DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the amendments to the independent claims, Hoctor has been used to teach driving the cMUT with a time-varying AC voltage signal, Srinivasan has been used to teach that the sensor operates in both a force sensing and imaging mode, and newly-found reference of Emadi has been introduced to teach measuring a force by measuring a static capacitance of the sensors under a low-level DC voltage signal.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “housing element” in claim 8.
Based on the language of claim 8, “housing element” will be interpreted to be any structure capable of containing the ultrasound patch and the processor that includes an opening to allow for the passage of ultrasound energy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 & 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 & 16 have been amended such that the sensors are piezoelectric sensors or piezoresistive sensors. However, claims 1 & 9 have been amended such that the sensors are cMUTs. Because a sensor cannot simultaneously be a cMUT and a piezoelectric or piezoresistive sensor, the claims are indefinite. Likewise, the claims will not be examined for prior art on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 13-15, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoctor (US 2005/0154299) in view of Srinivasan (US 2021/0153755), Emadi (US 2016/0016198), Chowienczyk (US 2011/0270098), and Xu (US 2019/0328354).
Regarding claim 1, Hoctor teaches a device for estimating the central blood pressure of a subject, the device comprising:
a sensor patch (ultrasonic transducer patch, [0046]) comprising an array of sensors (cMUTs, [0046]), wherein each sensor is a capacitive micromachines ultrasonic transducer (cMUT) ([0046]) configured to:
measure, in a first mode, an indication of blood pressure (vessel diameter, [0066] & pulse wave velocity, [0067]) of a peripheral blood vessel ([0051]; brachial artery, [0083]); and
perform, in a second mode, ultrasound imaging on the peripheral blood vessel ([0066]-[0067]) by driving the cMUT with a time-varying AC voltage signal ([0056]), wherein the same sensors are used for blood pressure measurement in the first mode and ultrasound imaging in the second mode ([0066]-[0067]); and
a processor (portable personal computer, [0051]) configured to:
obtain a peripheral pressure signal ([0072]-[0073]) comprising a pressure waveform ([0046]) from the indication of a blood pressure from the sensor patch ([0072]-[0073]);
Paragraph [0046] teaches that the invention is drawn to continuous blood pressure monitoring; therefore, the pressure signals would comprise waveforms. Likewise, per Equation 7 of [0072], blood pressure P(t) is a function of time.
derive an image of the peripheral blood vessel from the ultrasound imaging from the sensor patch ([0066]-[0067]); and
determine a vessel diameter from the image of the peripheral blood pressure over time as a vessel diameter waveform ([0066]; [0072]-[0073]).
Per Equation 7 of [0072], A(t) is a function of time, and area is a function of diameter. Thus, the diameter measurements are continuous waveforms.
However, Hoctor fails to disclose that each sensor is configured to operate in a force sensing mode and an ultrasound imaging mode; and the indication of blood pressure of the peripheral blood vessel is made based on a force at skin of the subject.
Srinivasan teaches that each sensor (force or displacement sensors 550, [0055]) is configured to operate in a force sensing mode ([0055]) and an ultrasound imaging mode ([0055] & [0060]); and the indication of blood pressure of the peripheral blood vessel is made based on a force at skin of the subject ([0003] & [0055]).
Paragraph [0055] teaches that the force or displacement sensors 550 may be capacitive elements. The device of [0055] is also a TBPI (Tactile Blood Pressure Imager, per [0033]). Thus, the sensors taught in [0055] are capable of both force sensing and imaging.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hoctor such that each sensor is configured to operate in a force sensing mode and an ultrasound imaging mode; and the indication of blood pressure of the peripheral blood vessel is made based on a force at skin of the subject, as taught by Srinivasan. Combining the functions of force sensing and imaging into one sensor simplifies the overall design and consolidates the device.
However, Hoctor in view of Srinivasan fail to disclose that the force is measured by measuring a static capacitance of the sensors under a low-level DC voltage signal.
Emadi teaches that the force is measured ([0138]-[0139) by measuring a static capacitance of the sensors under a low-level DC voltage signal ([0127]-[0128]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hoctor and Srinivasan such that the force is measured by measuring a static capacitance of the sensors under a low-level DC voltage signal, as taught by Emadi. This is a well-known method of measuring forces and allows the force of the patient’s pulse wave to be translated into a blood pressure value.
