DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al. (US 2020/0398308).
Regarding claim 1, Okazaki et al. teaches a multilayer coating film comprising a colored paint (X) on a substrate and an effect pigment dispersion (Y) on (X) (paragraph [0010]), wherein (X) comprises carbon black (paragraph [0034]), i.e. absorbent pigment, and does not include flake-form effect pigments and (Y) contains an effect pigment comprising a metal oxide coated flake base material (paragraph [0072]) which includes mica pigments coated with titanium oxide and/or iron oxide as well as metal oxide coated alumina flakes (paragraphs [0073] and [0077]-[0078]) in an amount of 1 to 90 parts (paragraph [0083]). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Given that Okazaki et al. teaches coating comprising materials and structure identical to that presently claimed, the coating of Okazaki et al. would necessarily be capable of functioning as a radar-compatible coating as well as necessarily have a colour separation as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 2, given that Okazaki et al. teaches coating comprising materials and structure identical to that presently claimed, the coating of Okazaki et al. would necessarily have a lightness L* as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 3, given that Okazaki et al. teaches coating comprising materials and structure identical to that presently claimed, the coating of Okazaki et al. would necessarily have a flop index as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 4, Okazaki et al. teaches that the first layer has a black colour and comprises organic absorption pigments or inorganic absorption pigments (paragraphs [0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Okazaki et al. teaches flake-effect pigment (B) for use in the effect pigment dispersion (Y) may include iron oxide (paragraphs [0072]-[0080]). Given that Okazaki et al. teaches pigment identical to that presently claimed, it is reasonable to expect the interference pigment to have a silver-grey absorption colour as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 7, Okazaki et al. teaches that the flake-effect pigment (B) has a content of 1 to 90 parts by mass (paragraph [0083]) which encompasses the claimed range of 10 to 40% by weight.
Regarding claim 8, Okazaki et al. teaches that the second layer has a layer thickness in the range from 3 to 100 μm (paragraph [0103]) and when dried 0.05 to 3 μm (paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 10, Okazaki et al. teaches that the substrate is a plastic film (paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Okazaki et al. teaches that a further layer of clear paint (Z) may be applied to effect coating film (Y) (paragraphs [0107]-[0108]).
Regarding claim 13, Okazaki et al. teaches that it is a vehicle finish (paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al. (US 2020/0398308) in view of Yagi et al. (US 2010/0129558).
Okazaki et al. is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 9, Okazaki et al. fails to teach that the second layer consists of two or more part-layers arranged one above the other.
However, Yagi et al. teaches paint films comprising an undercoat paint film layer and a top-coat paint film layer (See Abstract), wherein the undercoat paint film layer comprises carbon black (paragraph [0025]) and the top-coat paint film layer comprises titanium oxide, red iron oxide, etc. (paragraph [0039]), and wherein another layer, the same as the top-coat paint film layer, may be formed over the top-coat paint film layer (paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a second layer in the coating of Okazaki et al. in order to impart the desired heat-radiating properties (Yagi et al., paragraph [0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is absolutely no mention of any requirement with regard to radar-compatibility of the coating disclosed by Okazaki. In contrast, in paragraph (0034) of Okazaki it is described that the coatings can contain metallic pigments which the present invention does omit.
It is agreed that Okazaki does not explicitly disclose radar-compatibility of the coating. However, given that Okazaki et al. teaches coating comprising materials and structure identical to that presently claimed, the coating of Okazaki et al. would necessarily be capable of functioning as a radar-compatible coating as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary. Further, while other pigments are disclosed in paragraph [0034] of Okazaki, it is noted these pigments are not required and only alternative options.
Applicant argues that Yagi, cited regarding claim 9 only as a secondary reference, concerns paint films which have excellent heat-radiating properties and a method for their formation. In contrast, the claims herein, including claim 9, are concern with coatings compatible with radar waves having a frequency range of 76 - 81 GHz.
However, note that while Yagi does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Yagi is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely a second layer, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787