DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
To summarize the current election, the applicant elected Group I and the species where the oligofluorinated additive is a compound of formula 4 and the base polymer is a polyamide, with traverse.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
During the search of prior art to additional species were encountered, therefore the scope of examination has been expanded to include 1) polyurethane base polymers with compound 4, 2) polyamide or polyurethane base polymers with compound 5, 3) polyamide or polyurethane base polymers with other additional compounds of formula (I), where FT is -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3, B is a urethane segment derived from 4,4′-methylene bis(cyclohexyl isocyanate) reacted with the hydroxy terminal group of a diol of A and with and alcohol terminated FT source compound, and A is a triblock copolymer of poly(ethylene oxide)-b-poly(propylene oxide)-b-poly(ethylene oxide).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following: The amendment adding chemical structures after the labels “Compound 2” and “Compound 3” on page 13 of the specification are so small that the subscripts are hard to read. Similarly, the amended chemical structure for “compound 6” is even smaller which makes it difficult to read.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims recite an article comprising “a low friction surface” that comprises “an oligofluorinated additive admixed with a base polymer; wherein a coefficient of friction of said low friction surface is reduced by at least 30% compared to a surface of the base polymer without said oligofluorinated additive”. The functional recitation of a lowered surface friction lacks adequate description of the corresponding structure. The specification suggests that “[t]he utility of the additives of the invention versus other known macromolecular additives, lies in 1) the molecular arrangement of the amphipathic segments in the SMM chain, i.e. two w fluoro-tails, one at each end, with the central portion between them; and 2) the molecular weight of the fluorine tails relative to that of the central portions“ (see page 4 lines 11-15). The specification discusses the change in frictional properties of a collection of base polymers due to the addition of oligofluorinated additives that are disclosed. While not fully legible, compound 6 can be seen to have a straight backbone with a polyfluoroorgano group on each end. In a silicone polymer, its presence reduces the coefficient of friction by more than 80% while when mixed into a polyethyl block amide or polyurethane, it has little impact (see figure 1, 2, and 5). Compound 4 has a straight backbone with a polyfluoroorgano group on each end like compound 6, but unlike compound 6, it is able to reduce the coefficient of friction of both polyurethane and polyethyl block amide (see figures 1 and 3). It is not clear which structural features are required for any particular oligofluorinated additive to reduce the coefficient of friction for any particular base polymer to the degree that is instantly recited. The applicant has shown that some pairings yield the claimed reduction, while others do not. No extensible structural correlation is provided to determine which pairings of base polymer and oligofluorinated additive will also carry the claimed functionality, beyond those tested and perhaps those with the same constituent units present at different molecular weights or relative amounts. Therefore the artisan of ordinary skill would not have deemed the applicant to be in possession of the invention as claimed.
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A includes polyethylene oxide, polypropylene glycol-polyethylene glycol block copolymer, and polysiloxane-polyethylene glycol block copolymer”. This Markush group is recited with open claim language instead of the appropriate closed claim language. According to MPEP 2173.05(h), "[a]lternative expressions are permitted if they present no uncertainty or ambiguity with respect to the question of scope or clarity of the claims. One acceptable form of alternative expression, which is commonly referred to as a Markush group, recites members as being ‘selected from the group consisting of A, B and C.’ See Ex parte Markush, 1925 C.D. 126 (Comm’r Pat. 1925)…It is improper to use the term ‘comprising’ instead of ‘consisting of.’ Ex parte Dotter, 12 USPQ 382 (Bd. App. 1931).” In addition, the listing appears to require all three options be present simultaneously and not in the alternative due to the recitation of “and”. The scope of structures that contains the two recited block copolymers and polyethylene oxide is not clear. Thus the scope of the claim is unclear. For the sake of application of prior art, the listing for moiety A will be interpreted is alternative options. Clarification is still required.
Claim 13 recites a graphical representation of a set of polymer compounds that include the subscript “n”. However, the subscript “n” was already employed in the parent claim for another moiety in the generalized formula recited in Formula I. The “n” of Formula I ranges from 1 to 10, but the “n” subscripts in the compounds recited in claim 13 exceed 10 in several of the compounds. The same subscript cannot be employed to represent two different entities in the same claim lineage because it is unclear where the scope of one use ends and the other begins.
