DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-10 and 12-17) in the reply filed on 10/06/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/06/2025.
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 were examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites, “preparing a flow channel having an inner diameter corresponding to a magnitude of a force to be applied to the organism”. It is unclear what the relationship/correspondence is between the diameter of the flow channel and the magnitude of the organism applied force. The Examiner notes that at Pg. 3, Paragraph [0064] of the published application there is a description of a Figure; “illustrating a relationship among the inner diameter of the nozzle 49, the distance between the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 and the bottom portion 25a of the vessel 25, the curvature radius of the gas-liquid interface 255, the maximum value of the force applied to the cell to be the manipulation target 35, the magnitude of a force (compression force) of a downward component, the magnitude of a force (separating force) of a lateral component, the area of the gas-liquid interface 255 on which the cell to be the manipulation target 35 can be attached”.
However, this description is not limited to the sole relationship between the flow channel diameter and the magnitude of force, contains other variables and is drawn to specifics not found in the instant claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as any change in the flow channel diameter having a corresponding effect on any force magnitude applied.
Claim 6 recites, “wherein the controlling the vector includes controlling the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism by controlling a curvature radius of a portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism”. It is unclear what the relationship/correspondence is between the magnitude of applied force at the gas-liquid interface and the curvature radius of the portion of the gas-liquid interface contacting the organism. The Examiner notes that at Pg. 3, Paragraph [0064] of the published application there is a description of a Figure; “illustrating a relationship among the inner diameter of the nozzle 49, the distance between the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 and the bottom portion 25a of the vessel 25, the curvature radius of the gas-liquid interface 255, the maximum value of the force applied to the cell to be the manipulation target 35, the magnitude of a force (compression force) of a downward component, the magnitude of a force (separating force) of a lateral component, the area of the gas-liquid interface 255 on which the cell to be the manipulation target 35 can be attached”.
However, this description is not limited solely to the relationship between the magnitude of applied force and curvature radius of the gas-liquid interface, contains other variables and is drawn to specifics not found in the instant claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as any change in the curvature radius of the gas-liquid interface having a corresponding effect on any applied force magnitude.
Claim 7 recites, “wherein the controlling the vector includes controlling the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism by controlling a surface tension between the gas and the liquid”. It is unclear what the relationship/correspondence is between the magnitude of applied force at the gas-liquid interface to the organism and the surface tension between the gas and liquid. The Examiner notes that at Pgs. 23-24, Paragraph [0295] of the published application states,
“The following Mathematical Formula 1 is a mathematical formula for explaining the method 914 of controlling the internal pressure of the bubble 256 by the curvature radius of the gas-liquid interface 255 and the method 915 of controlling the internal pressure by the interface free energy E2 of the gas-liquid interface 255. In the following Mathematical Formula 1, Pin represents the internal pressure of the bubble 256, Pout represents a liquid pressure, ΔP represents the absolute value of a difference between the internal pressure of the bubble 256 and the liquid pressure, E2 represents the interface free energy (surface tension) of the gas-liquid interface 255, and r represents the curvature radius of the gas-liquid interface 255. When Pout is constant, the last equation of Mathematical Formula 1 is obtained”.
However, the citation does not indicate or explain how exactly the interface free energy (surface tension) of the gas-liquid interface (presumably the surface tension between the gas and the liquid) correlates in any way with the magnitude of force applied to the organism. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as any change in the surface tension of the gas-liquid interface having a corresponding effect on any applied force magnitude.
Claim 8 recites, “the controlling the vector includes controlling the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism by controlling a movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface” and Claim 9 recites, “the controlling the vector includes controlling the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface by controlling a movement acceleration of the flow channel”. It is unclear what the relationship/correspondence is between the magnitude of applied force at the gas-liquid interface to the organism and the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface/flow channel. The Examiner notes that at Pg. 25 of the published application states:
“The force applied to the manipulation target 35 is a product of the mass of the manipulation target 35 and the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface 255 to which the manipulation target 35 is attached. That is, the force applied to the manipulation target 35 attached to the gas-liquid interface 255 is proportional to the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface 255 to which the manipulation target 35 is attached. Therefore, the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface 255 to the manipulation target 35 can be controlled by controlling the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface 255”.
However, the citation does not indicate or explain exactly what the relationship/correspondence is between the magnitude of applied force at the gas-liquid interface to the organism and the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface/flow channel. The description is not limited to the sole relationship between the magnitude of force and movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface, contains other variables, does not mention the flow channel at all, and is drawn to specifics not found in the instant claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as any change in the movement acceleration of the flow channel/gas-liquid interface having a corresponding effect on any magnitude of force applied to the organism.
