DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings are not hatched properly such that the examiner cannot tell what is solid material and what is empty space. The examiner is having a difficult time of seeing what the applicant is trying to claim. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it begins with “Disclosed is”. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Banks US 2,917,271.
Regarding claim 1, Banks discloses a flow regulating valve, comprising:
a valve body structure (10, 18, 11), wherein the valve body structure comprises a main body (10) and a sealing seat (24) connected with the main body, the sealing seat is provided with a valve port (inside 24), and the sealing seat is made of a nonmetallic material; and
a valve head (44, 46) movably arranged in a cavity of the main body to close or open the valve port, wherein the valve head is made of a metal material (col. 2, line 12), and a hardness of the sealing seat is less than a hardness of the valve head (col. 2, lines 12-13).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the sealing seat is made of plastic (col. 2, line 13).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the main body comprises a valve seat (22) and a cylinder (18) that are connected to each other, a mounting cavity is provided between the valve seat and the cylinder, and a part of the sealing seat is located in the mounting cavity (mounting cavity is the cavity that is the space between bottom and sides of 22 and the bottom of 18),
OR,
the main body comprises a valve seat (bottom of 22) and a cylinder (sides of 22) that are connected to each other, a mounting cavity is provided between the valve seat and the cylinder, and a part of the sealing seat is located in the mounting cavity (mounting cavity is the cavity that is the space between bottom and sides of 22)
OR
the main body comprises a valve seat (22) and a cylinder (20) that are connected to each other, a mounting cavity is provided between the valve seat and the cylinder, and a part of the sealing seat is located in the mounting cavity (mounting cavity is the cavity that is the space between 20 and 22).
Regarding claim 7, a first valve tube (pressure lines connected to threaded bosses 12 or 14 or the part of 10 around 12 or 14 may be seen as the first valve tube or 20), wherein the first valve tube is connected with the valve seat; and a second valve tube (18 or 54 or 58), wherein the second valve tube is connected with the cylinder (see claim 3 as the cylinder may be the sides of 22 in which the second valve tube is 18 or the cylinder may be 18 in which the second valve tube may be 54 or 58 or 20 may be seen as either the first or second valve tube and any of the others as the other of the first or second valve tube).
Regarding claim 9, a guide sleeve (20) arranged in the cavity of the main body, wherein the valve head is movably arranged in the guide sleeve (Fig. 3); and a drive portion (50), wherein the drive portion is in drive connection with the valve head to drive the valve head to move.
Claim(s) 1-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Conatser US 4,766,927.
Regarding claim 1, Conatser discloses a flow regulating valve, comprising:
a valve body structure (2 or 38), wherein the valve body structure comprises a main body (2 or 38) and a sealing seat (18 or 23) connected with the main body, the sealing seat is provided with a valve port (inside 18 or 23), and the sealing seat is made of a nonmetallic material (col. 2, lines 38-42, col. 3, lines 15-23, made of plastic); and
a valve head (16 or 32) movably arranged in a cavity of the main body to close or open the valve port, wherein the valve head is made of a metal material (col. 3, lines 8-14), and a hardness of the sealing seat is less than a hardness of the valve head (plastic is less hard than steel).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the sealing seat is made of plastic (col. 2, lines 38-42, col. 3, lines 15-23, made of plastic).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the main body comprises a valve seat (in Figs. 1 and 3, cavity in 2 that holds 18 or in Figs. 6-7, cavity in 38 or 25 or 28) and a cylinder (6 or 26 at 30 or 25) that are connected to each other, a mounting cavity is provided between the valve seat and the cylinder, and a part of the sealing seat is located in the mounting cavity (mounting cavity is the cavity that is the space between).
Regarding claim 4, wherein an inner side of the valve seat is provided with a first limit step (in Figs. 1 and 3, the cavity of in 2 that houses 18 and in Figs. 6-7, 28), a first end of the sealing seat is provided with a second limit step (faces upwards in Figs. 1 and 3 and to the left in Fig. 6), the second limit step abuts against the first limit step (see Figs. 1 and 3, and Figs. 6-7), and a second end of the sealing seat (faces down in Figs. 1 and 3 and to the right in Fig. 6) abuts against the cylinder (6 or 26).
