Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This office action for the 18/027826 application is in response to the communications filed February 11, 2026.
Claims 1, 9-18, 20, 31-34 and 41 are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 9-18, 20, 31-34 and 41 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
As per claim 1,
Step 1: The claim recites subject matter within a statutory category as a process.
Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry, in which Prong 1 determines whether a claim recites a judicial exception. Prong 2 determines if the additional limitations of the claim integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. If the additional elements of the claim fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A).
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim contains subject matter that recites an abstract idea, with the steps of a method of detecting a genetic variant or determining a variant allele frequency in a test sample from a subject, comprising: receiving one or more sequencing reads that corresponds with a reference sequence and a variant sequence of the test sample, receiving the reference sequence, generating a reference match score for each of the one or more sequencing reads by aligning each sequencing read to the corresponding reference sequence, receiving the variant sequence, generating a variant match score for each of the one or more sequencing reads by aligning each sequencing read to the corresponding variant sequence, and labeling each of the one or more sequencing reads as (1) having the genetic variant, (2) not having the genetic variant, or (3) being a null read, based on the reference match score and the variant match score, wherein: a sequencing read is labeled as having the genetic variant if the reference match score and the variant match score indicate that the sequencing read more closely matches the corresponding variant sequence than the corresponding reference sequence, a sequencing read is labeled as not having the genetic variant if the reference match score and the variant match score indicate that the sequencing read more closely matches the corresponding reference sequence than the corresponding variant sequence, and a sequencing read is labeled as a null read if the reference match score and the variant match score are equal. These steps, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation are directed to:
certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., fundamental economic principles or practices including: hedging; insurance; mitigating risk; etc., commercial or legal interactions including: agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations; etc., managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including: social activities; teaching; following rules or instructions; etc.) but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting steps as performed by the generic computer components, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from being directed to certain methods of organizing human activity. The identified abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon identified above, in the context of this claim, encompasses a certain method of organizing human activity, namely managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. This is because each of the limitations of the abstract idea recites a list of rules or instructions that a human person is able to follow in the course of their personal behavior. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers at least the recited methods of organizing human activity above, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a).
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f), such as:
“at one or more processors” and “at the one or more processors” which corresponds to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Paragraphs [0156] and [0157] of the as-filed specification describes that the computing systems that implement the steps of the abstract idea are consistent with a generic computer. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or add significantly more in Step 2B, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(g), such as:
“wherein the reference sequence and the variant sequence are stored in a memory” and “from the memory” which corresponds to mere data gathering and/or output.
Accordingly, this claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, identified as insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as:
computer functions that have been identified by the courts as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), such as:
“wherein the reference sequence and the variant sequence are stored in a memory” and “from the memory” which corresponds to storing and retrieving information in memory.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 9,
Claim 9 is substantially similar to claim 1. Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
As per claim 10,
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“comprising storing a label associated with each sequencing read labeled as having the genetic variant and/or each sequencing read labeled as not having the variant in the memory.” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to mere data gathering and/or output and storing and retrieving information in memory.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 11,
Claim 11 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“further comprising calling, using the one or more processors, a presence or absence of the genetic variant in the test sample based on the labeled one or more sequencing reads;” introduces additional elements that is insufficient to provide a practical application or significantly more:
Step 2A Prong 2: In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(g), such as:
“further comprising calling, using the one or more processors, a presence or absence of the genetic variant in the test sample based on the labeled one or more sequencing reads;” which corresponds to selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated.
Step 2B: As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, identified as insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as:
laboratory techniques that have been identified by the courts as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), such as:
“further comprising calling, using the one or more processors, a presence or absence of the genetic variant in the test sample based on the labeled one or more sequencing reads;” which corresponds to analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants.
“storing a call for the genetic variant in the memory.” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to mere data gathering and/or output and storing and retrieving information in memory.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 12,
Claim 12 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“further comprising determining, using the one or more processors, the variant allele frequency of the genetic variant in the test sample based on the labeled one or more sequencing reads;” introduces additional elements that is insufficient to provide a practical application or significantly more:
Step 2A Prong 2: In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(g), such as:
“further comprising determining, using the one or more processors, the variant allele frequency of the genetic variant in the test sample based on the labeled one or more sequencing reads;” which corresponds to selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated.
