DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 20, 23 and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected device, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/7/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 12, 13, 16, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moriyama, et al (WO 2020/196635 [IDS Reference]; will use PGPub 2022/0170826 as the official translation [also, an IDS reference]).
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Moriyama teaches a device and method for the manipulation of cells. See paragraph [0001]. Moriyama provides for a “flow path” that is interpreted as being the same as the claimed “flow channel.” Moriyama indicates that an air bubble is introduced at the end of the path. See paragraph [0007]. Moriyama controls the volume of air, in the bubble, as a means of controlling the cell. See paragraph [0031]. Moriyama indicates that this can be used to change the cells’ relative position. See paragraph [0026].
With respect to claims 1 and 25, Moriyama appears to teach a method of using a device, wherein the method of use is consistent with the claimed method.
With respect to claim 2, Moriyama teaches that the cell attaches to the gas/liquid interface. See paragraph [0030].
With respect to claim 3, although Moriyama does not use the word “squeeze,” Moriyama provides for overlapping steps that result in a net movement of the cell. See paragraph [0026].
With respect to claims 4-6, Moriyama teaches further introducing other liquids, like buffers. See paragraph [0027]. Buffers used for biological purposes generally include inorganic salts and/or polar organic compounds.
With respect to claim 7, Moriyama uses gas to detach cells from a surface, and another gas to transport the cells by the claimed method. See paragraph [0020]. This would fulfill the claim limitation.
With respect to claims 12, 13, and 26, Moriyama describes controlling the volume of the air bubble. See paragraph [0031].
With respect to claim 16, Moriyama teaches using gas to separate the cells from their substrate. See paragraph [0020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriyama, et al (WO 2020/196635 [IDS Reference]; will use PGPub 2022/0170826 as the official translation [also, an IDS reference]). See the discussion of Moriyama above. Although Moriyama anticipates all of the claimed steps, there is no mention of contact time for the bubble, and the time in which contact occurs. However, since all of the other steps are anticipated, the claimed timing appears to be routine optimization that would be obvious to the ordinary artisan. There is nothing non-obvious about ensuring an appropriate amount of contact time, while also understanding that too much time can be detrimental.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 12, 13, 16, 17, 25 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,504,353. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent provides for a device, that when used, would anticipate the claimed method. See the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections above, as this is the patent with the above cited PGPub (PGPub 2022/0170826). Since there is no bar on double patenting rejections between inventions of different statutory categories, this rejection is reasonable.
Claims 1-9, 12, 13, 16, 17, 25 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/027,821 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions provide for overlapping methods of manipulating a cell’s position with gas bubbles.
Both inventions provide for methods of forming bubbles, that have a gas-liquid interface, then using these bubbles to control the position of the cell along a flow path. Although the claims appear to provide for nearly identical methods, the wording is different enough to suggest that there is some scope difference. However, since both inventions broadly teach the same method of manipulating, the claims read upon each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, 12, 13, 16, 17, 25 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 8-13, and 24 of copending Application No. 18/027,822 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions provide for overlapping methods of manipulating a cell’s position with gas bubbles.
Both inventions provide for methods of forming bubbles, that have a gas-liquid interface, then using these bubbles to control the position of the cell along a flow path. Although the claims appear to provide for nearly identical methods, the wording is different enough to suggest that there is some scope difference. However, since both inventions broadly teach the same method of manipulating, the claims read upon each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, 12, 13, 16, 17, 25 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6-19, 21, 23 and 24 of copending Application No. 18/027,825 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions provide for overlapping methods of manipulating a cell’s position with gas bubbles.
Both inventions provide for methods of forming bubbles, that have a gas-liquid interface, then using these bubbles to control the position of the cell along a flow path. Although the claims appear to provide for nearly identical methods, the wording is different enough to suggest that there is some scope difference. However, since both inventions broadly teach the same method of manipulating, the claims read upon each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen, et al (Integrative and Comparative Biology, 54, 959-968, 2014).
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651