Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-30, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 20160364957) in view of Baba (CN 102707449) and Hsu (US 20080158642).
Regarding claim 20 Yuan teaches an apparatus for viewing media on a media display, the apparatus (fig. 5(b)) comprising:
a first polarizer (fig. 1, fig. 5(b), a first polarizing film (1011a) having a first polarization direction) mounted between emitting entities of the media display (fig. 5a, 5b, 1021, [0019] In one example, the display screen is a liquid crystal display screen or an organic light-emitting diode display screen) and a first expected location of an authorized viewer (fig. 1, fig. 5(b), user in the operating room (103)), the emitting entities ([0019]) configured to project the media toward the authorized viewer ([0022] the user can see the image of the operation interface displayed through the first polarizing film by means of the visual device only when he/she enters the operating room),
the first polarizer configured such that light flowing from the emitting entities through the first polarizer and to the authorized viewer is blocked from flowing through a second polarizer (fig. 5b, transparent glass attached with the second polarizing film 1011b having the second polarization direction) disposed between the first expected location of the authorized viewer and a second expected location of an unauthorized viewer who is separated from the authorized viewer by a partition that is transparent and/or semi-transparent, the partition located between the first expected location and the second expected location such that the emitting entities of the media display project the media toward the partition ([0022] According to the embodiments of the present disclosure, the display screen of the display is alternately attached with the first polarizing film having the first polarization direction and the second polarizing film having the second polarization direction which are disposed in the preset mode, the console is provided with the visual device attached with the first polarizing film, and at the same time, in combination with a dual-channel video playing control unit disposed in the display, the operation interface image and other image are respectively displayed in different regions on the display screen, so that the user can see the image of the operation interface displayed through the first polarizing film by means of the visual device only when he/she enters the operating room, and a user outside the operating room is unable to see the image of the operation interface, so as to improve security of user operation, [0042] In one example, the console 102 is provided with a visual device 1021, and the visual device 1021 is attached with the first polarizing film 1011a having the first polarization direction, so that the user in the operating room can see the image of the first video source displayed on the display screen 1011 through the visual device 1021; for example, the image of the first video source may be an operation interface image for the user to operate the teller machine. In one example, the visual device 1021 may be window glass attached with the first polarizing film 1011a having the first polarization direction, [0044] For example, as illustrated in FIG. 5(a), it is assumed that the image of the first video source is displayed as “A”, the user performing self-service operation in the operating room can see the operation interface image “A” displayed on the display screen 1011 through the visual device 1021, and at this time, the user outside the operating room, and even other users in the operating room, cannot see the operation interface image in front of the user,
[0045] In one example, a side of the operating room 103 directly facing the display screen 1011 is provided with transparent glass 1031, and the transparent glass 1031 is attached with the second polarizing film 1011b having the second polarization direction also [0046] , since his/her sight line must still pass through the polarizing film of another polarization direction attached on the transparent glass, he/she still cannot see the operation interface image “A” of the user, which thereby effectively protects security of the user information), and
wherein the media display comprises the first polarizer (fig. 1, fig. 5(b), a first polarizing film (1011a) having a first polarization direction)
Yuan is silent on the first polarizer configured to cancel the second polarizer from transmitting visible light emitted by the emitting entities.
However, Baba teaches the first polarizer configured to cancel the second polarizer from transmitting visible light emitted by the emitting entities ([0069] third polarizer 151 transmits through light of the first polarizer 211, to stop by light of the second polarizer 212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Yuan in light of Baba so that it can include the first polarizer configured to cancel the second polarizer from transmitting visible light emitted by the emitting entities.
The motivation is to provide two lens and one imaging device produces two images.
Yuan is silent on the concept of wherein media display comprises an electrochromic window.
However, Hsu teaches the concept of wherein media display comprises an electrochromic window (fig.1, [0016] The LC panel 200 includes … first polarizer 211 is arranged at an outer surface of the first substrate 210. A color filter 212, a first electrode 214, and a first alignment film 216 are sequentially arranged at an inner surface of the first substrate 210 in that order from top to bottom. A second polarizer 221 is arranged at an outer surface of the second substrate 220. An electrochromic layer 250,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Yuan in light of Hsu so that it can include the concept of wherein media display comprises an electrochromic window.
The motivation is to provide LCD display with an electrochromic layer, capable of functioning well in various environmental light intensity.
Regarding claim 21 Yuan teaches wherein the media display is an organic light emitting diode display and/or a transparent light emitting diode display ([0036]).
Regarding claim 22 Yuan teaches wherein the partition comprises a transparent and/or semi-transparent window, a transparent and/or semi-transparent wall, and/or a transparent and/or semi-transparent door ([0045] fig. 5b).
Regarding claim 23 Yuan teaches wherein the partition comprises at least a portion of an exterior wall of a facility ([0045] fig. 5b).
Regarding claim 24 Yuan teaches wherein the partition comprises glass, polycarbonate plastic, poly methyl methacrylate (PMMA or Acrylic), polyethylene Terephthalate (PET), amorphous copolyester (PETG), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), liquid silicone rubber (LSR) liquid silicone rubber (LSR), cyclinc olefin copolymer, polyethylene (PE), ionomer resin, transparent polypropylene (PP), fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP), styrene methyl methacrylate (SMMA), Styrene Acrylonitrile Resin (SAN), Polystyrene (General Purpose - GPPS), or Methyl Methacrylate Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene (MABS) ([0045][0046] fig. 5b).
Regarding claim 25 Yuan teaches wherein the first polarizer is mounted to,or is part of, a screen of the media display (Abstract: display screen (1011) is alternately attached with a first polarizing film ).
