DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 1/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Nuessle discloses a modular system using standardized modules for a drive arrangement and not a cross-design floor assembly. This is not found persuasive because clearly, the vehicle designs disclosed by Nuessle would each inherently include a floor. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that since the design variation of Fig. 4 only includes batteries 14 which are at a lower height than the fuel tank 28/battery 14 combination of Fig. 2 the floor used in the Fig. 4 design could be designed at a lower height that that of the floor of Fig. 2.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13 and 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/15/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 40 (as mentioned in paragraph [0045] and in the list of reference signs in Applicant’s specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 11, Applicant recites a first design variant in which an energy storage device extends below the main floor and the rear floor and a second design variant in which a n energy storage extends only below the main floor and fa fuel tank extends below the rear floor. Thus, the second design variant fails to include all the limitations of the first design variant.
Claim 20 has a similar problem.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0105991).
With respect to claim 11, Kim discloses a modular system for an energy storage device floor assembly for an electrically operatable passenger car, comprising: a cross-design floor assembly comprising a main floor 10 and a rear floor 20, wherein:
in a first design variant for a passenger car with an exclusively electric drive, an energy storage device extends below both the main floor and the rear floor, and (this variant is directed to a non-elected invention)
in a second design variant for a passenger car with a hybrid drive, an energy storage device 30b extends only below the main floor 10, and a fuel tank 50 extends below the rear floor 20 (as shown in Fig. 2 of Kim).
With respect to claims 20, Kim discloses method for producing an energy storage device floor assembly for an electrically operatable passenger car via a modular system, the method comprising:
equipping in a cross-design variant floor assembly having a main floor 10 and a rear floor 20:
(i) either in a first design variant for a passenger car with an exclusively electric drive, an energy storage device which extends below both the main floor and the rear floor, (this variant is directed to a non-elected invention) or
(ii) in a second design variant for a passenger car with a hybrid drive, an energy storage device 30b which extends only below the main floor 10, and with a fuel tank 50 which extends below the rear floor 20 (as shown in Fig. 2 of Kim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0105991) in view of Park (KR 2020-0094387).
With respect to claim 12, Kim discloses the claimed modular system except that they are silent on the inclusion of an exhaust system. However, Park teaches a similar modular system for an energy storage device floor assembly including an energy storage device and a fuel tank, and further including , in the region of a main floor 5, a tunnel 8, and an exhaust system 15 that extends at least over a length portion (as shown in Fig. 1 of Park) in the second design variant for the passenger car with the hybrid drive.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Park with the modular system disclosed by Kim for the advantage of exhausting any waste gasses from the internal combustion engine to the rear of the vehicle.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0105991) in view of Salz-Breuer et al. (US 2017/0246943).
With respect to claim 14, Kim discloses the claimed modular system except for the tunnel formed in the energy storage device. However, Salz-Breuer et al. teach a similar hybrid vehicle including an energy storage device 4 wherein a tunnel 15 is formed in the energy storage device 4 (Salz-Breuer et al.; paragraph [0049]; Figs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Salz-Breuer et al. with the modular system disclosed by Kim for the advantage of an exhaust system that does not protrude beyond the underside of the traction battery, which guarantees an improved ground clearance of the motor vehicle (Salz-Breuer et al., paragraph [0049]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0105991) in view of Breu et al. (US 2022/0281543).
With respect to claim 18, Kim discloses the claimed modular system except for the shear panel and front subframe. However, Breu et al. disclose a similar modular system including a design variant-specific shear panel 75 arranged at a front end of a respective energy storage device 60 (Breu et al., paragraph [0189]; Fig. 7), the design variant-specific shear panel 75 being fastened to the floor assembly 12a/12b (via battery 60, Breu et al., Fig. 2b) and the respective energy storage device 60 (at brackets 66) and to a front subframe 70a/70b (Breu et al., paragraph [0189]; Fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 4th paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 17 has been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the struts are provided which are connected, on the one hand, to corresponding side sills and to the energy storage device and, on the other hand, to a rear subframe.
The closest prior art to claim 17 is Yamaguchi. However, Yamaguchi does not disclose an energy storage device extending below the main floor, or struts which are connected to the energy storage device.
Claim 19 has been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for shear panel having a cutout for an exhaust system.
/Daniel J Colilla/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612