DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/22/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 is amended, Claim 2 is canceled, Claims 1, 3-12, 14 and 25-31 are pending, Claims 14 and 25-31 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zang et al. (CN 109244554A -Machine Translation), hereinafter "Zang".
In regard to Claims 1 and 9, Zang et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a thermal composite cell, comprising:
step S1 - unwinding a diaphragm by using a diaphragm unwinding device (Zang, Abstract, [16]).
step S2 - hot-pressing and compositing electrode plates comprising hot-pressing and compositing a first electrode plate on a first side of the diaphragm, and hot-pressing and compositing a second electrode plate on a second side of the diaphragm, wherein the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate have opposite polarities, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are separately hot-pressed and composited on the two sides of the diaphragm (Zang, Abstract, [11-12, 17])
step S3 - performing Z-shaped folding on the diaphragm and the electrode plates comprising folding, in a Z-shaped folding method, the diaphragm on which the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are hot-pressed and composited, and alternately stacking the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate to form a composite stack (Zang, Claim 1, Figure 2)
step S4 - performing pressing to form a cell comprising pressing and forming the composite stack completing the Z-shaped folding into a cell product (Zang, [58-59]).
Zang et al. also discloses wherein in the step S2, a first hot-pressing and compositing device (Upper Roller 200) hot-presses and composites the first electrode plate on the first side of the diaphragm, and a second hot-pressing and compositing device (Lower Roller 200) hot-presses and composites the second electrode plate on the second side of the diaphragm, wherein both the first hot-pressing and compositing device and the second hot-pressing and compositing device have a pre-heating and pressing function and complete the hot-pressing and compositing of the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate through the pre-heating and pressing function (Zang, Abstract, [17, 55]). Zang further discloses after the step S2 is completed, the first electrode plate and the second electrode plates are distributed in a longitudinally staggered manner on the two sides of the diaphragm (Zang, 18]).
In regard to Claim 10, Zang et al. discloses the method for manufacturing a thermal composite cell of claim 1. Zang et al. also discloses wherein the diaphragm is pre-coated with composite glue; and in a process of hot-pressing and compositing the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate , the diaphragm pre-coated with the composite glue is pre-heated, the composite glue on the diaphragm is softened through a pre-heating operation, the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are pressed onto corresponding positions on the diaphragm and kept pressed, and the softened composite glue bonds the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate to the corresponding positions on the two sides of the diaphragm (Zang, [56]), which is a known technique to the skilled artisan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zang et al. (CN 109244554A -Machine Translation), hereinafter "Zang" in view of Lee et al. (US 20200127317 A1), hereinafter "Lee". Zang and Lee are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode stack assembly.
In regard to Claims 3-6, Zang et al. discloses the method for manufacturing a thermal composite cell of claim 1. While Zang et al. discloses wherein before the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are hot-pressed and composited on the diaphragm, a first electrode plate is conveyed to the first side of the diaphragm, a second electrode plate is conveyed to the second side of the diaphragm, and after the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are in place, the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are hot-pressed and composited on the two sides of the diaphragm (Zang, Figure 3), it is silent as to a rotating table used to convey the materials.
While the desired result of conveying the first and second electrode plate to the hot pressing and compositing stage is achieved in Zang, the skilled artisan of Zang would be aware of other methods used in the field to achieve the same result, such as the rotating tables disclosed in Lee et al. which teaches a first and second electrode being rotationally conveyed on rotating tables (electrode feeders) to a preset position wherein a plurality of suction surfaces are used to fix the electrode plates in a negative pressure suction manner (vacuum) wherein the number of suction surfaces is not particularly limited and may reasonably be up to eight if the skilled artisan requires that many to achieve the benefits taught in Lee et al. which are that the electrode members are stably gripped or released for precise control (Lee, Abstract, [0123-0124, 0140-0142]). It is also well known to the skilled artisan that vacuum adsorption pads (suction surfaces) are capable of being independently controlled by negative pressure control devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a rotating table with suction surfaces to convey the first and second electrode plates as taught in Lee et al. to convey the electrode plates to the hot pressing stage as disclosed in Zang et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Lee and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regard to Claim 7, Zang in view of Lee et al. discloses the method for manufacturing a thermal composite cell of claim 4. While Zang et al. discloses a feeding manipulator (kneading rollers) to convey the electrode plates from a material container (710, 720) to a position where it can be further processed(Zang, Figure 3, [41,52]), it is silent as to the electrode plate being positioned on an electrode plate positioning platform and being conveyed to a work station corresponding to the first suction surface and further lifting the first electrode plate in place, wherein the electrode plate lifted in place is suctioned and fixed by the suction surface. Although the desired result of accurately conveying the material to reduce the risk of sheet misalignment is achieved in Zang (Zang, Abstract, [3]), the skilled artisan would reasonably be aware of other methods to achieve the same result.
