DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5 – 15, 17, 18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US 20170338666) in view of Rea (US 20210175729).
Regarding claim 1, Christensen teaches a method of charging a secondary battery, the secondary battery including a positive electrode, a negative electrode including a negative electrode current collector, and a non-aqueous electrolyte, wherein during charging, lithium metal deposits in the negative electrode, and during discharging, the lithium metal dissolves in the non-aqueous electrolyte (paragraph [0003] – [0004] teaches charges a secondary battery, such as a lithium cell, which includes a negative and positive electrode wherein during charging, lithium metal deposits in the negative electrode, and during discharging, the lithium metal dissolves in the non-aqueous electrolyte),
the method including: a step of charging the secondary battery based on any of a first charging profile and a second charging profile (Figures 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D and paragraph [0070] discloses a plurality of charging profiles. Paragraphs [0009] and [0059] discloses a plurality of charging profiles, interpreted as first and second charging modes),
wherein the first charging profile includes at least two charging steps (paragraph [0059] discloses wherein a first charging mode may be two steps such as a constant current and constant voltage),
the second charging profile includes more charging steps than the first charging profile, at a starting point of the step of charging the secondary battery (Paragraph [0058] teaches wherein the battery management system switches between two or more charging modes, thus the second charging profile may include more charging steps than the first charging profile. Figure 4 and [0066] discloses wherein a second charging mode may include a plurality of charging steps, including more than a first charging mode disclosed [0059]. The second charging mode steps include constant voltage, CV1, CV2, CV3, CV4, CV5.
the first charging profile is selected when the secondary battery has a predetermined threshold, and the second charging profile is selected when the secondary battery has the threshold or more (paragraph [0060] discloses wherein the charging profiles or charging modes are switches based on when an internal battery state reaches a threshold value).
wherein the first charging profile includes a charging step S11 at a first electric current density I1, and a subsequent charging step S12 at a second electric current density I2 higher than the first electric current density I1, and the second charging profile includes a charging step S21 at a third electric current density I3, and a subsequent charging step S22 at a fourth electric current density I4 higher than the third electric current density I3 (figures 3A-3C shows charging profiles with different current densities applied to the battery).
wherein the second charging profile has a charging step S23 subsequent to the charging step S22 at a fifth electric current density I5 higher than the fourth electric current density I4 (figures 3A-3C shows charging profiles with different current densities applied to the battery. Different and higher current densities are applied to the battery in a “stepwise” fashion).
Christensen teaches selecting different charging and discharging profiles based on an internal battery state, but does not explicitly teach wherein the internal state is a depth of discharge of less than a predetermined threshold and the second charging profile is selected when the secondary battery has a depth of discharge of the threshold or more.
Rea teaches selecting different charging and discharging profiles based on an internal battery state, but does not explicitly teach wherein the internal state is a depth of discharge of less than a predetermined threshold and the second charging profile is selected when the secondary battery has a depth of discharge of the threshold or more (paragraphs [0021] and [0033] discloses wherein parameters such as a battery depth of discharge is used to select profiles, interpreted as determine a desired range of operating parameters or conditions. These conditions determine the type of charging cycles are provided to the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen reference with the charging system of the Rea reference so that overcharging of the battery is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Rea reference in paragraph [0003] wherein overcharging of the battery is prevented.
Regarding claim 2, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold for the depth of discharge is, 50% or more and 70% or less.
Rea teaches wherein the threshold for the depth of discharge is, 50% or more and 70% or less (paragraph [0021] discloses wherein the depth of discharge threshold is 90 – 5%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen reference with the charging system of the Rea reference so that overcharging of the battery is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Rea reference in paragraph [0003] wherein overcharging of the battery is prevented.
Regarding claim 5, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the third electric current density I3 is smaller than the first electric current density I1 (figures 3A-3C shows charging profiles with different current densities applied to the battery. Different and higher current densities are applied to the battery in a “stepwise” fashion. Figure 4 shows a variety of charging paths and paragraph [0068] discloses wherein any combination of charging may be provided).
