DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/098505 to Frimer et al. “Frimer” in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0030119 to Devengenzo et al. “Devengenzo”, NPL “Detection of Nuclei in 4D Nomorski DIC Microscope Images of Early Caenorhabditis Elegans Embryos using Local Image Entropy and Image Tracking” to Hamahashi et al. “Hamahashi” and U.S. Patent No. 9,258,550 to Sieracki et al. “Sieracki”
With respect to Claims 1 and 47, Frimer discloses an automatic system and method for identifying at least one critical point in a procedure (Abstract; Page 22) by comparing movement of at least one surgical object (e.g. tool) (Pages 21, Dark Bullet Points #2-3; Page 27) via image-based tracking (Page 23, Paragraph 1, also Table 1 on Pages 24-25 for motion metrics that can be assessed). Frimer explains that image capture of the tool may be carried out in real time (Pages 26-27; 29 Paragraph 2, Page 32; Fig. 9 and corresponding descriptions) which reads on a first and second frame depicting the instrument in a scene and identifying the instrument in each frame in its broadest reasonable interpretation. In a robotic arm embodiment, the system has knowledge of the expected path in order to prevent the arm from being forced into an awkward or highly non-optimal orientation (Paragraph bridging Pages 31-32) and may issue a warning indicating that an error (e.g. dangerous movement) has occurred (Page 35).
While Frimer’s system may suggest another path for the robotically controlled tool if a non-optimal orientation is expected (Page 33), to move more slowly (e.g. dampened movement) near organs (Paragraph bridging Pages 36-37) or used for safety monitoring (Page 40), it does not expressly disclose dampening the movement of the instrument if the detected movement exceeds a threshold. Frimer also does not disclose steps to identify the instrument in each frame by identifying low-entropy white pixels, masking the image frames and identifying the movement based on the identified instrument.
Devengenzo teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to robotic surgery systems and methods (Abstract; Fig. 1 and corresponding descriptions) where the system can identify movement (e.g. motion parameter) of an instrument (Paragraphs [0123]-[0124]), determine if the movement parameter exceeds a threshold (Paragraphs [0128]) and dampening the movement of the instrument if the threshold is exceeded (Abstract; Paragraphs [0010], [0022] and [0128]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified Frimer’s systems and method, particularly the safety monitoring means to dampen (e.g. slow down) the instrument if and when unsafe conditions are detected (e.g. motion exceeded threshold) as described by Devengenzo in order to enhance patient safety.
As for image analysis steps to identify the tool in the images to determine motion, Hamahashi teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to object tracking (Abstract) where local image entropy can be used to automatically track an object over multiple images (Abstract; Page 2). Hamahashi explains image entropy represents the smoothness of image texture; its value becomes high when the texture is rough and low when the texture is smooth (Page 4; Detection of nuclei using regions of low local image entropy). Fig. 4 depicts where low entropy white regions are tracked over a sequence of images (Page 9).
However, Hamahashi does not expressly disclose a step to mask each image to be used in the tracking. Sieracki teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to identifying objects in images (Abstract; Column 32, Lines 35-48) where an RGB image is first converted to a grayscale and a threshold is calculated to distinguish between black and white (Column 45, Lines 19-45). Next, a mask image is created using the threshold and a binary image is obtained to identify objects in the image (Column 45, Lines 19-67). Sieracki explains the grayscale image may represent the entropy of each pixel (Column 46, Lines 19-55, Column 47, Lines 1-15).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the image analysis means to locate the tool in each frame described by Frimer with conventional object locating steps described by Hamahashi and Sieracki (e.g. identifying low entropy white pixels) in order to enhance the accuracy of tool identification in images used to determine instrument movement and thus, enhance patient safety. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predicable results (MPEP 2143). In the modified system, Examiner notes one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have masked data on either side of the aforementioned threshold based on the type of object being tracked (e.g. smooth texture vs. rough).
With respect to Claim 3, Sieracki explains the binary mask is convolved a function to keep all pixels in the grayscale image (e.g. at least one color channel) above zero (Column 45, Lines 1-20) and to expand the mask (Column 45, Lines 20-45; Column 46, Lines 20-45) which is considered to read on the claimed steps in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, when the grayscale image represents the entropy as explained above, the mask would be considered an entropy mask in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frimer, Devengenzo and Hamahashi.
As for Claims 4 and 38, Frimer discloses an automatic system and method for identifying at least one critical point in a procedure (Abstract; Page 22) by comparing movement of at least one surgical object (e.g. tool) (Pages 21, Dark Bullet Points #2-3; Page 27) via image-based tracking (Page 23, Paragraph 1, also Table 1 on Pages 24-25 for motion metrics that can be assessed). Frimer explains that image capture of the tool may be carried out in real time (Pages 26-27; 29 Paragraph 2, Page 32; Fig. 9 and corresponding descriptions) which reads on a first and second frame depicting the instrument in a scene and identifying the instrument in each frame in its broadest reasonable interpretation. In a robotic arm embodiment, the system has knowledge of the expected path in order to prevent the arm from being forced into an awkward or highly non-optimal orientation (Paragraph bridging Pages 31-32).
While Frimer’s system may suggest another path for the robotically controlled tool if a non-optimal orientation is expected (Page 33), to move more slowly (e.g. dampened movement) near organs (Paragraph bridging Pages 36-37) or used for safety monitoring (Page 40), it does not expressly disclose dampening the movement of the instrument if the detected movement exceeds a threshold. Frimer also does not disclose steps to identify the instrument in each frame by identifying low-entropy white pixels and identifying the movement based on the identified instrument.
