DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 01/08/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/08/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 4-16, 18-19, 39 and 41 are pending
Claims 1, 39 and 41 are amended
Claims 3, 17, 20-38, 40 and 42-44 are canceled
Claims 1-2, 4-16, 18-19, 39 and 41 remain rejected.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities (and appropriate corrections are required):
In the statement: “…The first 25 criteria may be configured or standardised and associated with radio link failure criteria and may determine whether it is possible for the communications device to continue to receive the MDS data in the current RRC mode,” (in Page 16, Lines [24-27]), the reference to “the MDS data” appears to be a mistake, since Page 16, Lines [18-19] recites, “…At step S810, the communications device 270 transmits a request to receive the MBS data via a different type of bearer.” Examiner respectfully recommends replacing the phrase, “the MDS data” on page 16, Lines [26] with “the MBS data”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1(in Lines [10-13]) recites the limitation "determining, based on the radio link quality, that predetermined criteria are satisfied {Feature A}, the predetermined criteria for continuing to receive the data associated with the service in the first RRC mode in the cell {Feature B}, no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the predetermined criteria are satisfied {Feature C}." However, it is unclear how features A, B and C (as specified above) are related; and it is also unclear if both “that predetermined criteria are satisfied” and “the predetermined criteria for continuing to receive the data associated with the service in the first RRC mode in the cell” are being determined or just "that predetermined criteria are satisfied" or if the limitation is meant to be, "determining, based on the radio link quality, that the predetermined criteria for continuing to receive the data associated with the service in the first RRC mode in the cell are satisfied, wherein no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the predetermined criteria are satisfied". On the other hand, Fig. 5, Para. [0139] of the instant specification recites, “at step S508 the communications device 270 determines that the conditions for radio link failure are satisfied. At this point, as in example of FIG. 5, the communications device 270 may have no SRB2 established, and/or no DRB established (for example, where the PTP MRB 776 is not a DRB).” Hence, for examination purposes the limitation, "determining, based on the radio link quality, that predetermined criteria are satisfied, the predetermined criteria for continuing to receive the data associated with the service in the first RRC mode in the cell, no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the predetermined criteria are satisfied " has been construed to mean "determining, based on the radio link quality, that the predetermined criteria for continuing to receive the data associated with the service in the first RRC mode in the cell are satisfied, wherein no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the predetermined criteria are satisfied". The office respectfully requests the applicant to amend the claim(s) in order to clarify the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 18-19, 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DER VELDE et al. (US 20160338039 A1), hereinafter referenced as VanderVelde, in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US 20210307100 A1), hereinafter referenced as TalebiFard, and further in view of SHARMA et al. (US 20240138015 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sharma.
Regarding claim 1, VanderVelde teaches the method of receiving data associated with a service at a communications device (Para. [0006]-VanderVelde discloses small cell enhancements … for example service quality of VoLTE (Voice over LTE (Long Term Evolution)) (e.g. MOS (Mean Opinion Score)) and delay/jitter impacts on services (video streaming, video calls and so on). Figs. 15-16, Para. [0140]-VanderVelde discloses various modules of a MeNB 104 and a SeNB 106, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. The primary blocks present for communication to enable dual connectivity mode in a UE 108 include a communication module 1502, a control-signaling module 1504, a processor module 1506, a memory module 1508 and a radio resource management module 1510),
establishing an RRC connection in a cell (Para. [0081-0084]-VanderVelde discloses on establishing RRC connection on the PCell of the MeNB 104, the UE 108 performs RRM measurements ... measurement configuration received in the RRC reconfiguration message. The measurement results comprise of RRM measurement results … The radio link quality can be determined based on RRM measurements sent by the UE),
receiving in the cell, in a first radio resource control (RRC) mode, the data associated with the service (Para. [0081-0084]-VanderVelde discloses on establishing RRC connection on the PCell of the MeNB 104, the UE 108 performs RRM measurements ... measurement configuration received in the RRC reconfiguration message. The measurement results comprise of RRM measurement results … The radio link quality can be determined based on RRM measurements sent by the UE),
the data transmitted using communication resources of a wireless access interface (Para. [0084]-VanderVelde discloses based on the received measurement results from the UE and if the data demand for the UE 108 is high, the MeNB 104 decides to add the SeNB 106.The SeNB 106 receives (601) an add request from the MeNB 104 over the X2 interface, wherein the add request comprising of a plurality of SCells to the SeNB along with the associated RRM measurements sent by the UE 108. Para. [0141]-VanderVelde discloses the control-signaling module 1504 determines the radio resource control (RRC) messages to be transmitted over the air interface to the UE. The control-signaling module 1504 also determines the X2-AP messages to be transmitted by the MeNB 104 to SeNB 106 or from the SeNB 106 to MeNB 104 over the X2 interface 110),
measuring, in the first RRC mode, a radio link quality associated with the wireless access interface (Para. [0081-0084]-VanderVelde discloses on establishing RRC connection on the PCell of the MeNB 104, the UE 108 performs RRM measurements ... measurement configuration received in the RRC reconfiguration message. The measurement results comprise of RRM measurement results … The radio link quality can be determined based on RRM measurements sent by the UE),
