Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: virtual grid generating unit, matching unit, deal transaction unit, power deal management unit, matching unit, supply/demand matching optimization unit, prediction unit, sector coupling unit in claims 11-22.
The above mentioned generic placeholders have been given functional limitations without any corresponding structure in the claim. The instant specification provides structure to the generic placeholders as computing units such as CPUs (0026). The instant specification further provides an algorithm for the computing units to perform the claimed functions (fig. 4). For the purpose of examination, any electronic devices that can perform the claimed functions will correspond to the claimed generic placeholders.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora (US PUB. 20190132145) in view of Matsuda et al (US PUB. 20160013645, herein Matsuda) in further view of Lof et al (US PUB. 20020103745, herein Lof).
Regarding claim 11, O’Hora teaches A power management device comprising:
a virtual grid generating unit that for each of grids, generates a virtual grid for collectively managing information including information on a power supply resource and a wire (0004 “The virtualization layer may include a plurality of virtual devices representing the plurality of energy-producing devices, the plurality of energy-control devices; and the plurality of energy-consuming devices. The virtualization layer may also direct energy from the energy-producing devices to the energy-consuming devices according to information received from the energy-control devices” 0076 “resources in the smart grid platform can communicate in parallel with each other. Embodiments include using IP-based, serial, 2-wire, and/or other traditional means of connecting sensors (temp, light, CO, etc.), controllers (HVAC actuators, fans, etc.), and/or energy systems (lighting, furnace, air handler, etc.). These can be aggregated into a neutral interface gateway”);
and a power deal management unit that based on the generated virtual grid, manages a power deal with a demand-side supplied with power from the power supply resource (0101 “virtual grid connection refers to a connection that matches, correlates, or coordinates energy usage with energy production across the smart grid infrastructure. Specifically, users can coordinate energy production in one location and governed by one set of hardware with energy usage in another location governed by another set of hardware. This allows users to efficiently match energy producing devices with energy consuming devices over the smart grid. In some instances, energy producing devices can “bank” energy to the smart grid, and corresponding energy consuming devices can use this “banked” energy when needed”).
O’Hora does not teach wherein the virtual grid generating unit includes a matching unit that based on supplied power from the virtual grid, carries out supply/demand matching with a consumer on the demand-side, and when there is a connection request from the demand-side to a virtual grid, exceeding a maximum capacity of a wire based on the information on the wire included in the information of said virtual grid, the matching unit diverts the request to another virtual grid with a free resource and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy.
Matsuda teaches wherein the virtual grid generating unit includes a matching unit, including deal transaction unit and a supply/demand matching optimization unit, and based on supplied power from the virtual grid, the deal transaction unit carries out coupling of the virtual grid matching with a consumer on the demand-side (0037 “electric power trading market (hereinafter referred to as the “market”) is a place where demand and supply of electric power are matched. There are, for example, a spot market where electricity to be delivered the next day is traded, futures market or forward market where electricity to be delivered on any day after the next day is traded, and an imbalance market where electricity to be delivered on that day is traded”, 0060 “CPU 41 is a processor that controls the operation of the entire resource management apparatus 3. Furthermore, the main memory 42 is used as a work memory of the CPU 41. The storage apparatus 43 is composed of mass storage devices such as hard disk drives and stores various programs and various pieces of information. As programs required for activation of the resource management apparatus 3 and for each processing are read from the storage apparatus 43 to the main memory 42 and the programs are executed by the CPU 41, various processing of the entire resource management apparatus 3 is executed”)
and when there is a connection request from the demand-side to the virtual grid, exceeding a maximum capacity of a wire based on the information on the wire included in the information of said virtual grid, the supply/demand matching optimization unit diverts the request to another virtual grid with an available resource (0154 “When the demand occurs to cause an electric current to flow in excess of the capacity of the electric wire, the power distribution management apparatus 8 of the power distribution management provider 7 (FIG. 1) suppresses the flow of the electric current through the electric wire in excess of the capacity of the relevant electric wire by tendering a bid for purchase of the excessive electric current amount of the electric power in the electric power market”, 0072 “electric wire capacity recording program 86 is a program having a function that records the capacity of electric wires for each area”, 0156 “power distribution management apparatus 8 of the power distribution management provider 7 detects that the quantity of electric current flowing through an electric wire in any of areas exceeds the capacity of that electric wire, it tenders a bid to buy the electric power according to the excessive amount of electric current in the electric power market”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora with the teachings of Matsuda since Matsuda teaches a means for suppressing destabilization of the electric power demand balance and expansion of volatility of the electric power prices due to expansion of the electric power generation by regenerated energy (0008).
