DETAILED ACTION
SUCTION TOOL
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 04-24-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5,7,9,15-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claim 10 has been cancelled. The previous rejection has been updated 103 rejection due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03-31-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant's argument that prior art Hayashi fails to teach "the first configuration, and the flow limiting device is biased to the first configuration, and is movable to the second configuration, against said bias, under action of air flowing through the auxiliary suction passage" required in the amended independent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees prior art Hayashi discloses that valve specifically made to have elasticity and include a spring mechanism (see npl "For these valve bodies, elastic bodies such as rubber and plate springs"), and discloses that valve device is biased to the first configuration and move to the second configuration under action of air flowing through auxiliary suction passage. (see npl " exhaust valve 255 that can be opened and closed is provided near the exhaust port 254 disposed on the suction body 106 side, downstream of the electric blower 220. Is provided. Since the present invention has the above-described configuration, the mouthpiece 106 is When the side is separated from the cleaner body 101 side and used independently, the exhaust air E from the electric blower 220 provided in the suction body 106 is exhausted to the outside through the exhaust port 254 On the other hand, when the suction body 106 side is connected to the cleaner body 101 side for use, the cleaner body 1 is used The exhaust valve 255 is completely or almost closed by the air F sucked by the electric blower 112"). Therefore, the movement of the flow-limiting device (255) between its first and second configurations is controlled by the airflow F passing through the auxiliary passageway and the elastic structure of valve 255 as required by the independent claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: flow limiting device in claims 1-5,7-9,11-20.
Examiner is interpreting the flow limiting device as disclosed in applicant’s disclosure as deformable element made of elastomeric rubber (see para 0031 and 0052-0053) or equivalent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,7,9,15-16,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP2003199693A).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi teaches
an outlet for connection to a vacuum cleaner (253b “On the other hand, when the suction body 106 is connected to the cleaner main body 101 for use”; figure 5 and 7);
a main inlet (253a, figure 7 in fluid communication with the outlet via a main suction passage (F, figure 7); and an auxiliary inlet (254, figure 7) in fluid communication with the outlet via an auxiliary suction passage (G, figure 7),
wherein:
the auxiliary suction passage includes a flow limiting device (255, figure 7) which is movable between a first configuration and a second configuration (“an exhaust valve 255 that can be opened and closed ”), the flow limiting device obstructing air flow through the auxiliary suction passage to a greater extent when in the second configuration than when in the first configuration (figure 7), flow limiting device movable to the first configuration, and is movable to the second configuration, under action of air flowing through the auxiliary suction passage (see npl " exhaust valve 255 that can be opened and closed is provided near the exhaust port 254 disposed on the suction body 106 side, downstream of the electric blower 220. Is provided. Since the present invention has the above-described configuration, the mouthpiece 106 is When the side is separated from the cleaner body 101 side and used independently, the exhaust air E from the electric blower 220 provided in the suction body 106 is exhausted to the outside through the exhaust port 254 On the other hand, when the suction body 106 side is connected to the cleaner body 101 side for use, the cleaner body 1 is used The exhaust valve 255 is completely or almost closed by the air F sucked by the electric blower 112"); and wherein:
the flow limiting device is movable from the first configuration to the second configuration via an intermediate configuration (“If the exhaust valve 255 is almost closed so that only a small amount of air flow G”);
when in the intermediate configuration the flow limiting device obstructs air flow through the auxiliary suction passage to a greater extent (“If the exhaust valve 255 is almost closed so that only a small amount of air flow G”) than when in the first configuration but a lesser extent than when in the second configuration (“If the exhaust valve 255 is provided so as to be completely closed, the electric blower 11 provided in the cleaner body 101 will be described, it is possible to prevent a decrease in the air volume of the air F from the suction port of the suction body 106 due to the backflow air G from the exhaust port 254, and it is possible to maintain a high vacuum inside the suction body 106, so that high dust collection Can be achieved”); and
