DETAILED ACTION
Water Supply Mechanism and Automatic Cleaning Apparatus
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 09-30-2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6,11,13-23 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 12 and 24 have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendments overcome the drawing objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed 06-30-2025. The previous rejection has been updated due to the applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09-30-2025, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 13 their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by
amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the
prior rejection of record to teach the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: water return mechanism and power mechanism in claims 16 and 17.
Examiner is interpreting the water return mechanism as a water absorbing roller and a recycle rod as disclosed in applicant specification (see para 00143 and 00147) or equivalent structure.
Examiner is interpreting the power mechanism as a motor and power transmission as disclosed in applicant specification (see para 00163) or equivalent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,11,12-14,16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US20190290089A1) in view of Li (US20190274508A1) and Al (CN10369011A).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches a water outlet device (para 0103,0118), wherein the water outlet device (para 0103-0104,0118) is connected to a cleaning liquid outlet (para 0103) of a clean water tank of the wet cleaning assembly (451, figure 23) , and a cleaning liquid in the clean water tank flows to the water outlet device (para 0103-0105,0118) through the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank (para 0092-0104) and is transported to a surface to be cleaned through the water outlet device (para 0103-0105);
wherein the cleaning assembly further comprises a dirty water tank (444, figure 21; para 0092), and a water absorbing amount of the dirty water tank (para 0105-0106) a clean water pump of the clean water tank (0104-0105).
However, Johnson fails to teach a sewage pump, and the water absorbing amount of sewage pump of the dirty water tank is greater than a water discharging amount of a clean water pump of the clean water tank.
Johnson does disclose that recovery system for removing liquid can be formed with different components (see para 0105).
Li teaches a cleaning device (abstract) that performs sweeping and mopping where the devices have a clean water pump (54, para 0029,0034) and a sewage pump (55 para 0029,0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to include a sewage pump based on the teachings of Li. This modification would help allow for better control the wastewater recovery process.
Al teaches a cleaning device that has improved absorbing sewage efficiency, by including additional sewage absorption devices. (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to include water absorbing amount of that is greater than a water discharging amount of a clean water based on the teachings of Al. This modification would help improve wastewater absorption.
Further, modified Johnson would disclose a sewage pump, and the water absorbing amount of sewage pump of the dirty water tank is greater than a water discharging amount of a clean water pump of the clean water tank. (see Li abstract, para 0029, 0034-0035 & Al abstract)
Regarding claim 2, modified Johnson teaches the water outlet device ( see Johnson para 0103) is provided with a distributor (see Johnson 452, para 0103), and the distributor is configured to uniformly apply the cleaning liquid onto the surface to be cleaned.
Regarding claim 3, modified Johnson teaches the distributor comprises at least one of a continuous opening (see Johnson Para 0103 distributor has a least has one continuous opening) and a combination of several small disconnected openings (see Johnson para 0103 describes that distributor can include multiple distributor outlets).
Regarding claim 4, modified Johnson teaches distributor comprises at least one of a nozzle, water dripping hole (see Johnson para 0103 discloses distributor has opening to allow fluid to exit), or a soaked cloth.
Regarding claim 5, modified Johnson teaches the water outlet device (see Johnson para 0103-0105,0118) is provided with a connection port ( see Johnson 435, para 0104), and the water outlet device (see Johnson para 0103-0105,0118 describes fluid path of liquid ) is connected to the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank (see Johnson 451, figure 23 para 0092-00105) through the connection port.
Regarding claim 6, modified Johnson teaches wherein the clean water pump (see Johnson 453, para 0103-0104) is communicated with the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank.
Regarding claim 11, modified Johnson teaches a clean water pump pipe ( see Johnson 436, para 0104), wherein the clean water pump (see Johnson 453, para 0104) is communicated with the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank ( see Johnson 451, figure 23 0092-00105) through the clean water pump pipe (see Johnson para 0118).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson teaches a mobile platform (412, figures 18-20) and a wet cleaning assembly (para 0092,0094-0110) wherein the wet cleaning assembly comprises a water supply mechanism (“fluid delivery system” 0103-0104,0118); wherein the water supply mechanism comprises a water outlet device (para 0103-0104,0118) connected to a cleaning liquid outlet (para 0103) of a clean water tank of the wet cleaning assembly (451, figure 23; 0092-0104), and a cleaning liquid flows to the water outlet device (para 0103-0105,0118) through the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank (446, para 0092-0104) and is transported to a surface to be cleaned through the water outlet device (para 0103);
wherein the cleaning assembly further comprises a dirty water tank (444, figure 21; para 0092), and a water absorbing amount of the dirty water tank (para 0105-0106) a clean water pump of the clean water tank (0104-0105).