The cited prior art do not teach and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy.
Lof teaches and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy (0072 “the power exchange 500 includes long term contracts for providing predetermined amounts of power to the grid. Thus, by being able to have guaranteed certain output levels of power from the wind farm, the wind farm operator may also participate in this power exchange by entering into forward contracts. It should be stated that while the present invention discusses wind power as a preferred embodiment it is also applicable for solar power for example or other time varying power production facilities”, 0034 “"premier" power that is both reliable in terms of short term variation long term reliability as well as during fault conditions, the electrical power produced by a wind turbine generation facility according to the present invention is able to be coupled via "guaranteed" contracts with a virtual energy storage facility, thus making the electricity generated from wind power as fungible as other types of power sources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora and the teachings of Matsuda with the teachings of Lof since Lof teaches a means for “creating "premier" power and providing a virtual energy storage mechanism for essentially preserving a potential energy associated with that "premier" power greatly enhances the commercial value of that power since that power is now made fungible (i.e., may be bought, sold or released on demand)” (0034).
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art teach The power management device according to claim 11.
Matsuda teaches wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between a supplier-side that owns the power supply resource and the consumer-side (0013).
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art teach The power management device according to claim 11.
Matsuda teaches wherein the virtual grid generating unit further includes a matching optimizing unit that in accordance with a result of supply/demand matching carried out by the matching unit, optimizes a connection between the virtual grid and the consumer (0037 “electric power trading market (hereinafter referred to as the “market”) is a place where demand and supply of electric power are matched. There are, for example, a spot market where electricity to be delivered the next day is traded, futures market or forward market where electricity to be delivered on any day after the next day is traded, and an imbalance market where electricity to be delivered on that day is traded”).
Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art teach The power management device according to claim 11.
O’Hora teaches wherein the virtual grid generating unit includes a power type management unit that manages a type of power supplied by the power supply resource, based on information on the type of the power supplied by the power supply resource, the information being acquired from the power supply resource (0033 “Energy consuming devices may be characterized in that they receive commands from the virtualization layer 202 and consume energy provided by the virtualization layer 202. Although not shown explicitly in FIG. 2, another class of devices may include energy providing devices. Energy providing devices (or “energy producing devices”) may include solar panels, wind turbines, fuel cells, battery cells, a connection to a local energy grid, and so forth. As will be described in greater detail below, each of these devices (e.g., energy control devices, energy consuming devices, energy producing devices, etc.) can be coupled to the virtualization layer 202 through a physical interface gateway 204”).
Regarding claim 19, O’Hora teaches A power management method executed by a power management device that carries out power management through a virtual grid for collectively managing information including information on a power supply resource and a wire (0004 “The virtualization layer may include a plurality of virtual devices representing the plurality of energy-producing devices, the plurality of energy-control devices; and the plurality of energy-consuming devices. The virtualization layer may also direct energy from the energy-producing devices to the energy-consuming devices according to information received from the energy-control devices” 0076 “resources in the smart grid platform can communicate in parallel with each other. Embodiments include using IP-based, serial, 2-wire, and/or other traditional means of connecting sensors (temp, light, CO, etc.), controllers (HVAC actuators, fans, etc.), and/or energy systems (lighting, furnace, air handler, etc.). These can be aggregated into a neutral interface gateway”), the method comprising:
a virtual grid generating step of generating the virtual grid for each of grids (0004 “The virtualization layer may include a plurality of virtual devices representing the plurality of energy-producing devices, the plurality of energy-control devices; and the plurality of energy-consuming devices. The virtualization layer may also direct energy from the energy-producing devices to the energy-consuming devices according to information received from the energy-control devices” 0076 “resources in the smart grid platform can communicate in parallel with each other. Embodiments include using IP-based, serial, 2-wire, and/or other traditional means of connecting sensors (temp, light, CO, etc.), controllers (HVAC actuators, fans, etc.), and/or energy systems (lighting, furnace, air handler, etc.). These can be aggregated into a neutral interface gateway”)
and a power deal management step of managing a power deal with the demand-side, based on the generated virtual grid (0101 “virtual grid connection refers to a connection that matches, correlates, or coordinates energy usage with energy production across the smart grid infrastructure. Specifically, users can coordinate energy production in one location and governed by one set of hardware with energy usage in another location governed by another set of hardware. This allows users to efficiently match energy producing devices with energy consuming devices over the smart grid. In some instances, energy producing devices can “bank” energy to the smart grid, and corresponding energy consuming devices can use this “banked” energy when needed”).
