DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20, filed 3/23/23, are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7, 11 and 14-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “the magnetic receiver” suggested to be changed to --the first magnetic receiver-- for consistency.
Claim 7 recites “and magnetic receiver” suggested to be changed to --and the first magnetic receiver-- for consistency.
Claim 11 recites “contains distal” suggested to be changed to --contains a distal-- for grammatical reasons.
Claims 14-17 recite “The mask” suggested to be changed to --The face mask-- for consistency.
Claims 16 and 17 recites “one or more magnet” suggested to be changed to --one or more magnets-- for grammatical reasons. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a coupling device… in claims 2 and 18, a first coupling receiver… in claims 3 and 18, a second coupling receiver…in claims 4 and 19, a magnetic coupling device…in claim 5, a first magnetic receiver…in claim 6, a second magnetic receiver…in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a user’s mouth” in line 4, however it is unclear if applicant is referring back to the user in line 2 or introducing a new and different user.
Claim 9 recites “a user” in line 2, however it is unclear if applicant is referring back to the user claim 1 or introducing a new and different user.
Claims 12 and 20 recite “it” language and it is unclear which structure this is referring back to.
Claim 17 recites “the corresponding material,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanyikirize et al. (2022/0062671).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1-4 Kanyikirize discloses a face mask 1000, comprising: a first layer 1200 configured to be positioned adjacent to a user's face (Fig. 2-4); an opening 1400 defined in the first layer, the opening configured to be positioned at least partially over a user's mouth [0027]; and a second layer 1500 positioned to selectively cover the opening defined in the first layer (Fig. 2); wherein, the second layer is movable relative to the first layer to expose the opening (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kanyikirize discloses a coupling device (magnet 1600 [0030]) on the second layer to selectively hold the second layer in a closed orientation (Fig. 2 [0030][0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Kanyikirize discloses a first coupling receiver (the 1610 shown on the left side in fig. 3) in the first layer that selectively receives the coupling device when the first layer is in the closed orientation (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kanyikirize discloses a second coupling receiver (the 1610 shown on the right side in fig. 3) that selectively receives the coupling device when the second layer is in an opened orientation (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Kanyikirize discloses a magnetic coupling device in the first layer or the second layer (magnet 1600 is in second layer 1500 [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Kanyikirize discloses a first magnetic receiver in the first layer (the 1610 shown on the left side in fig. 3) or the second layer, wherein the magnetic coupling device selectively couples to the magnetic receiver [0030].
Regarding claim 7, Kanyikirize discloses the magnetic coupler and magnetic receiver are positioned to selectively hold the second layer in a closed configuration (fig. 2 [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Kanyikirize discloses a second magnetic receiver in the first layer (the 1610 shown on the right side in fig. 3) or the second layer, wherein the magnetic coupling device selectively couples the second magnetic receiver to hold the second layer in an opened configuration.
Regarding claim 9, Kanyikirize discloses the first layer comprises a chin saddle (chin portion of 1200) configured to be positioned on (Fig. 2) or under the chin of a user.
Regarding claim 12, Kanyikirize discloses the second layer is coupled to the first layer such that it cannot extend upwardly past a first layer perimeter (Fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 13, Kanyikirize discloses the first layer is sized to substantially cover the user's nose (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Kanyikirize discloses the second layer has one or more magnet positioned therein (1600 [0030]) to selectively couple to a magnetized material (1610 [0030]) in the first layer.
Regarding claim 17, Kanyikirize discloses both the one or more magnet and the magnetized material are substantially positioned within a cavity of the corresponding material such that neither the magnet or the magnetized material are visible from the outside ([0030] “each side of the magnetic fastener 1600, 1610 is sandwiched between an inner layer and an outer layer of fabric”).
Regarding claim 18, in fig. 1-4 Kanyikirize discloses method for manufacturing a face mask, comprising: providing a first layer 1200 sized to be positioned adjacent to a user's face and defining an opening 1400 at around the location of the user's mouth [0027]; coupling a second layer 1500 to the first layer to selectively cover the opening defined in the first layer (Fig. 2); attaching a coupling device 1600 to the second layer and a first coupling receiver (the 1610 on the left side in fig. 3) to the first layer to selectively hold the second layer in a closed orientation over the opening (Fig. 2 [0030]).
Regarding claim 19, Kanyikirize discloses attaching a second coupling receiver to one or both of the first layer (1610 on the right side in fig. 3) and second layer to selectively receive the coupling device when the second layer is in an opened orientation (Fig. 4 [0030]).
Regarding claim 20, Kanyikirize discloses coupling the second layer to the first layer such that it cannot extend upwardly past a first layer perimeter (Fig. 1-4).
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mallady, Jr. et al. (11,617,402).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 5-6 Mallady discloses a face mask 10D, comprising: a first layer 20 configured to be positioned adjacent to a user's face (Fig. 1); an opening 25 defined in the first layer, the opening configured to be positioned at least partially over a user's mouth (Col. 3, ll. 17-21); and a second layer 30 positioned to selectively cover the opening defined in the first layer (Fig. 5); wherein, the second layer is movable relative to the first layer to expose the opening (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Mallady discloses that the second layer contains distal end with a nose profile (distal end of 30 that attaches to top of 20 in fig. 6 forms a nose profile in use since it covers the user’s nose), wherein the nose profile substantially matches a profile of an upper seam of the first layer when in an opened position (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanyikirize as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pham (10,633,787).
Regarding claim 10, Kanyikirize discloses a tag pocket defined along a seam of the face mask (a tag pocket is the inside portion of first layer 1200 that forms a pocket with the user’s face), but is silent regarding a tag that is positioned along the tag pocket and transitionable between an exposed position extending away from the tag pocket and a hidden position wherein the tag is substantially contained within the pocket. However, in fig. 1-3 Pham teaches a tag (110a, 112a) that is positioned along the tag pocket (inside portion of a mask Col. 11, ll. 37-38) and transitionable between an exposed position extending away from the tag pocket (Fig. 3) and a hidden position wherein the tag is substantially contained within the pocket (Fig. 2, Col. 12, ll. 6-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanyikirize’s mask with the addition of a tag, as taught by Pham, for the purpose of identifying the mask.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallady, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ru (CN 105559198).
Regarding claim 14, Mallady discloses that the first layer is formed from a first side (left side) and a second side (right side) coupled to one another, but is silent regarding that the first and second side are coupled along a substantially central seam. However, in fig. 1-2 Ru teaches a first layer 1 that is formed from a first side (left side of 1) and a second side (right side of 1) and are coupled to one another along a substantially central seam (vertical line extending down the first layer) as well as a line extending down the second layer 5 It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanyikirize’s first and second layers with a seam, as taught by Ru, for the purpose of providing an alternate first and second layer structure having the predictable results of providing a first and second side of the first and second layers, respectively.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Mallady discloses that the second layer (5, Ru) is formed from a first side (left side of 5, Ru) and a second side (right side of 5, Ru) coupled to one another along a seam (line that extend vertically along 5, Ru) that is substantially aligned with the central seam (Fig. 1-2 Ru).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arujo (2022/0022571), Yeh (2021/0283433) and Coleman (2023/0232916) directed towards face masks with closeable openings.
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785