Regarding claim 6, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein I1/I2>I3/I4 is satisfied (figures 3A-3C shows charging profiles with different current densities applied to the battery. Different and higher current densities are applied to the battery in a “stepwise” fashion. Figure 4 shows a variety of charging paths and paragraph [0068] discloses wherein any combination of charging may be provided).
Regarding claim 7, Christensen teaches method of charging a secondary battery of claim 6, wherein an amount of charged electricity Q1 in the charging step S11, an amount of charged electricity Q2 in the charging step S12, an amount of charged electricity Q3 in the charging step S21, and an amount of charged electricity Q4 in the charging step S22 satisfy Q1/Q2<Q3/Q4 (figures 3A-3C shows charging profiles with different current densities applied to the battery. Different and higher current densities are applied to the battery in a “stepwise” fashion. Figure 4 shows a variety of charging paths and paragraph [0068] discloses wherein any combination of charging may be provided).
Regarding claim 8, Christensen teaches method of charging a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the first electric current density I1 is 3.0 mA/cm2 or less, and the second electric current density I2 is 4.0 mA/cm2 or more (figure 3A shows wherein the stepwise charging includes current density values of 3.0 mA/cm2 or less. Figure 4 shows current density values of 4.0 mA/cm2 or more).
Regarding claim 9, Christensen teaches method of charging a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the amount of charged electricity in the charging step S11 is 5% or more and 15% or less of the total amount of charged electricity in the step of charging the secondary battery (figure 3C shows wherein an amount of charge electricity is between 5% and 15% of the total amount of charged electricity).
Regarding claim 10, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the third electric current density is 1 mA/cm2 or less, the fourth electric current density is larger than the third electric current density, and 4 mA/cm2 or less, and the fifth electric current density is larger than the fourth electric current density, and 4 mA/cm2 or more (figures 3A and 4 show a variety of current densities applied to the battery).
Regarding claim 11, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the amount of charged electricity in the charging step S21 is 5% or more and 15% or less of the total amount of charged electricity in the step of charging the secondary battery (figure 3C shows wherein an amount of charge electricity is between 5% and 15% of the total amount of charged electricity).
Regarding claim 12, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 11, wherein an amount of charged electricity in the charging step S21 and the charging step S22 in total is 500% or less of the total amount of charged electricity (figure 3C shows wherein an amount of charge electricity is 500% or less of the total amount of charged electricity).
Regarding claim 13, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the negative electrode current collector is a copper foil or a copper alloy foil (paragraph [0026] discloses wherein the negative electrode includes copper).
Regarding claim 14, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the negative electrode includes the negative electrode current collector, and a sheet form lithium metal attached to a surface of the negative electrode current collector (paragraph [0003] discloses wherein the negative electrode includes a lithium metal on the surface).
Regarding claim 15, Christensen teaches method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the positive electrode includes a composite oxide including lithium and a metal Me other than lithium, and the metal Me includes at least a transition metal (paragraph [0026] discloses wherein the positive electrode, the cathode includes a composite oxide including lithium and another method other than lithium).
Regarding claim 17, Christensen teaches method of charging a secondary battery of claim 15, wherein the composite oxide has a layered rock salt type crystal structure, and the metal Me includes Ni at least as the transition metal (paragraphs [0027]-[0028] discloses wherein the electrolyte includes a salt such as a lithium salt. Paragraph [0026] discloses wherein a nickel is used as the transition metal).
Regarding claim 18, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 17, wherein the composite oxide is represented by a general formula (1): Li.aNibM1-bO2, in the general formula (1), 0.95≤a≤1.2 and 0.65≤b≤1 are satisfied, and M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Co, Mn, Al, Ti, Fe, Nb, B, Mg, Ca, Sr, Zr, and W ([0026] discloses Li.aNibM1-bO2 and m is Mn).