The cited prior art do not teach matching step of, based on supplied power from the virtual grid, carrying out supply/demand matching with a consumer on a demand-side supplied with power from the power supply source; wherein, when there is a connection request from the demand-side to a virtual grid, exceeding a maximum capacity of a wire based on the information on the wire included in the information of said virtual grid, the matching step diverts the request to another virtual grid with an available resource and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy.
Matsuda teaches a matching step of, based on supplied power from the virtual grid, carrying out supply/demand matching with a consumer on a demand-side supplied with power from the power supply source (0037 “electric power trading market (hereinafter referred to as the “market”) is a place where demand and supply of electric power are matched. There are, for example, a spot market where electricity to be delivered the next day is traded, futures market or forward market where electricity to be delivered on any day after the next day is traded, and an imbalance market where electricity to be delivered on that day is traded”, 0060 “CPU 41 is a processor that controls the operation of the entire resource management apparatus 3. Furthermore, the main memory 42 is used as a work memory of the CPU 41. The storage apparatus 43 is composed of mass storage devices such as hard disk drives and stores various programs and various pieces of information. As programs required for activation of the resource management apparatus 3 and for each processing are read from the storage apparatus 43 to the main memory 42 and the programs are executed by the CPU 41, various processing of the entire resource management apparatus 3 is executed”);
wherein, when there is a connection request from the demand-side to a virtual grid, exceeding a maximum capacity of a wire based on the information on the wire included in the information of said virtual grid, the matching step diverts the request to another virtual grid with an available resource (0154 “When the demand occurs to cause an electric current to flow in excess of the capacity of the electric wire, the power distribution management apparatus 8 of the power distribution management provider 7 (FIG. 1) suppresses the flow of the electric current through the electric wire in excess of the capacity of the relevant electric wire by tendering a bid for purchase of the excessive electric current amount of the electric power in the electric power market”, 0155 “FIG. 8 illustrates a processing sequence executed when the power distribution management provider 7 tenders a bid to buy the electric power product in the electric power market as described above and the aggregator 2 accepts the bid for purchase” 0072 “electric wire capacity recording program 86 is a program having a function that records the capacity of electric wires for each area”, 0156 “power distribution management apparatus 8 of the power distribution management provider 7 detects that the quantity of electric current flowing through an electric wire in any of areas exceeds the capacity of that electric wire, it tenders a bid to buy the electric power according to the excessive amount of electric current in the electric power market”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora with the teachings of Matsuda since Matsuda teaches a means for suppressing destabilization of the electric power demand balance and expansion of volatility of the electric power prices due to expansion of the electric power generation by regenerated energy (0008).
Lof teaches and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy ((0072 “the power exchange 500 includes long term contracts for providing predetermined amounts of power to the grid. Thus, by being able to have guaranteed certain output levels of power from the wind farm, the wind farm operator may also participate in this power exchange by entering into forward contracts. It should be stated that while the present invention discusses wind power as a preferred embodiment it is also applicable for solar power for example or other time varying power production facilities”, 0034 “"premier" power that is both reliable in terms of short term variation long term reliability as well as during fault conditions, the electrical power produced by a wind turbine generation facility according to the present invention is able to be coupled via "guaranteed" contracts with a virtual energy storage facility, thus making the electricity generated from wind power as fungible as other types of power sources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora and the teachings of Matsuda with the teachings of Lof since Lof teaches a means for “creating "premier" power and providing a virtual energy storage mechanism for essentially preserving a potential energy associated with that "premier" power greatly enhances the commercial value of that power since that power is now made fungible (i.e., may be bought, sold or released on demand)” (0034).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora (US PUB. 20190132145) in view of Matsuda et al (US PUB. 20160013645, herein Matsuda) in further view of Lof et al (US PUB. 20020103745, herein Lof) in further view of Park (US PUB. 20220277533).
