Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 2-5 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 13/23/2023, 10/07/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims status
Claims 1-13 are pending with claims 1, 6-9 and 11-13 being examined and claims 2-5 and 10 are considered withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
As to line 2 of claim 8, the “return device is unclear what Applicant refers to as there is no drawings that illustrate what the return device is.
As to line 4 of claim 9, “a bayonet lock” it is unclear if Applicant is referring to the same bayonet lock recited in line 3 or a different bayonet lock. The limitation will be interpreted as “the bayonet lock” for clarity.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams (US 20110256021 A1; hereinafter “Adams” already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Adams teaches a beta-component (Adams; fig. 1. 100) of a transfer system (Adams; Title) comprising a receiving space (Adams; fig. 3D. 100a), a beta-flange (Adams; fig. 3D and [0055] “beta-flange 101”), a casing (Adams; fig. 3D and [0060] “second side 102”) defining the receiving space (Adams; fig. 3D. 100a), and a beta-closure unit (Adams; fig. 3D. 102 and [0061] “beta cover 102”), wherein the beta-closure unit is detachably attached to the beta-flange for opening and closing the receiving space (Adams; fig. 3D beta-flange 101, and beta cover 102 and [0060] “the beta-flange 101 can be releasably locked to the beta cover 102”), and the beta-flange and the beta-closure unit are configured for coupling to an alpha-flange (Adams; fig. 2C. 11) and an alpha-closure unit (Adams; fig. 2C. 16) of an alpha-port (Adams; fig. 2C. 10 and [0020]-[0029]) of the transfer system (Adams; fig; 5A, 11, 100, 101 and fig; 5C. 10), wherein the beta-component comprises a holding device for holding an object in a defined position and orientation (Adams; fig. 3D. 110) which is arranged on a side of the beta-closure unit facing the receiving space (Adams; fig. 3D. 110).
Regarding claim 6, Adams teaches the beta-component according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the casing of the receiving space of the beta-component is configured to be detachable from the beta-flange (Adams; [0060] “beta cover 102 becomes detached from the beta flange”).
Regarding claim 11, Adams teaches the beta-component according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the object held by the holding device is a filling needle (Adams; fig. 5G. 208).
Regarding claim 7, Adams teaches the beta-component according to claim 11 (see above), wherein the filling needle is connected to a tube which extends out of the receiving space (Adams; fig. 5J. 109, 208).
Regarding claim 8, Adams teaches the beta-component according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the beta- component comprises a return device for the tube (Adams; fig. 4C. 104), which, when the filling needle is moved back into the receiving space, also moves the tube back into the receiving space (Adams; fig. 5H illustrates what appears to be the needle 208 which appears to be movable in and out of second side 102 where the receiving space is).
Regarding claim 9, Adams teaches the beta-component according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the beta-flange of the beta-component (Adams; fig. 4C. 101a) and the alpha-flange of the alpha-port (Adams; fig. 4B, 111b) are configured to be connected to each other with a bayonet lock and the beta-closure unit and the alpha- closure unit are configured to be connected to each other with a bayonet lock (Adams; [0060] “flange bayonets 101a on the first side 101 of the housing are configured to engage bayonet receivers 11b of the docking cover”).
Regarding claim 13, Adams teaches the beta-component according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the tube comprises a sterile connector at an end facing away from the filling needle for connection to a feed tank (Adams; fig. 3B. 105, 109).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US 20110256021 A1; hereinafter “Adams” already of record) as applied to claim 6 above, and in view of Norton et al. (US 20110209410 A1; hereinafter “Norton”).
Regarding claim 12, Adams teaches the beta-component according to claim 6 (see above), to include a casing (see above).
Adams fails to teach the casing is formed by a flexible plastic bag or is formed by a dimensionally stable sterilizable container.
However, Norton teaches the analogous art of a port assembly (component) for transferring material (Norton; fig. 4. 10 and [0001]), wherein the port assembly includes an annular body (Norton; fig. 4. 12) wherein the port assembly with annular body comprises a casing (Norton; fig. 19. 12, 61 and [0034] “port assembly faces the interior of a container”) wherein the casing is a plastic bag (Norton; [0050] “plastic bag 61”).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Adams’ casing to be a plastic bag as taught by Norton because Norton teaches a port assembly (component) for transferring material (Norton; fig. 4. 10 and [0001]) comprising a casing (Norton; fig. 19. 12, 61 and [0034] “port assembly faces the interior of a container”) wherein the casing is a plastic bag (Norton; [0050] “plastic bag 61”).
Using a plastic bag as casing allows for replacement after each use.
Conclusion
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798