Regarding claim 21, Christensen teaches a secondary battery charging system (paragraph [0003] – [0004] teaches charging a secondary battery), comprising:
a secondary battery, including a positive electrode, a negative electrode including a negative electrode current collector, and a non-aqueous electrolyte wherein during charging, lithium metal deposits in the negative electrode, during discharging, the lithium metal dissolves in the non-aqueous electrolyte (paragraph [0003] – [0004] teaches charges a secondary battery, such as a lithium cell, which includes a negative and positive electrode wherein during charging, lithium metal deposits in the negative electrode, and during discharging, the lithium metal dissolves in the non-aqueous electrolyte),
a charging control unit controls charging of the secondary battery based on any of a first charging profile and a second charging profile (Figures 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D and paragraph [0070] discloses a plurality of charging profiles. Paragraphs [0009] and [0059] discloses a plurality of charging profiles, interpreted as first and second charging modes),
the first charging profile includes at least two charging steps (paragraph [0059] discloses wherein a first charging mode may be two steps such as a constant current and constant voltage),
the second charging profile includes more charging steps than the first charging profile (Paragraph [0058] teaches wherein the battery management system switches between two or more charging modes, thus the second charging profile may include more charging steps than the first charging profile. Figure 4 and [0066] discloses wherein a second charging mode may include a plurality of charging steps, including more than a first charging mode disclosed [0059]. The second charging mode steps include constant voltage, CV1, CV2, CV3, CV4, CV5).
and the first charging profile is selected when the depth of discharge is less than a predetermined threshold, and the second charging profile is selected when the depth of discharge is the threshold or more (paragraph [0060] discloses wherein the charging profiles or charging modes are switches based on when an internal battery state reaches a threshold value.
Christensen does not explicitly teach a DOD detector that detects a depth of discharge of the secondary battery, and the DOD detector measures a depth of discharge of the secondary battery before a start of charging of the secondary battery.
Rea teaches wherein a DOD detector that detects a depth of discharge of the secondary battery, and the DOD detector measures a depth of discharge of the secondary battery before a start of charging of the secondary battery (paragraph [0030] teaches wherein depth of discharge is measured. paragraphs [0021] and [0033] discloses wherein parameters such as a battery depth of discharge is used to select profiles, interpreted as determine a desired range of operating parameters or conditions. These conditions determine the type of charging cycles are provided to the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen reference with the charging system of the Rea reference so that overcharging of the battery is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Rea reference in paragraph [0003] wherein overcharging of the battery is prevented.
Regarding claim 22, Christensen teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 21, wherein the negative electrode includes the negative electrode current collector, and a sheet form lithium metal attached to a surface of the negative electrode current collector (paragraph [0003] discloses wherein the negative electrode includes a lithium metal on the surface).
Regarding claim 23, Christensen teaches method of charging a secondary battery of claim 21, wherein the positive electrode includes a composite oxide including lithium and a metal Me other than lithium, and the metal Me includes at least a transition metal (paragraph [0026] discloses wherein the positive electrode, the cathode includes a composite oxide including lithium and another method other than lithium).
Claims 16 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen (US 20170338666) in view of Rea (US 20210175729) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Zhang (US 20160240896).
Regarding claim 16, Christensen and Rea teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 15, wherein a molar ratio of a total amount of Li included in the positive electrode and the negative electrode, mLi, relative to an amount of the metal Me included in the composite oxide, mMe: mLi/mMe is 1.2 or less.
Zhang teaches wherein a molar ratio of a total amount of Li included in the positive electrode and the negative electrode, mLi, relative to an amount of the metal Me included in the composite oxide, mMe: mLi/mMe is 1.2 or less (paragraph [0069] – [0070] discloses a molar ratio of less than 1.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Rea reference with the charging system of the Zhang reference so that battery life extended and safety hazards are prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [0005] wherein battery life is extended and safety hazards are prevented.
Regarding claim 19, Christensen and Rea teaches the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an anion, and the anion includes an anion of an oxalate complex.
Zhang teaches wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an anion, and the anion includes an anion of an oxalate complex (paragraph [0063] discloses wherein an non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an anion, and the anion includes an anion of an oxalate complex including a lithium difluorooxalateborate (LiDFOB) anion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Rea reference with the charging system of the Zhang reference so that battery life extended and safety hazards are prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [0005] wherein battery life is extended and safety hazards are prevented.