the flow limiting device is configured (capable of performing this action) to move from the first configuration to the intermediate configuration in response to the pressure within the main suction passage dropping beneath a higher predetermined threshold, and to move from the intermediate configuration to the second configuration in response to the pressure within the main suction passage dropping beneath a lower predetermined threshold. (“If the exhaust valve 255 is provided so as to be completely closed, the electric blower 11 provided in the cleaner body 101 will be described,it is possible to prevent a decrease in the air volume of the air F from the suction port of the suction body 106 due to the backflow air G from the exhaust port 254, and it is possible to maintain a high vacuum inside the suction body 106, so that high dust collection Can be achieved”)
Hayashi fails to explicitly teach that flow limiting is made of elastomeric rubber configuration, and the flow limiting device is biased and is movable to the second configuration, against said bias,
However Hayashi does disclose in different embodiment valves can be made from elastic bodies such as rubber and plastic ( “For these valve bodies, elastic bodies such as rubber and plate springs made of plastic”) to be used to control the movement of the valve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayashi to have flow limiting device be made from elastomeric rubber based on the teachings of Hayashi. This modification would help ensure the flow limiting device has low rigidity and be easily deformable. (see Hayashi “material such as rubber having a relatively low rigidity so that it can be easily opened inward”)
Further, Hayashi as modified above would be capable being biased and movable to the second configuration against said bias.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hayashi teaches wherein the flow limiting device is configured to substantially close the auxiliary suction passage when in the second configuration (“If the exhaust valve 255 is provided so as to be completely closed”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hayashi teaches wherein the main suction passage (F, figure 7) and auxiliary suction (G, figure 7) passage intersect (figure 7) and form a common suction passage (209b, figure 7) which extends to the outlet.
Regarding claim 9, modified Hayashi teaches wherein the main suction passage includes a suction chamber (207, figure 7), and the auxiliary suction passage (G, figure 7) intersects the main suction passage downstream of the suction chamber.
Regarding claim 15, modified Hayashi teaches A vacuum cleaner (abstract, 101,106; figure 5) comprising the suction tool according to claim 1 (figure 7).
Regarding claim 16, Hayashi teaches an outlet for connection to a vacuum cleaner (253b “On the other hand, when the suction body 106 is connected to the cleaner main body 101 for use”; figure 5 and 7);
a main inlet (253a, figure 7) in fluid communication with the outlet via a main suction passage (F, figure 7);
an auxiliary inlet (254, figure 7) in fluid communication with the outlet via an auxiliary suction passage (G, figure 7);
a rotatable brush bar (201, figure 7) and
an electric motor (220, figure 7) configured to drive the brush bar,
wherein:
the auxiliary suction passage (G, figure 7) includes a flow limiting device (255, figure 7) which is movable between first and second configurations (“an exhaust valve 255 that can be opened and closed ”), the flow limiting device obstructing air flow through the auxiliary suction passage to a greater extent when in the second configuration than when in the first configuration (figure 7); and
the flow limiting device is configured to move to the second configuration in response to the pressure within the main suction passage dropping beneath a predetermined threshold. (“If the exhaust valve 255 is provided so as to be completely closed, the electric blower 11 provided in the cleaner body 101 will be described,it is possible to prevent a decrease in the air volume of the air F from the suction port of the suction body 106 due to the backflow air G from the exhaust port 254, and it is possible to maintain a high vacuum inside the suction body 106, so that high dust collection Can be achieved”), and the flow limiting device movable to the first configuration, and is movable to the second configuration, under action of air flowing through the auxiliary suction passage (see npl " exhaust valve 255 that can be opened and closed is provided near the exhaust port 254 disposed on the suction body 106 side, downstream of the electric blower 220. Is provided. Since the present invention has the above-described configuration, the mouthpiece 106 is When the side is separated from the cleaner body 101 side and used independently, the exhaust air E from the electric blower 220 provided in the suction body 106 is exhausted to the outside through the exhaust port 254 On the other hand, when the suction body 106 side is connected to the cleaner body 101 side for use, the cleaner body 1 is used The exhaust valve 255 is completely or almost closed by the air F sucked by the electric blower 112")
Hayashi fails to explicitly teach that flow limiting is made of elastomeric rubber configuration, and the flow limiting device is biased and is movable to the second configuration, against said bias.
