DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 29-33) in the reply filed on 03/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baratta (US 2017/0274489).
As to claim 29, Baratta discloses a floor saw (340) for early entry sawing in a maturing concrete surface segment, the floor saw comprising a circular cutting blade (346) arranged transversally offset from a centrum line, which centrum line is aligned with a forward direction of the floor saw (conventional to have the saw offset from the centerline of the machine), the floor saw further comprising at least two supporting wheels (356, 359) arranged to support the floor saw on the concrete surface segment (figure 3b), wherein the supporting wheels are arranged to generate a variable floor saw speed in the forward direction, the floor saw further comprising a control unit (364) arranged to determine a concrete hardness level of the maturing concrete surface segment, and to configure a desired speed of the floor saw in the forward direction in dependence of the concrete hardness level (figures 2-3; paragraph 0070- 0096; “adjust operation based on location and known data (for example, known characteristics of the workpieces, such as aggregate with concrete or hardness or content for wood, etc.), and the like.”).
As to claim 30, Baratta discloses wherein the control unit (364) is arranged to determine the concrete hardness level of the maturing concrete surface segment based on any of: a level of drift by the floor saw, a type or recipe of the concrete in the concrete surface segment and/or a concrete maturity level (paragraph 0096, 0162).
As to claim 31, Baratta discloses wherein the control unit (364) is arranged to determine a current speed of the floor saw (340) in the forward direction indicating a speed of the circular cutting blade (346) through the concrete surface segment, and a wheel force generated by the supporting wheels in the forward direction, wherein the control unit is configured to determine the concrete hardness level based on the wheel force and on the current speed in the forward direction (paragraph 0080-0082, 0087 and 0096).
As to claim 32, Baratta discloses wherein the control unit (364) is further arranged to configure a rotational velocity of the circular cutting blade (346) in dependence of the concrete hardness level and of the current speed in the forward direction (paragraph 0096).
As to claim 33, Baratta discloses wherein the control unit (364) is arranged to obtain data indicating a specification of the circular cutting blade (346), and to configure the desired speed of the floor saw in the forward direction and/or the rotational velocity of the circular cutting blade in dependence of the specification (paragraph 0071-0074).
Conclusion
/CARIB A OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678