determining, based on the radio link quality, that predetermined criteria which include implementation-specific criteria are satisfied (Para. [0014]-VanderVelde discloses an event A5 is triggered when the signal strength of the serving cell is less than a predefined first threshold value and the signal strength of a neighboring cell (managed by same or a different eNB) is greater than a predefined second threshold value. Para. [0023]-Vandervelde discloses if it is also required that the SeNB identified/determined or selected pSCell/PSCell has to meet an additional radio link quality criterion, then the MeNB needs to be involved, as MeNB handles the RRIVI measurements of the UE. Para. [0083]-VanderVelde discloses the MeNB 104 derives the security base key of the UE 108 associated with the SeNB 106 based at least one of SCG counter and cell-specific parameters of the PSCell. The MeNB 104 sends (505) an acknowledgement to the SeNB 106, which comprises the security based key for the UE 108 associated with SeNB 106. The MeNB 104 sends (506) a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the UE 108. (See also Para. [0075 and 0081])),
the predetermined criteria for continuing to receive the data associated with the service in the first RRC mode in the cell (Para. [0081]-VanderVelde discloses data exchange continues for the MCG DRBs between the UE 108 and MeNB 104 applying the security base key associated with the MeNB 104. Since the UE 108 is mobile, the UE 108 continuously evaluates (407) the measurement events, according to the measurement configuration as received in the RRC reconfiguration message), and
after determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, receiving further data associated with the service (Para. [0081]-VanderVelde discloses data exchange continues for the MCG DRBs between the UE 108 and MeNB 104 applying the security base key associated with the MeNB 104. Since the UE 108 is mobile, the UE 108 continuously evaluates (407) the measurement events, according to the measurement configuration as received in the RRC reconfiguration message).
Vandervelde fails to teach the service being a multicast or broadcast service (MBS).
However, TalebiFard teaches the service being a multicast or broadcast service (MBS) (Figs. 2A and 3, Para. [0005]-TalebiFard discloses example of services provided between protocol layers of the NR user plane protocol stack. Para. [0182]-TalebiFard discloses the base station may broadcast or multicast the one or more RRC messages to one or more UEs. Para. [0148]-TalebiFard discloses in the downlink, a base station may transmit (e.g., unicast, multicast, and/or broadcast) one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE (e.g., PSS, SSS, CSI-RS, DMRS, and/or PT-RS, as shown in FIG. 5A). In the uplink, the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS, as shown in FIG. 5B). Para. [0066]-TalebiFard discloses the UEs 156 may be configured to receive services through a PDU session, which is a logical connection between a UE and a DN. Para. [0077]-TalebiFard discloses UE 210 may receive services through a PDU session, which may be a logical connection between the UE 210 and a DN. The PDU session may have one or more QoS flows. A UPF of a CN (e.g., the UPF 158B) may map IP packets to the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session based on QoS requirements (e.g., in terms of delay, data rate, and/or error rate)).
VanderVelde and TalebiFard are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on multicast and broadcast transmission, with a motivation for multicast or broadcast service, and guarantee enhanced performance, (VanderVelde, Para. [0003]).
Vandervelde fails to teach no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the predetermined criteria are satisfied.
However, Sharma teaches no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the predetermined criteria are satisfied (Para. [0096]-Sharma discloses the RRC Re-establishment message 822 permits the establishment of the RRC connection 824 but does not permit the establishment 826 of the data radio bearers. Para. [0119]-Sharma discloses in response to receiving the RRC Re-establishment message 916, the terminal device 208 enters the dual connectivity mode and communicates the data 828 via both the MN 204 and the SN 206. In some such embodiments, the terminal device 208 enters the dual connectivity mode conditionally, only if link quality measurements of transmissions by the MN 204 satisfy pre-determined criteria).
Sharma is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with terminal devices, infrastructure equipment and methods for the transmission of data by a communications device in a wireless communications network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde in view of TalebiFard to incorporate the teachings of Sharma on connection establishment, with a motivation for no DRB, and guarantee enhanced performance, (VanderVelde, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde fails to teach transmitting, in response to determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, a re-establishment request message.
However, TalebiFard teaches transmitting, in response to determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, a re-establishment request message (Figs. 6 and 17-18, Para. [0288]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may send the RRC reestablishment request message to a target base station via the cell selected based on the cell selection procedure wherein the target base station may or may not be the source base station. Para. [0287]-TalebiFard discloses based on initiating the transmission of the RRC reestablishment request message, the UE may send the RRC reestablishment message ... The reestablishment cause may comprise at least one of reconfiguration failure, handover failure or other failure).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on connection re-establishment, with a motivation to transmit re-establishment request message, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde fails to teach no signalling radio bearer (SRB) for the transmission of encapsulated non-access stratum (NAS) messages was established for the communications device when the criteria for radio link failure were satisfied.
