DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 12-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-21 of co-pending Application No. 18/564,949 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recited in the co-pending application anticipate the claimed invention. The only difference being the claim limitation of 17 current application is recited in claim 11 of co-pending application and thus is anticipated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13, 17-19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrari et al. US 6655884 in view of Tanoue et al. US 2006/0291971 and Hoppe et al. US 6428453.
Ferrari discloses a machining center (100, see Fig. 1 above) comprising: an two independent carriage (1, 1’) supported to slide along respective longitudinal translation axes (X-axis) by a pair of parallel horizontal rails (12/24, 13/25) which extend along a longitudinal direction and are fixed in a raised position to a supporting structure (14) having opposite longitudinal ends, each one of said carriages supporting a respective machining head (4, 5) which is configured to move along a respective transverse translation axis (Y-axis) and along a respective vertical translation axis (Z-axis) by respective guiding means (col. 2, lines 30-59), each one of said machining heads supporting a respective tool holding spindle (8, 9).
Ferrari does not specify wherein each one of said machining heads supports a respective tool holding spindle in a rotatable manner about a horizontal rotation axis by rotary support means. However, Tanoue teaches a machining head (2, see Fig. 10 above) supporting a respective tool holding spindle (T) in a rotatable manner (A-axis, C-axis) about a horizontal rotation axis by a rotary support means (13). The rotary support means (13) being able to rotate about a respective vertical axis (Rotary support means 13, rotates about A-axis, C-Axis, see Fig. 10 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the machining heads of Ferrari to have tool holding spindles supported in a rotatable manner by a rotary support means as taught by Tanoue in order to provide additional degrees of freedom to the machining heads for processing and/or machining complex workpieces.
Ferrari discloses a base (16) for support workpieces (see Figs. 4-10; 35, 36, 37) but does not disclose wherein said machining center further comprising a workpiece holding table which is supported at a base (16, floor) of said supporting structure, and a mechanized tool magazine supported at said opposite longitudinal ends of said supporting structure in order to be accessible by said spindle. However, Hoppe teaches a machining center (see Figs. 1 and 3 above) comprising a workpiece holding table (10, 61, 62, 65, 66) which is supported at a base (9) of said supporting structure (2, 3) and a mechanized tool magazine (69, 70) supported at an opposite longitudinal end (see Fig. 3 above) of said support structures (2, 3) in order to be accessible by a spindle (26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the machining center of Ferrari to include the workpiece holding table and mechanized tool magazine as taught by Hoppe in order to provide additional degrees of freedom for the machining center to use to process and/or machine complex workpiece geometry while also providing access to quickly change to different tools for different machining processes. It furthermore, would have been obvious to provide the mechanized tool magazine on opposite ends of the support structures to provide the different tools to both machine carriages to access through mere duplication of parts as there is no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
As for claim 13, the modified Ferrari teaches wherein said guiding means comprise, for each one of said carriages (Ferrari; 1, 1’), a slider (Ferrari; 10, 11) configured to slide along a respective horizontal guide (Ferrari; 2, 3) which is integral with the carriage (1, 1’) and extends in a transverse direction, and, for each one of said sliders, a vertical guide (Ferrari; 6, 7) which is integral with the slider (see Ferrari, Figs. 1-3) and is engaged slidingly by a respective one of the machining heads (see Ferrari, Figs. 1-3). The prior art of Tanoue further teaches in Fig. 10, wherein said guiding means comprise, for each one of said carriages (9), a slider (Tanoue, 10, see Fig. 3 and 10) configured to slide along a respective horizontal guide (Tanoue, 26, see Figs. 3 and 10) which is integral with the carriage (Tanoue, 9, see Fig. 3) and extends in a transverse direction, and, for each one of said sliders, a vertical guide (Tanoue, 29, Figs. 3 and 10) which is integral with the slider (Tanoue, 10) and is engaged slidingly by a respective one of the machining heads (Tanoue, 2).
As for claim 17, the modified Ferrari teaches wherein said workpiece holding table (Hoppe, 10) is configured to rotate about a vertical axis (Hoppe col. 5, lines 10-13).
As for claim 18, the modified Ferrari teaches wherein said workpiece holding table is arranged in a position that is longitudinally centered and transversely offset (see Hoppe, Fig. 3).
As for claim 19, the modified Ferrari teaches wherein at least one of said two mechanized tool magazines (Hoppe, 69, 70) comprises a rotating tool holding drum (see Hoppe, Fig. 3), which is arranged so that an axis thereof is horizontal and transverse and supports peripherally a plurality of tools (see Hoppe, Fig. 3; col. 5, lines 45-60).
As for claim 22, the modified Ferrari teaches wherein each one of said rotary support means (Tanoue, 13) is configured to rotate about an axis (Tanoue, Fig. 10, A-axis and C-axis) that is parallel to, or coincides with, a respective vertical translation axis (Tanoue, Fig. 10, Y-axis and Z-axis respectively).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrari et al. US 6655884 in view of Tanoue et al. US 2006/0291971 and Hoppe et al. US 6428453 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Seo et al. US 2016/0167182.
As for claims 15 and 16, the modified Ferrari discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein said supporting structure is provided with a base which comprises two longitudinally mutually opposite chutes which lead into a chip discharge area. However, the use of chutes and discharge areas for removing debris being machines is well known in the art as evidence by Seo who teaches a machining center having a support structure with a base (11) comprising two longitudinally mutually opposite chutes (13b) which lead into a chip discharge area (13c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the machining center of Ferrari to include two opposite chutes which lead to a chip discharge area as taught by Seo in order to provide a means to minimize the accumulation of chips and decrease machining accuracy due to thermal expansion of the machine (Seo, ¶0048).
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrari et al. US 6655884 in view of Tanoue et al. US 2006/0291971 and Hoppe et al. US 6428453 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Azema WO 97/41997 A1.
As for claims 20 and 21, the modified Ferrari teaches all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein each one of said two mechanized tool magazines is provided with a shield that is adapted to shelter, during machining, a respective tool magazine from machining chips and wherein said shield is fixed to a respective rotating tool holding drum. However, Azema teaches a machining center having a mechanized tool magazine (500) wherein the mechanized tool magazine is a rotatable drum (510) and is provided with a shield (520) that is adapted to shelter, during machining, a respective tool magazine from machining chips and wherein said shield is fixed to a respective rotating tool holding drum (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the mechanized tool magazine of Ferrari to include a shield as taught by Azema to protect the various tools not in use from being damaged from debris during machining of the workpiece.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-13 and 15-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723