Step 2B: As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, identified as insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as:
laboratory techniques that have been identified by the courts as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), such as:
“further comprising determining, using the one or more processors, the variant allele frequency of the genetic variant in the test sample based on the labeled one or more sequencing reads;” which corresponds to analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants.
“storing the variant allele frequency in the memory.” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to mere data gathering and/or output and storing and retrieving information in memory.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 13,
Claim 13 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“comprising…selecting…the genetic variant from a variant panel…generating…the reference sequence or the variant sequence” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
“using the one or more processors” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
“stored on the memory” and “storing the reference sequence or the variant sequence in the memory” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to mere data gathering and/or output and storing and retrieving information in memory.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 14,
Claim 14 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the one or more sequencing reads comprises a plurality of sequencing reads overlapping the variant locus, the method further comprising determining…a number of sequencing reads from the plurality of sequencing reads having the genetic variant or a number of sequencing reads from the plurality of sequencing reads not having the genetic variant.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
“using the one or more processors” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 15,
Claim 15 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“comprising labeling…one or more sequencing reads associated with the test sample for a plurality of genetic variants at different variant loci selected from a variant panel.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
“using the one or more processors” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 16,
Claim 16 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“comprising determining…a disease status for the subject.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
“using the one or more processors” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 17,
Claim 17 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“comprising generating…a report comprising (1) identifying information for the subject, and (2) a call for the presence or absence of the genetic variant, or a call for the variant allele frequency.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
“using the one or more processors” further defines an additional element that was insufficient to provide a practical application and/or significantly more. The claim with this further defining limitation still corresponds to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 18,
Claim 18 depends from claim 17 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“comprising transmitting the report to a second electronic device.” introduces additional elements that is insufficient to provide a practical application or significantly more:
Step 2A Prong 2: In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(g), such as:
“comprising transmitting the report to a second electronic device.” which corresponds to mere data gathering and/or output.
Step 2B: As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and/or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, identified as insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as:
computer functions that have been identified by the courts as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), such as:
“comprising transmitting the report to a second electronic device.” which corresponds to receiving or transmitting data over a network.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 20,
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 1. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
As per claim 31,
Claim 31 depends from claim 16 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the disease status is a value proportional to a percentage of circulating-tumor DNA (ctDNA) compared to total cell-free DNA (cfDNA) in the test sample.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 32,
Claim 32 depends from claim 16 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the disease status is a maximum somatic allele fraction of cfDNA.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 33,
Claim 33 depends from claim 16 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the disease status comprises a qualitative factor indicating recurrence of a cancer in the subject, the presence of a cancer resistant to a treatment modality in the subject, or the presence of a cancer that can be treated with a particular treatment modality.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 34,
Claim 34 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“wherein the reference match score and the variant match score are determined using a sequence alignment algorithm.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As per claim 41,
Claim 41 depends from claim 9 and inherits all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Claim 10 merely further defines the abstract idea and/or introduces additional elements that are insufficient to provide a practical application or something significantly more:
“comprising generating the one or more sequencing reads by sequencing nucleic acid molecules in the test sample.” further describes the abstract idea. This claim limitation is still directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and therefore continues to recite an abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations of the claim as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely recite an abstract idea and/or provide conventional computer implementation which does not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-18, 20, 31-34 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 2018/0218789; herein referred to as Anderson).
As per claim 1,
Anderson discloses a method of detecting a genetic variant or determining a variant allele frequency in a test sample from a subject:
(Paragraph [0003] of Anderson. The teaching describes a method is provided for detecting the presence or absence of a genetic variant, comprising: a) receiving a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample from a subject.)