However, TalebiFard teaches no signalling radio bearer (SRB) for the transmission of encapsulated non-access stratum (NAS) messages was established for the communications device when the criteria for radio link failure were satisfied (Figs. 17-18, Para. [0319]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may suspend all SRB(s) and DRB(s). Para. [0185]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS) ... at least one reference signal is configured by an RRC message. Para. [0193]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may determine the SUL carrier, for example, if a measured quality of one or more reference signals is lower than a broadcast threshold. Uplink transmissions of the random access procedure (e.g., the Msg 1 1311 and/or the Msg 3 1313) may remain on the selected carrier. Para. [0047]-TalebiFard discloses mechanism may be performed when certain criteria are met, for example, in a wireless device, a base station, a radio environment, a network, a combination of the above, and/or the like. Para. [0067]-TalebiFard discloses The AMF 158A may perform functions such as Non-Access Stratum (NAS) signaling termination, NAS signaling security, Access Stratum (AS) security control, inter-CN node signaling for mobility between 3GPP access networks, idle mode UE reachability (e.g., control and execution of paging retransmission)).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on connection setup, with a motivation for no SRB, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 4,
Vandervelde fails to teach the signalling radio bearer is a signalling bearer exclusively for the transmission of uplink or downlink information messages which encapsulate NAS messages.
However, TalebiFard teaches the signalling radio bearer is a signalling bearer exclusively for the transmission of uplink or downlink information messages which encapsulate NAS messages (Para. [0111]-TalebiFard discloses the RRCs 216 and 226 may provide control plane functionality such as: broadcast of system information related to AS and NAS; ...; establishment, maintenance and release of an RRC connection between the UE 210 and the RAN; ...; establishment, configuration, maintenance and release of signaling radio bearers and data radio bearers; mobility functions; QoS management functions; the UE measurement reporting and control of the reporting; detection of and recovery from radio link failure (RLF); and/or NAS message transfer. Para. [0057]-TalebiFard discloses the communication direction from the RAN 104 to the wireless device 106 over the air interface is known as the downlink and the communication direction from the wireless device 106 to the RAN 104 over the air interface is known as the uplink).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on uplink/downlink transmission, with a motivation for SRB exclusively for the transmission, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 2,
Vandervelde fails to teach receiving a re-establishment response message, the re-establishment response message transmitted in response to the re-establishment request message and entering the first RRC mode.
However, TalebiFard teaches receiving a re-establishment response message (Para. [0285]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may stop the timer T301 based on reception of an RRC response message in response of the RRC reestablishment request message. The RRC response message may comprise at least one of RRC reestablishment message or RRC setup message),
the re-establishment response message transmitted in response to the re-establishment request message and entering the first RRC mode (Para. [0285]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may stop the timer T301 based on reception of an RRC response message in response of the RRC reestablishment request message. The RRC response message may comprise at least one of RRC reestablishment message or RRC setup message).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on connection re-establishment, with a motivation to receive re-establishment response message, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 6,
Vandervelde further teaches receiving the further data associated with the service comprises receiving the data via the new radio bearer (Para. [0075]-VanderVelde discloses the UE 108 establishes RRC connection with the MeNB 104 and UE 108. The UE 108 performs user plane data exchange with the MeNB 104 on the data radio bearers established by the MeNB 104 i.e. the MCG bearer(s) handle the data).
Vandervelde fails to teach the re-establishment response message comprises an indication of parameters associated with a new radio bearer.
However, TalebiFard teaches the re-establishment response message comprises an indication of parameters associated with a new radio bearer (Para. [0246]-TalebiFard discloses a UE-RRC layer may receive an RRC setup message in response to an RRC setup request message, an RRC resume request message or an RRC reestablishment request message. Based on configurations parameters in the received RRC setup message. Based on the RRC setup message, the UE-RRC layer may perform a cell group configuration or radio bearer configuration).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on connection re-establishment, with a motivation for the re-establishment response message to comprises an indication of parameters associated with a new radio bearer, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 7,
Vandervelde fails to teach the new radio bearer is a point-to- multipoint bearer.