Lee et al. discloses the electrode plate being positioned on an electrode plate positioning platform and being conveyed to a work station corresponding to the first suction surface and further lifting the first electrode plate in place, wherein the electrode plate lifted in place is suctioned and fixed by the suction surface (Lee, Abstract, [0123-0124, 0140-0142], Figures 16-17) with the benefit of that configuration being electrode plate alignment (Lee, [0128-0130]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a suction surface and positioning platform to position and convey the electrode plate as taught in Lee et al. as the conveying means in Zang et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Lee and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zang et al. (CN 109244554A -Machine Translation), hereinafter "Zang" in view of Wu et al. (CN 205752408 U - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Wu". Zang and Wu are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode stack assembly.
In regard to Claim 8, Zang in view of Lee et al. discloses the method for manufacturing a thermal composite cell of claim 4. While Zang et al. discloses positioning the electrode plates through a continuous collision detection (CCDJ positioning device (Zang, [53]), and Lee discloses positioning platforms with alignment devices (Lee, [0140]), it is silent as to a four-station rotating positioning platforms needed to achieve the desired result of aligning the electrode plates before being transferred to the hot pressing station.
Wu et al. discloses a multi-station rotating positioning platform that positions the electrode plates through a continuous collision detection (CCDJ positioning device wherein the utility model can be integrated with insulating sheet punching, sheet feeding, sheet folding and putting into shell step, whole process is carried out automatically, without manual control, which saves labor cost; the production process is not performed continuously, compared with existing technology, greatly improved production efficiency (Wu, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the multi station rotating positioning platform with CCD positioning as taught in Wu et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Wu and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a variation of the process for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zang et al. (CN 109244554A -Machine Translation), hereinafter "Zang" in view of Kato et al. (JP5716701B2 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kato". Zang and Kato are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode stack assembly.
In regard to Claims 11-12, Zang et al. discloses the method for manufacturing a thermal composite cell of claim 1. While Zang et al. discloses a first and second electrode plate which are hot-pressed and composited and alternately folded in a Z shape wherein the diaphragm is provided between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate, and after the folding is completed, in the step S4, the composite stack that is alternately folded in the Z shape is pressed and formed into the cell product by a pressing device (Zang, Claim 1, Figure 2 [58-59]), it is silent as to the use of folding thimbles to achieve the Z fold or pre-folding the diaphragm.
Kato et al. discloses high-speed lamination by forming a crease in advance before folding the laminate and continuously folding the laminate with a plurality of lifting pins (Kato, [8,10, 21]) with the benefits of improving the efficiency of the step of folding into a Z shape (Kato, [20]). Therefore, provide a crease at a position that aligns with a crease when folding into a Z shape in advance of winding the diaphragm and folding using a plurality of pins as taught in Kato et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Kato and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a separate heating and compositing step for each device) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The upper and lower rollers of Zang are each separately identifiable structural components which both have heating and pressurization functions and which each process and act upon an opposite polarity electrode positioned on the respective opposite separators sides, wherein each device causes each electrode to bond to the separator and thus under the broadest reasonable interpretation the upper and lower rollers of Zang are considered first and second heating and compositing devices.
Further, the limitations of step S2 of canceled claim 2 and currently amended claim 1, do not require sequential operation, the devices to be longitudinally spaced, or two complete machines and does not restrict simultaneously processing the first and second electrodes as performed by each device in Zang.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhao et al. (CN 211629215 U) which discloses a locating mechanism of lithium battery pole piece, comprising a control circuit, a CCD positioning mechanism for CCD positioning the single pole piece conveyed by the conveying device and a collecting mechanism for collecting the multiple pole pieces conveyed by the conveying device (Zhao, Abstract)
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725