Claim 10 recites, “the controlling the vector includes controlling the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface by controlling a pressurization acceleration of the pump”. It is unclear what the relationship/correspondence is between pressurization acceleration and the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface/flow channel. The Examiner notes that at Pg. 25, Paragraph [0310] of the published application states,
“In the method 917 of controlling the pressurization acceleration of the syringe pump, the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface 255 is controlled by controlling the acceleration of the gas supply from or gas intake to the syringe pump. In this case, the pressure generation unit 47 of the bubble forming unit 200 controls the plunger to control the acceleration at which gas is supplied from the syringe pump or the acceleration at which gas is taken into the syringe pump.
Accordingly, the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface 255 is controlled by controlling the pressurization acceleration of the bubble 256 formed at the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49”
However, the citation does not indicate or explain exactly what the relationship/correspondence is between the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface and the pressurization acceleration of the pump. The description is not limited to the sole relationship between pump pressurization acceleration and movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface and contains other variables, such as a bubble, syringe pump and nozzle not found in the instant claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as any change in the pump pressure having a corresponding effect on movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface.
Claim 12 recites, “controlling the direction of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism by controlling a direction and a moving direction of a surface
of a portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism” and Claim 13 recites, “controlling the direction of the surface of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism by controlling a curvature radius of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism”. It is unclear what the relationship/correspondence is between the direction of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism and the moving direction of a surface of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism or the curvature radius of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism. The Examiner notes that at Pg. 26, Paragraph [0315] of the published application states,
“As illustrated in FIG. 19(a), when the nozzle 49a having the large inner diameter R1 is used, the curvature radius r at the contact point P of the bubble 256 becomes large, and the straight line connecting with the center point Q of the circle becomes relatively downward. Therefore, the gas-liquid interface 255 comes into contact with the manipulation target 35 from a slightly upper direction. Thus, when the gas-liquid interface 255 moves from the gas toward the liquid side, the direction in which the gas-liquid interface 255 applies a force to the manipulation target 35 is the direction D1. In this case, as illustrated in the experimental image in the lower diagram of FIG. 19(a), the manipulation target 35 enters under the bubble 256 without separation and is compressed. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 19(b), when the nozzle 49b having the small inner diameter R2 is used, the curvature radius r at the contact point P of the bubble 256 becomes small, and the straight line connecting with the center point Q of the circle becomes relatively lateral. Therefore, the gas-liquid interface 255 comes into contact with the manipulation target 35 from a slightly lateral direction. Thus, when the gas-liquid interface 255 moves from the gas toward the liquid side, the direction in which the gas-liquid interface 255 applies a force to the manipulation target 35 is the direction D2.
In this case, as shown in the experimental image in the lower diagram of FIG. 19(b), the manipulation target 35 is separated from the bottom portion 25a of the vessel 25. Note that the direction of the force of the gas-liquid interface 255 pushing the manipulation target 35 is also determined by the magnitude relationship between the inner diameter of the nozzle 49 and the diameter of the manipulation target 35, and for example, when the inner diameter of the nozzle 49 and the diameter of the manipulation target 35 are substantially the same, the direction of the force of the gas-liquid interface 255 pushing the manipulation target 35 is a relatively lateral direction.”
However, the citation does not indicate or explain exactly what the relationship/correspondence is between the direction of force applied by the gas-liquid interface to the organism and the moving direction of the surface of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism or the curvature radius thereof. The description is not limited to the sole relationship between the direction of the gas-liquid interface and the direction of applied force or the curvature radius of the portion of the gas-liquid interface contacting the organism and contains other variables, such as a nozzle not found in the instant claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as any change in the direction/curvature radius of the gas-liquid interface having a corresponding effect on the direction of applied force from the gas-liquid interface to the organism.
Claim 14 recites, “the controlling the vector includes controlling the direction of the surface of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism by controlling a distance between the end portion and a bottom of a vessel accommodating the liquid”.
It is unclear what the relationship/correspondence is between the direction of a surface of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism and the distance between the portion and the bottom portion of the vessel containing the liquid.
