structure.
As regarding claim 19, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least two grid layers are arranged such that the openings of one of the two grid layers are arranged offset from the openings of the other one of the two grid layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the at least two grid layers are arranged such that the openings of one of the two grid layers are arranged offset from the openings of the other one of the two grid layers in order to force a more torturous airflow path, improving particle capture, structure support, and overall filtration efficiency, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 20 is likewise rejected with reasons analogous as set forth in claim 19 above as regarding the openings in one grid layer are offset (or congruent manner) from the corresponding opening in another grid layer.
Also regarding claim 20, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the three-dimensional support structure comprises three grid layers lying one behind the other in the direction of flow between the inflow side and the outflow side of the filter body ([0032]).
Alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the three-dimensional support structure comprises three grid layers lying one behind the other in the direction of flow between the inflow side and the outflow side of the filter body in order to enhance porous filter element performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As regarding claim 22, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the openings of the one, the other one and/or the central grid layer are triangular, quadrangular, in particular square, rectangular, rhombic or parallelogram-shaped, polygonal, round and/or elliptical (annotated fig. 4).
Beiermann as modified does not disclose wherein the webs or rods connecting two adjacent grid layers each are arranged offset from the nodes of the two grid layers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the webs or rods connecting two adjacent grid layers each are arranged offset from the nodes of the two grid layers in order to enhance porous filter element performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beiermann et al (US 20200179903; hereinafter Beiermann) in view of Doyen et al (US 20150027948; hereinafter Doyen), as applied supra, and further in view of Kraw et al (US 4917862; hereinafter Kraw).
Claims 19-20 and 22 are likewise rejected for the same reasons discussed above with respect to multiple grid layers.
Beiermann as modified does not disclose the openings in one grid layer are offset from (or congruent with) the corresponding openings in another grid layer. Kraw teaches the openings in one grid layer are offset from (or congruent with) the corresponding openings in another grid layer (col 7 ln 4-7 and fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the openings in one grid layer are offset from (or congruent with) the corresponding openings in another grid layer as taught by Kraw in order to enhance porous filter element performance.
Claim(s) 9, 14 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beiermann et al (US 20200179903; hereinafter Beiermann) in view of Doyen et al (US 20150027948; hereinafter Doyen), as applied supra, and further in view of Herding et al (US 20200298154; hereinafter Herding).
As regarding claim 9, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the surface filtration layer comprises a first layer ([0019] – ‘… at least one filter support 10 … other layers…) which partially, substantially completely fills cavities of the three-dimensional support structure; wherein the surface filtration layer comprises at least one second layer which is applied to the first layer from the inflow side, wherein the second layer forms a surface on the inflow side of the filter body; wherein the second layer at least partially occupies interstices in the first layer;
Beiermann as modified does not disclose wherein the first layer and the second layer have different pore sizes, wherein the pore size of the first layer is larger than the pore size of the second layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first layer and the second layer have different pore sizes, wherein the pore size of the first layer is larger than the pore size of the second layer in order to enhance porous filter element performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Herding ([0027] and [0043]).
Beiermann as modified discloses wherein the second layer contains particles selected from the group consisting of PE, PTFE, SiO2, hollow glass, solid glass, foam glass or sand, PPS, aluminum oxide, or a mixture of at least two of said materials (Herding – [0027]).
As regarding claim 14, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention for the first and the second layer of the surface filtration layer are formed as a coating (Herding – [0027] and fig. 3).
As regarding claim 26, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the filter element is formed as a hollow body, wherein the inflow side of the filter body is arranged on an outer side of the hollow body and the outflow side of the filter body is arranged on an inner side of the hollow body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the filter element is formed as a hollow body, wherein the inflow side of the filter body is arranged on an outer side of the hollow body and the outflow side of the filter body is arranged on an inner side of the hollow body in order to enhance porous filter element performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Herding ([0060]-[0061] and fig. 4).
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beiermann et al (US 20200179903; hereinafter Beiermann) in view of Doyen et al (US 20150027948; hereinafter Doyen), as applied supra, and further in view of Drury et al (US 20160121272; hereinafter Drury).
As regarding claim 24, Beiermann as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Beiermann as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the filter body comprises furthermore a three-dimensional mother pore structure, wherein the three-dimensional support structure is arranged at the inflow side of the three-dimensional mother pore structure wherein the three-dimensional mother pore structure has a larger pore size than the three-dimensional support structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the filter body comprises furthermore a three-dimensional mother pore structure, wherein the three-dimensional support structure is arranged at the inflow side of the three-dimensional mother pore structure wherein the three-dimensional mother pore structure has a larger pore size than the three-dimensional support structure in order to enhance porous filter element performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Drury (300, inner most layer, of fig. 3A and [0123]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the Beiermann/Doyen combination fails to teach or suggest the claimed subject matter.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As set forth in the Office Action, Beiermann, as modified in view of Doyen, teaches a three-dimensional support structure forming cavities, each having a bottom side, an opposite open side facing the inflow side, and a lateral boundary connecting the bottom side to the open side, with openings permitting communication between adjacent cavities (annotated fig. 4). Although Beiermann does not expressly disclose basket-like, cup-like, or funnel-like cavities, the particular shape of the cavities represents a design choice that would have been within the ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the claimed shapes produce unexpected results and possess critical significance. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47.