Claim 13 recites several particular embodiments of Formula I as chemical structures. Several of these added structures are unclear and difficult to read which makes the claim unclear. Compound 1 is recited with sharp dark black lines and is clear. The clarity diminishes in the rest of the recited structures. Compounds 2 and 3 are lighter and somewhat grainy. Compounds 4 and 5 are lighter and somewhat grainy in the regions with the fluorinated moieties. Compound 6 is very small, lighter in color, and grainy.
Claim 13 recites compounds 1, 2, and 3 to have a PEG weight percentage, an (x+z) to y ratio, and a number average molecular weight for the structure. As recited, the (x+z) to y ratio yield a molar ratio of the PEG to the PPO chains while the PEG weight percentage is for the whole compound. However, the recited number average molecular weight for the structure does not appear to correlate with the PEG weight percentage. For example, compound 2 appears to show a compound with a terminal perfluorohexyl group (a chain of five CF2 groups ending with an additional CF3 group). Exclusive of the central PEG-PPG-PEG block copolymer, the compound has a molecular weight of 1232 g/mol (as calculated by the examiner). The central PEG-PPG-PEG block copolymer contributes the remainder of the molecular weight which is about 668 g/mol, based on the recited number average molecular weight. However, if PEG is to compose 50 wt% of the compound, its weight must total that of the PPG and the portion weighing 1232 g/mol, yet this total exceed the 668 g/mol that the central PEG-PPG-PEG polymer can compose, according to the recited number average molecular weight of the compound. Thus there is a mismatch amongst the descriptive statements concerning the compounds recited in claim 13. While it is possible that number average molecular weight is meant to be directed toward the PEG-PPG-PEG polymer portion, the claim does not recite this parameter in this manner. The applicant is encouraged to review and clarify the descriptive statements of compounds 1-3.
Claims that are rejected but are not explicitly elaborated upon are also indefinite because they depend from an indefinite claim and do not add clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steedman et al. (previously cited).
Steedman et al. teach a glucose sensor that includes an interface film composed of a base polymer and biostabilizing additive (see abstract; instant claim 4). The film is located such that its surface is external and/or internal to the sensor (see paragraph 7; instant claims 6-7). The base polymer is exemplified as a polyurethane and is also envisioned as a polyamide (see paragraph 14 and example 9; instant claims 9-10 and 14). The biostabilizing additive is taught to have the formula FT-[B-A)]n-B-FT, where B includes a urethane, A includes a block copolymer of polypropylene oxide, polyethylene oxide, or polytetramethylene oxide, FT is a fluoroorgano group, and n is an integer from 1 to 10 (see paragraphs 132-137). An example is provided in compound 40 shown below:
where n = 1, FT is -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3 and forms a urethane linkage with 4,4′-methylene bis(cyclohexyl isocyanate as the B segment on one end and urethane linkage with a poly(ethylene oxide)-b-poly(propylene oxide)-b-poly(ethylene oxide) diol that forms A on the other (see paragraph 262 and figure 30). Steedman et al. exemplify this polymer blended with two different polyurethane polymers at 2 wt% that are coated onto a surface and dried into a film (see example 9 and paragraph 336; instant claim 8). The resulting surface of the film is an outer surface (see instant claims 1, 6, 9-10, 12-14). The films are also hydrated (see example 9 paragraph 341; instant claim 3). According to MPEP 2112.01, “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” This treatment results from In re Spada, which states that, “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Thus it is the position of the examiner that the exemplified material of Steedman et al. would have the recited functionality of reducing the coefficient of friction of the polymer in which it is blended (base polymer), absent evidence to the contrary. As a polymer, the poly(ethylene oxide)-b-poly(propylene oxide)-b-poly(ethylene oxide) must have at least two units of PEG in each of its blocks and at least two units of PPG in its block. This generates a span of possible compositions for this polymer that embrace those of instant compounds 2 and 3. “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990)” (see MPEP 2144.05). The use of the exemplified polyurethane supplemented with these biostabilizing additives as part of the glucose sensor as envisioned would then follow.
