DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 01/09/2026.
Claims 1-3 are pending in the application. Claims 1-3 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/09/2026, see Remarks, with respect to the rejections claims 1-3 under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (2), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (US-20190246416-A1).
A) Regarding independent claims 1-3, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below. The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamss et al, (US 20220078768 A1) in view of Park et al. (US-20190246416-A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Hamss teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor configured to (Fig. 1B and [0007], illustrates the system diagram of a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU), which is an example of a User Equipment (UE), as stated in [0029] “the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d, any of which may be referred to as a “station” and/or a “STA”, may be configured to transmit and/or receive wireless signals and may include a user equipment (UE), a mobile station, a fixed or mobile subscriber unit, a subscription-based unit,” which includes a processor (118) as stated in [0042]-[0043]) :
determine that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a priority index 1 including a 1-bit of first hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) with the priority index 1 overlaps with a second PUCCH with a priority index 0 including a 1-bit of second HARQ-ACK with the priority index 0 ([0181]–[0182] describe the two scenarios that the UE (WTRU) can determine the overlapping in the time domain or in both time and frequency domains [0177], [0181] states “ [0181] For example, the WTRU 102 may be indicated a first resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a first service-related priority (e.g., for eMBB) and subsequently be indicated a second resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a second service-related priority (e.g., for URLLC), where the first and second resources overlap in the time domain” and [0182] states ”In another example, the WTRU 102 may be indicated a first resource for the transmission of the PUSCH for a first service-related priority (e.g., for the eMBB) and subsequently be indicated a second resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a second service-related priority (e.g., for the URLLC), where the first and second resources overlap in the time domain” where [0286] explicitly states “In the following, “eMBB” may refer to a first service-based priority level and “URLLC” may refer to a second service-based priority level such that, for example URLLC may have higher priority than eMBB.” That implies URLLC is higher priority than eMBB or both have different priorities. Steps 930 -940 in Fig. 9 support that. [0136], [0137], [0210], lines 10-16, and [0331], lines 9-14, the resources of the HARQ-ACK is the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), it has been discussed the scenario where the PUCCH with high priority (priority index 1) carrying one bit of HARQ-ACK feedback overlaps another PUCCH with lower priority ( priority index 2) that carrying one bit of HARQ-ACK feedback),
and multiplex HARQ-ACKs by appending the 1-bit of second HARQACK with the priority index 0 to the 1-bit of first HARQ-ACK with the priority index 1 to form a 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK (Fig. 2 and [0088] describe that HARQ-ACK feedback for the eMBB service and for the URLLC/eURLLC service 250 may be multiplexed together and carried over the PUCCH, where [0286] explicitly states “In the following, “eMBB” may refer to a first service-based priority level and “URLLC” may refer to a second service-based priority level such that, for example URLLC may have higher priority than eMBB.” That implies URLLC is higher priority than eMBB or both have different priorities. [0193], lines 9-14 states “the WTRU 102 may process a subset of the UCI to reduce the number of information bits. For example, if HARQ-ACK is Code Block Group-based (CBG-based), the WTRU 102 may report (e.g., only report) TB-level HARQ-ACK. For example, HARQ-ACK information may be bundled (for example via an AND operation) in the time, frequency and/or space domain. The WTRU 102 may reduce the number of information bits for UCI of a priority level (e.g. the eMBB) depending on any of: (1) when it is a combination of UCI and/or data of a higher priority level on a certain resource; for example, in case HARQ-ACK of a first, higher priority level (e.g., for URLLC) is combined with HARQ-ACK of a second, lower priority level (e.g., for eMBB) on a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH, the number of HARQ-ACK bits of the second priority level may be reduced”, that implies using bundling, such as AND operation across time, frequency, and/or space domain, for further reducing the number of bits needed for HARQ-ACK feedback. An example in [0254], lines 1-7, states “when the HARQ-ACK associated to multiple priority levels may be multiplexed on the same PUCCH resource or the same PUSCH resource, the WTRU 102 may encode a minimum of M HARQ-ACK bits for at least one priority level even if no PDSCH assignment was received for the corresponding priority level. M may be set to any positive integer number, and for example to 2”, another example in lines 14-22, “in case a PUSCH transmission satisfies the conditions to multiplex (e.g., potentially multiplex) HARQ-ACK of a higher priority level and of a lower priority level, and the WTRU 102 determined that N1 HARQ-ACK bits are to be or need to be multiplexed for the higher priority level, but no HARQ-ACK for the lower priority level, the WTRU 102 may in addition multiplex M HARQ-ACK bits set to 0 for the lower priority level”. [0292]-[0294] describe some roles of multiplexing M HARQ-ACK bits. From the above, it is possible to multiplex the HARQ-ACKs by combining the 1 bit of the HARQ-ACK with lower priority to the HARQ-ACK with the higher priority to form a 2 bit HARQ-ACK, M HARQ-ACK bits, where M is at least 2).