Anderson further discloses receiving, at one or more processors, one or more sequencing reads that corresponds with a reference sequence and a variant sequence of the test sample, wherein the reference sequence and the variant sequence are stored in a memory:
(Paragraphs [0003], [0005], [0024], [0025], and [0072] of Anderson. The teaching describes receiving a data input comprising sequencing data [one or more sequencing reads] generated from a nucleic acid sample from a subject. The methods provide for receiving a data input comprising targeted sequencing data, untargeted sequencing data, or a combination of both. The sequencing data can be analyzed by one or more analysis methods. In some cases, the sequencing data can be mapped to a reference sequence [reference sequence]. A reference sequence can be a canonical reference sequence. Canonical reference sequences can be found in, for example, a database (e.g., GENCODE, UCSC or EMBL). The computer processor is programmed to determine a presence or absence of a genetic variant [variant sequence of the test sample] selected from the variant test panel. The systems can comprise one or more memory locations (e.g., random-access memory, read-only memory, flash memory), electronic storage unit (e.g., hard disk), communication interface (e.g., network adapter) for communicating with one or more other systems, and peripheral devices, such as cache, other memory, data storage and/or electronic display adapters.)
Anderson further discloses receiving, at the one or more processors, the reference sequence from the memory and generating, at the one or more processors, a reference match score for each of the one or more sequencing reads by aligning each sequencing read to the corresponding reference sequence:
(Paragraph [0025] of Anderson. The teaching describes that a reference sequence can be a canonical reference sequence. Canonical reference sequences can be found in, for example, a database (e.g., GENCODE, UCSC or EMBL). The sequencing data can be analyzed by one or more analysis methods. In some cases, the sequencing data can be mapped to a reference sequence. A multiple sequence alignment is performed from unaligned reads by profile Hidden Markov Model (HMM) training, using a combination of Baum-Welch, Viterbi or related approaches that use simulated annealing or consensus motif finding. In some cases, the computational complexity can be significantly reduced by subsetting the reads into gene or motif groups using a simple “best match” alignment algorithm. A multiple sequence alignment can then be performed within each subset to produce a gene-specific, or motif-specific, empirically-derived tumor reference sequence. This best match alignment algorithm output is considered to be a reference match score.)
Anderson further discloses receiving, at the one or more processors, the variant sequence from the memory; generating, at the one or more processors, a variant match score for each of the one or more sequencing reads by aligning each sequencing read to the corresponding variant sequence:
(Paragraphs [0044]-[0046] of Anderson. The teaching describes identifying one or more clinically actionable variants. In some cases, the methods and systems can be used to classify one or more clinically actionable variants. The clinically actionable variant can be in a coding region of a gene or can be in a non-coding region of the genome. For example, the presence of a variant in the UGT1A1 gene (e.g., UGT1A1*28 and/or UGT1A7*3) may suggest that the subject is at higher risk of severe hematologic toxicity when treated with irinotecan (CAMPTOSAR). This establishes that not only is the variant sequence being referenced from memory, it is being compared to the sequence read to determine a risk severity, i.e. a variant match score)
Anderson further discloses labeling, at the one or more processors, each of the one or more sequencing reads as (1) having the genetic variant, (2) not having the genetic variant, or (3) being a null read, based on the reference match score and the variant match score, wherein: a sequencing read is labeled as having the genetic variant if the reference match score and the variant match score indicate that the sequencing read more closely matches the corresponding variant sequence than the corresponding reference sequence; a sequencing read is labeled as not having the genetic variant if the reference match score and the variant match score indicate that the sequencing read more closely matches the corresponding reference sequence than the corresponding variant sequence; and a sequencing read is labeled as a null read if the reference match score and the variant match score are equal:
(Paragraph [0029] of Anderson. The teaching describes classifying one or more genetic variants may comprise comparing the quality score of each of the one or more genetic variants to the threshold value. It should be understood that any value, number, letter, word, or score can be utilized to classify a genetic variant, as long as the classification represents the class to which the genetic variant has been assigned. For example, an arbitrary number (e.g., 10) and a word (“present”) can represent the same concept (i.e., that a variant is “present”). In one example, the classification system described herein may determine whether the quality score for a given genetic variant (or genomic region) is “sufficient” or “insufficient” to proceed with analysis of the data. In some cases, genetic variants may be classified as “present”, “absent”, or “indeterminate”. A genetic variant may be classified as present, for example, if the genetic variant is present (i.e., variant is “called”) and the quality score of the called base (or a genomic region comprising the called base) is greater than the threshold value. A classification of “present” can indicate that a genetic variant is positively identified as being present with an accuracy of at least 50%, 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 86%, 87%, 88%, 89%, 90%, 91%, 92%, 93%, 94%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, 99%, 99.9%, 99.99%, 99.999%, or 100%. This means that the label of having the genetic variant is given when the sequence read more resembles the variant sequence than the reference sequence.)