Devengenzo teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to robotic surgery systems and methods (Abstract; Fig. 1 and corresponding descriptions) where the system can identify movement (e.g. motion parameter) of an instrument (Paragraphs [0123]-[0124]), determine if the movement parameter exceeds a threshold (Paragraphs [0128]) and dampening the movement of the instrument if the threshold is exceeded (Abstract; Paragraphs [0010], [0022] and [0128]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified Frimer’s systems and method, particularly the safety monitoring means to dampen (e.g. slow down) the instrument if and when unsafe conditions are detected (e.g. motion exceeded threshold) as described by Devengenzo in order to enhance patient safety.
As for image analysis steps to identify the tool in the images to determine motion, Hamahashi teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to object tracking (Abstract) where local image entropy can be used to automatically track an object over multiple images (Abstract; Page 2). Hamahashi explains image entropy represents the smoothness of image texture; its value becomes high when the texture is rough and low when the texture is smooth (Page 4; Detection of nuclei using regions of low local image entropy). Fig. 4 depicts where low entropy white regions are tracked over a sequence of images (Page 9).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the image analysis means to locate the tool in each frame described by Frimer with conventional object locating steps described by Hamahashi (e.g. identifying low entropy white pixels) in order to enhance the accuracy of tool identification in images used to determine instrument movement and thus, enhance patient safety. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predicable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding Claim 12, Examiner notes the modified system and method as described above segments/identifies the tool and determine motion based metrics including 3D movements, speed, maximum speed, acceleration, etc. (Frimer; Tables 1-2).
Claim(s) 11, 14-15, 17-18, 20, 27 and 43-45 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frimer, Devengenzo and Hamahashi as applied to claims 4 and 38 above, and further in view of Sieracki.
With respect to Claims 11 and 43, Frimer, Devengenzo and Hamahashi disclose a method to track an object over a sequence of images as described above using low entropy white pixels.
However, Hamahashi does not expressly disclose a step to mask each image to be used in the tracking.
Sieracki teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to identifying objects in images (Abstract; Column 32, Lines 35-48) where an RGB image is first converted to a grayscale and a threshold is calculated to distinguish between black and white (Column 45, Lines 19-45). Next, a mask image is created using the threshold and a binary image is obtained to identify objects in the image (Column 45, Lines 19-67). Sieracki explains the grayscale image may represent the entropy of each pixel (Column 46, Lines 19-55, Column 47, Lines 1-15).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the image analysis means to locate the tool in each frame described by Frimer, Devengenzo and Hamahashi with an image masking step as described by Sieracki in order to improve the focus of the automatic tracking to the isolated low entropy white pixels. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predicable results (MPEP 2143). In the modified system, Examiner notes one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have masked data on either side of the aforementioned threshold based on the type of object being tracked (e.g. smooth texture vs. rough).
Regarding Claims 14-15 and 17, Examiner notes the modified system and method as described above creates a masked image for each frame in order to segment/identify the tool and determine motion based metrics including 3D movements, speed, maximum speed, acceleration, etc. (Frimer; Tables 1-2).
As for Claim 18, Examiner notes any sudden change in the motion based metrics as described above would indicate a “jerk” in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to Claims 20 and 44, Sieracki explains the binary mask is convolved a function to keep all pixels in the grayscale image (e.g. at least one color channel) above zero (Column 45, Lines 1-20) and to expand the mask (Column 45, Lines 20-45; Column 46, Lines 20-45) which is considered to read on the claimed steps in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Furthermore, when the grayscale image represents the entropy as explained above, the mask would be considered an entropy mask in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claims 27 and 45, Examiner notes the modified system would dampen the actual movement of the instrument based on the user’s input (Pages 23 and 32).
Claim(s) 23, 46 and 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frimer, Devengenzo, Hamahashi and Sieracki as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of NPL “Automatic detection of surgical haemorrhage using computer vision” to Garcia-Martinez et al. “Garcia-Martinez” and U.S. Publication No. 2015/0213702 to Kimmel.
As for Claims 23 and 48, Frimer, Devengenzo Hamahashi and Sieracki disclose a system and method to detect tool movement during a laparoscopic procedure as explained above. However, the art of record does not expressly disclose processing steps to determine a ratio of pixels in the images with color values that are greater than a threshold.
Garcia-Martinez teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to monitoring laparoscopic procedures (Abstract) where bleeding may be detected automatically by classifying pixels in each frame by comparing ratios of B/R and G/R of the RGB color space with a threshold (Abstract; Fig. 3 and corresponding descriptions).
As for the subtraction step, Kimmel teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to automatically detecting changes in images (Abstract; Paragraph [0002) where image data is subtracted from one another to remove undesired background items while preserving both moving and non-portions of the tracked object (Paragraph [0017]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have implemented additional image processing to the frames described by Frimer, Devengenzo, Hamahashi and Sieracki to determine ratios of pixels with color channels as described by Garcia-Martinez image subtraction described by Kimmel in order to automatically detect blood and bleeding in the surgical environment (Abstract) and enhance patient safety.
As for Claim 46, Examiner notes the modified system and method using the pixel color ratios would read on first, second and third color channels as claimed in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claim 49, Examiner notes the detected blood would be omitted from the binary image used to locate the instrument in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11-12, 14-15, 17-20, 23, 27, 38 and 43-49 have been considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. However, Examiner will address Applicant’s remarks which may still pertain the current rejection. For example, Applicant argues Sieracki does not teach or suggest identifying a movement of an instrument in an RGB image (REMARKS, Page 11). Examiner notes that this argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claims as the claims fail to preclude any processing on a greyscale image converted from an RGB image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Publication No. 2009/0216374 to Low et al. which discloses dampening a surgical robot based on a detected speed and if the speed exceeds a threshold (Paragraphs [0054]-[0056]).
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797