As illustrated in annotated fig. 4, Beiermann already provides interconnected cavities having lateral boundaries and openings. Selecting a basket-like, cup-like, or funnel-like configuration to implement the disclosed cavity structure would have constituted a predictable variation of a known structural feature and a matter of routine design optimization to achieve desired filtration and particle-retention characteristics. Applicant’s discussion of the asserted advantages of the claimed configuration does not, by itself, establish that the particular shapes are critical or produce unexpected results relative to the prior art.
Applicant argues that the Office has not provided substantive evidence of record establishing that Beiermann teaches or suggests the claimed limitations of claim 7. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in the annotated fig. 4 of Beiermann, the filter body defines a thickness direction extending between the filter body's inflow side and outflow side. Although Beiermann, as modified, does not expressly disclose that the surface filtration layer fills cavities of the three-dimensional support structure over at least 10% of the thickness of the surface filtration layer, or that the surface filtration layer fills cavities of the three-dimensional support structure over at least 10% of the thickness of the three-dimensional support structure, these limitations would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Absent persuasive evidence demonstrating criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed 10% threshold, selecting the claimed percentage would have constituted a routine optimization of a result-effective variable. It is well established that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable through routine experimentation does not ordinarily render an invention nonobvious. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
The annotated fig. 4 of Beiermann illustrates the extent to which the surface filtration layer extends into the cavities of the three-dimensional support structure. Determining an appropriate percentage of the relevant thicknesses to achieve the desired filtration performance would have been within the ordinary skill of the art. Accordingly, selecting a value of at least 10% for the recited thickness measurements would have represented a predictable, routine optimization of the disclosed structure to enhance the performance of the porous filter element, absent evidence that the claimed threshold produces critical or unexpected results.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments regarding claims 19, 20, and 22.
Regarding claim 19, Beiermann's disclosure of a multilayer filter support ([0032]) provides a structural basis for considering the relative arrangement of the grid layers.
Absent any persuasive rebuttal evidence of criticality and unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have wherein the at least two grid layers are arranged such that the openings of one of the two grid layers are arranged offset from the openings of the other one of the two grid layers in order to enhance porous filter element performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 1023, 85 USPQ 495 (CCPA 1950). It is well within the scope of a skilled artisan; however, to improve in the performance of a known porous filter element by determining an optimal arrangement of the grid-layer openings. In this case, the use and arrangement of openings in multiple grid layers is known in the art, the particular choice of an offset configuration between the openings of two grid layers in order to enhance porous filter element performance would have been a normal routine optimization of a known design parameter.
Regarding claim 20, Beiermann paragraph [0032] discloses that the filter support 10 may comprise more than five layers. This disclosure expressly contemplates a multilayer filter support and provides a reason to consider different numbers of layers when implementing the disclosed structure. Selecting three grid layers would have been a predictable choice among layer configurations, absent evidence that the particular number and arrangement produce an unexpected result. Similarly to claim 19, arranging the openings of the two outer grid layers congruently (offset) represents a predictable configuration of the disclosed multilayer support. Accordingly, the obviousness rationale does not depend solely on duplicating an existing layer, as Applicant contends, but also on the express disclosure of a multilayer support and the predictable selection and arrangement of its layers. Applicant has not provided persuasive evidence of criticality and unexpected results associated with the claimed three-layer configuration.
Regarding claim 22, Applicant's arguments are unpersuasive. The annotated fig. 4 of Beiermann, the filter support structure includes square or quadrangular cavities, thereby teaching the claimed grid-opening geometry. Accordingly, the rejection does not rely on selecting a different opening shape, but rather on the relative arrangement of the grid layers and the connecting webs or rods. Arranging the connecting webs or rods offset from the nodes of adjacent grid layers represents a rearrangement of structural elements that would have been within the ordinary skill of the art, provided the proposed arrangement is supported by the applied prior art and its predictable technical effects. As recognized in In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 1023, 85 USPQ 495 (CCPA 1950), rearrangement of parts may support a conclusion of obviousness where the rearrangement does not produce a new and unexpected result. Applicant has not provided persuasive evidence that the claimed offset arrangement produces critical and unexpected results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773