As per claim 9,
Claim 9 is substantially similar to claim 1. Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
As per claim 10,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses comprising storing a label associated with each sequencing read labeled as having the genetic variant and/or each sequencing read labeled as not having the variant in the memory:
(Paragraph [0003] of Anderson. The teaching describes detecting the presence or absence of a genetic variant, comprising: a) receiving a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample from a subject; b) determining a presence or absence of the genetic variant from the sequencing data, wherein the determining comprises assigning a quality score to a genomic region comprising the genetic variant, wherein the assigning is performed by a computer processor; c) classifying the genetic variant based on the quality score to generate a classified genetic variant, and d) outputting a result based on the classifying, thereby identifying the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as present if the genetic variant is determined to be present and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as absent if the genetic variant is determined to be absent and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as indeterminate if the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is less than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the method further comprises mapping the sequencing data to a reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is a consensus reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is derived empirically from tumor sequencing data. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a depth of coverage of the genomic region comprising the genetic variant. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 10×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 20×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 30×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 50×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 100×. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a confidence score.)
As per claim 11,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses further comprising calling, using the one or more processors, a presence or absence of the genetic variant in the test sample based on the labeled one or more sequencing reads; and storing a call for the genetic variant in the memory:
(Paragraph [0003] of Anderson. The teaching describes detecting the presence or absence of a genetic variant, comprising: a) receiving a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample from a subject; b) determining a presence or absence of the genetic variant from the sequencing data, wherein the determining comprises assigning a quality score to a genomic region comprising the genetic variant, wherein the assigning is performed by a computer processor; c) classifying the genetic variant based on the quality score to generate a classified genetic variant, and d) outputting a result based on the classifying, thereby identifying the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as present if the genetic variant is determined to be present and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as absent if the genetic variant is determined to be absent and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as indeterminate if the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is less than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the method further comprises mapping the sequencing data to a reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is a consensus reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is derived empirically from tumor sequencing data. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a depth of coverage of the genomic region comprising the genetic variant. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 10×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 20×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 30×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 50×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 100×. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a confidence score. The quality score is based on at least one of a depth of coverage, a mapping quality, or a base call quality. In some cases, the quality score is empirically determined. The quality score is determined by a total read depth at a specific location of the genetic variant, a proportion of reads containing the genetic variant, the mean quality of non-variant base calls at the location of the genetic variant, and the difference in mean quality for variant base calls.)
As per claim 12,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses further comprising determining, using the one or more processors, the variant allele frequency of the genetic variant in the test sample based on the labeled one or more sequencing reads; and storing the variant allele frequency in the memory:
(Paragraphs [0003]-[0006] of Anderson. The teaching describes a system is provided comprising: a) a client component, wherein the client component comprises a user interface; b) a server component, wherein the server component comprises at least one memory location configured to receive a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample; c) the user interface operably coupled to the server component; and d) a computer processor operably coupled to the at least one memory location, wherein the computer processor is programmed to map the sequencing data to a reference sequence and assign a quality score to each of a plurality of genomic regions of interest of the mapped sequencing data.)
As per claim 13,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses comprising, using the one or more processors: selecting, using the one or more processors, the genetic variant from a variant panel stored on the memory; generating, using the one or more processors, the reference sequence or the variant sequence; and storing the reference sequence or the variant sequence in the memory:
(Paragraphs [0003]-[0006] of Anderson. The teaching describes a system is provided comprising: a) a client component, wherein the client component comprises a user interface; b) a server component, wherein the server component comprises at least one memory location configured to receive a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample; c) the user interface operably coupled to the server component; and d) a computer processor operably coupled to the at least one memory location, wherein the computer processor is programmed to map the sequencing data to a reference sequence and assign a quality score to each of a plurality of genomic regions of interest of the mapped sequencing data.)