However Hayashi does disclose in different embodiment valves can be made from elastic bodies such as rubber and plastic ( “For these valve bodies, elastic bodies such as rubber and plate springs made of plastic”) to be used to control the movement of the valve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayashi to have flow limiting device be made from elastomeric rubber based on the teachings of Hayashi. This modification would help ensure the flow limiting device has low rigidity and be easily deformable. (see Hayashi “material such as rubber having a relatively low rigidity so that it can be easily opened inward”)
Regarding claim 20, modified Hayashi teaches wherein the flow limiting device is configured to substantially close the auxiliary suction passage when in the second configuration (“If the exhaust valve 255 is provided so as to be completely closed”).
Claim(s) 2-3,17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP2003199693A) as applied to claims 1 and 16 in view of Hirota (WO2017183254A).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, modified Hayashi teaches all limitations stated above and rotatable brush bar (201, figure 7) ,but fails to teach wherein the auxiliary suction passage is associated with a drive mechanism of the brush bar.
Hirota teaches electric vacuum cleaner suction port body that includes an electric motor (44, figure 9) of the brush bar (43, figure 9) and auxiliary suction passage (32, figure 9) that can cool the electric motor (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayashi to have wherein the auxiliary suction passage is associated with a drive mechanism of the brush bar based on the teachings of Hirota. This modification would help cool the electric motor. (see Hirota abstract)
Regarding claim 3, further modified Hayashi wherein the drive mechanism comprises an electric motor (see Hayashi 220, figure 7), but fails to teach the auxiliary suction passage runs through or near the electric motor so that air running through the auxiliary suction passage can cool the electric motor. (see Hirota teaches electric vacuum cleaner suction port body that includes an electric motor (44, figure 9) and auxiliary suction passage (32, figure 9) that can cool the electric motor (abstract)).
Regarding claim 18, modified Hayashi teaches wherein the auxiliary suction passage runs through or near the electric motor so that air running through the auxiliary suction passage can cool the electric motor. (see Hirota abstract)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP2003199693A) in view of Hirota (WO2017183254A) as applied to claim 2 further in view of Stephens (GB2543310A) cited in ids.
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi as modified in claim 2 teaches all limitations but fails to teach the brush bar is hollow, and the auxiliary suction passage extends into the brush bar.
Stephens discloses a cleaner head for a vacuum cleaner (abstract) that has a primary inlet (10, figure 6), secondary inlet (11, figure 3) , a hollow brush bar (26, figures 2 page 1, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayashi to have brush bar’s hollow structure as taught by Stephens . This modification would help use space in a more efficient way in the suction tool. (see Stephens, figure 2)
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP2003199693A) in view of Hirota (WO2017183254A) and Stephens (GB2543310A) cited in ids.
Regarding claim 19, modified Hayashi teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the brush bar is hollow, and the auxiliary suction passage extends into the brush bar.
Stephens discloses a cleaner head for a vacuum cleaner (abstract) that has a primary inlet (10, figure 6), secondary inlet (11, figure 3) , a hollow brush bar (26, figures 2 page 1, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayashi to have brush bar’s hollow structure as taught by Stephens . This modification would help use space in a more efficient way in the suction tool. (see Stephens, figure 2)
Hirota teaches electric vacuum cleaner suction port body that includes an electric motor (44, figure 9) of the brush bar (43, figure 9) and auxiliary suction passage (32, figure 9) that can cool the electric motor (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayashi to have wherein the auxiliary suction passage is associated with a drive mechanism of the brush bar based on the teachings of Hirota. This modification would help cool the electric motor. (see Hirota abstract)
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723