In an additional embodiment, the A portion of the biostabilizing additives are envisioned to vary in molecular weight from 500 to 2000 Daltons, when envisioned as containing polypropylene oxide, polyethylene oxide, or polytetramethylene oxide (see paragraphs 144-149). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a poly(ethylene oxide) for the poly(ethylene oxide)-b-poly(propylene oxide)-b-poly(ethylene oxide) as the A component in a biostabilizing additive structured like compound 40 because it is one of three envisioned homopolymer options for this portion of the compound. The taught molecular weight of 500 to 2000 Daltons for the A segment corresponds to approximately 11 to 44 repeat units which provide an overlapping range whose end points are n ≈ 46 and n ≈ 9, as recited in instant compounds 4 and 5, respectively (as calculated by the examiner based on an approximately 44 g/mol repeat unit). Their use in a polyurethane film of the sensor or in a polyamide film of the sensor would then follow and render obvious the claimed number of repeat units due to the overlap between the Steedman et al. teachings and the claimed values (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 12-14 are obvious over Steedman et al.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santerre et al. (previously cited).
Santerre et al. teach polyurethane admixtures with a fluorinated additive that are formed into blood dwelling medical devices such as catheters (see abstract). The fluorinated additive is taught to repel oil and water as well as to impart hemocompatibility (see column 1 lines 26-31). It additionally is taught as G-[B-A]n-B-G (see column 1 lines 49-62). The A is a soft segment selected from a grouping that includes polyethylene oxide, B is a hard segment that includes a urethane, G is a fluoroorgano group of the form -(CH2)2(CF2)rCF3 where r is 2 to 20, and n is an integer from 1 to 15 (see column 1 line 63-column 2 line 15). They teach the soft segment to have a molecular weight of 400 to 3000 Daltons and a diisocyanate to form the urethane selected from a grouping that includes methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate) which provides the urethane containing segment of the elected oligofluorinated additive (see column 2 lines 23-34). Santerre et al. further teach the soft segment to be more narrowly selected from diols of polypropylene oxide, polyethylene oxide, or polytetramethylene oxide (see claims 1, 3, and 5). The fluoroorganic group is exemplified as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3 and n is exemplified as 1 (see column 5 lines 50-51 and compound of formulation 1).
While instant compounds 4 and 5 are not explicitly exemplified, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the catheters of Santerre et al. with a fluorinated additive composed of G as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3, B as produced by methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate), polyethylene glycol as A, and n = 1. The choice of G would have been obvious because it is one of the few options that are recited and exemplified. The A is one of three narrowed choices and the B diisocyanate is one of a finite recited listing that is envisioned. The A molecular weight being 400 to 3000 Daltons would then follow because it is desired by Santerre et al. This molecular weight range corresponds to approximately 9 to 68 repeat units which provides an overlapping range that embraces n ≈ 46 and n ≈ 9, as recited in instant compounds 4 and 5, respectively (as calculated by the examiner based on an approximately 44 g/mol repeat unit). The overlap between the range of Santerre et al. and the claimed number of repeat units renders the claimed number of repeats obvious (see MPE 2144.05). The choice of n is also obvious because it is one of the few recited and exemplified options. The result is compounds that meet the limitations of instant compounds 4 or 5 admixed in polyurethane and formed into a catheter that has an inner and outer surface. According to MPEP 2112.01, “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” This treatment results from In re Spada, which states that, “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Thus it is the position of the examiner that the compounds rendered obvious by Santerre et al. would have the recited functionality of reducing the coefficient of friction of the polymer in which they are blended (base polymer), absent evidence to the contrary. Therefore claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are obvious over Santerre et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,603,070 in view of Santerre et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a catheter made of polyurethane and an oligofluorinated additive which is called a polymer with polyfluoro-oligomeric groups in the patented claims. The additive is present at 1.5 to 2.5 wt% in the device. Catheters have an inner and outer surface. The instantly claimed oligofluorinated compounds are not explicitly recited.