As per claim 14,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses wherein the one or more sequencing reads comprises a plurality of sequencing reads overlapping the variant locus, the method further comprising determining, using the one or more processors, a number of sequencing reads from the plurality of sequencing reads having the genetic variant or a number of sequencing reads from the plurality of sequencing reads not having the genetic variant:
(Paragraphs [0003], [0034] and [0132] and Figure 2 of Anderson. The teaching describes the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. The method further comprises transmitting the result over a network. In some cases, the network is the Internet. The report can be provided to a mobile device, smartphone, tablet or personal health monitor or other network enabled device. Examples of reports that can be generated by the methods and systems disclosed herein are depicted in FIGS. 2-5. Sections I and II of the report in Figure 2 demonstrates labeling of a plurality of genetic variants at different variant loci from a variant panel. A sequencing data input is received by the system of the disclosure. The sequencing data input can be from a sequencer (e.g., Illumina sequencer) or from a data repository. The system identifies the presence or absence of clinically actionable variants related to three different indications. Choosing indications that have a significant gene list overlap optimizes the cost of operating the system.)
As per claim 15,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses comprising labeling, using the one or more processors, one or more sequencing reads associated with the test sample for a plurality of genetic variants at different variant loci selected from a variant panel:
(Paragraphs [0003] and [0034] and Figure 2 of Anderson. The teaching describes the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. The method further comprises transmitting the result over a network. In some cases, the network is the Internet. The report can be provided to a mobile device, smartphone, tablet or personal health monitor or other network enabled device. Examples of reports that can be generated by the methods and systems disclosed herein are depicted in FIGS. 2-5. Sections I and II of the report in Figure 2 demonstrates labeling of a plurality of genetic variants at different variant loci from a variant panel.)
As per claim 16,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses comprising determining, using the one or more processors, a disease status for the subject:
(Paragraph [0003] of Anderson. The teaching describes detecting the presence or absence of a genetic variant, comprising: a) receiving a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample from a subject; b) determining a presence or absence of the genetic variant from the sequencing data, wherein the determining comprises assigning a quality score to a genomic region comprising the genetic variant, wherein the assigning is performed by a computer processor; c) classifying the genetic variant based on the quality score to generate a classified genetic variant, and d) outputting a result based on the classifying, thereby identifying the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as present if the genetic variant is determined to be present and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as absent if the genetic variant is determined to be absent and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as indeterminate if the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is less than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the method further comprises mapping the sequencing data to a reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is a consensus reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is derived empirically from tumor sequencing data. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a depth of coverage of the genomic region comprising the genetic variant. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 10×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 20×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 30×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 50×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 100×. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a confidence score. In some cases, the confidence score is at least 99%. In some cases, the genetic variant comprises a clinically actionable variant. In some cases, the identifying the classified genetic variant further indicates a treatment for the subject based on the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the subject is suffering from a disease. In some cases, the disease is cancer. In some cases, the subject is administered a treatment based on the result.)
As per claim 17,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses comprising generating, using the one or more processors, a report comprising (1) identifying information for the subject, and (2) a call for the presence or absence of the genetic variant, or a call for the variant allele frequency:
(Paragraphs [0003] and [0034] and Figure 2 of Anderson. The teaching describes the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. The method further comprises transmitting the result over a network. In some cases, the network is the Internet. The report can be provided to a mobile device, smartphone, tablet or personal health monitor or other network enabled device. Examples of reports that can be generated by the methods and systems disclosed herein are depicted in FIGS. 2-5.)
As per claim 18,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 17.
Anderson further discloses comprising transmitting the report to a second electronic device:
(Paragraphs [0003] and [0034] and Figure 2 of Anderson. The teaching describes the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. The method further comprises transmitting the result over a network. In some cases, the network is the Internet. The report can be provided to a mobile device, smartphone, tablet or personal health monitor or other network enabled device. Examples of reports that can be generated by the methods and systems disclosed herein are depicted in FIGS. 2-5.)
As per claim 20,
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 1. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
As per claim 31,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 16.