However, TalebiFard teaches the new radio bearer is a point-to- multipoint bearer (Fig. 5A, Para. [0148]-TalebiFard discloses base station may transmit (e.g., unicast, multicast, and/or broadcast) one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE (e.g., PSS, SSS, CSI-RS, DMRS, and/or PT-RS. Para. [0113]-TalebiFard discloses parameters for communication between the UE and the base station. These parameters may include, ... bearer configuration information (e.g., relating to a data radio bearer, signaling radio bearer, logical channel, QoS flow, and/or PDU session); ... The UE may measure the signal levels (e.g., reference signal levels) from a serving cell and neighboring cells and report these measurements to the base station currently serving the UE).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on radio bearer, with a motivation for point to multipoint radio bearer, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde further teaches receiving the further data associated with the service comprises receiving the data associated with the service when in the first RRC mode (Para. [0081]-VanderVelde discloses data exchange continues for the MCG DRBs between the UE 108 and MeNB 104 applying the security base key associated with the MeNB 104. Since the UE 108 is mobile, the UE 108 continuously evaluates (407) the measurement events, according to the measurement configuration as received in the RRC reconfiguration message).
Regarding claim 10, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde fails to teach in response to determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, entering a second RRC mode, wherein receiving the further data associated with the service comprises receiving the further data associated with the service when in the second RRC mode.
However, TalebiFard teaches in response to determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, entering a second RRC mode (Figs. 6 and 17-18, Para. [0304]-TalebiFard discloses a base station may initiate a RRC connection release procedure to transit an RRC state of a UE from RRC connected state to RRC idle state, from an RRC connected state to RRC inactive state, from RRC inactive state back to RRC inactive state when the UE tries to resume, or from RRC inactive state to RRC idle state when the UE tries to resume. Para. [0185]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS) ... at least one reference signal is configured by an RRC message. Para. [0047]-TalebiFard discloses mechanism may be performed when certain criteria are met, for example, in a wireless device, a base station, a radio environment, a network, a combination of the above, and/or the like),
receiving the further data associated with the service comprises receiving the further data associated with the service when in the second RRC mode (Para. [0336]-TalebiFard discloses the wireless device may receive a message from an old base station that causes the wireless device to transition from an RRC-CONNECTED state to an RRC-INACTIVE state. Para. [0350]-TalebiFard discloses the wireless device may receive a message from an old base station that causes the wireless device to transition from an RRC-CONNECTED state to an RRC-IDLE state. Para. [0342]-TalebiFard discloses the old base station may send a retrieve UE context response message comprising the context of the UE and the DL data. The new base station 2 may send an RRC release message to the UE. The RRC release message may comprise the DL data. The UE may transition to an RRC-INACTVE state. The UE may transition to an RRC-IDLE state. In an example embodiment, the paging may be triggered by a DL data notification. For example, the DL data notification may be received from the UPF, the AMF, or the SMF).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on RRC connection setup, with a motivation to enter a second RRC mode, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 10,
Vandervelde fails to teach the second RRC mode is an RRC idle mode.
However, TalebiFard teaches the second RRC mode is an RRC idle mode (Figs. 6 and 17-18, Para. [0304]-TalebiFard discloses a base station may initiate a RRC connection release procedure to transit an RRC state of a UE from RRC connected state to RRC idle state, from an RRC connected state to RRC inactive state, from RRC inactive state back to RRC inactive state when the UE tries to resume, or from RRC inactive state to RRC idle state when the UE tries to resume).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on RRC connection setup, with a motivation to enter RRC idle mode, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 10,
Vandervelde fails to teach the second RRC mode is an RRC inactive mode, the method comprising: receiving, in the first RRC mode, an inactive mode configuration.
However, TalebiFard teaches the second RRC mode is an RRC inactive mode (Figs. 6 and 17-18, Para. [0304]-TalebiFard discloses a base station may initiate a RRC connection release procedure to transit an RRC state of a UE from RRC connected state to RRC idle state, from an RRC connected state to RRC inactive state, from RRC inactive state back to RRC inactive state when the UE tries to resume, or from RRC inactive state to RRC idle state when the UE tries to resume),
the method comprising: receiving, in the first RRC mode, an inactive mode configuration (Para. [0321]-TalebiFard discloses based on receiving the suspend configuration parameters, the UE may enter to an RRC inactive state. Para. [0319]-TalebiFard discloses based on receiving the RRC resume message, the UE may restore mater cell group configuration parameters, secondary cell group configuration parameters and PDCP configuration parameters in the UE inactive AS context).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on RRC connection setup, with a motivation to enter RRC inactive mode, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 10,
Vandervelde fails to teach in response to determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, determining whether an inactive mode configuration was received in the first RRC mode, wherein entering the second RRC mode is in response to the determining whether an inactive mode configuration was received in the first RRC mode.