Regarding claim 5, wherein an outer side of the valve seat is provided with a first matching step (Figs. 6-7, the valve seat is 25 so the outer part is the first matching step), the cylinder is provided with a second matching step (inner part of 30), and the second matching step cooperates with the first matching step (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, wherein an inner wall of the valve port is provided with a conical surface (Figs. 1-7, the valve port is conical).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHEJIANG SANHUA REFRIGERATION GROUP CO LTD. CN 109723826 A (US 11365822 used for translation).
Regarding claim 1, CN 109723826 discloses a flow regulating valve, comprising:
a valve body structure (40, 41, 20, 21), wherein the valve body structure comprises a main body (40) and a sealing seat (22) connected with the main body, the sealing seat is provided with a valve port (inside 22), and the sealing seat is made of a nonmetallic material (plastic or rubber); and
a valve head (10) movably arranged in a cavity of the main body to close or open the valve port, wherein the valve head is made of a metal material (hatched as metal), and a hardness of the sealing seat is less than a hardness of the valve head (sealing seat is soft and is either plastic or rubber).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the sealing seat is made of plastic (col. 4, lines 64-65).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the main body comprises a valve seat (21) and a cylinder (41) that are connected to each other, a mounting cavity is provided between the valve seat and the cylinder, and a part of the sealing seat is located in the mounting cavity (mounting cavity is the cavity that is the space between, the examiner would like to note that the cylinder is never defined as a separate piece such that the cylinder is just part of the overall main body),
Regarding claim 5, wherein an outer side of the valve seat is provided with a first matching, the cylinder is provided with a second matching step, and the second matching step cooperates with the first matching step (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, wherein each of the cylinder and the valve seat is made of a metal material, and the cylinder and the valve seat are welded to fix and clamp the sealing seat (col. 9, lines 24-34).
Regarding claim 7, a first valve tube (23), wherein the first valve tube is connected with the valve seat (Figs. 1-2); and a second valve tube (43), wherein the second valve tube is connected with the cylinder.
Regarding claim 9, a guide sleeve (60) arranged in the cavity of the main body, wherein the valve head is movably arranged in the guide sleeve (Figs. 1-2); and a drive portion (70), wherein the drive portion is in drive connection with the valve head to drive the valve head to move.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the flow regulating valve is an electronic expansion valve (col. 1, lines 24-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHEJIANG SANHUA REFRIGERATION GROUP CO LTD. CN 109723826 A (US 11365822 used for translation) in view of Banks US 2,917,271.
Regarding claim 1, CN 109723826 discloses everything (see 102 rejection above) except for saying in the specification that the valve head is made of a metal material. Banks discloses that the valve head is made of a metal material and engages a deformable seat of plastic material (col. 2, lines 12-13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the valve head of CN 109723826 metal as disclosed by Banks as a matter of simple substitution of materials and/or to provide a valve head that is strong and durable and capable of deforming the soft seat of CN 109723826.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banks US 2,917,271 in view of ZHEJIANG SANHUA REFRIGERATION GROUP CO LTD. CN 109723826 A (US 11365822 used for translation).
Regarding claim 6, Banks disclose each of the cylinder and the valve seat is made of a metal material, but lacks the cylinder and the valve seat are welded to fix and clamp the sealing seat. CN 109723826 discloses the cylinder and the valve seat are welded to fix and clamp the sealing seat (col. 9, lines 24-34). The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use welding as disclosed by CN 109723826 A to connect the parts of Banks.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conatser US 4,766,927 in view of ZHEJIANG SANHUA REFRIGERATION GROUP CO LTD. CN 109723826 A (US 11365822 used for translation).
Regarding claim 6, Conatser disclose each of the cylinder and the valve seat is made of a metal material, but lacks the cylinder and the valve seat are welded to fix and clamp the sealing seat. CN 109723826 discloses the cylinder and the valve seat are welded to fix and clamp the sealing seat (col. 9, lines 24-34). The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use welding as disclosed by CN 109723826 A to connect the parts of Conatser.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dorste, Kim, Lv, Shen and Zhan disclose similar electronic expansion valves.
/John Bastianelli/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
571-272-4921