Hamss fails to teach transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the multiplexed 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1.
However, Park teaches and transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the multiplexed 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1 (Fig. 16, [0022], claim 13, claim 14 describe that UE and BS in a wireless communication system include a c a receiver, a transmitter, and a processor operatively connected to the receiver and the transmitter as transmitting circuitry configured to transmit/receive the data. Park states “[0617](1) PUCCH format 0 [0618] A supported UCI payload size: up to K bits (e.g., K=2), [0619] The number of OFDM symbols in a single PUCCH: 1 to X symbols (e.g., X=2), [0620] Transmission structure: It includes only a UCI signal without a DM-RS.” That implies PUCCH format 0, according to the transmitting structure, is designed for small UCI payloads (up to 2 bits) using one of a plurality of specific sequences as illustrated in [0620]. [0710] states “For example, in the case where an A/N PUCCH resource is in PUCCH format 0 (or PUCCH format 1), and transmission of Positive SR+HARQ-ACK (up to 2 bits) in a PUCCH resource (of the same PUCCH format) implicitly determined from the A/N PUCCH resource is supported” which implies that the UE can use PUCCH format 1 to transmit 2 bit HARQ-ACK after bundling as stated in [0520] “ ACK/NACK bundling (e.g., a logical AND operation) may be applied.” Another example for transmitting 2-bit HARQ-ACK described in [0711] “ if there is only a 2-bit HARQ-ACK when the UE selects a PUCCH resource set, the UE may exclude the SR information from the PUCCH resource set selection process (i.e., a PUCCH resource set corresponding to 2 bits is selected), and otherwise, the UE may select a PUCCH resource set on the basis of the size of UCI payload including all of an HARQ-ACK, an SR, and CSI”, [0172]. [0764] illustrate that the UE is capable of transmitting the whole or part of UCI for the plurality of UCI types through UCI multiplexing, transmission of a highest-priority UCI type (UCI A) among the plurality of UCI types may always be guaranteed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hamss to incorporate the teachings of Park (in analogous art) by including transmit the multiplexed 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1 for small UCI payload of up to 2 bits (Park, [0618]).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Hamss teaches A base station (gNB), comprising: a processor configured to ( Fig. 1C and 1D, [0055], [0352], lines 15-17, describe several BS (eNode (LTE) and gNB(5G NR), a processor and transceiver circuitry with associated software to implement the radio frequency transceiver for use by a UE, terminal, BS, RNC or any host device):
determine that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a priority index 1 including a 1-bit of first hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) with the priority index 1 overlaps with a second PUCCH with a priority index 0 including a 1-bit of second HARQ-ACK with the priority index 0 ([0181]–[0182] describe the two scenarios that the UE (WTRU) can determine the overlapping in the time domain or in both time and frequency domains [0177], [0181] states “ [0181] For example, the WTRU 102 may be indicated a first resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a first service-related priority (e.g., for eMBB) and subsequently be indicated a second resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a second service-related priority (e.g., for URLLC), where the first and second resources overlap in the time domain” and [0182] states ”In another example, the WTRU 102 may be indicated a first resource for the transmission of the PUSCH for a first service-related priority (e.g., for the eMBB) and subsequently be indicated a second resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a second service-related priority (e.g., for the URLLC), where the first and second resources overlap in the time domain” where [0286] explicitly states “In the following, “eMBB” may refer to a first service-based priority level and “URLLC” may refer to a second service-based priority level such that, for example URLLC may have higher priority than eMBB.” That implies URLLC is higher priority than eMBB or both have different priorities. Steps 930 -940 in Fig. 9 support that. [0136], [0137], [0210], lines 10-16, and [0331], lines 9-14, the resources of the HARQ-ACK is the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), it has been discussed the scenario where the PUCCH with high priority (priority index 1) carrying one bit of HARQ-ACK feedback overlaps another PUCCH with lower priority ( priority index 2) that carrying one bit of HARQ-ACK feedback);
wherein the multiplexed 2-bit of HARQ-ACK is formed by appending the I-bit of second HARQ-ACK with the priority index 0 to the 1-bit of first HARQACK with the priority index 1 (Fig. 2 and [0088] describe that HARQ-ACK feedback for the eMBB service and for the URLLC/eURLLC service 250 may be multiplexed together and carried over the PUCCH, where [0286] explicitly states “In the following, “eMBB” may refer to a first service-based priority level and “URLLC” may refer to a second service-based priority level such that, for example URLLC may have higher priority than eMBB.” That implies URLLC is higher priority than eMBB or both have different priorities. [0193], lines 9-14 states “the WTRU 102 may process a subset of the UCI to reduce the number of information bits. For example, if HARQ-ACK is Code Block Group-based (CBG-based), the WTRU 102 may report (e.g., only report) TB-level HARQ-ACK. For example, HARQ-ACK information may be bundled (for example via an AND operation) in the time, frequency and/or space domain. The WTRU 102 may reduce the number of information bits for UCI of a priority level (e.g. the eMBB) depending on any of: (1) when it is a combination of UCI and/or data of a higher priority level on a certain resource; for example, in case HARQ-ACK of a first, higher priority level (e.g., for URLLC) is combined with HARQ-ACK of a second, lower priority level (e.g., for eMBB) on a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH, the number of HARQ-ACK bits of the second priority level may be reduced”, that implies using bundling, such as AND operation across time, frequency, and/or space domain, for further reducing the number of bits needed for HARQ-ACK feedback. An example in [0254], lines 1-7, states “when the HARQ-ACK associated to multiple priority levels may be multiplexed on the same PUCCH resource or the same PUSCH resource, the WTRU 102 may encode a minimum of M HARQ-ACK bits for at least one priority level even if no PDSCH assignment was received for the corresponding priority level. M may be set to any positive integer number, and for example to 2”, another example in lines 14-22, “in case a PUSCH transmission satisfies the conditions to multiplex (e.g., potentially multiplex) HARQ-ACK of a higher priority level and of a lower priority level, and the WTRU 102 determined that N1 HARQ-ACK bits are to be or need to be multiplexed for the higher priority level, but no HARQ-ACK for the lower priority level, the WTRU 102 may in addition multiplex M HARQ-ACK bits set to 0 for the lower priority level”. [0292]-[0294] describe some roles of multiplexing M HARQ-ACK bits. From the above, it is possible to multiplex the HARQ-ACKs by combining the 1 bit of the HARQ-ACK with lower priority to the HARQ-ACK with the higher priority to form a 2 bit HARQ-ACK, M HARQ-ACK bits, where M is at least 2).
Hamss fails to teach and receiving circuitry configured to receive a multiplexed 2-bit of HARQACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1.