However, TalebiFard teaches in response to determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, determining whether an inactive mode configuration was received in the first RRC mode (Fig. 18, Para. [0317-0319]-TalebiFard discloses based on receiving the RRC resume message, the UE may restore mater cell group configuration parameters, secondary cell group configuration parameters and PDCP configuration parameters in the UE inactive AS context ... an example of an RRC connection resume procedure. A UE in RRC connected state may transmit and receive data to/from a first base station (a source base station) via a cell 1. The first base station may determine to transit a UE in RRC connected state to RRC inactive state. Based on the determining, the base station may send an RRC release message comprising the suspend configuration parameters),
entering the second RRC mode is in response to the determining whether an inactive mode configuration was received in the first RRC mode (Fig. 18, Para. [0319]-TalebiFard discloses based on receiving the RRC release message comprising suspend configuration parameters, the UE may start a timer T380, enter RRC inactive state, perform cell selection procedure).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on RRC connection setup, with a motivation to receive configuration and enter RRC inactive mode, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde further teaches in response to determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, performing a cell selection (Para. [0081]-VanderVelde discloses if it is also required that the SeNB identified/determined or selected pSCell/PSCell has to meet an additional radio link quality criterion, then the MeNB needs to be involved, as MeNB handles the RRIVI measurements of the UE. The MeNB could assist the SeNB with measurement information i.e. by providing the SeNB with a list of SCG cells meeting the pSCell/PSCell measurement criterion (i.e. the set of SCells from which the SeNB can make a selection of pSCell/PSCell based on resource availability)).
Regarding claim 15, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde further teaches in response to determining that the predetermined criteria are satisfied, determining that a radio link failure has occurred (Para. [0081-0084]-VanderVelde discloses on establishing RRC connection on the PCell of the MeNB 104, the UE 108 performs RRM measurements ... measurement configuration received in the RRC reconfiguration message. The measurement results comprise of RRM measurement results … The radio link quality can be determined based on RRM measurements sent by the UE. Para. [0014]-VanderVelde discloses an event A5 is triggered when the signal strength of the serving cell is less than a predefined first threshold value and the signal strength of a neighboring cell (managed by same or a different eNB) is greater than a predefined second threshold value).
Regarding claim 16, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde further teaches receiving an indication of one or more of the predetermined criteria (Para. [0021]-VanderVelde discloses the RRM measurements from the UE indicate the relative radio link quality of the plurality of SCells, which can be added during SCG establishment. The RRM measurements can be received from the UE through measurement report or some feedback from the UE).
Regarding claim 18, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde further teaches the predetermined criteria are implementation-specific criteria (Para. [0020-0021]-VanderVelde discloses when a plurality of Secondary Cells (SCell) are added simultaneously by the MeNB during SCG establishment, there is a need to decide/determine specific parameters of which SCell (i.e. a reference cell) are used for deriving a SeNB key by the MeNB. The indication of the reference SCell decision/determination needs to be conveyed to the UE by the MeNB to enable the UE to derive the same SeNB key. A suitable entity should be configured to decide the reference cell namely the special SCell (pSCell) whose cell-specific parameters such as physical cell identity (PCI) and/or downlink frequency (DL-EARFCN) are to be used for KeNB key derivation ... the RRM measurements from the UE indicate the relative radio link quality of the plurality of SCells, which can be added during SCG establishment. The RRM measurements can be received from the UE through measurement report or some feedback from the UE).
Regarding claim 19, VanderVelde in view of TalebiFard and Sharma teaches the method according to claim 1,
Vandervelde fails to teach in the first RRC mode, the communications device is configured with a single bandwidth part, the single bandwidth part for receiving the MBS data.
However, TalebiFard teaches in the first RRC mode, the communications device is configured with a single bandwidth part (Para. [0128]-TalebiFard discloses a UE may be configured (e.g., via RRC layer) with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell (e.g., up to four downlink BWPs and up to four uplink BWPs per serving cell)),
the single bandwidth part for receiving the MBS data (Para. [0128]-TalebiFard discloses a UE may be configured (e.g., via RRC layer) with one or more downlink BWPs. Para. [0148]-TalebiFard discloses in the downlink, a base station may transmit (e.g., unicast, multicast, and/or broadcast) one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE (e.g., PSS, SSS, CSI-RS, DMRS, and/or PT-RS, as shown in FIG. 5A). In the uplink, the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS, as shown in FIG. 5B). Para. [0182]-TalebiFard discloses the base station may broadcast or multicast the one or more RRC messages to one or more UEs).
