DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 19, 22, 26, 29, and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 15, 22, and 29 are objected to because the terms “5G”, “EN-DC”, and “4G-LTE” are acronyms, which could mean different things and/or change in meaning overtime, hence it would be desirable to write out the actual words to which the acronym refers.
Regarding claims 19, 26, and 32 are objected to because the term “NR” is an acronym, which could mean different things and/or change in meaning overtime, hence it would be desirable to write out the actual words to which the acronym refers.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 22, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JHA et al. (WO 2020/045952) in view of LI et al. (CN 111225424 – cited on IDS filed on 03/22/2023; see electronic translation for rejection).
Regarding claim 15, Jha discloses a method for optimizing power consumption of a 5G terminal during concurrency of services, wherein the 5G terminal is located in an EN-DC network, and the method comprises:
detecting whether the 5G terminal is in a state where a voice service and a data service are concurrent (abstract; page 3, p. [15], [50]; embodiments provide an EN-DC capable User Equipment (UE) for providing voice call and data service simultaneously on a plurality of Subscriber Identification Module (SIM), the processor is configured to determine a 4G bearer is established on the first transceiver and a 5G bearer is established on the second transceiver by the first network using the first SIM and determine the voice call is being initiated on the second SIM when the data service is active on the first SIM through the first transceiver and second transceiver – p.[50]).
But, Jha does not particularly disclose determining whether the 5G terminal meets a preset power consumption optimization condition, in response to detecting that the 5G terminal is in the state where the voice service and the data service are concurrent; and switching the data service to a 4G LTE network, in response to determining that the 5G terminal meets the preset power consumption optimization condition.
However, Li teaches determining whether the 5G terminal meets a preset power consumption optimization condition, in response to detecting that the 5G terminal is in the state where the voice service and the data service are concurrent; and switching the data service to a 4G LTE network, in response to determining that the 5G terminal meets the preset power consumption optimization condition (Li teaches a method to solve the problem of relatively high power consumption caused by fixed use of the 5G data connection in related technologies (see abstract, page 2, lines 18-20; page 7, lines 14-39), the methos includes the steps of: measuring the throughput of the current data connection, judging whether the throughout is less than or equal to the throughput threshold value (i.e., preset power consumption optimization condition), if yes, determine whether the current data connection is a 5G connection; if yes, establish a 4G data connection, and close the 5G (i.e., switching the data service to 4G LTE), the service data is transmitted through the 4G data connection (see page 2, lines 21-27); in a possible embodiment, the terminal device may be in a dual connection mode, that is the terminal has established a 4G data connection and a 5G data connection, the terminal directly closes the 5G connection and continues the use of the 4G data connection (see page 9, lines 22-25)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jha with the teachings of Li, in order to reduce the large power consumption associated with the transmission of data via the 5G network.
Regarding claim 22, Jha discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1A; UE 100), comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor (Fig. 1A), wherein the computer program, when being executed by the processor, causes the processor to:
detect whether a 5G terminal is in a state where a voice service and a data service are concurrent, wherein the 5G terminal is located in an EN-DC network (abstract; page 3, p. [15], [50]; embodiments provide an EN-DC capable User Equipment (UE) for providing voice call and data service simultaneously on a plurality of Subscriber Identification Module (SIM), the processor is configured to determine a 4G bearer is established on the first transceiver and a 5G bearer is established on the second transceiver by the first network using the first SIM and determine the voice call is being initiated on the second SIM when the data service is active on the first SIM through the first transceiver and second transceiver – p.[50]).
But, Jha does not particularly disclose causing the processor to determine whether the 5G terminal meets a preset power consumption optimization condition, in response to detecting that the 5G terminal is in the state where the voice service and the data service are concurrent; and switch the data service to a 4G LTE network, in response to determining that the 5G terminal meets the preset power consumption optimization condition.
However, Li teaches causing the processor to determine whether the 5G terminal meets a preset power consumption optimization condition, in response to detecting that the 5G terminal is in the state where the voice service and the data service are concurrent; and switch the data service to a 4G LTE network, in response to determining that the 5G terminal meets the preset power consumption optimization condition (Li teaches a method to solve the problem of relatively high power consumption caused by fixed use of the 5G data connection in related technologies (see abstract, page 2, lines 18-20; page 7, lines 14-39), the methos includes the steps of: measuring the throughput of the current data connection, judging whether the throughout is less than or equal to the throughput threshold value (i.e., preset power consumption optimization condition), if yes, determine whether the current data connection is a 5G connection; if yes, establish a 4G data connection, and close the 5G (i.e., switching the data service to 4G LTE), the service data is transmitted through the 4G data connection (see page 2, lines 21-27); in a possible embodiment, the terminal device may be in a dual connection mode, that is the terminal has established a 4G data connection and a 5G data connection, the terminal directly closes the 5G connection and continues the use of the 4G data connection (see page 9, lines 22-25)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jha with the teachings of Li, in order to reduce the large power consumption associated with the transmission of data via the 5G network.
Regarding claim 29, Jha discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 1A; i.e., memory) having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when being executed by a processor, causes a method for optimizing power consumption of a 5G terminal during concurrency of services to be implemented, the method comprising:
detecting whether the 5G terminal is in a state where a voice service and a data service are concurrent (abstract; page 3, p. [15], [50]; embodiments provide an EN-DC capable User Equipment (UE) for providing voice call and data service simultaneously on a plurality of Subscriber Identification Module (SIM), the processor is configured to determine a 4G bearer is established on the first transceiver and a 5G bearer is established on the second transceiver by the first network using the first SIM and determine the voice call is being initiated on the second SIM when the data service is active on the first SIM through the first transceiver and second transceiver – p.[50]).
But, Jha does not particularly disclose determining whether the 5G terminal meets a preset power consumption optimization condition, in response to detecting that the 5G terminal is in the state where the voice service and the data service are concurrent; and switching the data service to a 4G LTE network, in response to determining that the 5G terminal meets the preset power consumption optimization condition.
However, Li teaches determining whether the 5G terminal meets a preset power consumption optimization condition, in response to detecting that the 5G terminal is in the state where the voice service and the data service are concurrent; and switching the data service to a 4G LTE network, in response to determining that the 5G terminal meets the preset power consumption optimization condition (Li teaches a method to solve the problem of relatively high power consumption caused by fixed use of the 5G data connection in related technologies (see abstract, page 2, lines 18-20; page 7, lines 14-39), the methos includes the steps of: measuring the throughput of the current data connection, judging whether the throughout is less than or equal to the throughput threshold value (i.e., preset power consumption optimization condition), if yes, determine whether the current data connection is a 5G connection; if yes, establish a 4G data connection, and close the 5G (i.e., switching the data service to 4G LTE), the service data is transmitted through the 4G data connection (see page 2, lines 21-27); in a possible embodiment, the terminal device may be in a dual connection mode, that is the terminal has established a 4G data connection and a 5G data connection, the terminal directly closes the 5G connection and continues the use of the 4G data connection (see page 9, lines 22-25)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jha with the teachings of Li, in order to reduce the large power consumption associated with the transmission of data via the 5G network.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-21, 23-28, and 30-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a)Lu et al. (US 2020/0128494) – Dynamic Power Sharing for Dual Connectivity.
(b)Ghelichi et al. (US 2020/0351792) – Power Savings in a Multi-Connectivity User
Equipment.
(c)Wang et al. (US 2021/0136702) – Pseudo-Dynamic Power Sharing for Increased User Equipment Coverage.
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643