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art teach The power management device according to claim 11.
O’Hora teaches wherein the virtual grid generating unit (0101).
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the virtual grid generating unit is divided into a plurality of layers.
Park teaches wherein the virtual grid generating unit is divided into a plurality of layers (0055 “the virtual building editor 130 may generate a first layer and a second layer as illustrated in FIGS. 10 and 11 based on the user input selecting the layer menu, e.g., a create layer”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora, Matsuda and Lof with the teachings of Park since Park teaches a means for enabling users to easily generate virtual systems (0002).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art teach The power management device according to claim 14.
Park teaches wherein the virtual grid generating unit is divided into four layers (0039 “the voxel editing interface 30 may include an external selection menu 31 displaying the outside to edit the exterior of the virtual building, an internal selection menu 32 displaying the inside to edit the interior of the virtual building, a layer menu 33 generating a plurality of layers and selecting a layer among the plurality of layers generated”).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora (US PUB. 20190132145) in view of Matsuda et al (US PUB. 20160013645, herein Matsuda) in further view of Lof et al (US PUB. 20020103745, herein Lof) in further view of Eda et al (US PUB. 20180248375, herein Eda).
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art teach The power management device according to claim 11.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the virtual grid generating unit includes a prediction unit that based on given information, predicts a power demand/supply status in the virtual grid.
Eda teaches wherein the virtual grid generating unit includes a prediction unit that based on given information, predicts a power demand/supply status in the virtual grid (0124 “power supply and demand prediction system 10 may be a virtual server in a cloud computing system, and a power supply prediction program may be executed by the virtual server”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora, Matsuda and Lof with the teachings of Eda since it “is directed to providing a power supply and demand prediction system, a power supply and demand prediction method, and a power supply and demand prediction program, all of which can accurately predict supply and demand of power” (0008).
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art teach The power management device according to claim 16.
The cited prior art teach wherein the virtual grid generating unit includes a control unit that controls power supply and power demand between a plurality of virtual grids (O’Hora, 0031), based on a result of prediction on the plurality of virtual grids, the prediction being made by the prediction unit (Eda 0126 “The power supply and demand prediction system 10 of the embodiment predicts the supply and demand of power of the multiple groups G, and narrows down the group targeted for the DR request, but it may predict only the supply and demand of one group G, and selects the utility customer targeted for the DR request and the control in this group G”).
Claim(s) 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora (US PUB. 20190132145) in view of Matsuda et al (US PUB. 20160013645, herein Matsuda) in further view of Lof et al (US PUB. 20030006613, herein Lof ‘613) in further view of Lof et al (US PUB. 20020103745, herein Lof ‘745).
Regarding claim 20, O’Hora teaches A power management device comprising:
a virtual grid generating unit that for each of grids, generates a virtual grid for collectively managing information including information on a power supply resource and a wire (0004 “The virtualization layer may include a plurality of virtual devices representing the plurality of energy-producing devices, the plurality of energy-control devices; and the plurality of energy-consuming devices. The virtualization layer may also direct energy from the energy-producing devices to the energy-consuming devices according to information received from the energy-control devices” 0076 “resources in the smart grid platform can communicate in parallel with each other. Embodiments include using IP-based, serial, 2-wire, and/or other traditional means of connecting sensors (temp, light, CO, etc.), controllers (HVAC actuators, fans, etc.), and/or energy systems (lighting, furnace, air handler, etc.). These can be aggregated into a neutral interface gateway”);
and a power deal management unit that based on the generated virtual grid, manages a power deal with a demand-side supplied with power from the power supply resource (0101 “virtual grid connection refers to a connection that matches, correlates, or coordinates energy usage with energy production across the smart grid infrastructure. Specifically, users can coordinate energy production in one location and governed by one set of hardware with energy usage in another location governed by another set of hardware. This allows users to efficiently match energy producing devices with energy consuming devices over the smart grid. In some instances, energy producing devices can “bank” energy to the smart grid, and corresponding energy consuming devices can use this “banked” energy when needed”).