TalebiFard is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde and Sharma to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on RRC connection, with a motivation for single BWP transmission, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Regarding claim 39, VanderVelde teaches a communications device for operating in a wireless communications network, the communications device comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit signals on a wireless access interface provided by an infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network, a receiver configured to receive signals on the wireless access interface, the signals representing data associated with a service (Para. [0006]-VanderVelde discloses small cell enhancements … for example service quality of VoLTE (Voice over LTE (Long Term Evolution)) (e.g. MOS (Mean Opinion Score)) and delay/jitter impacts on services (video streaming, video calls and so on). Figs. 15-16, Para. [0140]-VanderVelde discloses various modules of a MeNB 104 and a SeNB 106, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. The primary blocks present for communication to enable dual connectivity mode in a UE 108 include a communication module 1502, a control-signaling module 1504, a processor module 1506, a memory module 1508 and a radio resource management module 1510),
a controller configured to control the transmitter and the receiver so that the communications device is operable to establish an RRC connection in a cell (Para. [0081-0084]-VanderVelde discloses on establishing RRC connection on the PCell of the MeNB 104, the UE 108 performs RRM measurements ... measurement configuration received in the RRC reconfiguration message. The measurement results comprise of RRM measurement results … The radio link quality can be determined based on RRM measurements sent by the UE),
to receive in the cell, in a first radio resource control (RRC) mode, the data associated with the service (Para. [0081]-VanderVelde discloses data exchange continues for the MCG DRBs between the UE 108 and MeNB 104 applying the security base key associated with the MeNB 104. Since the UE 108 is mobile, the UE 108 continuously evaluates (407) the measurement events, according to the measurement configuration as received in the RRC reconfiguration message),
the data transmitted using communication resources of a wireless access interface via a point to multipoint (PTM) bearer (Para. [0084]-VanderVelde discloses based on the received measurement results from the UE and if the data demand for the UE 108 is high, the MeNB 104 decides to add the SeNB 106.The SeNB 106 receives (601) an add request from the MeNB 104 over the X2 interface, wherein the add request comprising of a plurality of SCells to the SeNB along with the associated RRM measurements sent by the UE 108. Para. [0141]-VanderVelde discloses the control-signaling module 1504 determines the radio resource control (RRC) messages to be transmitted over the air interface to the UE. The control-signaling module 1504 also determines the X2-AP messages to be transmitted by the MeNB 104 to SeNB 106 or from the SeNB 106 to MeNB 104 over the X2 interface 110),
to determine that second predetermined criteria which include implementation specific criteria are satisfied (Para. [0014]-VanderVelde discloses an event A5 is triggered when the signal strength of the serving cell is less than a predefined first threshold value and the signal strength of a neighboring cell (managed by same or a different eNB) is greater than a predefined second threshold value. Para. [0023]-Vandervelde discloses if it is also required that the SeNB identified/determined or selected pSCell/PSCell has to meet an additional radio link quality criterion, then the MeNB needs to be involved, as MeNB handles the RRIVI measurements of the UE. Para. [0083]-VanderVelde discloses the MeNB 104 derives the security base key of the UE 108 associated with the SeNB 106 based at least one of SCG counter and cell-specific parameters of the PSCell. The MeNB 104 sends (505) an acknowledgement to the SeNB 106, which comprises the security based key for the UE 108 associated with SeNB 106. The MeNB 104 sends (506) a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the UE 108. (See also Para. [0075 and 0081])), and
in response to determining that the second predetermined criteria are satisfied, to transmit a point to point (PTP) bearer request, the PTP bearer request requesting parameters for a PTP bearer for receiving the data associated with the service (Para. [0014]-VanderVelde discloses an event A5 is triggered when the signal strength of the serving cell is less than a predefined first threshold value and the signal strength of a neighboring cell (managed by same or a different eNB) is greater than a predefined second threshold value. Para. [0020-0021]-VanderVelde discloses the UE 108 establishes RRC connection with the MeNB 104 and UE 108. The UE 108 performs user plane data exchange with the MeNB 104 on the data radio bearers established by the MeNB 104 i.e. the MCG bearer(s) handle the data … the UE 108 sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration complete message to the MeNB 104 confirming the SCG establishment ... the UE 108 derives the security base key associated with SeNB 106 using at least one of SCC and cell-specific parameters of the PSCell. At step 311, the DRBs are established on the SCG SCells and secure data exchange between the SeNB 106 and UE 108 configured in dual connectivity mode of operation is handled by the SCG data bearer(s)).
Vandervelde fails to teach the service being a multicast or broadcast service.
However, TalebiFard teaches the service being a multicast or broadcast service (Para. [0148]-TalebiFard discloses in the downlink, a base station may transmit (e.g., unicast, multicast, and/or broadcast) one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE (e.g., PSS, SSS, CSI-RS, DMRS, and/or PT-RS, as shown in FIG. 5A). In the uplink, the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS, as shown in FIG. 5B). Para. [0182]-TalebiFard discloses the base station may broadcast or multicast the one or more RRC messages to one or more UEs).
VanderVelde and TalebiFard are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on multicast and broadcast transmission, with a motivation for multicast or broadcast service, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Vandervelde fails to teach no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the second predetermined criteria are satisfied.
However, Sharma teaches no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the second predetermined criteria are satisfied (Para. [0096]-Sharma discloses the RRC Re-establishment message 822 permits the establishment of the RRC connection 824 but does not permit the establishment 826 of the data radio bearers. Para. [0119]-Sharma discloses in response to receiving the RRC Re-establishment message 916, the terminal device 208 enters the dual connectivity mode and communicates the data 828 via both the MN 204 and the SN 206. In some such embodiments, the terminal device 208 enters the dual connectivity mode conditionally, only if link quality measurements of transmissions by the MN 204 satisfy pre-determined criteria).