Regarding claim 26 Yuan teaches wherein the first polarizer is mounted to, or is within, a display construct that is the media display (Abstract: display screen (1011) is alternately attached with a first polarizing film).
Regarding claim 27 Yuan teaches wherein the first polarizer is mounted within the display construct between the emitting entities and an external panel of the display construct (Abstract, [0036]).
Regarding claim 28 Yuan teaches wherein the first polarizer is configured to be mounted to a frame that is moveable between the first expected location and the partition (fig. 5a, [0027] FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of another mode of attaching a polarizing film on the display screen of the display in the virtual teller machine system i.e. moveable system).
Regarding claim 29 Yuan teaches wherein the partition comprises a display construct and the second polarizer (fig. 5b, 1011b) is configured to be mounted to, is part of, and/or is disposed within, the display construct (fig. 5b,).
Regarding claim 30 Yuan teaches wherein the second polarizer is configured to be mounted to a frame that is moveable between the first expected location and the second expected location (fig.5b, 1011b indicative of being between places in 1031).
Regarding claim 44 Yuan teaches wherein the media display is configured to couple to a control system (control units (ABSTRACT:1012, 1013, 1014 and 1015)) of a facility of the media display ([0011] In one example, the dual-channel display unit includes a first drive control module and a first video playing module associated with the first video source, and a second drive control module and a second video playing module associated with the second video source).
Claim(s) 34-36, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2016036495) in view of Baba (CN 102707449), Hsu (US 20080158642) and further of Kim (US 20060221067).
Regarding claim 34 Yuan is silent on wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network facilitating control of other functions of a facility of the media display.
However, Kim teaches wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network facilitating control of other functions of a facility of the media display ([0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Yuan in light of Kim so that it can include wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network facilitating control of other functions of a facility of the media display.
The motivation is to provide for outputting private image using public display.
Regarding claim 35 Yuan in view of Kim teach wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network having a cable configured to transmit both communication and power (Kim: fig.2, fig.6a).
Regarding claim 36 Yuan in view of Kim teach wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network configured to transmit: cellular communication, control communication, still picture communication, moving picture communication, sensor data, other media communication or other data communication (Kim: [0038] FIGS. 6a to 6c are configuration diagrams showing examples of wired/wireless communication interfaces located between computer bodies and shutter opening/closing means;).
Regarding claim 38 Yuan in view of Kim teach wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network configured to transmit infrared (IR) signal, and/or radio frequency (RF) signal (Kim: [0081]).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2016036495) in view of Baba (CN 102707449), Hsu (US 20080158642) and Finan (US 20050195090).
Regarding claim 40 Yuan does not teach wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network configured to operatively couple to a power source and configured for power transmission, wherein the power source optionally comprises a main power source, a backup power generator, or an uninterrupted power source (UPS).
However, Finan teaches wherein the media display (fig. 4, LCD) is configured to couple to a network configured to operatively couple to a power source and configured for power transmission, wherein the power source optionally comprises a main power source (fig. 4, 430), a backup power generator, or an uninterrupted power source (UPS) (ABSTRACT; An apparatus is provided that includes an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) configured to be connected to a power distribution network. A communications circuit is also provided. The communications circuit is operatively associated with the UPS and operative to generate a power line carrier status signal on the power distribution network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Yuan in light of Finan so that it can include wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network configured to operatively couple to a power source and configured for power transmission, wherein the power source optionally comprises a main power source, a backup power generator, or an uninterrupted power source (UPS).
The motivation is to provide an apparatus is provided that includes an uninterruptible power supply.
Regarding claim 41 it is now cancelled.
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2016036495) in view of Baba (CN 102707449), Hsu (US 20080158642) and further of in view of O’Keeffe (US 20040160388).
Regarding claim 42 Yuan is silent on wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network configured to utilize at least one wireless protocol that (i) utilizes radio frequency signals and/or (ii) facilitates communication with one or more sensors.
However, O’Keeffe teaches wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network configured to utilize at least one wireless protocol that (i) utilizes radio frequency signals and/or (ii) facilitates communication with one or more sensors ([0111] While the windows with the various visual display panels have been described with the control circuitry of the visual display panels as being programmable and reprogrammable while secured to the window, it will be readily apparent to those skilled in the art that initial programming of the control circuitry may be carried out prior to the visual display being secured to the window. Alternatively, the initial programming could equally well be carried out when the visual display panel is actually secured to the window. Programming and reprogramming of the control circuitry of the visual display panel may be carried out by any suitable communication means and protocol. For example, when secured to the window pane the control circuitry of the visual display panel could be programmed and reprogrammed through any suitable network, for example, wireless network, for example, infrared, blue tooth, or by the use of GSM modules which would communicate with the display.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Yuan in light of O’Keeffe teaching so that it can include wherein the media display is configured to couple to a network configured to utilize at least one wireless protocol that (i) utilizes radio frequency signals and/or (ii) facilitates communication with one or more sensors.
The motivation is to provide a window comprising a window pane wherein a visual display panel is secured to the window, the visual display panel comprising a plurality of individually addressable pixels arranged in a matrix of rows and columns, the pixels being alternately and selectively operable in at least two states, namely, a first state whereby light is transmitted through the panel, and a second state whereby light is scattered, dispersed, reflected or blocked, so that at least one character can be selectively displayed on the panel by selectively operating at least one of the pixels in the second state to form the character to be displayed, and visual access is provided through the panel through the pixels in the first state.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the new reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Zhu US 2018/0286335
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625