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the virtual grid generating unit includes a matching unit that based on supplied power from the virtual grid, carries out supply/demand matching with a consumer on the demand-side, and when the consumer requests supply of renewable energy power but power supplied from the power supply resource, managed as the virtual grid to supply the renewable energy power, is insufficient, the matching unit compensates insufficient power with non-renewable energy power and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy.
Matsuda teaches wherein the virtual grid generating unit includes a matching unit, including deal transaction and a supply/demand matching optimization, and based on supplied power from the virtual grid, the deal transaction unit carries out coupling of the virtual grid matching with a consumer on the demand-side (0037 “electric power trading market (hereinafter referred to as the “market”) is a place where demand and supply of electric power are matched. There are, for example, a spot market where electricity to be delivered the next day is traded, futures market or forward market where electricity to be delivered on any day after the next day is traded, and an imbalance market where electricity to be delivered on that day is traded”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora with the teachings of Matsuda since Matsuda teaches a means for suppressing destabilization of the electric power demand balance and expansion of volatility of the electric power prices due to expansion of the electric power generation by regenerated energy (0008).
The cited prior art do not teach and when the consumer requests supply of renewable energy power but power supplied from the power supply resource, managed as the virtual grid to supply the renewable energy power, is insufficient, the matching unit compensates insufficient power with non-renewable energy power and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy.
Lof ‘613 teaches and when the consumer requests supply of renewable energy power but power supplied from the power supply resource, managed as the virtual grid to supply the renewable energy power, is insufficient, the supply/demand matching optimization unit compensates insufficient power with non-renewable energy power (0162 “FIG. 24 is a flowchart describing a process for linking a wind turbine electrical power production facility with an alternative energy production facility so that shortfalls or surpluses provided by the wind turbine may be compensated for directly in real time with the alternative energy production facility”, 0163 “inquiry is made in step S2411 so as to identify whether the shortfall or surplus is within the production dynamic range of the alternative energy production facility. For example, it may be that the requested amount of power from the wind turbine production facility is greater than that which can be produced by the alternative energy production facility. If the shortfall or surplus is not within the production range, then the process proceeds to step S2413 where a second control signal is sent to yet another facility so as to offset the residual surplus, or shortfall, that was outside the production range of the alternative energy production facility”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora and the teachings of Matsuda with the teachings of Lof since Lof teaches a means for providing reliable source of power to the power grid (abstract).
The cited prior art do not teach and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy.
Lof ‘745 teaches and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy ((0072 “the power exchange 500 includes long term contracts for providing predetermined amounts of power to the grid. Thus, by being able to have guaranteed certain output levels of power from the wind farm, the wind farm operator may also participate in this power exchange by entering into forward contracts. It should be stated that while the present invention discusses wind power as a preferred embodiment it is also applicable for solar power for example or other time varying power production facilities”, 0034 “"premier" power that is both reliable in terms of short term variation long term reliability as well as during fault conditions, the electrical power produced by a wind turbine generation facility according to the present invention is able to be coupled via "guaranteed" contracts with a virtual energy storage facility, thus making the electricity generated from wind power as fungible as other types of power sources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora and the teachings of Matsuda and Lof ‘613 with the teachings of Lof ‘745 since Lof ‘745 teaches a means for “creating "premier" power and providing a virtual energy storage mechanism for essentially preserving a potential energy associated with that "premier" power greatly enhances the commercial value of that power since that power is now made fungible (i.e., may be bought, sold or released on demand)” (0034).
Regarding claim 21, the cited prior art teach The power management device according to claim 20.
Lof ‘613 teaches wherein when the consumer requests supply of renewable energy power but power supplied from the power supply resource, managed as the virtual grid to supply the renewable energy power, is insufficient, the matching unit informs the consumer that supply of the renewable energy power is insufficient (0017).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora (US PUB. 20190132145) in view of Sham (US PUB. 20210122258) in further view of Lof et al (US PUB. 20020103745, herein Lof).
