DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 17 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a sealing arrangement” in claim 3; “a releasable locking arrangement” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asgari (US 2008/0206734) in view of Gantefort et al. (US 2010/0240094; hereinafter “Gantefort”).
It is noted that while the invention contains a fixed bed, the fixed bed is not positively recited in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, Asgari discloses an apparatus for culturing cells, comprising: a housing having an inner compartment (FIG. 28, annotated and reproduced below: vessel (200) having an inner compartment; [0156]); and
a container for removable positioning in the inner compartment of the housing, the container forming a chamber within the inner compartment for circulating fluid to or from the fixed bed (FIG. 28: container defining compartment (210); [0156]). Asgari discloses wherein the container includes a housing defined by a wall, but does not explicitly disclose the container comprising first and second portions adapted to interlock for containing a fixed bed for culturing cells. Gantefort discloses an apparatus for culturing cells, comprising a container having a housing formed by a first section (first wall) and a second section (second wall) adapted to interlock (FIG. 4: defined having walls (41a,41b)). In view of Gantefort, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Asgari with the container of Gantefort to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have resulted in an apparatus having the added advantage of ease of arranging materials within the container.
Furthermore, it is noted that the recitation of functional language "for containing a fixed bed for culturing cells, the container forming a chamber within the inner compartment for circulating fluid to or from the fixed bed" is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed apparatus and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 2, modified Asgari discloses wherein the first and second portions comprise locking means (see FIG. 4 of Gantefort), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second portions comprise interlocking male and female couplers. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the locking means of modified Asgari with interlocking male and female couplers to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known locking means for another for the predictable result of coupling a first and second sections.
Regarding claim 3, modified Asgari discloses wherein the first and second portions include a sealing arrangement forming a tortuous path for fluid flow (bracket 43; see FIG. 4 of Gantefort).
Regarding claim 4, modified Asgari does not explicitly disclose wherein the removable container includes one or more internal grooves. However, modified Asgari does disclose wherein the removable container is coupled to the housing (see FIG. 28 of Asgari). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling between the housing and container of modified Asgari with coupling means comprise grooves to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known coupling means for another for the predictable result of coupling two components. Furthermore, the limitation “for engaging retainers for retaining the fixed bed therein” is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 5, modified Asgari discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the container comprises a central tube. However, modified Asgari does disclose wherein a stirring means is arranged within the container ([0156]). Gantefort further discloses wherein the container comprises a central tube (FIG. 4: recycling section (45)) coupled to the fixed bed ([0158]). In view of Gantefort, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the central tube of Gantefort with the container of modified Asgari to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of enhancing fluid mixing within the container. Regarding the limitation “the retainers adapted for engaging the central tube,” it should be noted that the retainers are not positively recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 6, regarding the limitation “wherein each of the retainers includes a barb adapted for insertion into an open end of the central tube,” it should be noted that the retainers are not positively recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 7, modified Asgari further discloses wherein the removable container further includes a third portion for receiving an agitator (FIG. 28: compartment (220) adapted to container magnetic stirrer; [0156]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Asgari discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the third portion includes a door for receiving the agitator. However, modified Asgari does disclose wherein the third portion receives an agitator and thus intrinsically comprises a covered opening (Asgari at [0156]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the covering of the opening of third portion of modified Asgari with a door to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known covering means for another for the predictable result of covering the opening.
Regarding claim 9, modified Asgari further discloses wherein the third portion includes
one or more openings for allowing fluid flow to enter the container (compartment (220) in fluid communication with inner compartment of the housing and thus has at least one opening; [0156]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Asgari does not explicitly disclose wherein the third portion is adapted to releasably connect to the container. However, modified Asgari does disclose, in another embodiment, that the chambers can be separated from each other (Asgari at [0143]). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Asgari such that the third portion is adapted to releasably connect to the container, since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routing skill in art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have resulted in an apparatus having the added advantage of ease of cleaning and maintenance.
Regarding claims 12-13, modified Asgari further discloses wherein a cap for engaging the container (see Asgari at FIG. 28). Modified Asgari does not explicitly disclose the cap comprising a hinged plate, wherein the hinged plate comprises a releasable locking arrangement for locking with the cap in a closed position. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling between the cap and container of modified Asgari with a hinged plate to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known coupling means for another for the predictable result of coupling two components.
Regarding claim 14, modified Asgari further discloses wherein the first and second portions comprise halves of the container (see FIG. 4 of Gantefort).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asgari in view of Gantefort as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yu (CN 201080454; with English machine translation).
Regarding claim 11, modified Asgari discloses the apparatus according to claim 7. Modified Asgari does not explicitly disclose a retainer comprising a plate with peripheral notches for allowing fluid to pass to the third portion of the container. However, modified Asgari does disclose wherein the third portion is coupled to the container (FIG. 28 of Asgari). Yu discloses an apparatus comprising a housing (FIG. 1: frame 1) coupled to a base (FIG. 5). The apparatus includes a retainer comprising a plate with peripheral notches for allowing fluid to pass to the third portion of the container (FIG. 1: 53a; [0035]). In view of Yu, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling between the third portion and container of modified Asgari with the coupling as disclosed by Yu to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known coupling means for another for the predictable result of coupling two components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Castillo et al (US 2011/0223582) disclose a housing having an internal compartment and a container enclosing a fixed bed arranged within the internal compartment.
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799