DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 2/17/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11, 13-15, 17. 26 and 28-31 are pending. Claims 26 and 28-31 remain withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-15 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new limitations in the amended claims have been addressed in the rejection as followed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9,10,13, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boreyko Jonathan (US 8,716,689). Regarding claims 1 and 17, Boreyko discloses (figures 2-3) a system (thermal diode) comprising a heat source (electronic device, column 2, line 53-54), and a wick-free vapor chamber operably connected to the heat source, the wick-free vapor chamber comprising wettability patterned condenser (204) configured to control vapor condensation along patterned domains (202) formed on the wettability patterned condenser (the droplet condensates 220) formed along the surface; wherein the pattern domains comprise first and second collection domains that are patterned to direct vapor condensed thereon to respective separate first and second collection endpoints on the wettability-pattern condenser and a wettability-patterned evaporator (214) configured to accept at two or more locations of the wettability-patterned evaporator, condensate from the wettability patterned condenser from respective two or more locations of the wettability patterned condenser (condensate drops down on the evaporator surface 214) and transport the condensate from the two or more locations of the wettability pattern evaportor along patterned domains formed on the wettability evaporator to a hot domain portion of the wettability patterned evaporator (see figure 2, the condensates drop down and spread over other area along the evaporator surface including to a hot domain where the liquid 216 evaporates again at region that has arrows 211). Regarding the limitation of “wettability patterned condenser” and “wettability patterned evaporator”, the limitation does not recite any structural limitations, any surface of a condenser or evaporator or evaporator is capable of performing the function as claimed, would read on the “wettability pattern condenser” or “wettability pattern evaporator”.
Regarding claim 2, Bereyko further discloses (figure 2) that the patterned domains of the wettability patterned condenser are configured to collect the condensate at collection domains (at the tip of the inverted triangle 202 shown in figure 2) and return the condensate from the collection domains to the pattern domains of the wettability-patterned evaporator.
Regarding claim 3, Boreyko further discloses (figure 2) that the patterned domains of the wettability evaporator (214) and the collection domains (tip ends of the inverted triangle 202) of the wettability patterned condenser are aligned to facilitate cyclical condensation process that transfer heat from the wettability evaporator to the wettability patterned condenser.
Regarding claim 9, Boreyko further discloses (column 8, lines 59-61) that the hot domain portion of the wettability-patterned evaporator (214) comprises a superhydrophilic area ( superlyophilic surface) that is configured to accumulate the condensate.
Regarding claim 10, Boreyko further discloses (figure 2) that the patterned domain of the wettability evaporator (214) are configured to transport the condensate to multiple hot domain portions of the wettability-patterned evaporator. (the condensate 216 spread over the entire surface of the evaporator surface including hot domain portions with arrows 211 shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Boreyko further discloses that the wick-free vapor chamber is configured to operate as a thermal diode by enabling heat transfer from the wettability-patterned evaporator to the wettability patterned condenser, and hindered heat transfer in the opposite direction (column 9, lines 40-65).
Regarding claim 14, Boreyko further discloses (figure 1) a spacer positioned between the wettability patterned evaporator and the wettability patterned condenser.
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 2 of Boreyko with limitations shown.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qi, Bao Jin (CN 109539846A). Regarding claims 1 and 17, Qi discloses (figures 1-3) a system comprising a heat source and a wick-free vapor chamber comprising a heat source (electronic device), and wettability patterned condenser (top plate 12) configured to control vapor condensation along patterned domains (see figure 3) formed on the wettability patterned condenser formed along the surface, wherein the pattern domains comprise first and second collection domains that are patterned to direct vapor condensed thereon to respective separate first and second collection endpoints (at the two different ends of two liquid absorbed cores 14 in contact with the upper plate 12) on the wettability-pattern condenser ; and a wettability-patterned evaporator (11) configured to accept at two locations of the wettability-pattern evaporator, condensate from the wettability patterned condenser from respective two or more of the wettability patterned condenser (locations are two end of the liquid absorbed cores 14 in contact with the lower plate (11)) and transport the condensate from the two locations of the wettability patterned evaporator along patterned domains formed on the wettability evaporator to a hot domain portion (center of the plate 11, see figure 2-1) of the wettability patterned evaporator. Regarding the limitation of “wettability patterned condenser” and “wettability patterned evaporator”, the limitation does not recite any structural limitations, any surface of a condenser or evaporator or evaporator is capable of performing the function as claimed, would read on the “wettability pattern condenser” or “wettability pattern evaporator”.