Regarding claim 20, Christensen and Rea teach the method of charging a secondary battery of claim 19, but does not explicitly teach wherein the anion of the oxalate complex includes difluorooxalateborate anion.
Zhang teaches wherein the anion of the oxalate complex includes difluorooxalateborate anion (paragraph [0063] discloses wherein an non-aqueous electrolyte includes a lithium ion and an anion, and the anion includes an anion of an oxalate complex including a lithium difluorooxalateborate (LiDFOB) anion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Christensen and Rea reference with the charging system of the Zhang reference so that battery life extended and safety hazards are prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Zhang reference in paragraph [0005] wherein battery life is extended and safety hazards are prevented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Christensen reference does not explicitly teach or suggest increasing charging densities such as I1 < I2 < I3 <I4. Applicant argues that the combination of the Christensen and Rea does not suggest the claimed charging control because Christensen merely teaches stepwise charging and multiple charging modes, while Rea generally teaches controlling charging conditions based on battery state parameters such as Depth of Discharge (DOD). Applicant further argues that neither reference teaches selecting a particular multi-stage charging profile, including an additional high-current charging step, based specifically on the magnitude of DOD.
The arguments are not persuasive. As explained in the rejection above, Christensen teaches charging a battery according to a stepwise charging process in which different charging current densities are applied to during successive charging steps. Thus, Christensen establishes the desirability and known practice of charging battery using multiple sequential charging current densities. Christensen further teaches that different combinations of charging conditions may be employed defined in paragraph [0035] wherein when the charging process switches between different modes when the battery reaches different internal states. Rea, on the other hand, teaches controlling charging conditions based on the state of the battery, including depth of discharge, thus Rea provides the teaching that the recharging conditions may be selected or controlled as a function of the battery’s DOD. For these reasons, the argument is not persusasive.
Accordingly, the teachings of Christensen and Rea are not being combined merely because they each independently relate to battery charging. Rather, Christensen provides known multi-stage charging technique, while Rea provides a known criterion, a battery state, including a DOD for controlling charging conditions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to apply Rea’s DOD based control to Christensen’s known stepwise charging process in order to select or control the charging profile according to the battery’s state of charge/ discharge. The applicant argues that the Christensen does not disclose or suggest switching the structure of the charging profile itself, (ie the number of charging steps or progression of current density) depending on the magnitude of DOD, is not persuasive. The proposed combination does not require Christensen, standing alone to expressly disclose such a relationship. Rea supplies a DOD based control, while Christensen supplies the sequential charging steps and different current densities. For these reasons the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20160036255 A1 Fast-Charging Of Rechargeable Batteries Aronov; Daniel Et Al.
Us 20220239122 A1 Server-Side Rechargeable Batteries Baumann; Michael
Us 20170070061 A1 Optimal Fast Battery Charging Barsukov; Yevgen Pavlovich Et Al.
Us 20220223885 A1 Electrochemical Device Beh; Eugene S. Et Al.
Us 20150015210 A1 Voltage-Enhanced Energy Storage Devices Bradwell; David J.
Us 20180026457 A1 Battery Charging Profiles Delevski; Dimitar
Us 20180301767 A1 Managing A Battery Ferran; Benoit Et Al.
Us 20190123565 A1 Battery Charging Control Apparatus Hsiao W Et Al.
Us 10536020 B2 Charging Control Apparatus Hsiao; Wei-Min Et Al.
Us 20060083955 A1 Mobile Type Information Terminal Kanouda; Akihiko Et Al.
Us 20200132779 A1 Battery Charging Systems Kechmir; Mohammed Et Al.
Us 20160276723 A1 Electrochemical Cell Krishnan; Ramkumar Et Al.
Us 20170104363 A1 Rechargeable Aluminum Ion Battery Mukherjee; Rahul Et Al.
Us 20210013554 A1 Monitoring An Energy Accumulator Proebstle; Hartmut
US 20200020989 A1 Method For Charging Secondary Battery Li; Ximeng Et Al.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859