DETAILED ACTION
WATER SUPPLY MECHANISM AND AUTOMATIC CLEANING
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05-12-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6,11,13-23 are currently pending and have been examined. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: water return mechanism in claims 1 and 13, and their respective dependent claims.
Examiner is interpreting the water return mechanism as a water absorbing roller and a recycle rod as disclosed in applicant’s specification (see para 00143 and 00147) or equivalent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN102488482A) in view of Ando (US4173054A).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a water outlet device (13+11, figure 1), wherein the water outlet device is connected to a cleaning liquid outlet (14, figure 1) of a clean water tank (6, figure 1) of the wet cleaning assembly, and a cleaning liquid (“In use, the mop disc is to be cleaned ground dragging starts up the cleaning switch for controlling the motor controller; the spray pump and suction pump running water sucked by suction of a spraying pump. the filter and an electromagnetic water inlet valve into the spray pump of water inlet, the cleaning wheel is by spray nozzle of a spraying pump, the cleaning wheel and water; cleaning wheels for cleaning the ground mopping water used circularly in the catchment basin via the water collecting port under the centrifugal force of the cleaning wheel to rotate”; abstract) in the clean water tank flows to the water outlet device through the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank and is transported to a surface to be cleaned through the water outlet device; and wherein the wet cleaning assembly comprises a power mechanism (3, figure 1) and a water return mechanism (22 and 17, figure 1), the power mechanism comprises a motor (3, figure 1) and a power transmission device (“the motor 3 drives”), the motor simultaneously drives the water supply mechanism and the water return mechanism to move synchronously through the power transmission device (“the motor 3 drives the spray pump 1, water pump 2 and a cleaning plate 7 rotate”).
Lin fails to teach the motor rotates clockwise.
Ando floor sweeper that washes the floor and wipes off stains, that includes a motor that rotates clockwise, this helps provide a better wiping operation of the floor when using the cleaning device (col 6 lines 10-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin to have a motor that rotates clockwise based on the teachings of Ando. This modification would help provide a better wiping operation of the floor when using the cleaning device. (see Ando col 6 lines 10-21).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lin teaches wherein the water outlet device is provided with a distributor (see Lin11, figure 1) , and the distributor is configured to uniformly apply the cleaning liquid onto the surface to be cleaned.
Regarding claim 3, modified Lin teaches wherein the distributor comprises at least one of a continuous opening (see Lin11, figure 1) and a combination of several small, disconnected openings (see Lin 11, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lin teaches wherein the distributor comprises at least one of a nozzle, a water dripping hole (see Lin11, figure 1) or a soaked cloth.
Regarding claim 5, modified Lin teaches wherein the water outlet device is provided with a connection port (see annotated figure below), and the water outlet device is connected to the cleaning liquid outlet (see Lin 14, figure 1) of the clean water tank (6, figure 1) through the connection port (see Lin discloses “To the ground, ground control the spray pump 2 stops watering, the water pump 1 and the water inlet 14 and an electromagnetic water inlet valve 23 is connected, an electromagnetic water inlet valve 23 communicates with a filter 4, a filter 4 connected with the pan 15, pan 15 and 6 connected with 6 of water pan 15 suction filter 4, an electromagnetic water inlet valve 23 to enter into the inlet 14 the spray pump 1, upper nozzle 12 by spray pump 1 via the nozzle 13 to the cleaning wheel 19. cleaning the ground, filter 23 is provided with a water joint 27 for adding water to the basin 6.”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lin teaches a clean water pump (see Lin1, figure 1) is communicated with the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank.
Regarding claim 11, modified Lin teaches a clean water pump pipe (see annotated figure below), wherein the clean water pump (see Lin1, figure 1) is communicated with the cleaning liquid outlet (see Lin14, figure 1) of the clean water tank through the clean water pump pipe.
Claim(s) 13-14,16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US20190290089A1) in view of Lin (CN102488482A) and Ando (US4173054A).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson teaches a water outlet device (para 0103,0118), wherein the water outlet device (para 0103-0104,0118) is connected to a cleaning liquid outlet (para 0103) of a clean water tank of the wet cleaning assembly (451, figure 23) , and a cleaning liquid in the clean water tank flows to the water outlet device (para 0103-0105,0118) through the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank (para 0092-0104) and is transported to a surface to be cleaned through the water outlet device (para 0103-0105); wherein the wet cleaning assembly comprises a power mechanism a power mechanism (see Johnson para 0041,0048,0090 0101,0112 brushroll motor) and a water return mechanism (see Johnson “recovery system” and 441; para 0092 0105-0106,0108), the power mechanism comprises a motor and a power transmission device (see Johnson para 0041,0048,0090 0101,0112 brushroll motor).