Santerre et al. teach polyurethane admixtures with a fluorinated additive that are formed into blood dwelling medical devices such as catheters (see abstract). The fluorinated additive is taught to repel oil and water as well as to impart hemocompatibility (see column 1 lines 26-31). It additionally is taught as G-[B-A]n-B-G (see column 1 lines 49-62). The A is a soft segment selected from a grouping that includes polyethylene oxide, B is a hard segment that includes a urethane, G is a fluoroorgano group of the form -(CH2)2(CF2)rCF3 where r is 2 to 20, and n is an integer from 1 to 15 (see column 1 line 63-column 2 line 15). They teach the soft segment to have a molecular weight of 400 to 3000 Daltons and a diisocyanate to form the urethane selected from a grouping that includes methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate) which provides the urethane containing segment of the elected oligofluorinated additive (see column 2 lines 23-34). Santerre et al. further teach the soft segment to be more narrowly selected from diols of polypropylene oxide, polyethylene oxide, or polytetramethylene oxide (see claims 1, 3, and 5). The fluoroorganic group is exemplified as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3 and n is exemplified as 1 (see column 5 lines 50-51 and compound of formulation 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the catheters of the patented claims with an oligofluorinated additive of Santerre et al. as the polymer with polyfluoro-oligomeric groups. This choice would have been obvious because Santerre et al. teach these compounds in catheters to be beneficial for repellency of water and oil as well as conferring hemocompatibility. Amongst the compounds of Santerre et la. it would have been obvious to choose the variety G as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3, B as produced by methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate), polyethylene glycol as A, and n = 1. The choice of G would have been obvious because it is one of the few options that are recited and exemplified. The A is one of three narrowed choices and the B diisocyanate is one of a finite recited listing that is envisioned. The A molecular weight being 400 to 3000 Daltons would then follow because it is desired by Santerre et al. This molecular weight range corresponds to approximately 9 to 68 repeat units which provides an overlapping range that embraces n ≈ 46 and n ≈ 9, as recited in instant compounds 4 and 5, respectively (as calculated by the examiner based on an approximately 44 g/mol repeat unit). The overlap between the range of Santerre et al. and the claimed number of repeat units renders the claimed number of repeats obvious (see MPE 2144.05). The choice of n is also obvious because it is one of the few recited and exemplified options. The result is compounds that meet the limitations of instant compounds 4 or 5 admixed in polyurethane and formed into a catheter that has an inner and outer surface. According to MPEP 2112.01, “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” This treatment results from In re Spada, which states that, “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Thus it is the position of the examiner that the compounds rendered obvious by Santerre et al. would have the recited functionality of reducing the coefficient of friction of the polymer in which they are blended (base polymer), absent evidence to the contrary. Therefore claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are obvious over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,603,070 in view of Santerre et al.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 8,784,402 in view of Santerre et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a catheter made of polyurethane and an oligofluorinated additive which is called a polymer with terminal polyfluoro-oligomeric groups in the patented claims. The additive is present at up to 40 wt% in the device. Catheters have an inner and outer surface. The instantly claimed oligofluorinated compounds are not explicitly recited.
