DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, lines 3-4, “an array of sensors” should be changed to --an array of sensor modules--.
Regarding claim 6, line 6, “each sensor” should be changed to --each sensor module--.
Regarding claim 6, line 7, “receive a sensor module” should be changed to --receive a sensor module from the plurality of sensor modules-- or similar language.
Regarding claim 24, line 2, “a sensor outlet” should be changed to --the sensor outlet--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-11, 17, 21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharp et al. (US 2002/0144537 A1) (hereinafter Sharp).
Regarding claim 6, Sharp teaches an air quality measurement unit [air monitoring unit 102] (see Fig. 1) comprising: a housing [housing] having an inlet for receiving an air flow [air to be sampled is first brought into a manifold 124] and an outlet for venting said air flow [air exits the system through an exhaust port 138] (Para [0031, 0041, 0045, 0051], see Figs 1 and 3);
a plurality of sensor modules positioned in said housing forming an array of sensor modules [sensing cards 144 in a card rack 142; sensing element 154 and sensor circuitry 155 mounted on card 144], each sensor having module a sensor inlet for receiving a portion of the air flow [intake port 150 via bypass 343] and a sensor outlet for venting said portion of air flow [exhaust port 152] (Para [0049-0053], see Figs. 1 and 3-4);
each sensor module arranged to measure an air quality parameter [radon, particulate matter, specific gases, etc.] (Para [0049-0051]);
said housing including at least one port [slots 146] arranged to removably receive a sensor module comprising a sensor [card rack 142 used to hold sensor cards 144; sensor cards slide into rack via slots 146] (Para [0052], see Figs. 3-4); and
wherein the port is arranged to be interrogated by a control system to determine if a sensor module is present, identify a type of the sensor module present, and receive data from the sensor module [sensor interface board may recognize any sensor card that is plugged into the sensor bay; may include config information such as sensor type and calibration] (Para [0054-0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control system is further arranged to detect a replaced sensor module [sensor interface board may recognize any sensor card that is plugged into the sensor bay; may include config information such as sensor type and calibration] (Para [0054-0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein said control system is arranged to calibrate said received data; said calibration based upon one or a combination of: retrieving a calibration factor from a lookup table corresponding to the type of sensor module, comparing raw data to data from a calibration cell or receive calibration information from an external source [air monitoring unit may contain sensor calibration data] (Para [0082]).
Regarding claim 9, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the at least one sensor module is arranged to measure more than one air quality parameter [multiple sensors on the card] (Para [0054]).
Regarding claim 10, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein said housing includes a plurality of ports, each arranged to receive at least one sensor module [card rack 142 used to hold sensor cards 144; sensor cards slide into rack via slots 146] (Para [0052], see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein said housing includes at least one non-removable sensor module [use of sensor bay 141 having removable cards is optional feature; radon detector 128 shown outside of sensor bay 141] (Para [0052], see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the control system is arranged to combine data from at least two sensors and to determine an index corresponding to said combined data [IAQ index that involves a weighted combination of more than one air quality parameter can be used] (Para [0020, 0081]). [Examiner’s note: the claims filed on 23 June 2026 list claim 17 as withdrawn. Examiner believes this to be in error and is treating claim 17 as not withdrawn].
Regarding claim 21, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising the control system arranged to interrogate the port [sensor interface board may recognize any sensor card that is plugged into the sensor bay; may include config information such as sensor type and calibration] (Para [0054-0055]).
Regarding claim 25, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition further including a visual indicator of the overall air quality (Para [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kishkovich et al. (US 6,096,267) (hereinafter Kishkovich).
Regarding claim 12, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further including selectively removable cells [card rack 142 used to hold sensor cards 144; sensor cards slide into rack via slots 146] (Para [0052], see Fig. 3). Sharp fails to teach a selectively removable test cell, the test cell containing a known concentration of a pollutant corresponding to the sensor module, said pollutant arranged to be injected into the unit and the control system arranged to receive raw data from the sensor module and determine a calibration factor for said sensor module, based upon said known pollutant concentration. Kishkovich teaches calibration of an air quality measurement unit wherein samples of known concentration of contaminants are provided to a detector and the data is used to determine a calibration factor for the detector (Col 10, lines 29-38). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Sharp with Kishkovich such to further comprise a selectively removable test cell, the test cell containing a known concentration of a pollutant corresponding to the sensor module, said pollutant arranged to be injected into the unit and the control system arranged to receive raw data from the sensor module and determine a calibration factor for said sensor module, based upon said known pollutant concentration, in order to calibrate the sensor module(s).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Desrochers et al. (US 2006/0234621 A1) (hereinafter Desrochers).
Regarding claim 18, Sharp as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein said control system is further arranged to compare said index to a threshold for said index corresponding to the air quality measurement unit [score may be compared to scores of other buildings of like type or in a similar environment] (Para [0020, 0081]). Sharp fails to teach wherein the control system is further arranged to operate external equipment to adjust environmental conditions to meet the corresponding index. Desrochers teaches an air quality measurement unit comprising a control system arranged to operate external equipment to adjust environmental conditions to meet a corresponding index (Para [0102, 0114-0120]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Sharp with Desrochers such that the control system is further arranged to operate external equipment to adjust environmental conditions to meet the corresponding index, in order to automatically regulate the air quality.
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Micalizzi et al. (US 2020/0132644 A1) (hereinafter Micalizzi).
Regarding claim 22, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising a pump positioned within said housing and adjacent the outlet, said pump arranged to draw said air flow into the inlet (Para [0045-0051]). Sharp fails to teach wherein the pump is a fan. Micalizzi teaches an air quality measurement system comprising a fan positioned and arranged to draw air flow through the sensor system (Para [0033, 0061]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Sharp with Micalizzi such to further comprise a fan positioned within said housing and adjacent the outlet, said fan arranged to draw said air flow into the inlet, in order to control airflow though the sensor system.
Regarding claim 24, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein at least one sensor module includes the sensor outlet adjacent to the inlet. Micalizzi teaches an air quality measurement system comprising a sensor module comprising a sensor outlet adjacent to a sensor inlet [320, 322] (Para [0046], see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Sharp with Micalizzi such that at least one sensor module includes the sensor outlet adjacent to the inlet, in order to provide better interchangeability for the sensor modules.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 23, Sharp as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further including a filter placed on an inside face of the inlet, said filter arranged to block particles with the air flow greater than a chosen size [filter 341 in front of gas sensors 134 to protect sensors from being fouled by dust] (Para [0050]). Sharp fails to teach wherein the chosen size is a particle size of 1 mm. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Sharp to choose a filter size, such as 1 mm, in order to prevent particles of the chosen size from fouling the sensors. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant argues that Sharp fails to teach a port arranged to removably receive a sensor module, and to be interrogated by a control system to determine if a sensor module is present. Applicant argues that Sharp’s card rack/slot arrangement does not disclose the claimed sensor-module port as amended. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the updated rejection above a sensing card 144 is a sensor module, each slot 146 is a port arranged to removably receive the sensing card, and the sensor interface board may recognize any sensor card that is plugged into the sensor bay, including configuration information such as sensor type and calibration. As such, Sharp still teaches the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID Z HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855