Sharma is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with terminal devices, infrastructure equipment and methods for the transmission of data by a communications device in a wireless communications network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde in view of TalebiFard to incorporate the teachings of Sharma on connection establishment, with a motivation for no DRB, and guarantee enhanced performance, (VanderVelde, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 41, VanderVelde teaches Infrastructure equipment for use in a wireless communications network, the infrastructure equipment providing a wireless access interface, the infrastructure equipment comprising: a transmitter (Para. [0006]-VanderVelde discloses small cell enhancements … for example service quality of VoLTE (Voice over LTE (Long Term Evolution)) (e.g. MOS (Mean Opinion Score)) and delay/jitter impacts on services (video streaming, video calls and so on). Figs. 15-16, Para. [0140]-VanderVelde discloses various modules of a MeNB 104 and a SeNB 106, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. The primary blocks present for communication to enable dual connectivity mode in a UE 108 include a communication module 1502, a control-signaling module 1504, a processor module 1506, a memory module 1508 and a radio resource management module 1510) configured
the communications device in a first RRC mode (Para. [0081-0084]-VanderVelde discloses on establishing RRC connection on the PCell of the MeNB 104, the UE 108 performs RRM measurements ... measurement configuration received in the RRC reconfiguration message. The measurement results comprise of RRM measurement results … The radio link quality can be determined based on RRM measurements sent by the UE), and
the re-establishment request is based on implementation-specific criteria (Para. [0014]-VanderVelde discloses an event A5 is triggered when the signal strength of the serving cell is less than a predefined first threshold value and the signal strength of a neighboring cell (managed by same or a different eNB) is greater than a predefined second threshold value. Para. [0023]-Vandervelde discloses if it is also required that the SeNB identified/determined or selected pSCell/PSCell has to meet an additional radio link quality criterion, then the MeNB needs to be involved, as MeNB handles the RRIVI measurements of the UE. Para. [0083]-VanderVelde discloses the MeNB 104 derives the security base key of the UE 108 associated with the SeNB 106 based at least one of SCG counter and cell-specific parameters of the PSCell. The MeNB 104 sends (505) an acknowledgement to the SeNB 106, which comprises the security based key for the UE 108 associated with SeNB 106. The MeNB 104 sends (506) a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the UE 108. (See also Para. [0075 and 0081])).
Vandervelde fails to teach to transmit signals via the wireless access interface, the signals representing data associated with a service, the service being a multicast or broadcast service, a receiver configured to receive signals, and a controller configured to control the transmitter and the receiver so that the infrastructure equipment is operable to transmit to a communications device the data associated with the service, … to receive a re-establishment request transmitted by the communications device.
However, TalebiFard teaches to transmit signals via the wireless access interface, the signals representing data associated with a service, the service being a multicast or broadcast service, a receiver configured to receive signals, and a controller configured to control the transmitter and the receiver so that the infrastructure equipment is operable to transmit to a communications device the data associated with the service (Para. [0148]-TalebiFard discloses in the downlink, a base station may transmit (e.g., unicast, multicast, and/or broadcast) one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a UE (e.g., PSS, SSS, CSI-RS, DMRS, and/or PT-RS, as shown in FIG. 5A). In the uplink, the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS, as shown in FIG. 5B). Para. [0182]-TalebiFard discloses the base station may broadcast or multicast the one or more RRC messages to one or more UEs),
to receive a re-establishment request transmitted by the communications device (Figs. 6 and 17-18, Para. [0288]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may send the RRC reestablishment request message to a target base station via the cell selected based on the cell selection procedure wherein the target base station may or may not be the source base station. Para. [0287]-TalebiFard discloses based on initiating the transmission of the RRC reestablishment request message, the UE may send the RRC reestablishment message ... The reestablishment cause may comprise at least one of reconfiguration failure, handover failure or other failure).
VanderVelde and TalebiFard are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde to incorporate the teachings of TalebiFard on multicast and broadcast RRC connection, with a motivation for multicast or broadcast service data transmission, and guarantee RRC connection setup, (TalebiFard, Abstract).
Vandervelde fails to teach when the re-establishment request is received, no data radio bearer was established for the communications device for the transmission of encapsulated non-access stratum (NAS) messages was established for the communications device.