However, Hoctor in view of Srinivasan and Emadi fail to disclose deriving an estimate of the central blood pressure waveform of the subject from the pressure waveform.
Chowienczyk teaches deriving an estimate of the central blood pressure waveform of the subject from the pressure waveform ([0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Hoctor to include deriving an estimate of the central blood pressure waveform of the subject from the pressure waveform, as taught by Chowienczyk. Because the peripheral blood pressure is easily obtainable and the central blood pressure is difficult to measure non-invasively, this provides a convenient and reliable method for measuring the central blood pressure.
However, Hoctor in view of Srinivasan, Emadi, and Chowienczyk fail to disclose deriving an estimate of the central blood pressure waveform of the subject from the vessel diameter waveform.
Xu teaches deriving an estimate of the central blood pressure waveform of the subject from the vessel diameter waveform (“the device can continuously detect the pulsating blood vessel diameter change, which can be translated into CBP waveforms”, [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hoctor, Srinivasan, Emadi, and Chowienczyk to include deriving an estimate of the central blood pressure waveform of the subject from the vessel diameter waveform, as taught by Xu. Because the vessel diameter is easily obtainable and the central blood pressure is difficult to measure non-invasively, this provides a convenient and reliable method for measuring the central blood pressure, and an additional method over the pressure waveform.
Regarding claim 2, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu teach the device of claim 1, and Hoctor further teaches that the processor is configured to: determine the vessel diameter by applying an automatic tracking algorithm (algorithm that tracks arterial diameter, [0085]) to the image of the peripheral blood vessel in color Doppler mode ([0065] & [0067]).
Paragraph [0067] teaches that Doppler (M-mode) is used to acquire vessel information. Paragraph [0065] teaches that color flow imaging can instead be used in location and tracking of the artery. Paragraphs [0112]-[0113] further note the similarities between color flow imaging and Doppler imaging.
Regarding claim 6, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu teach the device of claim 1, and Chowienczyk further teaches that the processor is further adapted to: calibrate a mean value and a diastolic value of the estimated central blood pressure (pressure waveform obtained after applying the transfer function, [0083]) to a cuff mean value and a cuff diastolic value obtained from pressure cuff measurements (cuff waveforms, [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Hoctor such that the processor is further adapted to: calibrate a mean value and a diastolic value of the estimated central blood pressure to a cuff mean value and a cuff diastolic value obtained from pressure cuff measurements, as taught by Chowienczyk. Per [0004] of Chowienczyk, mean and diastolic blood pressure values are similar between central and peripheral vessels. Therefore, the accuracy of the estimated central blood pressure can be compared to the pressure cuff measurements.
Regarding claim 7, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu teach the device of claim 1, and Hoctor further teaches that the processor is further configured to transform the vessel diameter waveform to a second pressure waveform for the peripheral blood vessel ([0072]-[0073]).
Because the vessel diameter is used to estimate the blood pressure continuously, any subsequent blood pressure estimation derived from a different cardiac cycle or measurement period can be considered the second pressure waveform.
Chowienczyk further teaches that the processor is configured to derive the estimate of the central blood pressure waveform of the subject from the pressure waveform ([0025]).
Claim 9 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 6.
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, Hoctor teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (portable personal computer, [0051]), that stores therein a computer program product (software, [0045]), which, when executed on a processor, causes the method of claim 9 to be performed (See rejection of claim 1).
Claims 4-5, 11-12, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu, as applied to claims 1 & 9, above, in further view of Schmitt (US 2020/0229716) and Bouwman (US 2019/0380593).
Regarding claim 4, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu teach the device of claim 1.
However, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu fail to disclose that the processor is further adapted to: determine a quality factor for each of a plurality of peripheral pressure waveform cycles of the pressure waveform; and create an ensemble pressure waveform based on the pressure waveform cycles and their respective quality factors.