Anderson further discloses wherein the disease status is a value proportional to a percentage of circulating-tumor DNA (ctDNA) compared to total cell-free DNA (cfDNA) in the test sample:
(Paragraph [0003] of Anderson. The teaching describes detecting the presence or absence of a genetic variant, comprising: a) receiving a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample from a subject; b) determining a presence or absence of the genetic variant from the sequencing data, wherein the determining comprises assigning a quality score to a genomic region comprising the genetic variant, wherein the assigning is performed by a computer processor; c) classifying the genetic variant based on the quality score to generate a classified genetic variant, and d) outputting a result based on the classifying, thereby identifying the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as present if the genetic variant is determined to be present and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as absent if the genetic variant is determined to be absent and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as indeterminate if the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is less than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the method further comprises mapping the sequencing data to a reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is a consensus reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is derived empirically from tumor sequencing data. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a depth of coverage of the genomic region comprising the genetic variant. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 10×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 20×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 30×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 50×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 100×. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a confidence score. In some cases, the confidence score is at least 99%. In some cases, the genetic variant comprises a clinically actionable variant. In some cases, the identifying the classified genetic variant further indicates a treatment for the subject based on the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the subject is suffering from a disease. In some cases, the disease is cancer. In some cases, the subject is administered a treatment based on the result. In some cases, the clinically actionable variant is in a gene that alters a response of the subject to a therapy. In some cases, the gene is a cancer gene. In some cases, a presence of a clinically actionable variant indicates the subject is a candidate for a specific therapy. In some cases, an absence of a clinically actionable variant indicates the subject is not a candidate for a specific therapy. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is derived from blood or saliva. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is derived from a solid tumor. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is genomic DNA. In some cases, the genomic DNA is tumor DNA. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is RNA. In some cases, the RNA is tumor RNA. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is derived from circulating tumor cells.)
As per claim 32,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 16.
Anderson further discloses wherein the disease status is a maximum somatic allele fraction of cfDNA:
(Paragraphs [0003] and [0101] of Anderson. The teaching describes detecting the presence or absence of a genetic variant, comprising: a) receiving a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample from a subject; b) determining a presence or absence of the genetic variant from the sequencing data, wherein the determining comprises assigning a quality score to a genomic region comprising the genetic variant, wherein the assigning is performed by a computer processor; c) classifying the genetic variant based on the quality score to generate a classified genetic variant, and d) outputting a result based on the classifying, thereby identifying the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as present if the genetic variant is determined to be present and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as absent if the genetic variant is determined to be absent and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as indeterminate if the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is less than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the method further comprises mapping the sequencing data to a reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is a consensus reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is derived empirically from tumor sequencing data. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a depth of coverage of the genomic region comprising the genetic variant. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 10×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 20×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 30×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 50×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 100×. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a confidence score. In some cases, the confidence score is at least 99%. In some cases, the genetic variant comprises a clinically actionable variant. In some cases, the identifying the classified genetic variant further indicates a treatment for the subject based on the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the subject is suffering from a disease. In some cases, the disease is cancer. In some cases, the subject is administered a treatment based on the result. In some cases, the clinically actionable variant is in a gene that alters a response of the subject to a therapy. In some cases, the gene is a cancer gene. In some cases, a presence of a clinically actionable variant indicates the subject is a candidate for a specific therapy. In some cases, an absence of a clinically actionable variant indicates the subject is not a candidate for a specific therapy. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is derived from blood or saliva. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is derived from a solid tumor. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is genomic DNA. In some cases, the genomic DNA is tumor DNA. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is RNA. In some cases, the RNA is tumor RNA. In some cases, the nucleic acid sample is derived from circulating tumor cells. In some cases, the classifying has a specificity of at least 99%. In some cases, the genetic variant, when classified as present, has a mutant allele fraction of at least 5%. In some cases, the genetic variant, when classified as present, has a mutant allele fraction of at least 10%. The methods and systems disclosed herein may identify variants with a mutation allelic fraction of at least 1%, 2%, 3%, 4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, 15%, 20%, 25%, 30%, 35%, 40%, 45%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, 99% or more. )
As per claim 33,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 16.