Santerre et al. teach polyurethane admixtures with a fluorinated additive that are formed into blood dwelling medical devices such as catheters (see abstract). The fluorinated additive is taught to repel oil and water as well as to impart hemocompatibility (see column 1 lines 26-31). It additionally is taught as G-[B-A]n-B-G (see column 1 lines 49-62). The A is a soft segment selected from a grouping that includes polyethylene oxide, B is a hard segment that includes a urethane, G is a fluoroorgano group of the form -(CH2)2(CF2)rCF3 where r is 2 to 20, and n is an integer from 1 to 15 (see column 1 line 63-column 2 line 15). They teach the soft segment to have a molecular weight of 400 to 3000 Daltons and a diisocyanate to form the urethane selected from a grouping that includes methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate) which provides the urethane containing segment of the elected oligofluorinated additive (see column 2 lines 23-34). Santerre et al. further teach the soft segment to be more narrowly selected from diols of polypropylene oxide, polyethylene oxide, or polytetramethylene oxide (see claims 1, 3, and 5). The fluoroorganic group is exemplified as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3 and n is exemplified as 1 (see column 5 lines 50-51 and compound of formulation 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the catheters of the patented claims with an oligofluorinated additive of Santerre et al. as the polymer with terminal polyfluoro-oligomeric groups. This choice would have been obvious because Santerre et al. teach these compounds in catheters to be beneficial for repellency of water and oil as well as conferring hemocompatibility. Amongst the compounds of Santerre et la. it would have been obvious to choose the variety G as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3, B as produced by methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate), polyethylene glycol as A, and n = 1. The choice of G would have been obvious because it is one of the few options that are recited and exemplified. The A is one of three narrowed choices and the B diisocyanate is one of a finite recited listing that is envisioned. The A molecular weight being 400 to 3000 Daltons would then follow because it is desired by Santerre et al. This molecular weight range corresponds to approximately 9 to 68 repeat units which provides an overlapping range that embraces n ≈ 46 and n ≈ 9, as recited in instant compounds 4 and 5, respectively (as calculated by the examiner based on an approximately 44 g/mol repeat unit). The overlap between the range of Santerre et al. and the claimed number of repeat units renders the claimed number of repeats obvious (see MPE 2144.05). The choice of n is also obvious because it is one of the few recited and exemplified options. The result is compounds that meet the limitations of instant compounds 4 or 5 admixed in polyurethane and formed into a catheter that has an inner and outer surface. According to MPEP 2112.01, “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” This treatment results from In re Spada, which states that, “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Thus it is the position of the examiner that the compounds rendered obvious by Santerre et al. would have the recited functionality of reducing the coefficient of friction of the polymer in which they are blended (base polymer), absent evidence to the contrary. Therefore claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are obvious over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 8,784,402 in view of Santerre et al.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 8,876,797 in view of Santerre et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a catheter made of polyurethane and an oligofluorinated additive which is called a polymer with terminal polyfluoro-oligomeric groups in the patented claims. The additive is present at up to 44 wt% in the device. Catheters have an inner and outer surface. The instantly claimed oligofluorinated compounds are not explicitly recited.
Santerre et al. teach polyurethane admixtures with a fluorinated additive that are formed into blood dwelling medical devices such as catheters (see abstract). The fluorinated additive is taught to repel oil and water as well as to impart hemocompatibility (see column 1 lines 26-31). It additionally is taught as G-[B-A]n-B-G (see column 1 lines 49-62). The A is a soft segment selected from a grouping that includes polyethylene oxide, B is a hard segment that includes a urethane, G is a fluoroorgano group of the form -(CH2)2(CF2)rCF3 where r is 2 to 20, and n is an integer from 1 to 15 (see column 1 line 63-column 2 line 15). They teach the soft segment to have a molecular weight of 400 to 3000 Daltons and a diisocyanate to form the urethane selected from a grouping that includes methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate) which provides the urethane containing segment of the elected oligofluorinated additive (see column 2 lines 23-34). Santerre et al. further teach the soft segment to be more narrowly selected from diols of polypropylene oxide, polyethylene oxide, or polytetramethylene oxide (see claims 1, 3, and 5). The fluoroorganic group is exemplified as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3 and n is exemplified as 1 (see column 5 lines 50-51 and compound of formulation 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the catheters of the patented claims with an oligofluorinated additive of Santerre et al. as the polymer with terminal polyfluoro-oligomeric groups. This choice would have been obvious because Santerre et al. teach these compounds in catheters to be beneficial for repellency of water and oil as well as conferring hemocompatibility. Amongst the compounds of Santerre et la. it would have been obvious to choose the variety G as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3, B as produced by methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate), polyethylene glycol as A, and n = 1. The choice of G would have been obvious because it is one of the few options that are recited and exemplified. The A is one of three narrowed choices and the B diisocyanate is one of a finite recited listing that is envisioned. The A molecular weight being 400 to 3000 Daltons would then follow because it is desired by Santerre et al. This molecular weight range corresponds to approximately 9 to 68 repeat units which provides an overlapping range that embraces n ≈ 46 and n ≈ 9, as recited in instant compounds 4 and 5, respectively (as calculated by the examiner based on an approximately 44 g/mol repeat unit). The overlap between the range of Santerre et al. and the claimed number of repeat units renders the claimed number of repeats obvious (see MPE 2144.05). The choice of n is also obvious because it is one of the few recited and exemplified options. The result is compounds that meet the limitations of instant compounds 4 or 5 admixed in polyurethane and formed into a catheter that has an inner and outer surface. According to MPEP 2112.01, “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” This treatment results from In re Spada, which states that, “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Thus it is the position of the examiner that the compounds rendered obvious by Santerre et al. would have the recited functionality of reducing the coefficient of friction of the polymer in which they are blended (base polymer), absent evidence to the contrary. Therefore claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are obvious over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 8,876,797 in view of Santerre et al.