However, Johnson fails to teach the motor simultaneously drives the water supply mechanism and the water return mechanism to move synchronously through the power transmission device.
Lin teaches a mopping plate that includes a motor (3, figure 1) that the motor simultaneously drives the water supply mechanism and the water return mechanism to move synchronously through the power transmission device (“the motor 3 drives the spray pump 1, water pump 2 and a cleaning plate 7 rotate”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to have motor simultaneously drives the water supply mechanism and the water return mechanism to move synchronously through the power transmission device based on the teachings of Li. This modification would provide the cleaning device with a simplified way to control components of the cleaning device, and provide a way to easily recycle cleaning liquid used. (see Lin abstract)
Further, Johnson fails to teach when the motor rotates clockwise.
Ando floor sweeper that washes the floor and wipes off stains, that includes a motor that rotates clockwise, this helps provide a better wiping operation of the floor when using the cleaning device (col 6 lines 10-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Lin to have a motor that rotates clockwise based on the teachings of Ando. This modification would help provide a better wiping operation of the floor when using the cleaning device. (see Ando col 6 lines 10-21).
Regarding claim 14, modified Johnson teaches the water supply mechanism(see Johnson “fluid delivery system” 0103-0104,0118; figures 18-23); is connected to the mobile platform (see Johnson 412, figure 18 and 20).
Regarding claim 16, modified Johnson teaches the wet cleaning assembly (see Johnson para 0092,0094-0110) further comprises at least one cleaning head (see Johnson dirty inlet and 489, para 0108), the water return mechanism (see Johnson “recovery system” and 441; para 0092 0105-0106,0108) the cleaning head is configured to clean the surface to be cleaned, the water return mechanism is configured to collect a dirty cleaning liquid on the surface to be cleaned, and the clean water tank (see Johnson 451, para 0092-0104 and see lin 22 and 17, figure 1) is configured to store the cleaning liquid.
Regarding claim 17, modified Johnson teaches the wet cleaning assembly further comprises the power mechanism (see Johnson para 0041,0048,0090 0101,0112 brushroll motor and see Lin “the motor 3 drives the spray pump 1, water pump 2 and a cleaning plate 7 rotate”) configured to drive the wet cleaning assembly to move relative to the mobile platform.
Regarding claim 18, modified Johnson teaches the water outlet device (see Johnson para 0103) is provided with a distributor (see Johnson 452, para 0103), and the distributor is configured to uniformly apply the cleaning liquid onto the surface to be cleaned.
Regarding claim 19, modified Johnson teaches wherein the distributor comprises at least one of a continuous opening and a combination of several small disconnected openings. (see Johnson para 0103).
Regarding claim 20, modified Johnson teaches wherein the distributor comprises at least one of a nozzle, a water dripping hole (see Johnson para 0103 discloses distributor has hole to allow fluid to exit), and a soaked cloth.
Regarding claim 21, modified Johnson teaches the water outlet device ( see Johnson para 0103-0105,0118) is provided with a connection port (see Johnson 435, para 0104), and the water outlet device (see Johnson para 0103-0105,0118 describes fluid path of liquid ) is connected to the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank (see Johnson 451 para 0092-0105) through the connection port.
Regarding claim 22, modified Johnson teaches wherein the clean water pump (see Johnson 453, para 0092-0106) is communicated with the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank.
Regarding claim 23, modified Johnson teaches a clean water pump pipe (see Johnson 436, para 0104), wherein a clean water pump (see Johnson 453, para 0104) is communicated with the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank through the clean water pump pipe (see Johnson para 0118).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US20190290089A1) in view of Lin (CN102488482A) and Ando (US4173054A) as applied to claim 13 in view of Chen (CN207886173U).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson as modified above teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach the water supply mechanism is connected to the mobile platform through a lifting mechanism.
Chen discloses cleaning appliance (abstract) that includes water supply mechanism (8,figure 2) is connected to the mobile platform (3, figure 2) through a lifting mechanism (5 and 15, figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson’s so that the water supply mechanism is connected to the mobile platform through a lifting mechanism based on the teachings of Chen. This modification would help allow apparatus to perform different cleaning functions (see abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05-12-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 13, and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the prior rejection of record.
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723