However, Park teaches and receiving circuitry configured to receive a multiplexed 2-bit of HARQACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1 (Fig. 2 and [0088] describe that HARQ-ACK feedback for the eMBB service and for the URLLC/eURLLC service 250 may be multiplexed together and carried over the PUCCH, where [0286] explicitly states “In the following, “eMBB” may refer to a first service-based priority level and “URLLC” may refer to a second service-based priority level such that, for example URLLC may have higher priority than eMBB.” That implies URLLC is higher priority than eMBB or both have different priorities. [0193], lines 9-14 states “the WTRU 102 may process a subset of the UCI to reduce the number of information bits. For example, if HARQ-ACK is Code Block Group-based (CBG-based), the WTRU 102 may report (e.g., only report) TB-level HARQ-ACK. For example, HARQ-ACK information may be bundled (for example via an AND operation) in the time, frequency and/or space domain. The WTRU 102 may reduce the number of information bits for UCI of a priority level (e.g. the eMBB) depending on any of: (1) when it is a combination of UCI and/or data of a higher priority level on a certain resource; for example, in case HARQ-ACK of a first, higher priority level (e.g., for URLLC) is combined with HARQ-ACK of a second, lower priority level (e.g., for eMBB) on a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH, the number of HARQ-ACK bits of the second priority level may be reduced”, that implies using bundling, such as AND operation across time, frequency, and/or space domain, for further reducing the number of bits needed for HARQ-ACK feedback. An example in [0254], lines 1-7, states “when the HARQ-ACK associated to multiple priority levels may be multiplexed on the same PUCCH resource or the same PUSCH resource, the WTRU 102 may encode a minimum of M HARQ-ACK bits for at least one priority level even if no PDSCH assignment was received for the corresponding priority level. M may be set to any positive integer number, and for example to 2”, another example in lines 14-22 “in case a PUSCH transmission satisfies the conditions to multiplex (e.g., potentially multiplex) HARQ-ACK of a higher priority level and of a lower priority level, and the WTRU 102 determined that N1 HARQ-ACK bits are to be or need to be multiplexed for the higher priority level, but no HARQ-ACK for the lower priority level, the WTRU 102 may in addition multiplex M HARQ-ACK bits set to 0 for the lower priority level”. [0292]-[0294] describe some roles of multiplexing M HARQ-ACK bits. From the above, it is possible to multiplex the HARQ-ACKs by combining the 1 bit of the HARQ-ACK with lower priority to the HARQ-ACK with the higher priority to form a 2 bit HARQ-ACK, M HARQ-ACK bits, where M is at least 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hamss to incorporate the teachings of Park (in analogous art) by including transmit the multiplexed 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1 for small UCI payload of up to 2 bits (Park, [0618]).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Hamss teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: ([0004], lines 1-3, claim 25, lines 1-2, “A method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising”):
determining that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a priority index 1 including a 1-bit of first hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) with the priority index 1 overlaps with a second PUCCH with a priority index 0 including (([0181]–[0182] describe the two scenarios that the UE (WTRU) can determine the overlapping in the time domain or in both time and frequency domains [0177], [0181] states “ [0181] For example, the WTRU 102 may be indicated a first resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a first service-related priority (e.g., for eMBB) and subsequently be indicated a second resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a second service-related priority (e.g., for URLLC), where the first and second resources overlap in the time domain” and [0182] states ”In another example, the WTRU 102 may be indicated a first resource for the transmission of the PUSCH for a first service-related priority (e.g., for the eMBB) and subsequently be indicated a second resource for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK for a second service-related priority (e.g., for the URLLC), where the first and second resources overlap in the time domain” where [0286] explicitly states “In the following, “eMBB” may refer to a first service-based priority level and “URLLC” may refer to a second service-based priority level such that, for example URLLC may have higher priority than eMBB.” That implies URLLC is higher priority than eMBB or both have different priorities. Steps 930 -940 in Fig. 9 support that. [0136], [0137], [0210], lines 10-16, and [0331], lines 9-14, the resources of the HARQ-ACK is the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), it has been discussed the scenario where the PUCCH with high priority (priority index 1) carrying one bit of HARQ-ACK feedback overlaps another PUCCH with lower priority ( priority index 2) that carrying one bit of HARQ-ACK feedback),