However, Johnson fails to teach a sewage pump, and the water absorbing amount of sewage pump of the dirty water tank is greater than a water discharging amount of a clean water pump of the clean water tank.
Johnson does disclose that recovery system for removing liquid can be formed with different components (see para 0105).
Li teaches a cleaning device (abstract) that performs sweeping and mopping where the devices have a clean water pump (54, para 0029,0034) and a sewage pump (55 para 0029,0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to include a sewage pump based on the teachings of Li. This modification would help allow for better control the wastewater recovery process.
Al teaches a cleaning device that has improved absorbing sewage efficiency, by including additional sewage absorption devices. (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to include water absorbing amount of that is greater than a water discharging amount of a clean water based on the teachings of Al. This modification would help improve wastewater absorption.
Further, modified Johnson would disclose a sewage pump, and the water absorbing amount of sewage pump of the dirty water tank is greater than a water discharging amount of a clean water pump of the clean water tank. (see Li abstract, para 0029, 0034-0035 & Al abstract)
Regarding claim 14, modified Johnson teaches the water supply mechanism(see Johnson “fluid delivery system” 0103-0104,0118; figures 18-23); is connected to the mobile platform (see Johnson 412, figure 18 and 20).
Regarding claim 16, modified Johnson teaches the wet cleaning assembly (see Johnson para 0092,0094-0110) further comprises at least one cleaning head (see Johnson dirty inlet and 489, para 0108), a water return mechanism (see Johnson “recovery system” and 441; para 0092 0105-0106,0108) the cleaning head is configured to clean the surface to be cleaned, the water return mechanism is configured to collect a dirty cleaning liquid on the surface to be cleaned, and the clean water tank (see Johnson 451, para 0092-0104) is configured to store the cleaning liquid.
Regarding claim 17, modified Johnson teaches the wet cleaning assembly further comprises a power mechanism (see Johnson para 0041,0048,0090 0101,0112 brushroll motor) configured to drive the wet cleaning assembly to move relative to the mobile platform.
Regarding claim 18, modified Johnson teaches the water outlet device (see Johnson para 0103) is provided with a distributor (see Johnson 452, para 0103), and the distributor is configured to uniformly apply the cleaning liquid onto the surface to be cleaned.
Regarding claim 19, modified Johnson teaches wherein the distributor comprises at least one of a continuous opening and a combination of several small disconnected openings. (see Johnson para 0103).
Regarding claim 20, modified Johnson teaches wherein the distributor comprises at least one of a nozzle, a water dripping hole (see Johnson para 0103 discloses distributor has hole to allow fluid to exit), and a soaked cloth.
Regarding claim 21, modified Johnson teaches the water outlet device ( see Johnson para 0103-0105,0118) is provided with a connection port (see Johnson 435, para 0104), and the water outlet device (see Johnson para 0103-0105,0118 describes fluid path of liquid ) is connected to the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank (see Johnson 451 para 0092-0105) through the connection port.
Regarding claim 22, Johnson teaches wherein the clean water pump (see Johnson 453, para 0092-0106) is communicated with the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank.
Regarding claim 23, modified Johnson teaches a clean water pump pipe (see Johnson 436, para 0104), wherein the clean water pump (see Johnson 453, para 0104) is communicated with the cleaning liquid outlet of the clean water tank through the clean water pump pipe (see Johnson para 0118).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US20190290089A1) in view of Li (US20190274508A1) and Al (CN10369011A) as applied to claim 13 in view of Chen (CN207886173U).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson as modified above teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach the water supply mechanism is connected to the mobile platform through a lifting mechanism.
Chen discloses cleaning appliance (abstract) that includes water supply mechanism (8,figure 2) is connected to the mobile platform (3, figure 2) through a lifting mechanism (5 and 15, figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson’s so that the water supply mechanism is connected to the mobile platform through a lifting mechanism based on the teachings of Chen. This modification would help allow apparatus to perform different cleaning functions (see abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723