The Examiner notes that at Pg. 24, Paragraph [0300] of the published application states,
“FIG. 17 illustrates an example of a schematic diagram illustrating a relationship between the distance between the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 and the bottom portion 25a of the vessel 25 and the curvature radius r of the gas-liquid interface 255 in the present embodiment. FIG. 17(a) illustrates a case where a distance L1 between the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 and the bottom portion 25a of the vessel 25 is long, and FIG. 17(b) illustrates a case where a distance L2 between the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 and the bottom portion 25a of the vessel 25 is short. As illustrated in FIG. 17(a), when the distance L1 is long, the bubble 256 formed at the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 is not sufficiently crushed, so that the curvature radius r of the gas-liquid interface 255 is large, and as illustrated in FIG. 17(b), when the distance L2 is short, the bubble 256 formed at the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 is sufficiently crushed, so that the curvature radius r of the gas-liquid interface 255 is small. Note that when the distance L2 between the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 and the bottom portion 25a of the vessel 25 is short, a relationship between the distance L2 and the curvature radius r of the gas-liquid interface 255 may be measured in advance and stored in the recording unit 190”.
However, the citation does not indicate or explain exactly what the relationship/correspondence is between the direction of the surface of the portion of the gas-liquid interface with the organism and the distance between the end portion and a bottom of the liquid containing vessel.
The citation description is not limited to the sole relationship between the direction of the surface of the portion of the gas-liquid interface with the organism and the distance between the end portion and a bottom of the liquid containing vessel and contains other variables, such as a curvature radius and nozzle not found in the instant claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as any change in the direction of the surface of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism having a corresponding effect on the distance between the end portion and the bottom of the liquid containing vessel.
Claim 15 recites, “preparing a flow channel having an inner diameter corresponding to a direction of a force to be applied to the organism”. It is unclear what the relationship/correspondence is between the diameter of the flow channel and the direction of applied force. The Examiner notes that at Pg. 3, Paragraph [0064] of the published application there is a description of a Figure “illustrating a relationship among the inner diameter of the nozzle 49, the distance between the end portion 254 of the nozzle 49 and the bottom portion 25a of the vessel 25, the curvature radius of the gas-liquid interface 255, the maximum value of the force applied to the cell to be the manipulation target 35, the magnitude of a force (compression force) of a downward component, the magnitude of a force (separating force) of a lateral component, the area of the gas-liquid interface 255 on which the cell to be the manipulation target 35 can be attached”.
However, this description is not limited to the sole relationship between the flow channel diameter and the direction of force and contains other variables and is drawn to specifics not found in the instant claims.
For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the claim as any change in the flow channel diameter having a corresponding effect on any applied force direction.
Claim 12 recites, “controlling a direction and a moving direction of a surface portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism”. It is unclear if the “direction” and the “moving direction” refer to the same thing or if they refer to two distinct directions. Claims 13-14 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected Claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yonekawa (JP2010172231A), translation, cited in the IDS.
Yonekawa teaches forming a gas-liquid interface between a liquid and a gas at
the end of a flow channel after arranging the end of the flow channel in the liquid
including an organism/cells (Fig. 6A), controlling the direction of a force applied from the
gas-liquid interface to the organism (cells) and applying a force to the cells from the
gas-liquid interface (Pg. 16, Paragraph [0065] and Fig. 6D), and reading on Claim 1.
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moriyama et al. (WO2020/196635A1), cited in the IDS.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
The applied reference has a common inventor/assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Moriyama et al. teaches forming a gas-liquid interface (bubble) between a liquid and a gas at the end portion of a flow channel after arranging/placing the end portion in a liquid so that the bubble comes into contact with adherent cells (e.g. a predetermined organism) cultured on a surface (e.g., controlling the direction of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface in contact with the cells from a gas side to the liquid side of the gas-liquid interface) (Pgs. 4-5, Paragraphs [0018], [0019] and Pg. 8, Paragraphs [0034]-[0037] and Figs. 5A, B);
wherein a control unit, which may be a pump, introduces gas into the flow channel (Columns 4-5, Paragraph [0019] and[0020]), and reading on Claims 1, 4, 12, 16 and 17.
With regard to Claims 2-4, Moriyama et al. teaches controlling the volume of the bubble by controlling an amount of the gas introduced or discharged (by controlling the gas pressure, that is increased pressure increases gas volume and decreased pressure reduces gas volume) into the flow path (Column 4, Paragraph [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 5-10 and 12, 13-15, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Moriyama et al. (WO2020/196635A1), cited in the IDS.
The teachings of Moriyama et al. were discussed above.
