DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 12-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-21 of copending Application No. 18/564,949 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recited in the co-pending application anticipate the claimed invention. The only difference being the claim limitation of 17 current application is recited in claim 11 of co-pending application and thus is anticipated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fork-like support” recited in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: machining head, rotary support means recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “fork-like support” in claim 14 is indefinite. The term “fork-like support” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim has been interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14, 17-19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanoue et al. US 2006/0291971 in view of Ferrari et al. US 6655884 and Kim WO 2009/093877.
Tanoue discloses a machining center (3, see Fig. 3 above) comprising: an independent carriage (9) supported to slide along a longitudinal translation axis by a pair of parallel horizontal rails (21, 30) which extend along a longitudinal direction and are fixed in a raised position to a supporting structure (8, 15, 16), said carriage supporting a respective machining head (2) which is configured to move along a respective transverse translation axis (26, Y-axis) and along a respective vertical translation axis (29, Z-axis) by respective guiding means (26, 29), said machining head supporting a respective tool holding spindle (T) in a rotatable manner about a horizontal rotation axis by rotary support means (13), said machining center further comprising a workpiece holding table (5) which is supported at a base (floor) of said supporting structure, and a mechanized tool magazine (38) supported at an opposite longitudinal end of said supporting structure in order to be accessible by said spindle (2), said at least one of said rotary support means (38) and said workpiece holding table being able to rotate about a respective vertical axis (Rotary support means 38, rotates about A-axis, C-Axis, see Fig. 10).
Tanoue does not specify wherein there are two independent carriages supported on the machining center with respective supports as claimed above. However, Ferrari teaches the use of two independent carriages (2 and 3) similarly supported as claimed and disclosed by Tanoue. Ferrari further teaches wherein “In certain mechanical engineering industries, such as the automotive and aeronautical industries, where components to be machined may be extremely large, the automatic machinery used must be designed to support large bulky workpieces. For this reason, automatic machine tools or machining centers are known to have two parallel longitudinal guides each supported by a corresponding upright. The operating units that machine the workpiece are mounted on crossbeams which run in the guides” (col. 1, lines 12-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the machining center of Tanoue to include a second independent carriage with its own independent movement supports as taught by Ferrari in order to provide a machining center that can process large components efficiently.
Tanoue discloses a workpiece holding table (5) as claimed but does not specify wherein said workpiece holding table is capable of rotating about a respective vertical axis. However, the use of rotary tables is well known in the art as evidence by Lee who teaches a machining center having a workpiece holding table (433, 450) capable of rotating about a vertical axis (shown in Figure above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify and/or substitute the workpiece holding table of Tanoue to include a rotary table as taught by Lee in order to provide additional degrees of freedom for the machining center to use to process and/or machine complex workpiece geometry.
As for claim 13, the modified Tanoue teaches wherein said guiding means comprise, for each one of said carriages (9), a slider (Tanoue, 10, see Fig. 3 and 10) configured to slide along a respective horizontal guide (Tanoue, 26, see Figs. 3 and 10) which is integral with the carriage (Tanoue, 9, see Fig. 3) and extends in a transverse direction, and, for each one of said sliders, a vertical guide (Tanoue, 29, Figs. 3 and 10) which is integral with the slider (Tanoue, 10) and is engaged slidingly by a respective one of the machining heads (Tanoue, 2).
As for claim 14, the modified Tanoue teaches wherein said rotary support means (38) comprise a fork-like support (see Tanoue, Fig. 10).
As for claim 17, the modified Tanoue teaches wherein said workpiece holding table is configured to rotate about a vertical axis (see claim 11 rejection, Lee teaches rotary table 450).
As for claim 18, the modified Tanoue teaches wherein said workpiece holding table is arranged in a position that is longitudinally centered and transversely offset (see Lee, Fig. 18).
As for claim 19, the modified Tanoue teaches wherein at least one of said two mechanized tool magazines (Tanoue, 38) comprises a rotating tool holding drum (see Tanoue, Fig. 3), which is arranged so that an axis thereof is horizontal and transverse and supports peripherally a plurality of tools (Tanoue, Tn).
As for claim 22, the modifed Tanoue teaches wherein each one of said rotary support means (Tanoue, 38) is configured to rotate about an axis (Tanoue, Fig. 10, A-axis and C-axis) that is parallel to, or coincides with, a respective vertical translation axis (Tanoue, Fig. 10, Y-axis and Z-axis respectively).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanoue et al. US 2006/0291971 in view of Ferrari et al. US 6655884 and Kim WO 2009/093877 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Seo et al. US 2016/0167182.
As for claims 15 and 16, the modified Tanoue discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein said supporting structure is provided with a base which comprises two longitudinally mutually opposite chutes which lead into a chip discharge area. However, the use of chutes and discharge areas for removing debris being machines is well known in the art as evidence by Seo who teaches a machining center having a support structure with a base (11) comprising two longitudinally mutually opposite chutes (13b) which lead into a chip discharge area (13c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the machining center of Tanoue to include two opposite chutes which lead to a chip discharge area as taught by Seo in order to provide a means to minimize the accumulation of chips and decrease machining accuracy due to thermal expansion of the machine (Seo, ¶0048).
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanoue et al. US 2006/0291971 in view of Ferrari et al. US 6655884 and Kim WO 2009/093877 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Azema WO 97/41997 A1.
As for claims 20 and 21, the modified Tanoue teaches all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein each one of said two mechanized tool magazines is provided with a shield that is adapted to shelter, during machining, a respective tool magazine from machining chips and wherein said shield is fixed to a respective rotating tool holding drum. However, Azema teaches a machining center having a mechanized tool magazine (500) wherein the mechanized tool magazine is a rotatable drum (510) and is provided with a shield (520) that is adapted to shelter, during machining, a respective tool magazine from machining chips and wherein said shield is fixed to a respective rotating tool holding drum (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the mechanized tool magazine of Tanoue to include a shield as taught by Azema to protect the various tools not in use from being damaged from debris during machining of the workpiece.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723