The following are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-12, 14, 28-29, 40, 43, 79-80, and 82 of copending Application No. 17/056415 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a medical device that can be a drainage catheter composed of a base polymer recited as polyurethane mixed with an additive compound. The additive compound recited as SMM 15 in the patented claims has a structure of instant claim 13 where component A is poly(ethylene oxide), B is the reaction product of 4,4′-methylene bis(cyclohexyl isocyanate) with a poly(ethylene oxide) diol with a 500 to 3000 Dalton molecular weight, G is a fluoroorganic group envisioned as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3, and n = 1 to 10. While not explicitly exemplified, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make instant compound 4 or compound 5 because of the narrowness and overlap in teachings of the copending claims and their subject matter. Therefore claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are obvious over claims 1, 10-12, 14, 28-29, 40, 43, 79-80, and 82 of copending Application No. 17/056415.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 12, and 18 of copending Application No. 16/618140 (reference application) in view of Santerre et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a medical device composed of a base polymer recited as polyurethane mixed with an oligofluorinated additive compound. The instantly claimed oligofluorinated compounds are not explicitly recited.
Santerre et al. teach polyurethane admixtures with a fluorinated additive that are formed into blood dwelling medical devices such as catheters (see abstract). The fluorinated additive is taught to repel oil and water as well as to impart hemocompatibility (see column 1 lines 26-31). It additionally is taught as G-[B-A]n-B-G (see column 1 lines 49-62). The A is a soft segment selected from a grouping that includes polyethylene oxide, B is a hard segment that includes a urethane, G is a fluoroorgano group of the form -(CH2)2(CF2)rCF3 where r is 2 to 20, and n is an integer from 1 to 15 (see column 1 line 63-column 2 line 15). They teach the soft segment to have a molecular weight of 400 to 3000 Daltons and a diisocyanate to form the urethane selected from a grouping that includes methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate) which provides the urethane containing segment of the elected oligofluorinated additive (see column 2 lines 23-34). Santerre et al. further teach the soft segment to be more narrowly selected from diols of polypropylene oxide, polyethylene oxide, or polytetramethylene oxide (see claims 1, 3, and 5). The fluoroorganic group is exemplified as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3 and n is exemplified as 1 (see column 5 lines 50-51 and compound of formulation 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the devices of the copending claims with an oligofluorinated additive of Santerre et al. as the polymer with terminal polyfluoro-oligomeric groups. This choice would have been obvious because Santerre et al. teach these compounds in catheters to be beneficial for repellency of water and oil as well as conferring hemocompatibility. Amongst the compounds of Santerre et la. it would have been obvious to choose the variety G as -(CH2)2(CF2)5CF3, B as produced by methylene bis(p-cyclohexyl isocyanate), polyethylene glycol as A, and n = 1. The choice of G would have been obvious because it is one of the few options that are recited and exemplified. The A is one of three narrowed choices and the B diisocyanate is one of a finite recited listing that is envisioned. The A molecular weight being 400 to 3000 Daltons would then follow because it is desired by Santerre et al. This molecular weight range corresponds to approximately 9 to 68 repeat units which provides an overlapping range that embraces n ≈ 46 and n ≈ 9, as recited in instant compounds 4 and 5, respectively (as calculated by the examiner based on an approximately 44 g/mol repeat unit). The overlap between the range of Santerre et al. and the claimed number of repeat units renders the claimed number of repeats obvious (see MPE 2144.05). The choice of n is also obvious because it is one of the few recited and exemplified options. The result is compounds that meet the limitations of instant compounds 4 or 5 admixed in polyurethane and formed into a catheter that has an inner and outer surface. According to MPEP 2112.01, “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” This treatment results from In re Spada, which states that, “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Thus it is the position of the examiner that the compounds rendered obvious by Santerre et al. would have the recited functionality of reducing the coefficient of friction of the polymer in which they are blended (base polymer), absent evidence to the contrary. Therefore claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 12-14 are obvious over 1-10, 12, and 18 of copending Application No. 16/618140 in view of Santerre et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 10, 2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 112(a):
