DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Withdrawn Rejection
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed on May 20, 2026.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Clarivate Analytics English translation of KR-20150114834-A) in view of Li (US 20100159371).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a colored composition comprising a colorant and a resin (color resist composition, 2nd last para of page 8), wherein the colorant comprises the compound shown above (formula (3), 1st para of page 7 of translation, formula (3), claim 3 of page 4 of original document), which is represented by formula (I) of Applicant, in which L1 of Applicant is represented by formula (ph1) of Applicant, wherein n of Applicant = 1, X1 of Applicant represents a substituent (SO3M); A of Applicant is represented by formula (t1) of Applicant, wherein R1 of Applicant and R2 of Applicant (R15 and R14 of formula (3) shown above), are each a hydrogen atom or a hydrocarbon group (alkyl, 3rd para of page 7); and B of Applicant is represented by formula (t1) of Applicant, wherein R1 of Applicant and R2 of Applicant (R15 and R14 of formula (3) shown above), are each a hydrogen atom or a hydrocarbon group (alkyl, 3rd para of page 7). Lee fails to teach that the colored composition comprises an alkali soluble resin.
However, Lee teaches that the colored composition is used as a color resist composition to form a color filter (color filter, last 2 paras of page 8).
Li teaches that a colored composition (pigment dispersion solution [0002]) that is used as a color resist composition (pigment photoresist [0002], claim 15 [0025]) to form a color filter ([0002], claim 15 [0025]), comprises an alkali soluble resin ([0009]), for the purpose of providing the desired patterning capability (developed to be shaped in regions corresponding to pixels [0010], claim 15 [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have comprised an alkali soluble resin in the colored composition of Lee, in order to obtain a color resist composition with the desired patterning capability to form a color filter, as taught by Li.
Regarding claim 4, Lee also fails to teach that the colored composition further comprises a polymerizable compound and a polymerization initiator.
However, Li teaches that in addition to the alkali soluble resin, the colored composition further comprises a polymerizable compound and a polymerization initiator (photo initiator [0022]), for the purpose of providing a better curing effect to form a color filter with an improved chromatic value ([0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have further comprised a polymerizable compound and a polymerization initiator with the alkali-soluble resin in the colored composition of Lee, in order to obtain a better curing effect to form a color filter with an improved chromatic value, as taught by Li.
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches a color filter formed from the colored composition ([0002], claim 15 [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teach a display device comprising the color filter (liquid crystal color display, 2nd para of page 2).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Li, as applied to claims 1, 4-6 above, and further in view of Wicki (US 3,179,650).
Lee, as modified by Li, teaches the colored composition comprising a colorant and an alkali-soluble resin, wherein the colorant comprises the compound represented by formula (I) of Applicant, in which L1 of Applicant is represented by formula (ph1) of Applicant, wherein n of Applicant = 1, X1 of Applicant represents a substituent (SO3M), and A of Applicant and B of Applicant, are each represented by formula (t1) of Applicant, wherein R1 of Applicant and R2 of Applicant, are each a hydrogen atom or a hydrocarbon group, as described above. Lee, as modified by Li, fails to teach that X1 of Applicant in the formula (ph1) of Applicant, represents a hydrogen atom instead of the substituent (SO3M), such that the phenyl ring is unsubstituted, and hence fails to teach that L1 of Applicant is more specifically a group represented by formula (ph2) of Applicant, in which X2 to X5 of Applicant each independently represent a hydrogen atom.
However, Lee teaches that X1 of Applicant is a substituent on a phenyl ring of the colorant which is a diazo compound (formula (3), 1st para of page 7 of translation, formula (3), claim 3 of page 4 of original document)).
Wicki teaches that in a diazo compound that is a colorant (polyazo dye, col 1, lines 10-21), the X1 of Applicant which is a substituent on a phenyl ring of the colorant (X, col 1, lines 10-35) when n of Applicant = 1, can represent a hydrogen atom instead, such that n of Applicant = 0 (X hydrogen or a sulfonic acid group, SO3H, col 1, lines 15-30), for the purpose of providing the desired color shade (brilliant yellowish or reddish shades, col 2, lines 1-2, salt, col 2, lines 29-33).
Therefore, in the absence of a clear showing to the contrary, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided a hydrogen atom as X1 of Applicant, in place of the substituent (SO3M), such that the phenyl ring is unsubstituted, with n of Applicant = 0 instead of 1, in the formula (ph1) representing the L1 group of Applicant, in the compound represented by formula (I) of Applicant, of the colorant of the colored composition of Lee, as modified by Li, resulting in L1 of Applicant being more specifically a group represented by formula (ph2) of Applicant, in which X2 to X5 of Applicant, each independently represent a hydrogen atom, in order to obtain the desired color shade, as taught by Wicki.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new reference(s) in the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782