and multiplexing HARQ-ACKs by appending the 1-bit of second HARQACK with the priority index 0 to the 1-bit of first HARQ-ACK with the priority index 1 to form a 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK ([Fig. 2 and [0088] describe that HARQ-ACK feedback for the eMBB service and for the URLLC/eURLLC service 250 may be multiplexed together and carried over the PUCCH, where [0286] explicitly states “In the following, “eMBB” may refer to a first service-based priority level and “URLLC” may refer to a second service-based priority level such that, for example URLLC may have higher priority than eMBB.” That implies URLLC is higher priority than eMBB or both have different priorities. [0193], lines 9-14 states “the WTRU 102 may process a subset of the UCI to reduce the number of information bits. For example, if HARQ-ACK is Code Block Group-based (CBG-based), the WTRU 102 may report (e.g., only report) TB-level HARQ-ACK. For example, HARQ-ACK information may be bundled (for example via an AND operation) in the time, frequency and/or space domain. The WTRU 102 may reduce the number of information bits for UCI of a priority level (e.g. the eMBB) depending on any of: (1) when it is a combination of UCI and/or data of a higher priority level on a certain resource; for example, in case HARQ-ACK of a first, higher priority level (e.g., for URLLC) is combined with HARQ-ACK of a second, lower priority level (e.g., for eMBB) on a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH, the number of HARQ-ACK bits of the second priority level may be reduced”, that implies using bundling, such as AND operation across time, frequency, and/or space domain, for further reducing the number of bits needed for HARQ-ACK feedback. An example in [0254], lines 1-7, states “when the HARQ-ACK associated to multiple priority levels may be multiplexed on the same PUCCH resource or the same PUSCH resource, the WTRU 102 may encode a minimum of M HARQ-ACK bits for at least one priority level even if no PDSCH assignment was received for the corresponding priority level. M may be set to any positive integer number, and for example to 2”, another example in lines 14-22, “in case a PUSCH transmission satisfies the conditions to multiplex (e.g., potentially multiplex) HARQ-ACK of a higher priority level and of a lower priority level, and the WTRU 102 determined that N1 HARQ-ACK bits are to be or need to be multiplexed for the higher priority level, but no HARQ-ACK for the lower priority level, the WTRU 102 may in addition multiplex M HARQ-ACK bits set to 0 for the lower priority level”. [0292]-[0294] describe some roles of multiplexing M HARQ-ACK bits. From the above, it is possible to multiplex the HARQ-ACKs by combining the 1 bit of the HARQ-ACK with lower priority to the HARQ-ACK with the higher priority to form a 2 bit HARQ-ACK, M HARQ-ACK bits, where M is at least 2).
Hamss fails to teach and transmitting the multiplexed 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1.
However, Park teaches and transmitting the multiplexed 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1 (Fig. 16, [0022], claim 13, claim 14 describe that UE and BS in a wireless communication system include a c a receiver, a transmitter, and a processor operatively connected to the receiver and the transmitter as transmitting circuitry configured to transmit/receive the data. Park states “[0617](1) PUCCH format 0 [0618] A supported UCI payload size: up to K bits (e.g., K=2), [0619] The number of OFDM symbols in a single PUCCH: 1 to X symbols (e.g., X=2), [0620] Transmission structure: It includes only a UCI signal without a DM-RS.” That implies PUCCH format 0, according to the transmitting structure, is designed for small UCI payloads (up to 2 bits) using one of a plurality of specific sequences as illustrated in [0620]. [0710] states “For example, in the case where an A/N PUCCH resource is in PUCCH format 0 (or PUCCH format 1), and transmission of Positive SR+HARQ-ACK (up to 2 bits) in a PUCCH resource (of the same PUCCH format) implicitly determined from the A/N PUCCH resource is supported” which implies that the UE can use PUCCH format 1 to transmit 2 bit HARQ-ACK after bundling as stated in [0520] “ ACK/NACK bundling (e.g., a logical AND operation) may be applied.” Another example for transmitting 2-bit HARQ-ACK described in [0711] “ if there is only a 2-bit HARQ-ACK when the UE selects a PUCCH resource set, the UE may exclude the SR information from the PUCCH resource set selection process (i.e., a PUCCH resource set corresponding to 2 bits is selected), and otherwise, the UE may select a PUCCH resource set on the basis of the size of UCI payload including all of an HARQ-ACK, an SR, and CSI.” [0764] illustrate that the UE is capable of transmitting the whole or part of UCI for the plurality of UCI types through UCI multiplexing, transmission of a highest-priority UCI type (UCI A) among the plurality of UCI types may always be guaranteed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hamss to incorporate the teachings of Park (in analogous art) by including transmit the multiplexed 2-bit of third HARQ-ACK on a resource of the first PUCCH with the priority index 1 using a PUCCH format 0 or a PUCCH format 1 for small UCI payload of up to 2 bits (Park, [0618]).
[Claim 4] (Canceled)
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Zhang et al (US 20220039088 A1), Bae et al. (US 12301361 -B2), Kim et al. (US 11539476 -B2), Kim et al. (WO 2021010710 -A1), Papasakellariou et al. (US-20190335453-A1), and Gou et al. (US-20250344208-A1) teach methods and apparatus for optimized the control signaling and information transfer in modern wireless networks.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463