Regarding claim 22, O’Hora teaches A power management device comprising: a virtual grid generating unit that for each of grids, generates a virtual grid for collectively managing information including information on a power supply resource and a wire (0004 “The virtualization layer may include a plurality of virtual devices representing the plurality of energy-producing devices, the plurality of energy-control devices; and the plurality of energy-consuming devices. The virtualization layer may also direct energy from the energy-producing devices to the energy-consuming devices according to information received from the energy-control devices” 0076 “resources in the smart grid platform can communicate in parallel with each other. Embodiments include using IP-based, serial, 2-wire, and/or other traditional means of connecting sensors (temp, light, CO, etc.), controllers (HVAC actuators, fans, etc.), and/or energy systems (lighting, furnace, air handler, etc.). These can be aggregated into a neutral interface gateway”)
a power deal management unit that based on the generated virtual grid, manages a power deal with a demand-side supplied with power from the power supply resource (0101 “virtual grid connection refers to a connection that matches, correlates, or coordinates energy usage with energy production across the smart grid infrastructure. Specifically, users can coordinate energy production in one location and governed by one set of hardware with energy usage in another location governed by another set of hardware. This allows users to efficiently match energy producing devices with energy consuming devices over the smart grid. In some instances, energy producing devices can “bank” energy to the smart grid, and corresponding energy consuming devices can use this “banked” energy when needed”).
and a sector coupling unit that determines a load state of the virtual grid (0101 “virtual grid connection refers to a connection that matches, correlates, or coordinates energy usage with energy production across the smart grid infrastructure. Specifically, users can coordinate energy production in one location and governed by one set of hardware with energy usage in another location governed by another set of hardware. This allows users to efficiently match energy producing devices with energy consuming devices over the smart grid. In some instances, energy producing devices can “bank” energy to the smart grid, and corresponding energy consuming devices can use this “banked” energy when needed”).
The cited prior art do not teach wherein, when the sector coupling unit has determined an overload state of a virtual grid, the power deal management unit prompts an electric vehicle, which has reserved charging with the virtual grid predicted to have an overload state, to do charging with another virtual grid and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy.
Sham teaches wherein, when the sector coupling unit has determined an overload state of a virtual grid, the power deal management unit prompts an electric vehicle, which has reserved charging with the virtual grid predicted to have an overload state, to do charging with another virtual grid (0019 “control unit 135 is configured to receive a signal indicating the power grid is overloaded and not available to the EV charging station”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora with the teachings of Sham since Sham teaches a means for a more reliable means for charging vehicles (0003-0004).
The cited prior art do not teach and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy.
Lof teaches and wherein the virtual grid includes information on a contract between an owner of the power supply resource and the consumer on the demand-side, the information on the contract including a guarantee that the supplied power is 100% renewable energy in response to a request from the consumer for the 100% renewable energy (0072 “the power exchange 500 includes long term contracts for providing predetermined amounts of power to the grid. Thus, by being able to have guaranteed certain output levels of power from the wind farm, the wind farm operator may also participate in this power exchange by entering into forward contracts. It should be stated that while the present invention discusses wind power as a preferred embodiment it is also applicable for solar power for example or other time varying power production facilities”, 0034 “"premier" power that is both reliable in terms of short term variation long term reliability as well as during fault conditions, the electrical power produced by a wind turbine generation facility according to the present invention is able to be coupled via "guaranteed" contracts with a virtual energy storage facility, thus making the electricity generated from wind power as fungible as other types of power sources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of O’Hora and the teachings of Matsuda with the teachings of Lof since Lof teaches a means for “creating "premier" power and providing a virtual energy storage mechanism for essentially preserving a potential energy associated with that "premier" power greatly enhances the commercial value of that power since that power is now made fungible (i.e., may be bought, sold or released on demand)” (0034).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of O’Hora (US PUB. 20190132145) in view of Matsuda et al (US PUB. 20160013645, herein Matsuda) in further view of Lof et al (US PUB. 20020103745, herein Lof).
Applicant argues on page 7 and 8 that the cited prior art does not teach the amendments to the claims.
Examiner agrees. However, as a result of further search and consideration, Lof has been introduced. Lof teaches contracts for providing predetermined amounts of power to the grid where the power can be a premier power which is clean energy (0072).
Therefore, claim 11 is rejected along with its dependent claims. Claims 19-22 are similarly argued and are similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116