DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
The preamble of claims 2-12 should read “The device according to…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Based on claim 3, the examiner is interpreting the claim not to require the pumps listed after “such as”, since claim 3 re-introduces “a rolling diaphragm pump”.
Claims 2-12 are rejected due to their dependencies on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 3,301,255) in view of Adahan (US 2010/0139660 A1) in further view of Mullinger et al. (US 2009/0178672 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses:
A device for providing a flow of aerosol and/or air (figure 1), comprising
a base unit (portable case of 20 with boxlike body 21 and lid 22 and handle 23; col. 3, lines 31-33) containing
a first pump (32) for providing a nebulizer air flow,
a first channel (47) that connects the first pump to a first air outlet (48) (see figure 4),
a second air source (31) for providing a support air flow,
a second channel (38) that connects the second pump to a second air outlet (40),
a pressure sensor (43) connected to the second channel (via 42 as shown in figures 2, 3), and
a controller (34) for controlling the second pump;
a handset (26) containing
a reservoir (where 53 is stored in figure 5) for liquid (53) to be nebulized,
a mouthpiece (29), and
a mixing chamber (27) having a first air inlet (where 52 connects to 27) connected to a nebulizing nozzle for generating an aerosol flow from the nebulizer air flow and the liquid (fluidically connected as shown in figure 5), and a second air inlet (where 24 connects to 27);
a first tube (25) connecting the first air outlet to the first air inlet (see figure 1); and
a second tube (24) connecting the second air outlet to the second air inlet (see figure 1).
Thompson does not explicitly disclose the second air source is a second pump which is a multiple head diaphragm pump, such as a rolling diaphragm pump; or a rotary vane pump; or a scroll pump nor that the controller (34) controls the first pump.
However, Adahan teaches it is known to us a rolling diaphragm pump (100) as a means to provide respiration air [0025]-[0026].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Thompson by substituting one known device for creating an airflow (31 of Thompson) for a rolling diaphragm pump (Adahan’s 100) since the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Further, Mullinger teaches it is known for a controller (260) to control flow into a nebulizer [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson such that a controller controls the first pump for the benefit of allowing the delivery of medicament can be altered as needed [0048].
Regarding claim 3, Thompson as modified further discloses wherein the second pump is a rolling diaphragm pump (Adahan’s 100).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above. The currently modified Thompson does not explicitly disclose a display screen for providing instructions and / or feedback.
However, Adahan further discloses it is known to provide a display screen (270) for providing instructions and / or feedback [0047].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a display screen for providing instructions and / or feedback as taught by Adahan for providing important information to the user.
Regarding claim 5, Thompson as modified discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above.
However, Thompson does not expressly disclose wherein the first and / or second tubes are from 1000 mm to 1300 mm in length and have an inner diameter of from 3 to 5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Thompson to have wherein the first and / or second tubes are from 1000 mm to 1300 mm in length and have an inner diameter of from 3 to 5 mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Thompson would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions and since Thompson already has tubing the device would function appropriately having the claimed dimensions Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Claim(s) 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 3,301,255) in view of Adahan (US 2010/0139660 A1) in further view of Mullinger et al. (US 2009/0178672 A1) in further view of Luber et al. (WO 2010/097119)
Regarding claim 6, Thompson as modified discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above.
Thompson does not expressly disclose wherein the device is configured to provide, during an inhalation by the patient, an aerosol period in which there is both support flow and aerosol flow so that aerosol is delivered to the patient, and one or more aerosol- free periods when there is support flow but no aerosol flow, so that only air is delivered to the patient.
However, Luber discloses a device utilizing a jet nebulizer (similar to Thompson; see page 7, lines 3-5 of Luber) comprising a support flow (flow 2 of figure 6) and an aerosol flow (flow 1 of figure 6), wherein the device is configured to provide, during an inhalation by the patient, an aerosol period in which there is both support flow and aerosol flow so that aerosol is delivered to the patient (see figure 6 where flow 1 and 2 overlap; page 31, paragraph 3), and one or more aerosol- free periods when there is support flow but no aerosol flow, so that only air is delivered to the patient (see figure 6, after aerosol flow finishes only air is delivered via flow 2; page 31, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thompson such that the device is configured to provide, during an inhalation by the patient, an aerosol period in which there is both support flow and aerosol flow so that aerosol is delivered to the patient, and one or more aerosol- free periods when there is support flow but no aerosol flow, so that only air is delivered to the patient to minimize waste and also ensure the medicament is delivered to the desired location (page 33, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 7, Thompson as modified discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above. Thompson as modified by Luber further discloses wherein in each inhalation an aerosol period followed by an aerosol-free period is provided (figure 6 of Luber).
Regarding claim 8, Thompson as modified discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above. Thompson as modified is not explicit in that the device is configured to increase the support flow rate during the aerosol-free period(s) so that the total flow rate is approximately constant throughout the inhalation.
However, Luber discloses the support flow rate (second flow rate) as well as the aerosol flow rate (first flow rate) as results effective in that they can be optimized in order to achieve optimal aerosol generation and transport (page 6, paragraph 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Thompson so that the device is configured to increase the support flow rate during the aerosol-free period(s) so that the total flow rate is approximately constant throughout the inhalation as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson as modified discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above. Thompson as modified by Luber further discloses the device which is configured to vary the support flow rate so that the total flow rate mimics the patient's natural breathing pattern (Luber: see figure 6 shows that support flow 2 is turned on and off; claim 33 indicates vibration only occurs during exhalation).
Regarding claim 10, Thompson as modified discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above. Thompson as modified by Luber discloses that the initiation of support flow (flow 2) is dependent on aerosol generation flow (see figure 6), but does not explicitly describe that aerosol generation flow is dependent on a breathing pattern of the patient. Therefore, currently Thompson as modified does not explicitly disclose that the device is does not explicitly describe the device is configured to vary the support flow rate in response to the patient's inhalation rate.
However, Mullinger further teaches that it is known to time aerosol administration with the patient’s inhalation/exhalation [0005] [0010] [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have modified Thompson such that aerosol administration is initiated upon inspiration so that aerosol is not wasted. With this modification, the support flow would also be varied in response to the patient’s inhalation rate.
Regarding claim 11, Thompson as modified discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above. Thompson as modified by Luber further discloses the device which is configured to pulse the support flow (Luber: figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Thompson as modified discloses the invention essentially as claimed as discussed above. Thompson as modified by Luber further discloses the device configured to provide feedback to the patient through the support flow.
However, Luber discloses the support flow rate (second flow rate) can be higher than the first flow rate.
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Thompson such that the second flow rate is higher than the first flow rate in order to optimize transportation (page 6, paragraph 3). This increased flow is configured to provide feedback to the patient through the support flow. For example, this increased flow would indicate to the user that aerosol transportation is occurring.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 3,301,255) in view of Adahan (US 2010/0139660 A1) in further view of Mullinger et al. (US 2009/0178672 A1) in further view Zambon et al. (US 2008/0078381 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Thompson as modified discloses the claimed invention as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above. Thompson does not explicitly disclose wherein the first pump (32) is a piston-type compressor.
However, Zambon teaches it is known for nebulizers of a pneumatic type to be run by piston compressors [0005].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified Thompson by substituting one known device for creating an airflow (32 of Thompson) for a piston type compressor (as taught by Zambon [0005]) since the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785