DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is amended by the term “having a single average particle diameter of 0 .1 to 40 µm….”, wherein the limiting word “single” has not been disclosed before and in fact on the pages of 26-27 of the submitted specification a variety of Zefiac 300 series are disclosed as a component of the claimed grease composition with no reference to “having a single average particle diameter”..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendall (US 2007/031686 A1) in view of Kaneko (JP2019 167429 A) as evidenced by Examples of commercially available ZEFIAC (Data Sheet, 2025).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Kendall teaches a thermally conductive grease (abstract, 35) for electrical equipment (i.e. microprocessor, 6, 10-11) composition comprising a liquid resin containing (A) polyols and polyethers; [21], and inorganic filler such as aluminum nitride; [24].
Regarding claims 1-4 and 7, Kendall does not teach the instantly claimed (B) poly(meth)-acrylic based particles soluble in organic solvent with a solubility parameter of 7.8 to 10.1. However, the related art of Kaneko teaches a thermally (heat) sensitive resin composition comprising particles of polymethacrylic acid such as Zefiac F325; [72], as is identically disclosed by applicant’s disclosure; [Pg.Pub. 2023/0392008 A1: 61], thus having the same SP values. Note that the Kaneko’s Zefiac F325 has particle size of 1 micron which renders the limitation obvious. Kendal and Kaneko are related art that of application/utilization of polymethacrylic polymers in particulate form due to their versatile physical properties in different chemical matrices. It should be noted that instant Pg.Pub. uses the polymer particle for its gelation properties as mean of heat dissipation: [25]. Kendall, on the other hand, teaches the amounts of carrier oil as low as 0.5, 1 or 2%; [19], and polyether dispersant for liquid resin in amount of 0.5-50%; [23]. As consequence, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the polymethacrylic acid particles of Kaneko by adding it to Kendall’s liquid resin (grease) with the motivation of enhancing the resin’s stability and facilitating its heat transfer by dissipation. Kaneko teaches (instant claims 2-4, 7) particle size of 0.3-10 micron; [74], and a degree of polymerization 4000-40,000; [72], polyalkyl methacrylic particles; [71, 73], wherein the composition is gelled (swelling) by heating; [75, 121].
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Kendall teaches a resin comprising a carries oil in the range of 0-49.5%; [6, 19], and dispersant no more than 20 or 10%; [23], thus rendering the above 50% amount of polyether (in absence or lower amounts of carrier oil) in the resin composition.is rendered obvious. Kendall (claim 8) teaches a micro-processor, a heat generating body,[4, 10-11, 35], and the instantly claimed grease as a heat dissipating grease; [abstract].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2025/12/08 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Because;
In response to applicant’s argument (pages 5-6) that; “wherein the thermally
conductive particles are a mixture of at least three distributions of thermally
conductive particles." (Emphasis added). Kendall at Abstract; see also claims 1-3, 7-9, 11, 13-15, 17-19, 28, and 29, and paragraphs [0006}, [0025}-[0026}, and [0029}-[0030}. In contrast, amended claim 1 of the present application is directed to a single average particle diameter. In other words, Kendall teaches away from amended claim 1.”, the argument is not persuasive for two reasons. I)- The term “single average particle diameter: has not been disclosed by the applicant’s submitted specification. II)- The guiding independent claim 1 language of the “comprising” type and thus allows for presence of any other similar ingredient or component that does not alter the physio-chemical nature of composition is permissible.
In response to applicant’s argument (pages 6-7) that; “Based on this, it is clear that at least one of the purposes of Kendall is to provide improved flowability to allow for easier application. Further, Kendall achieves this purpose and advantage by providing at least three distributions of the thermally conductive particles. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not modify Kendall to have only a single average particle diameter as recited in amended claim 1, as this would go against the purpose of Kendall. Therefore, Kendall does not teach each feature of amended claim 1.”, it is noted that the applicant’s assertion regarding Kendal’s paragraph [0029] on middle diameter distribution, largest diameter distribution and on mean diameter of smallest distribution has no bearing on the scope of the instant claim 1, since the limitation is only construed according to its explanation from the submitted specification (pages 26-27). and no more.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/M.R.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/02/02
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767