wherein the disease status comprises a qualitative factor indicating recurrence of a cancer in the subject, the presence of a cancer resistant to a treatment modality in the subject, or the presence of a cancer that can be treated with a particular treatment modality:
(Paragraphs [0003] and [0034] of Anderson. The teaching describes detecting the presence or absence of a genetic variant, comprising: a) receiving a data input comprising sequencing data generated from a nucleic acid sample from a subject; b) determining a presence or absence of the genetic variant from the sequencing data, wherein the determining comprises assigning a quality score to a genomic region comprising the genetic variant, wherein the assigning is performed by a computer processor; c) classifying the genetic variant based on the quality score to generate a classified genetic variant, and d) outputting a result based on the classifying, thereby identifying the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as present if the genetic variant is determined to be present and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as absent if the genetic variant is determined to be absent and the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is greater than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the classifying further comprises classifying the genetic variant as indeterminate if the quality score for the genomic region comprising the genetic variant is less than a predetermined threshold. In some cases, the outputting a result comprises generating a report, wherein the report identifies the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the method further comprises mapping the sequencing data to a reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is a consensus reference sequence. In some cases, the reference sequence is derived empirically from tumor sequencing data. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a depth of coverage of the genomic region comprising the genetic variant. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 10×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 20×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 30×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 50×. In some cases, the depth of coverage is at least 100×. In some cases, the predetermined threshold comprises a confidence score. In some cases, the confidence score is at least 99%. In some cases, the genetic variant comprises a clinically actionable variant. In some cases, the identifying the classified genetic variant further indicates a treatment for the subject based on the classified genetic variant. In some cases, the subject is suffering from a disease. In some cases, the disease is cancer. In some cases, the subject is administered a treatment based on the result. In some cases, a treatment decision can be made based on the information in the report. In some cases, a treatment can be administered to a subject based on the report. In some examples, the patient may be receiving a therapy for a disease prior to ordering the genetic test. The report may indicate that a genetic variant is present and that the current treatment regimen should be ceased and a new treatment regimen be administered. In some cases, the patient is tested prior to receiving treatment and further tests are ordered during the course of the treatment. In this example, the patient is monitored for the presence or absence of de novo genetic variants that may indicate the current treatment regimen is no longer effective as a therapy for that patient. The report may further indicate or recommend a different course of treatment based on the presence or absence of de novo genetic variants. The report can provide additional information including, without limitation, genomic coordinates of the variant or genomic region of interest, images that locate the variant within the functional region of the protein, images that show the aligned read stack in the region of the variant, attachments or links (i.e., hyperlinks) to references (i.e., scientific literature) related to the variant of interest, the clinical evidence supporting the treatment recommendations, guidelines that support clinical use of the variant, or reimbursement codes related to the diagnosis or treatment, or any other useful information.)
As per claim 34,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses wherein the reference match score and the variant match score are determined using a sequence alignment algorithm:
(Paragraph [0081] of Anderson. The teaching describes machine executable code (or machine readable code) can include one or more sequence alignment software. Sequence alignment software can include DNA-seq aligners. In some cases, sequence alignment software can include RNA-seq aligners)
As per claim 41,
Anderson discloses the limitations of claim 9.
Anderson further discloses comprising generating the one or more sequencing reads by sequencing nucleic acid molecules in the test sample:
(Paragraph [0081] of Anderson. The teaching describes machine executable code (or machine readable code) can include one or more sequence alignment software. Sequence alignment software can include DNA-seq aligners. In some cases, sequence alignment software can include RNA-seq aligners)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 11, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 101 are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the pending claims do not recite “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” because the limitations of the pending claims do not correspond to any judicially recognized method of organizing human activity.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As is indicated above, the limitations of the identified abstract idea correspond to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people because each of the limitations in the identified abstract idea recite a list of rules or instructions that a human person can follow in the course of their personal behavior.
The Applicant further argues that the pending claims provide a technical improvement in next-generation sequencing and variant calling that amount to an inventive concept.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has not articulated what this improvement is and how the pending claims effect this alleged improvement. Accordingly, the Examiner remains unconvinced.
The Applicant further argues that the pending claims provide a technical improvement in next-generation sequencing that allows for the detection of a genetic variant or determining a variant allele frequency in a test sample from a subject. This process specifies how the sequencing data is processed and classified in a specific way tied to bioinformatics technology.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has again not articulated what the improvement actually is. From what the Examiner can see, this claimed process amounts to nothing more than collecting information, comparing it to scores and labeling data based on the scoring process. It is not clear what technology is being improved here. It is merely collecting, manipulating and labeling data. This does not affect how technology performs per se.