Regarding claim 2, Qi further discloses (figure 2) that the patterned domains of the wettability patterned condenser are configured to collect the condensate at collection domains (peripheral wall 14) and return the condensate from the collection domains to the pattern domains of the wettability-patterned evaporator. (condensate moves from top plate 12 to bottom plate 11).
Regarding claim 3, Qi et al. further discloses (figure 1) that the patterned domains of the wettability evaporator (12) and the collection domains (peripheral wall 14) of the wettability patterned condenser are aligned to facilitate cyclical condensation process that transfer heat from the wettability evaporator to the wettability patterned condenser.
Regarding claim 4, Qi et al. further discloses (figure 3 and paragraphs 45-46) that the wettability evaporator (12) comprises collections domains (at the peripheral area of the white pie shown in figure 3), wherein the collection domains are superhydrophilic are located at the peripheral section of the pie, which is capable for bridging the condensate to the patterned domain of the wettability-patterned evaporator (11).
Regarding claim 6, Qi et al. discloses (figure 3 and paragraphs 45-46) that the surface of the wettability-patterned condenser comprises a pattern of wettability domains that promote filmwise condensation (see figure 3, the white pie is hydrophilic area) and non-wettability domain that promote dropwise condensation. (see figure 3, the dark pie is hydrophobic area).
Regarding claim 7, Qi et al. discloses (figure 3 and paragraph 45-46) that the non-wettable domains comprise hydrophobic areas (dark pie in figure 3) that divide the patterned domains of the wettability patterned condenser into separate superhydrophilic areas (white pie shown in figure 3) having respective collection domains (peripheral wall sections).
Regarding claim 8, Qi et al. discloses (figure 2-1 and 2-2) the surface of the wettability patterned evaporator (11) comprises a pattern of wettable domains (groove area between two strips or rib shown in figures 2-1 and 2-2) and non-wettable domains (wall or ribs shown in figure 2-2) that is configured to transport the condensate to the hot domain portion. (center)
Regarding claim 14, Qi et al. further discloses (figure 1) a spacer (13) positioned between the wettability patterned evaporator (11) and the wettability patterned condenser (12).
Claims 1-3,6- 11,14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang Xiang et al. (CN 106225531A), hereinafter Jiang et al. Regarding claim 1, Jiang et al. discloses (figures 1-3 and paragraphs 59-60) a system comprising a heat source (6), and a wick-free vapor chamber (1) operably connected to the heat source, the wick-free vapor chamber comprising wettability patterned condenser (4) configured to control vapor condensation along patterned domains (saw structure 4) formed on the wettability patterned condenser, wherein the pattern domains comprise first and second collection domains that are patterned to direct vapor condensed thereon to respective separate first and second collection endpoints on the wettability-pattern condenser. (The saw structure 4 has multiple separate end points); and a wettability-patterned evaporator (5) configured to accept condensate from the wettability patterned condenser (condensate drops down on the evaporator surface 5 from top surface 4) and transport the condensate along patterned domains formed the wettability evaporator to a hot domain portion of the wettability patterned evaporator (the condensate drops down from the condenser surface and spreads along the surface 5 through patterns of hydrophilic area 8 and hydrophobic area 7). Regarding claim 17, Jiang discloses a wettability-patterned evaporator (5) configured to accept, at two or more locations of the wettability evaporator, condensate from the wettability patterned condenser from respective two or more locations of the wettability condenser (condensate drops down on the evaporator surface 5 from top surface 4 at each multiple end points of saw structure by gravity, the evaporator also has multiple locations aligned with each end points to receive the condensate dropping down from each end points on the condenser 4 ) and transport the condensate from the two or more locations of the wettability pattern evaporator along patterned domains formed the wettability evaporator to a hot domain portion of the wettability patterned evaporator (the condensate drops down from the condenser surface and spreads along the surface 5 through patterns of hydrophilic area 8 and hydrophobic area 7).