However, Sharma teaches when the re-establishment request is received, no data radio bearer was established for the communications device for the transmission of encapsulated non-access stratum (NAS) messages was established for the communications device (Para. [0096]-Sharma discloses the RRC Re-establishment message 822 permits the establishment of the RRC connection 824 but does not permit the establishment 826 of the data radio bearers. Para. [0119]-Sharma discloses in response to receiving the RRC Re-establishment message 916, the terminal device 208 enters the dual connectivity mode and communicates the data 828 via both the MN 204 and the SN 206. In some such embodiments, the terminal device 208 enters the dual connectivity mode conditionally, only if link quality measurements of transmissions by the MN 204 satisfy pre-determined criteria. Fig. 9, Para. [0023]-Sharma discloses transmission of non-access stratum (NAS) messages associated with a terminal device in dual connectivity mode. Para. [0129]-Sharma discloses the RRC Resume procedure may be initiated by the terminal device 208 in response to a trigger. The trigger may be initiated by upper layers (e.g. NAS layers) or by the access stratum of the terminal device 208. Para. [0149]-Sharma discloses when the terminal device is in the dual connectivity mode, the NAS signalling is transmitted directly between the terminal device 208 and the SN 206. In some embodiments, the NAS signalling transmitted directly between the terminal device 208 and the SN 206 is transmitted using a signalling bearer designated for the transmission of RRC signalling between the terminal device 208 and the SN 206. (See also PAra. [0171 and 0176)).
Sharma is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with terminal devices, infrastructure equipment and methods for the transmission of data by a communications device in a wireless communications network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Vandervelde in view of TalebiFard to incorporate the teachings of Sharma on connection establishment, with a motivation for no DRB, and guarantee enhanced performance, (VanderVelde, Para. [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 01/08/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-16, 18-19, 39 and 41 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [7-13], Applicant argues that, “…Fard describes suspending previously established DRBs and SRBs, which is not the same as not establishing the DRBs and SRBs in the first place (Fard. [0319]). Suspending a DRB as described in Fard requires that the DRB be established. Othenvise, there would be nothing to suspend. Therefore, it is believed that Fard cannot fairly be said to disclose or suggest "no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the predetermined criteria are satisfied" because in Fard a DRB must be established for it to be suspended.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
The referenced limitation “no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device,” (as stated in the amended claim 1, Lines [12-13]) is based on the condition, “when the predetermined criteria are satisfied,” as recited. Hence, Talebi Fard et al. (US 20210307100 A1) teaches no data radio bearer (DRB) being established for the communication device when the predetermined criteria are satisfied (Figs. 17-18, Para. [0319]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may suspend all SRB(s) and DRB(s). Para. [0185]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS) ... at least one reference signal is configured by an RRC message. Para. [0193]-TalebiFard discloses the UE may determine the SUL carrier, for example, if a measured quality of one or more reference signals is lower than a broadcast threshold. Uplink transmissions of the random access procedure (e.g., the Msg 1 1311 and/or the Msg 3 1313) may remain on the selected carrier. Para. [0047]-TalebiFard discloses mechanism may be performed when certain criteria are met, for example, in a wireless device, a base station, a radio environment, a network, a combination of the above, and/or the like).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Fujishiro et al. (US 20190349883 A1)-discloses UE 100 may support the recovery from the Light Connection state and transition to the RRC idle mode as the cell that does not satisfy a predetermined radio quality standard (for example, S criterion) is not detected…. …Fig. 1-5
Kim et al. (US 20190306739 A1)-discloses A method of operating a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, a method of operating an evolved Node B (eNB) in a wireless communication system, an apparatus of a UE in a wireless communication system, and an apparatus for operating an eNB in a wireless communication system are provided. The method of operating the UE includes receiving frequency measurement configuration information from an evolved Node B (eNB); performing frequency measurement in a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode or an RRC inactivate mode, based on the frequency measurement configuration information; and transmitting a result of the frequency measurement to the eNB…. …Fig. 1-5
Bontu et al. (US 20170141885 A1)-discloses A method for using a high order modulation (HoM) mode for communications with a wireless device in a wireless communication network is provided. The method includes receiving downlink channel quality indicator (CQI) information from an uplink transmission of the wireless device and determining a downlink channel quality estimate from the CQI information. When a measurement of the downlink channel quality estimate satisfies the predetermined criteria for a first predetermined number of consecutive uplink transmissions from the wireless device, a downlink transmission mode of the wireless device is switched from a first modulation mode to the HoM mode.… …Fig. 1-5
Sebire et al. (US 20190007324 A1)-discloses a method and apparatus to perform communicating in a network at least one packet over a transport protocol connection, identifying that latency reduction procedures for the transport protocol connection are to be performed, and preventing based on predetermined criteria specific ones of the latency reduction procedures from being performed. Further, in accordance with the example embodiments there is at least a method and apparatus to perform identifying that latency reduction procedures for a transport protocol connection with a mobile device in a network are to be performed, determining that specific ones of the latency reduction procedures are not to be performed, and providing to the mobile device an indication of predetermined criteria to identify the specific ones of the latency reduction procedures that are not to be performed…. …Fig. 1-3
Adjakple et al. (US 20220132603 A1)-discloses to: discover a second apparatus that the first apparatus can communicate with; obtain device information related to the second apparatus; and configure a radio protocol of the first apparatus for direct sidelink communication with the second apparatus…. …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472