The Applicant further argues that the pending claims do not recite an abstract idea. The Examiner has failed to articulate how the pending claims relate in any way to personal behavior or any other human activity. The Examiner merely states that the claims recite a list of rules or instructions that a human person is able to follow in the course of their personal behavior. However, the Examiner did not identify what alleged personal behavior is being managed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner clearly and explicitly stated that these rules or instructions pertained to the limitations of the abstract idea. These limitations are functions that a human person can perform. Accordingly, they manage personal behavior. Outsourcing these steps to a processor does not preclude these steps from reciting “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”.
The Applicant further argues that the pending claims provide a practical application of the abstract idea by providing a technical improvement to next-generation sequencing, variant calling and ctDNA analysis. A priori methods relied on comparing alignment scores to predetermine quality thresholds, whereas the claimed method involves generating and comparing a variant match score and a reference match score to eachother in order to accurately label the sequencing reads. This process, which is free of prior art, provides a technical improvement.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Novelty and eligibility are completely different analyses in patent law. A novel abstract idea is still an abstract idea and therefore ineligible without intervening additional elements that provide a practical application or something significantly more. As for the specific functions, it is not clear that the problem of comparing scores to a predetermined quality threshold is a technical problem per se. In fact, the Examiner is not sure if the pending claims change this stated problem at all. Claim 1, recites “generating, at the one or more processors, a reference match score for each of the one or more sequencing reads by aligning each sequencing read to the corresponding reference sequence” and then labeling the sequence reads based on the match scores. How is this different than “comparing alignment scores to predetermined quality thresholds”? In both the argued a priori position and the pending claims, alignment scores (i.e. reference match and variant match) are being compared to a predetermined quality threshold (i.e. the labeling). Yes, the alignment scores are being compared to eachother, but only as a requisite for establishing whether a predetermined quality threshold has been met. This apparent lack of improvement to a priori methods does not even consider if data comparison to thresholds even concerns a problem with technology. The Examiner remains unconvinced that data comparison and labeling provides an improvement to technology because this is just the manipulation of data.
The Applicant further argues that the pending claims are similar to the eligible claims in Enfish and McRO because the pending claims provide a new data structure.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Enfish and McRO were not found to be eligible based on a presence of a new data structure, but rather because the functioning of a computer was improved. There is no evidence that the pending claims provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer. Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
The Applicant further argues that the Office Action lacks evidence showing that that the entire claimed combination is routine. Therefore, the claim should not be excluded under Step 2B.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The question under Step 2B is not whether “the entire claimed combination is routine”. Rather, the question is whether the additional elements to the abstract idea provide something significantly more than what is well-known, routine and conventional. Only additional elements to the abstract idea can satisfy this consideration. Yes, the claim is considered as a whole in subject matter eligibility, but this does not mean that the Examiner must make a finding that a judicial exception is routine. The Examiner considers the abstract idea in the context of the additional elements to determine if the additional element is significantly more than the abstract idea. An abstract idea cannot possibly be more than itself. It just is itself. Similarly, an abstract idea cannot at the same time be an additional element to that same abstract idea. Accordingly, the basis of argument here is not relevant to the subject matter eligibility analysis.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 102 are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Anderson does not teach two separate alignments, one for the reference sequence and one for the variant sequence.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly cited portions of Anderson teach this aspect. Please refer above.
The Applicant further argues that the quality score in Anderson is not a match score.
The Examiner agrees with this argument, but the point is moot because Anderson teaches the match scores elsewhere. Please refer above.
The Applicant further argues that Anderson does not teach the labeling limitations.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly cited portions of Anderson teach this aspect. Please refer above.
The Applicant argues that the pending claims necessitate comparing the reference match score to the variant match score.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. This is not what the claim recites. While there is a comparison between these scores in the “null” condition, this condition is not required by the claim. It is merely one optional outcome, listed in the alternative.
The Applicant further argues that the variant sequence is not present as stored in memory or aligned with the sequence read in Anderson.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly cited portions of Anderson teach this aspect. Please refer above.
The Applicant further argues that Anderson does not teach a match scoring on a per-read basis.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly cited portions of Anderson teach this aspect. Please refer above.
Conclusion
/CHAD A NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681