Regarding the limitation of hot domain portion of the wettability, since the heat source (6) is attached to the bottom surface of the surface 5, any portion on the surface 5 is reasonable considered to read on the hot portion domain. In this case, some of the hydrophilic area 8, shown in figure 3 is considered to read on the hot domains and accumulate liquid since these areas are superhydrophilic area. Regarding the limitation of “wettability patterned condenser” and “wettability patterned evaporator”, the limitation does not recite any structural limitations, any surface of a condenser or evaporator or evaporator is capable of performing the function as claimed, would read on the “wettability pattern condenser” or “wettability pattern evaporator”.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang et al. further discloses (figure 2) that the patterned domains of the wettability patterned condenser (4) are configured to collect the condensate at collection domains (at the tip of the inverted triangle shown in figure 1) and return the condensate from the collection domains to the pattern domains of the wettability-patterned evaporator.
Regarding claim 3, Jiang et al. further discloses (figure 2) that the patterned domains of the wettability evaporator (4) and the collection domains (tip ends of the inverted triangle) of the wettability patterned condenser substantially mate (close to each other) to facilitate cyclical condensation process that transfer heat from the wettability evaporator to the wettability patterned condenser.
. Regarding claim 6, Jiang et al. discloses (figure 2) that the surface of the wettability-patterned condenser comprises a pattern of wettability domains (8) that promote filmwise condensation and non-wettability domain (7) that promote dropwise condensation.
Regarding claim 7, Jiang et al. discloses (figure 2) that the non-wettable domains (7) comprise hydrophobic areas that divide the patterned domains of the wettability patterned condenser (4) into separate superhydrophilic areas (8) having respective collection domains (tip end of inverted triangle shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang et al. discloses (figure 3) the surface of the wettability patterned evaporator (5) comprises a pattern of wettable domains (8) and non-wettable domains (7) that is configured to transport the condensate to the hot domain portion. (condensate accumulates on hot domain portion, at some location 8 since 8 is hydrophilic area).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang further discloses (figure 3) that the hot domain portion of the wettability-patterned evaporator (5) comprises a superhydrophilic area that is configured to accumulate the condensate. (condensate accumulates on some hydrophilic area 8, which is considered to read as hot domain portion since they are in contact with the heat source 6 beneath it).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang further discloses (figures 1 and 3) that the patterned domain of the wettability evaporator (5) are configured to transport the condensate to multiple hot domain portions of the wettability-patterned evaporator. (the condensate spread over the entire surface of the evaporator surface including hot domain portions (some of the areas 8).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang et al. further discloses (figures 1 and 3) that the wettability-patterned evaporator (5) comprises hydrophobic areas (7) that divide the patterns domains into separate superhydrophilic areas (8) laid to address respective hot domain portions.
Regarding claim 14, Jiang et al. further discloses (figure 1) a spacer (wall of 1) positioned between the wettability patterned evaporator (5) and the wettability patterned condenser (4). .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boreyko in view of Dede et al. (US 20170328648). Boreyko substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that an interspacing between the wettability patterned evaporator and the wettability patterned condenser is less than one millimeter. Dede discloses (figure 1 and paragraph 29) a thermal diode that has an interspacing (D) between a condenser surface and an evaporator surface of being any distance or in particular less than 1 millimeter for a purpose of allowing fluid movement between the one surface (105) to the opposite surface (107) to the other surface (paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Dede’s teaching in Boreyko’s device for a purpose of allowing fluid movement between the condenser surface to the evaporator surface.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. in view of Dede et al. (US 20170328648). Qi substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that an interspacing between the wettability patterned evaporator and the wettability patterned condenser is less than one millimeter. Dede discloses (figure 1 and paragraph 29) a thermal diode that has an interspacing (D) between a condenser surface and an evaporator surface of being any distance or in particular less than 1 millimeter for a purpose of allowing fluid movement between the one surface (105) to the opposite surface (107) to the other surface (paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Dede’s teaching in Qi et al. ’s device for a purpose of allowing fluid movement between the condenser surface to the evaporator surface. Regarding claim 13, Qi substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the system is used as a thermal diode, wherein heat transfer is enable in one direction from evaporator side to the condenser side and hindered in the opposite direction. Dede discloses (figure 7b and paragraphs 25-26) a vapor chamber that is used as a thermal diode, wherein heat transfer is enable in one direction from evaporator side (105) to the condenser side (110) and hindered in an opposite side for a purpose of transferring heat away from a heat source and preventing any heat transferring in the opposite direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Dede’s teaching in Qi’s device for a purpose of transferring heat away from a heat source and preventing any heat transferring in the opposite direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record either taken singularly or in combination fail to disclose the invention as claimed. In particular, the prior art of record does not disclose that the collection domains of the wettability-patterned condenser comprises circular end wells.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763