DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant submits that none of figs. 12-12c discloses “a header of a symbol of a first type is a low-index portion of an input”; the examiner’s position is that according
figs. 3 of the present invention the low-index portion is the header before the data portion and the low-index portion’s first preset index value is the starting position of the data portion and both can be seen in the above-mentioned figures.
As to the argument: “It would not be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to enable the terminal device and the network device to agree on "the predefined sequence".” The examiner’s position is that it would be more than obvious to use a predefined sequence, in order to use the transmitted information; otherwise, it will be unknown what is been transmitted nor how is been transmitted.
The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above. Please see the new ground of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 18-19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson 20200267651 in view of Lee 20120250801.
As to claim 1, Wilhelmsson discloses a method for data transmission [see abstract], comprising: switching from a sleep state to a working state [see fig. 6, step 650] (see par. 0128) in response to detecting that a header of a symbol of a first type (see par. 0211, 0234) is a predefined sequence [WUR predefined address] (see par. 0163, 0232-0233); wherein the header of the symbol of the first type is a low-index portion of an input by a value less than a predefined value [low-index= header before data] (see fig. 12-12c; par. 0163). Wilhelmsson fails to disclose an input of a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) module. In an analogous art, Lee discloses wherein the header of the symbol of the first type is an index portion of an input of a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) module (see par. 0020). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use DFT and desired index values for the simple purpose of organizing the data as desired and maximize the finite wireless resources.
As to claim 3, Wilhelmsson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the header of the symbol of the first type contains a reference signal (RS), a pilot, or a preamble [header part is a preamble since it comes before the data] (see par. 0211).
As to claim 5, Wilhelmsson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the header of the symbol of the first type is longer than a header of a symbol other than the symbol of the first type (see fig. 12-12c; 0233, 0254).
As to claim 8, Wilhelmsson discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the header of the symbol of the first type is prior to a data portion of the symbol of the first type (see fig. 12; par. 0211).
As to claim 18, Wilhelmsson discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; a memory; and a user interface, wherein the processor, the memory, and the user interface are coupled with one another, the memory is configured to store computer programs, the computer programs comprise program instructions (see par. 0295, 0298) and the processor is configured to invoke the program instructions to: switch from a sleep state to a working state [see fig. 6, step 650] in response to detecting that a header of a symbol of a first type (see par. 0211, 0234 is a predefined sequence or signaling [particular WUS is a predefined signaling] (see par. 0163).
Regarding claims 19 and 23, are the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage of method claims 1 and 5. Therefore, claim 19 and 23 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
As to claim 21, Wilhelmsson discloses the communication apparatus of claim 18, wherein the header of the symbol of the first type contains a reference signal (RS), a pilot, or a preamble [header part is a preamble, comes before the data] (see par. 0211).
Claim(s) 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson in view of Lee and further in view of Bala 20190097859.
As to claims 9 and 11, Wilhelmsson fails to disclose wherein the header of the symbol of the first type is subsequent to a data portion of the symbol of the first type. In analogous art, Bala discloses wherein the header of the symbol of the first type is a high-index portion of an input of a DFT module, wherein the high-index portion of the input of the DFT module is a portion of the input of the DFT module indicated by an index with a value greater than a second predefined index value; wherein the “header” [tail] of the symbol of the first type is subsequent to a data portion of the symbol of the first type [the present application is calling the tail as a header with high-index] (see par. 0221). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use DFT and desired index values for the simple purpose of organizing the data as desired and maximize the finite wireless resources.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647