Moriyama et al. did not teach a wherein controlling the vector includes preparing a flow channel having an inner diameter corresponding to a magnitude of a force to be applied to the organism, as required by Claim 5;
wherein controlling the vector includes controlling the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism and controlling the direction of the surface of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism;
by controlling a curvature radius of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism, as required by Claims 6 and 13;
wherein controlling the vector includes controlling the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism by controlling a surface tension between the gas and the liquid, as required by Claim 7;
wherein controlling the vector includes controlling the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism by controlling a movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface, as required by Claim 8;
or wherein controlling the vector includes controlling the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface by controlling the movement acceleration of the flow channel, as required by Claim 9;
wherein controlling the vector includes controlling the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface by controlling a pressurization acceleration of the pump, as required by Claim 10;
wherein controlling the vector includes controlling the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface by controlling a pressurization acceleration of the pump, as required by Claim 14;
and wherein controlling the vector includes preparing a flow channel having an inner diameter corresponding to a direction of a force to be applied to the organism, as required by Claim 15.
While the Moriyama et al. reference does not specifically teach the limitation of Claim 5, wherein controlling the vector includes preparing a flow channel having an inner diameter corresponding to a magnitude of a force to be applied to the organism, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inner diameter of the flow channel from which the bubble originates is a result-effective optimizable variable.
Those of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a small diameter flow channel will produce a small diameter bubble and a large diameter flow channel will produce a large diameter bubble, each with different corresponding magnitudes of force when applied to adherent cells. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the flow channel parameter values widely to find those that are functional or optimal to apply sufficient force to remove adherent cells which then would be inclusive or cover the instantly claimed values. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the diameter of the flow channel, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this limitation is an optimizable variable which can be met as a matter of routine optimization (see MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(B). Those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a flow channel capable of providing the desired magnitude of force to remove adherent cells. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the Moriyama reference is not particularly limited to a flow channel with any diameter.
While the Moriyama et al. reference does not specifically teach the limitation of Claim 6, wherein controlling the vector includes controlling a curvature radius of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inner diameter of the flow channel from which the bubble originates will directly affect the curvature radius of the bubble portion in contact with the adherent cells, as a result-effective optimizable variable. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a small diameter flow channel will produce a small diameter bubble and a large diameter flow channel will produce a large diameter bubble, each with different corresponding curvature radii when applied to adherent cells.
This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the flow channel parameter values widely to find those that are functional or optimal to apply sufficient curvature radii to remove adherent cells which then would be inclusive or cover the instantly claimed values. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the diameter of the flow channel (and therefore the corresponding curvature radius of the produced bubble), it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this limitation is an optimizable variable which can be met as a matter of routine optimization (see MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(B). Those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a flow channel capable of providing the desired magnitude of force to remove adherent cells. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the Moriyama reference is not particularly limited to a flow channel with any diameter.
While the Moriyama et al. reference does not specifically teach the limitation of Claim 7, controlling the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism by controlling a surface tension between the gas and the liquid, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the surface (interfacial) tension between a gas and a liquid is a result-effective optimizable variable. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the interfacial tension is a function of the characteristic properties of the liquid and the gas. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the interfacial tension parameter values widely to find those that are functional or optimal to apply sufficient force to remove adherent cells which then would be inclusive or cover the instantly claimed values. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the diameter of the flow channel, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this limitation is an optimizable variable which can be met as a matter of routine optimization (see MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(B). Those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a surface tension capable of providing the desired magnitude of force to remove adherent cells. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the Moriyama reference is not particularly limited to any surface tension parameter.
The Examiner notes, as discussed above, and with regard to Claim 9, that Moriyama et al. teaches forming a gas-liquid interface (bubble) between a liquid and a gas at the end portion of a flow channel after arranging/placing/immersing the end portion in a liquid so that the bubble comes into contact with adherent cells (a predetermined organism) cultured on a surface (e.g., controlling the direction of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface in contact with the cells from a gas side to the liquid side of the gas-liquid interface) (Column 4, Paragraphs [0019], [0020] and Column 7, Paragraphs[0034]-[0037] and Figs. 5A, B).
While the Moriyama et al. reference does not specifically teach the limitation of Claims 8 and 9, controlling the magnitude of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface to the organism by controlling a movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface by controlling the movement acceleration of the flow channel, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface of the bubble produced by the movement acceleration of the flow channel to the adherent cells is a result-effective optimizable variable. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the magnitude of force on an object is equal to the objects mass times the acceleration. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the gas-liquid interface/flow channel movement acceleration parameter values widely to find those that are functional or optimal to apply sufficient magnitude of force to remove adherent cells which then would be inclusive or cover the instantly claimed values.
Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface/flow channel, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this limitation is an optimizable variable which can be met as a matter of routine optimization (see MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(B). Those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a gas-liquid interface/flow channel movement acceleration capable of providing the desired magnitude of force to remove adherent cells. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the Moriyama reference is not particularly limited to any movement acceleration parameter.
