DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Reference numeral 59 [0036] is not shown in the drawings.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference numerals 58, 66 in (fig 9) not described in the specification.
Reference numerals 94, 96, 72, 83, 55 in (fig 8) not described in the specification.
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 8 shows incorrectly the orientation of the assembly order of the device. Some of the element’s orientation are incorrect. For example, element number 5 should be rotated in the opposite direction like it is shown in figure 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohlbrenner et al. (US 20190022332 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kohlbrenner teaches a brake tower (120; Fig. 4-6; [0076] for a medical injection device (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a proximal end (fig 6, right side of the page)), distal end 124 having a distal face (at 140), and sidewall at 122 therebetween defining a longitudinal axis; and
one or more protrusions at 140,141 (figs 5a-6; via ball bearing ring 140) arranged on and extending distally the distal face and one or more protrusions 122 extending from the sidewall (fig 6).
Regarding claim 2, Kohlbrenner discloses the one or more protrusions are integral to the sidewall and the distal face (figs 6).
Regarding claim 6, Kohlbrenner discloses the one or more protrusions comprise a polymer ([0066] any of the components can be made out of plastic. Plastic contains polymers.).
Regarding claim 12, the proximal end, the distal end, and the sidewall define a cylinder (fig 6).
Regarding claim 13, Kohlbrenner discloses the distal end 124 has a larger circumference than the proximal end and/or the sidewall (fig 6 at 124).
Regarding claim 14, Kohlbrenner discloses the sidewall defines an interior that is at least partially hollow (fig 4).
Regarding claim 15, Kohlbrenner discloses the distal face comprises two to ten protrusions arranged thereon (fig 5a).
Regarding claim 16, Kohlbrenner discloses a medical injection device comprising:
a housing 10,20 having a distal end and a proximal end;
a brake tower 120 comprising a proximal end, a distal end having a distal face at 124, and a sidewall 121 therebetween defining a longitudinal axis, and one or more protrusions arranged on and extending distally from the sidewall 122 and/or the distal face 141 (figs. 4 and 5b);
one or more a cartridge 40 received within the housing distally of the brake tower and holding a composition therein (figs 2-3);
a cartridge housing 30 received within the housing distally of the brake member 120 and configured to hold the cartridge therein;
an injection needle 32 at a distal end of the housing and in fluid communication with the cartridge; and
an actuation member 80 at a proximal end of the housing, the actuation member configured to actuate the medical injection device to deliver the composition through the injection needle, wherein the one or more protrusions arranged on and extending distally from the sidewall and/or the distal face of the brake tower bias the cartridge distally [0076].
105
Claims 1, 2, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quinn et al. (US 20140046268 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Quinn teaches a brake tower (5; Figs. 2b and 6) for a medical injection device (51; Fig. 1-2B; para [0093)), comprising:
a proximal end (end of 5 where 54 is disposed; Fig. 6), distal end (end of 5 where instances of 55 are disposed; Fig. 6) having a distal face (distalmost flat face of 5; Fig. 6-7), and a sidewall at 52 and 66 therebetween defining a longitudinal axis; and
one or more protrusions at 52 and 66 arranged on and extending distally from the sidewall (fig 6).
Regarding claim 2, Quinn discloses the one or more protrusions 52,66 are integral to the sidewall (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, the proximal end, the distal end, and the sidewall define a cylinder (figs 2b, 6).
Regarding claim 13, the distal end 66 has a larger circumference than the proximal end and/or the sidewall [0102].
Regarding claim 14, the sidewall defines an interior that is at least partially hollow (fig. 22-28; [0108] brake tower 205 including a core 220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlbrenner et al. (US 20190022332 A1).
Kohlbrenner discloses the invention substantially as claimed, and discloses in [0066] that all the components can be made from listed appropriate materials including plastic. However, Kohlbrenner fails to disclose the polymer comprises a thermoplastic. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohlbrenner by selecting a thermoplastic from a polymer(plastic) since it would be considered a mere design choice well within the skill of the ordinary artisan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Cris L. Rodriguez/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783