The amendment to the claims does not address the issue raised concerning the written description of the structure (e.g., chemical structures of the oligofluorinated additive and base polymer pairing + concentrations) that corresponds to the claimed functionality such that it is clear that the applicant had possession of the claimed scope at the time of filing of the instant application. There is no clear structural connectivity amongst the particular combinations of compounds that yield the claimed function. The applicant themselves in their remarks highlight a compound within the scope of the chemical structures delineated in Formula I that did not provide the requisite reduction in coefficient of friction at a tested proportion in a polyurethane or a polyether-block-amide co-polymer. While the argument is not demonstrative that the compound cannot perform as claimed, if included at a different proportion or in a different polymer, the applicant suggests that a structural match with Formula I is not enough for a functional match, but provides no guidance for how to make selections within the claim scope that achieve the recited functionality. For this reason the claims continue to lack adequate written description.
Regarding rejection under 35 USC 103 over Steedman et al.:
The applicant argues that an anticipatory teaching of the instantly claimed compounds is absent from the rejection and for this reason the prior art does not meet the claim limitations. This argument is unpersuasive for multiple reasons. First, anticipation is not the sole avenue for the prior art to meet the instant claim limitations. Second, Steedman et al., via compound 40 and the base polymers in which it is included, provides a compound within the scope of instant Formula I. Steedman et al. do not assess their films generated by the combination of their fluorinated polymer and base polymer in a film in the same manner as the applicant, but that does not mean these combinations lack the function instantly claimed. The silence of the prior art about a product function/parameter is not evidence that the function/parameter is absent. While the applicant points to a different polymer in Steedman et al. not having the claimed function when included at 2 wt% in a polyamide or at 4 wt% in a polyurethane, this data (instant figures 1-2) says nothing about compound 40 achieving the claimed functionality within a base polymer. To be clear, the data also says nothing about whether the polymer highlighted by the applicant could achieve the claimed function, if included at a different proportion in the base polymer or in an altogether different polymer.
Further, the rejection sets forth an obviousness rationale for reaching compounds 4 and 5, based on modifying compound 40 of Steedman et al. via different selections from amongst their short listing of options for segment A and the molecular weight/number of repeats units in the segment. They teach and exemplify base polymers in accordance with the instant claims and the election, with which their fluorinated polymers are combined and used to form a film/coating. The applicant has not argued against any particular rationale that was set forth in providing the combination of claimed chemical compounds. The combination was exemplified at 2 wt% fluorinated additive relative to the base polymer and Steedman et al. also provide a general teaching of 0.5 to 15 wt% relative to the base polymer, which is the same range of relative amounts instantly claimed. As noted in the rejection in MPEP 2112.01, chemicals and their properties as inseparable, whether noted or not. The applicant’s own figures show that a 2 wt% loading of compound 4 in a polyurethane reduces its coefficient of friction by more than 30% in figure 4. Thus there is no evidence of record that the combinations set forth as obvious in the rejection lack the claimed functionality.
Regarding rejection under 35 USC 103 over Santerre et al.:
The applicant argues that a different polymer taught by Santerre et al. than that rendered obvious by the rejection was unable to reduce the coefficient of friction of a base polymer by more than 30%. New data appears in the remarks in effort to support this argument. Arguments of counsel alone cannot take the place of evidence in the record; therefore these new data are not considered as evidence (see MPEP 2164.06(c)(V)). Even if such a showing had been submitted properly, a demonstration of a polymer in the scope of Santerre et al. that fails to provide a particular function is not evidence that all the polymers in the scope fail to provide the function.
Regarding Double Patenting rejections:
The applicant’s assertion that the amendment overcomes the rejection is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARALYNNE E HELM/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/MELISSA S MERCIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615