The Examiner notes as discussed above, and with regard to Claim 10, that Moriyama et al. teaches forming a gas-liquid interface (bubble) between a liquid and a gas at the end portion of a flow channel after arranging/placing/immersing the end portion in a liquid so that the bubble comes into contact with adherent cells (a predetermined organism) cultured on a surface (e.g., controlling the direction of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface in contact with the cells from a gas side to the liquid side of the gas-liquid interface) (Column 4, Paragraphs [0019], [0020] and Column 7, Paragraphs[0034]-[0037] and Figs. 5A, B).
While the Moriyama et al. reference does not specifically teach the limitation of Claim 10, controlling the vector includes controlling the movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface by controlling a pressurization acceleration of the pump, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the pressurization acceleration of the pump and its resultant movement acceleration of the gas-liquid interface of the produced bubble on the adherent cells is a result-effective optimizable variable. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the pump’s pressurization acceleration would directly result in the movement acceleration (e.g. such as expansion) of the gas-liquid interface (bubble). This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the pump pressurization acceleration/gas-liquid interface movement acceleration parameter values widely to find those that are functional or optimal to apply sufficient magnitude of force to remove adherent cells which then would be inclusive or cover the instantly claimed values. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the pump pressurization acceleration/gas-liquid interface movement acceleration, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this limitation is an optimizable variable which can be met as a matter of routine optimization (see MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(B). Those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a pump pressurization acceleration/gas-liquid interface movement acceleration capable of providing the desired magnitude of force to remove adherent cells. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the Moriyama reference is not particularly limited to any pump pressurization acceleration/gas-liquid interface movement acceleration parameter.
The Examiner notes as discussed above, and with regard to Claim 14, that Moriyama et al. teaches forming a gas-liquid interface (bubble) between a liquid and a gas at the end portion of a flow channel after arranging/placing/immersing the end portion in a liquid so that the bubble comes into contact with adherent cells (a predetermined organism) cultured on a surface (e.g., controlling the direction of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface in contact with the cells from a gas side to the liquid side of the gas-liquid interface) (Column 4, Paragraphs [0019], [0020] and Column 7, Paragraphs[0034]-[0037] and Figs. 5A, B).
While the Moriyama et al. reference does not specifically teach the limitation of Claim 14, controlling the vector includes controlling the direction of the surface of the portion of the gas-liquid interface in contact with the organism by controlling a distance between the end portion and a bottom of a vessel accommodating the liquid, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the positioning/distance of the end portion and the vessel containing the liquid including the cells is a result-effective optimizable variable. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the distance of the bubble producing end portion from the liquid vessel bottom will affect how and to what degree the produced bubble contacts the vessel bottom. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the end portion/vessel bottom distance parameter values widely to find those that are functional or optimal to apply sufficient force vector to remove adherent cells on the vessel bottom which then would be inclusive or cover the instantly claimed values.
Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the end portion to vessel bottom distance, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this limitation is an optimizable variable which can be met as a matter of routine optimization (see MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(B). Those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain an end portion to vessel bottom distance capable of providing the desired force vector to remove adherent cells. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the Moriyama reference is not particularly limited to any end portion to vessel bottom distance.
The Examiner notes as discussed above, and with regard to Claim 15, that Moriyama et al. teaches forming a gas-liquid interface (bubble) between a liquid and a gas at the end portion of a flow channel after arranging/placing/immersing the end portion in a liquid so that the bubble comes into contact with adherent cells (a predetermined organism) cultured on a surface (e.g., controlling the direction of the force applied from the gas-liquid interface in contact with the cells from a gas side to the liquid side of the gas-liquid interface) (Column 4, Paragraphs [0019], [0020] and Column 7, Paragraphs[0034]-[0037] and Figs. 5A, B).
While the Moriyama et al. reference does not specifically teach the limitation of Claim 15, wherein controlling the vector includes preparing a flow channel having an inner diameter corresponding to a direction of a force to be applied to the organism, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inner diameter of the flow channel is a result-effective optimizable variable. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a small diameter flow channel will produce a small diameter bubble and a large diameter flow channel will produce a large diameter bubble, each with different corresponding directions of force when applied to adherent cells. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the flow channel parameter values widely to find those that are functional or optimal to apply sufficient force to remove adherent cells which then would be inclusive or cover the instantly claimed values. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the diameter of the flow channel, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this limitation is an optimizable variable which can be met as a matter of routine optimization (see MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(B). Those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a flow channel capable of providing the desired magnitude of force to remove adherent cells. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the Moriyama reference is not particularly limited to a flow channel with any diameter.
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Sharmila G Landau can be reached at (571) 272-0614. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL C MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1653 10/23/2025