Schmitt teaches that the processor is further adapted to:
determine a quality factor (signal-to-noise ratio, [0026]) for each of a plurality of peripheral pressure waveform cycles of the pressure waveform (blood pressure estimation values, [0025]); and
create an ensemble pressure waveform (single blood pressure estimation value, [0025]) based on the pressure waveform cycles and their respective quality factors ([0025]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Hoctor, Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu such that the processor is further adapted to: determine a quality factor for each of a plurality of peripheral pressure waveform cycles of the pressure waveform; and create an ensemble pressure waveform based on the pressure waveform cycles and their respective quality factors, as taught by Schmitt. This allows the processor to smooth out any outliers, creating a more representative and accurate blood pressure waveform.
However, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, Xu, and Schmitt fail to disclose that the processor is further adapted to: determine a quality factor for each of a plurality of vessel diameter waveform cycles of the vessel diameter waveform; and create an ensemble diameter waveform based on the vessel diameter waveform cycles and their respective quality factors.
Bouwman teaches that the processor is further adapted to:
determine a quality factor (predefined or dynamic threshold value, [0110]) for each of a plurality of vessel diameter waveform cycles of the vessel diameter waveform (vessel diameters, [0110]); and
create an ensemble diameter waveform (reference diameter area computation, [0110]) based on the vessel diameter waveform cycles and their respective quality factors ([0110]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Hoctor, Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, Xu, and Schmitt such that the processor is further adapted to: determine a quality factor for each of a plurality of vessel diameter waveform cycles of the vessel diameter waveform; and create an ensemble diameter waveform based on the vessel diameter waveform cycles and their respective quality factors, as taught by Bouwman. This allows the processor to smooth out any outliers, creating a more representative and accurate vessel diameter waveform.
The teaching of Chowienczyk in which the central blood pressure is estimated based on the pressure waveform would not change if substituting the pressure waveform for the ensemble pressure waveform. Thus, the combination of Chowienczyk and Schmitt teach that estimating the central blood pressure is based on the ensemble pressure waveform.
Regarding claim 5, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, Xu, Schmitt, and Bouwman teach the device of claim 4, and Chowienczyk further teaches that the processor is adapted to derive an estimate of the central blood pressure by:
applying a frequency-based transfer function (transfer function H, [0064]) to the ensemble pressure waveform ([0064]-[0071]); or
using a physics-based model (IIR filter (ARX model), [0072]) to transform the ensemble pressure waveform to an estimate of the central blood pressure ([0072]-[0081]).
Under the combination of Chowienczyk and Schmitt, the pressure waveform would be the ensemble pressure waveform.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Hoctor such that the processor is adapted to derive an estimate of the central blood pressure by: applying a frequency-based transfer function to the ensemble pressure waveform; or using a physics-based model to transform the ensemble pressure waveform to an estimate of the central blood pressure, as taught by Chowienczyk. Per Chowienczyk, these functions/models are useful in transforming abstract signals into usable data.
Claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 4.
Claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 5.
Claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 4.
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 5.
Claims 8 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu, as applied to claim 1, above, in further view of Rothberg (US 2019/0343484).
Regarding claim 8, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu teach the device of claim 1.
However, Hoctor in view of Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu fail to disclose: a housing element for housing the sensor patch and the processor, wherein the housing element comprises an opening and wherein the opening is for a sensing area of the sensor patch; a strap attached to the housing element; and a skin interface at the opening of the housing element.
Rothberg teaches:
a housing element (lower housing 116, [0052]) for housing the sensor patch (ultrasound patch 110, [0051]) and the processor (circuit board 118, [0053]), wherein the housing element comprises an opening (116, Figure 3) and wherein the opening is for a sensing area of the sensor patch (Figure 3);
a strap (strap 600, [0059]) attached to the housing element ([0059]); and
a skin interface at the opening of the housing element (Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Hoctor, Srinivsan, Emadi, Chowienczyk, and Xu to include: a housing element for housing the sensor patch and the processor, wherein the housing element comprises an opening and wherein the opening is for a sensing area of the sensor patch; a strap attached to the housing element; and a skin interface at the opening of the housing element, as taught by Rothberg. The housing element provides structural support to the sensor patch, the opening provides a window through which the ultrasound can pass, and the strap secures the ultrasound patch at the desired location of the subject.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 8.
Conclusion
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798